Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of New Forest Caravan And Motorhome Club Centenary Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Bransgore > New Forest Caravan And Motorhome Club Centenary Site Reviews

New Forest Caravan And Motorhome Club Centenary Site
Forest Road
Bransgore
Hampshire   (Browse area)
BH23 8EB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 275
Open: 02/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 36 reviews from this member

 This site was picked a little bit at random as such it was good. Couple of things to note. You must go back to the site office when you have chosen your pitch or you will not have a key to work the gates. The mains hook ups do not connect until you turn the plug one eight to the right, to release you press the red button. We had never seen these before.

The pitches are large both grass and hard standing. Plenty of room to park van, erect an awning and still park car alongside if you like. Although there are mature hedges and trees most pitches are quite open. When we visited there was good availability we manged to get a hedge to the rear and the side. There are plenty of service and waste sites dotted about.

The facilities are good and very clean.

Visiting takeaway Pizza van was good although choice is a little limited. Vegan was available from memory.

Obviously New Forest sites and car parks are within an easy drive. Recommend the Sammy Miller Motor Cycle Museum just down the A35. Could Have spent a lot longer there. Note there are outlets and animals for those not interested in bikes.

If visiting Christchurch I recommend heading direct to the long term car parks at Riversmeet Leisure Center, you will avoid awful traffic on the A35. The walk into Town is not long and there is a bus.

Previous reviews mentioned bad TV, we had no problems even with an internal aerial. The paid for WiFi is OK for simple browsing.

On the east end of the site there is a road behind the hedge, although not ultra busy it has a cattle grid and the speed some locals take it could easily wake up light sleepers.

The Three Tuns Pub in Bransgore is indeed popular we could not book for any night of our stay. If you just want plenty of food there is a Toby Carvery just down the A35. 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CliveNGill 8 reviews from this member

 Very nicely kept site. Facilities clean and warm.

The site is in a nice area with easy walks to Burley and close to cycle tracks.

Great for a relaxing weekend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 236 reviews from this member

 Leave the M27 at junction 1 and follow signs for Lyndhurst and Lymington. In Lyndhurst follow one way system and look for A35 to Lymington. In eight miles turn right signed for Godwinscroft and in half a mile turn right and site on left in 500 yards. ( For those not familiar with the New Forest, Lyndhurst is something of a bottleneck, especially at weekends, so best to allow for this in your travel plans. )

The Centenary site is large with approaching 300 pitches but only 125 of these are hardstanding, the rest are on grass. As the site seems very busy it is something of a gamble if you prefer a hardstanding. The site is laid out in a series of loops with sections named after various aircraft as originally this was a WW2 airfield. The opening of the site corresponded with the Clubís centenary, hence the name.

There are two toilet blocks both with open grill motorhome points outside. Service points are dotted around the site. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps accepting blue CEE 17 connectors.

The electric bollards also have co-ax TV connectors. The one we used didnít prove very reliable and despite the TV signal rated as poor we found it better to use our roof top aerial! There is site wide WiFi which can be purchased online. When I tried to use it, just for the Clubís own website, which is free, it seemed very slow. Unfortunately, not all mobile networks work on this site. My phone via the EE network had no signal but by wifeís phone on the O2 network was fine.

Children seem to be quite well catered for with a good-sized playground and a separate football field. (On that score they seem to be building a new playground near the entrance, whether this is additional or in place of I donít know) There is also a field where dogs can be let off leads.

Eception has a reasonably well stock shop and take away food retailers make regular visits to the site. We found it generally a peaceful campsite although there is some aircraft noise with passenger planes using Hurn Airport

This site is somewhat remote so unless you have some mode of transport it perhaps lacks opportunities of some sites. There appears to be a Tourist open top bus route from outside the site entrance.

Ournemouth is not far away as are other tourist attractions within the New Forest area. If you fancy a nice meal, I can recommend the Pebble Beach Restaurant at Barton on Sea, although booking would be advised, certainly at weekends. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LozzaS5 31 reviews from this member

 Large well organised CAMC SITE Two large clean facilities blocks with good dishwashing and laundry. Areas. Good recycling and bins with close water points and one motor-home point.

TV reception good with reasonable areal.

Vodafone and O2 signal better than expected.

Mix of grass and hardstanding but choice/type non bookable.

Not much physical pitch demarkation but plenty of greenery around.

July stay good in covid terms considering relaxation imminent though some campers ignored guidance.

Wardens hard working and non intrusive.

No pubs or restaurants within walking distance but visits of chippy and pizza van a welcome change from daily BBQs in scorching weather.

Great for cycling in both New Forest and down to the coast but route care required for the latter. Highest point 126m so not much climbing though some wet areas on bridal ways.

Peaceful for a large full site but schools only just out.

As expected or better than usual CAMC site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 35 reviews from this member

 Spacious well kept site. Excellent children's play area. Friendly wardens.

Food vans on site most evenings between 5 & 7. 30.

The on site shop sells delicious home style cakes. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Jadsett 51 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site over an October half-term in an "extended bubble" of 5. Sensible safeguards were in place for Covid19 and they seemed to work very well.

They meant, however, restricted access to reception/shop area. No great hardship though. Even though numbers were "managed" in the facilities blocks, only one of us had to queue for a shower once, and then not for long.

Our last visit (2018) was in an Indian Summer; the weather wasn't so kind this time, but we still managed to get out and about with trips to Christchurch, Burley and Ringwood and lots of "pony spotting" for the younger members of our group. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jadero 1 review from this member

 Great location for flat walks with a buggy surrounded by friendly wild horses.

Nice big site and pitch, freedom to choose our own right next to the big play area for kids, designed more for bigger kids but our 3 year old got round with help of mum and dad.

Good shop on site with limited hours and fish and chip van was a bonus! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Happygolucky52 1 review from this member

 Perfect site enjoyed every minute, perfectly clean felt safe. Plenty of space would go back again.

Band system for showers perfect idea and we got to see the ponies bonus 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sueles 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite and well run given the circumstances off just coming out of lockdown.

Only one point we were not so happy with was we were on a blue pitch, and were told we couldnít put our sun canopy out, Iím due an operation next week for skin cancer so couldnít sit outside our motorhome in the sun, we did ask if it was ok to put it out but we were told we couldnít three was plenty of room. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

 I was pleasantly surprised with this site as it was nicely laid out and for the most part felt open despite the New Forest being hidden from view behind high hedges.

This site is very large but has adequate and clean facilities and a small on site shop selling the camping basics.

Situated off the main routes it lacks public transport but there is plenty of great off road cycling and walking once you have cycled or walked out onto the open forest. The walk is along the grass verge of a narrow forest road.

Being school holidays there were a lot of children on site, racing around on scooters and bicycles, so take care while driving around.

I arrived as check in opened for the day and there was a queue of some 20+ vehicles, which were checked in in no particular order as people left there vehicles well before reaching the office. Not very friendly and proved chaotic at the entry gate. Don't understand why the CMC allow this. 


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is New Forest Caravan And Motorhome Club Centenary Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to New Forest Caravan And Motorhome Club Centenary Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is New Forest Caravan And Motorhome Club Centenary Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bransgore      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3388 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement