Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - New Forest Caravan And Motorhome Club Centenary Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Bransgore > New Forest Caravan And Motorhome Club Centenary Site Reviews

New Forest Caravan And Motorhome Club Centenary Site
Forest Road
Bransgore
Hampshire   (Browse area)
BH23 8EB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 275
Open: 02/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 70 Reviews
                9/10 from 70 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

I was pleasantly surprised with this site as it was nicely laid out and for the most part felt open despite the New Forest being hidden from view behind high hedges.

This site is very large but has adequate and clean facilities and a small on site shop selling the camping basics.

Situated off the main routes it lacks public transport but there is plenty of great off road cycling and walking once you have cycled or walked out onto the open forest. The walk is along the grass verge of a narrow forest road.

Being school holidays there were a lot of children on site, racing around on scooters and bicycles, so take care while driving around.

I arrived as check in opened for the day and there was a queue of some 20+ vehicles, which were checked in in no particular order as people left there vehicles well before reaching the office. Not very friendly and proved chaotic at the entry gate. Don't understand why the CMC allow this.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jadsett 45 reviews from this member

This was the first time we had visited this site and we stayed on site for 4 nights over October half term. We benefitted from Indian summer weather.

On arrival we received a very warm welcome. The site is well equipped and maintained to the standards we have come to expect from C&MC sites. One unusual feature, though, was the long opening hours of the shop/reception. The site is on the very edge of the New Forest and was an easy walk from where ponies tend to congregate, much to the delight of the younger members of our party. The location of the site means that it is very quiet, but also means that transport is required to get out and about. Having said that it is just a few hundred yards away from the A35, so New Forest villages, Christchurch, Lyndhurst and even Bournemouth are quite easily reached. In the Christchurch direction, Somerford offers supermarkets and numerous choices for eating out

We shall definitely be going back

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maggi2008 3 reviews from this member

Just home after a wonderful week in the New Forest Centenary Site, Bransgore.

A really lovely site. The toilet and shower facilities were spotless and pitches all well maintained.

The wardens were all friendly and helpful and made our stay here with our two spaniels a very easy and comfortable one - two great dog walks on site and numerous New Forest walks starting just outside the gate!

It was easy to visit both Forest and coast and tea at the Old Station in Holmsley should not be missed!

Great location!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Minddhyg 17 reviews from this member

A very nice site with very clean toilets and showers. The peace and quiet is lovely. The site is a little isolated so transport or bike is a necessity if staying for a longer stay. The site is very adjacent to the New Forest and great for those country walks. The nearest village is Bransgore a 35 minute walk from the site. There are some good eating places and the pubs do first class food and not too expensive either. The site also gets food delivered from several restaurant outlets and a fish and chip van visits on two days. Highly recommended site.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Minddhyg 17 reviews from this member

Stayed here for three nights. The site is well up to C&MC standards and very well kept and it was quiet. This is a large site with grass and hard standing pitches. The toilets, showers, washing up facilities and other facilities were immaculate and probably the best we have come across during our travels. The staff on site were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. You will need a car/ bike to get around because the site is quite remote with the nearest town ( Bransgore ) 49 - 56 minutes walk away and the nearest train 2 miles away. The Crown Pub does superb food in Bransgore. The site also has a good fish and chip service three nights a week.

All in all a very nice site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kiwi1Adventures 12 reviews from this member

This really is a great site. With the bank holiday weekend on the horizon a trip to the New Forest seemed in order and I'd been to several other sites over the years so thought I'd give the Centenary Site a go. We took the M25 M3 M27 exit at junction 2 route with a stop at Winchester Services and found it an extremely relaxed drive. A bit busy being the Friday of a bank holiday but no nerve wracking one lane roads to speak of, a personal bug bear of mine with some sites. Around Lyndhurst there is a right then a left which you must get right otherwise you will end up in Lyndhurst, signposting is a bit unfriendly so just think/follow Christchurch until you are well clear of Lyndhurst.

My standard set-up is VW camper van towing a Pennine Countryman with awning and on arrival the site owners were perfectly OK with this, the only stipulation was that we couldn't cook in the VW.

I mention this as some sites like all the tow hitches of units facing the roads and when setting up our orientation is completely different to other units but this was not seen as even worthy of a mention. Sites are about 10m x 10m and our unit once set up with the Countryman against the peg and awning out the front and van on the other side of the peg all 10m were taken. (Large Khyam drive away awning on this trip as an experiment. Worked well off the back of the Countryman. ) I also set up beside a small motorhome that hardly took up any space as a precaution. This is a BIG site, really big, but beautifully, if clinically, set out. Each row of caravans had its own service points and rubbish bins and the owners use electric vehicles to service these which are nice and quiet, unlike some places I have been. Lots of washrooms dotted around the site and never had trouble getting a shower or anything. The showers are great too, mounted about 6. 5 feet up so taller people don't have to stoop. Lots of hooks and bench space.

The site is quite remote so getting around by car and bike was pretty important. We had 25 degree plus weather four days in a row so were really lucky from that point of view, even managed a trip to the beach and bike ride around Christchurch/Bournemouth. Parking for 12 hours is around £7-£10 but you can pay for shorter stays.

A short bike ride and you are in the heart of the New Forest. This is quite walkable too if you don't have bikes.

There is a well stocked shop on site but for those enjoying a beverage there is no alcohol sold on site as they aren't licensed, luckily the Co-op in Bransgore is open late on Sundays, about 10 mins away by car. Fridge replenished and sun setting after 7pm on one of the hottest days of the year we only just made Monday's 12 o'clock check out and Bank holiday Monday traffic. I think a second trip would be better than the first, assuming the weather was good, because having got the lay of the land, time on site can be used more effectively.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lms0110 42 reviews from this member

Usual caravan club standard site, immaculate amenities block, polite staff, large off lead dog field. This site is on the edge of the New Forest and it is advisable to have your own transport as nowhere really walkable, and we walk miles, other than to the tea rooms at the old Holmsly Station, and there is no local bus service. So an ideal site for cyclists and caravan owners, if you are motorhomers that don't like to move the van once pitched, then this isn't the site for you.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jsun 19 reviews from this member

This is a very large, well maintained site with excellent facilities. However you need a car or bicycle to make the most of it. Probably not the best location for motorhomes unless you don't mind moving your vehicle every day. We liked the Three Tuns in Bransgore but its quite a walk and there are not footpaths all the way. The majority of people on this site were in Caravans.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Redface 8 reviews from this member

I would recommend a sign to show where the campsite is as you do get a little lost in where to go. There is a sign for the other site nearby but not for this one.

The staff were great on arrival very warm and welcoming. Seemed super helpful to us.

We were only staying for one night so booked a small none awning pitch. You get to drive round the one way system and choose yourself a pitch.

The showers and toilets are closed for cleaning during 12-2 which can cause an issue due to arriving and needing to use them. There are two unisex toilets available but had to queue. The shower block was very clean and well maintained. Nice hot shower and plenty of room to get dressed afterwards.

Shane that the wildlife sanctuary wasn't open.

Only access to the park was via the main entrance which is good.

Nice ish walk along grass verge to see the ponies and have a walk.

The kids play ground was full of older teenagers who used it to hang out when we visited so my son didn't fell comfortable playing there. Plus no way to see him from any pitch with out being in the park with him.

Nice park for one night.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

We first stayed at this site in 2008, not long after it opened, when it was rather bare and exposed, having been newly landscaped. Seven years later the trees and shrubs have matured well and it's a very pleasant and attractive environment.

The welcome was warm and friendly, there was a good choice of spacious pitches and the toilet block was up to the Caravan Club's usual excellent standards.

The only downside was that the lighting at night was poor. However, when we mentioned this to the staff, they told us that local planning regulations are very strict about light pollution in the New Forest, so they are not allowed any more lights. Fair enough, so next time I will take a torch for night-time visits to the facilities!

Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3950 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019