Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of 5 Ways Lakes Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Warwickshire > Hinckley > 5 Ways Lakes Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

5 Ways Lakes Caravan And Camping Park
5 Ways Lakes
Coventry Road
Wolvey
Hinckley
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
LE10 3HF
Tel: 01455 882961
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30 Pitches
Open: 04/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Batt 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 5 ways lakes.

We stayed as part of a rally and had a fantastic couple of days. As steward the land owner was very helpful.

The toilet block was very clean and tidy.

The field was cut well and tidy.

The fishing lakes are very well stocked and reasonably priced.

There are a few animals on the farm.

There is also a reasonable caf doing food.

Will definitely go again.

Very Easy to find just off the M69 M6 jct. Could be used as a overnight stop if required. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richard-Samantha 9 reviews from this member

 Overall we were very impressed with this pleasant, peaceful and well maintained site. A lovely welcome from the owners and our pitch was quite private, with shrubbery screening us but we were close to the B4065 which can be quite busy. Some supplies and breakfast is available from the reception area and the eggs are for sale from the roaming chickens and cockerels on site.

The showers/toilet block was very accessible, clean and well presented although the access from our pitch could possibly get quite boggy in wet weather and, Im wondering if the showers could get rather cold in less warmer climates? The fishing lakes looked very inviting, so an ideal spot for the enthusiastic fishermen!

Wolvey is a lovely walk across an adjacent farm field with public access. There is post office/shop and a couple of pubs. We did not receive a very warm welcome from The Bull with our guide dog and we understand that its not so child friendly either? We did enjoy a well kept Abbot ale from The Blue Pig, being a Greene King house and hosting 4 ales and home cooked food from the relatively new patrons. The Pheasant a couple of miles down the road had a fabulous menu but not your usual pub prices.

A very relaxing couple of days was had here and wed definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kar.en 12 reviews from this member

 This is a great little site in a lovely spot. It's very open with nice views from the tent wherever you're pitched and if you're on the rally field you'll get the sun all day (sun? what's that then?).

The electric pitches vary in size with some being big enough for even the biggest jumbo tent so it would be worth letting them know when you book if you need one of the big ones.

The fishing lakes seemed very popular and we enjoyed walking round these, watching some huge fish being caught.

The electric supply is good (didn't manage to trip it anyway), the two water taps are more than adequate for the size of the site and there was always hot water in the showers.

A nice touch in the ladies shower block was the toiletries left in case you forgot anything. The cafe was useful too, especially as we arrived at lunch time with 3 starving kids who refused to pitch the tent until they'd had a bacon sandwich!

Just a couple of negatives, although these definitely won't stop me visiting again. Firstly, the smell in the shower block can be unbelievably awful. It's kept very clean so it can only be the drains and most of the time it was fine but when it was bad it was very, very bad.

Secondly, there's no hot water in the washing up sink. It's not a massive issue as I suppose everyone can boil a kettle but it seemed a bit odd that it was just cold water.

Not much else to say except the nearest supermarkets are the small co-op 10 minutes away in Bulkington and the Morrisons superstore 8 miles away in Hinckley.

All in all, a nice site and good value for money. We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Bigknit 1 review from this member

 First impressions were good.

Missed the site at first went next door, they weren't overly impressed, seems to happen a lot apparently. So better signs perhaps with more warning that we are approaching the site, would be good.

Ladies toilets were thoughtfully well stocked, impressive, you don't get that very often. Well done.

However the showers would get better reviews I think if you were to raise the timer light switches, to make them more accessible from within the cubicles, got plunged into darkness ever shower, not funny.

Site drainage wasn't too bad considering the monsoon type weather we had.

Local facilities were good. Really enjoyed 10 pin bowling.

Loved the animals, very cute and very impressed with the lake, although I'm no fisher the walk was so lovely with lots of wildlife.

Good site. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PeteLuc 22 reviews from this member

 Booked this as a lads (well actually 3 middle aged blokes) fishing weekend. The site is easily found and close to the motorway so travelling there was easy.

On arrival we headed to reception to get booked in and had the facilities pointed out and was taken to our pitch. The ehu pitches are well sized on grass but a little narrow getting into. We had to unhook and push the van into position as did a couple of other people we saw.

The site is fairly basic. Toilet / shower blocks were very basic but functional. Whilst we were there it rained almost constantly which effected (no surprises really) the grassed areas which became quite boggy. The reception doubles as a small cafe where you can get a full breakfast cooked for a very reasonable price. They also sell some sweets and drinks.

If you are fishing, they will actually take your order and bring the food to you at your peg! Full English and never even moved from the waterside! Bliss.

The two ponds are of a good size and even though the weather was terrible, they were both still fishing well. Note that one of the ponds is used for an open match on a Saturday morning.

Wolvey is about 1. 6 miles walk and has a couple of pubs there. We ate at the Blue Pig one night (typical village pub and food) which was fine. Bulkington is a bit further and is a 5 minute car ride away and has more amenities including a spar and chip shop.

Overall a good site with basic facilities, good fishing and good value for money. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markhem 9 reviews from this member

 Very easy to locate site, with friendly, accommodating staff at reception.

My party pitched up in a far corner of the rally field, which was pretty water-logged, but to be expected following a week of rain. Not the biggest though; we were lucky as the weather appeared to have scared some visitors off - guaranteed sun might see space at a premium?

The facilities were okay - the toilets kept well-stocked will loo-roll, and the two mens' showers were fine. The light-switches on a timer (on the outside of the showers) caught out one or two of my party out however!

No hot water for washing pots & pans too - this could do with addressing, if truth be told.

Wolvey just a quick 15 min walk up the road - we tried the Blue Pig, which was very decent indeed (really good Speckled Hen, and they do a tasty cottage pie).

All in all a good site - accessible, cheap and friendly. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clark186 1 review from this member

 The site was extremely quiet, as the weather was terrible! It was muddy, but that was unsurprising. Plenty of hard-standing between field and toilet block which helped to keep toilets clean. The toilet block was well-presented, cleaned daily and even had spare toiletries available. Be aware that the disabled facilities means no steps, but no other adaptations (seats, handles, larger cubicles etc).

The owners were extremely welcoming and helpful. The one problem (when the gents flooded due to the torrential rain) was quickly sorted. Not a large range of facilities, but ideal for those of us looking for a peaceful break. Cafe was open when it was worthwhile for it to be open (at this time of year, when anglers were expected) and we enjoyed a great cooked breakfast.

We thoroughly enjoyed the antics of the various animals. Ideal for children and animal lovers, but responsible dog owners only!

We'd go again and hope for better weather. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gerry31 16 reviews from this member

 We chose this site having read the good reviews of previous visitors. It's within easy driving distance of Coventry, Nuneaton or Birmingham. We were the only campers on the tent field which made for a very peaceful 4 days. However there had been a lot of rain before our visit and the field was rather muddy, especially at the entrance.

We fished once on site & caught nothing. The site doesn't sell any tackle or bait & we purchased what we needed in Coventry. We couldn't try the cafe as it wasn't open except for the day of our arrival, in fact we didn't even see the owners after our arrival day. We would have liked to try the recommended breakfasts but the cafe was never open at this time of day during our stay.

We were disappointed with the toilet/shower facilities. The mens room was dark inside due to missing bulbs in the cubicles and main sink area, the urinal area was smelly, there was nowhere to put anything by the sinks e. G. Wash bag, towel etc.

There isn't a shaver socket. The only mirror was in one of the shower cubicles. The mens showers didn't work on the occasions we tried to use them. The ladies room is slightly better, the showers worked and were hot, the sinks worked & were hot, soaps & hand towel always available.

However neither ladies or mens had any heating so it made for a rather cold washroom experience for all of us. The main doors to ladies & mens were always left open which didn't help.

The wash up sink for campers is just outside the toilet block and is under cover. However it is pretty useless as there is only a cold tap and no hot tap. As we all know you can't wash greasy dirty pots and pans in cold water so we just washed up at the tent using our kettle.

The ducks, hens, geese etc were very nice and friendly.

All things considered we wouldn't stay here again as it just doesn't suit us. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dwillett 1 review from this member

 We would highly recommend this site, this will be our 3rd season. You are not crammed in, you get a large pitch. All the facilities are good, the owners are very friendly and helpful. We often take our 7 year old granddaughter who loves the open spaces and very safe. So get your tents out and get over to Fiveways for a relaxing time, enjoy. The toilets and showers are good, great fishing, very good for children. Bulkinton is a village about 10 minute drive away, a post office couple minutes down the road, a good value breakfast on site, great value for money. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BigDan 1 review from this member

 This was our 4th visit this year to five lakes. Fantastic site, very peaceful, roaming chickens which we have now named.

Facilities were fine, toilets clean, showers clean just what you need when you go camping. The shop/cafe on site was great for a good fry up or even a bacon sandwich.

Very friendly site, the owners showed us to our pitch, and we was left to set up. One great point about this site, is the fact you can leave when ever you want, no set time when too leave.

Will be back again very soon. 


Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is 5 Ways Lakes Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to 5 Ways Lakes Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is 5 Ways Lakes Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hinckley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3858 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement