Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Cud Life Harrogate

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > The Cud Life Harrogate Reviews

The Cud Life Harrogate
Ripon Road
Killinghall
Harrogate
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG3 2AU
Tel: 01423 565855
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Vans + 10 tents
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 106 Reviews
                9/10 from 106 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: RedFraggle1973 1 review from this member

 If there was an 11/10 I'd tick it. We love this site, it's everything we want from a campsite. Another lovely visit this weekend.

The owners Tanya and Dave are lovely and very welcoming and helpful. There are two toilets, two showers (it's unisex), a wash-up area and fridge freezer. There's a small coffee shop up at the farmhouse and you can buy eggs and bacon via an honesty box. There's a central firepit and Tanya and Dave provide logs on a Saturday night for those who want to be sociable.

The facilities are clean and well kept, plenty of hot water, beautiful views and very peaceful. Lots to do locally, we only live 40 mins away but it's a site we'd go to much more often if we could. Just perfect 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motorhometwo 4 reviews from this member

 Fourth time on this lovely, friendly site, already looking forward to our next visit! Used our bus passes plenty as the bus (with leather seats and WiFi - you can tell it's Harrogate!) stop is just at the end of the farm lane. Always lovely people at the cud life every time we have been - think the site attracts nice people! Tanya told us about a new venture with a local butcher where we can order our meat before we arrive or for the next day when the shop is open and they deliver! Tried the sausages and they were brilliant. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SamandRose 25 reviews from this member

 Set up on one of the generously sized pitches and take a look at the view from your caravan or tent. It's quintessentially Yorkshire. Rolling hills, cows, sheep and not a building in sight other than a railway viaduct in the far distance. And yet the site is within walking distance of Harrogate and an easy drive or bus ride from Ripon (worth a visit at 9pm for the town crier - apparently he does it every night during summer!) and Fountains Abbey.

There's not a huge amount to say about the site itself. It's a large grassy field on a working farm. Facilities are small and basic but clean and functional. Families are clearly welcomed although there are no children's play facilities. Not that that bothered any children there, who were happy just to play football in the middle of the field. A nice touch is the fire pit (lit on Saturday nights) and marshmallows available to toast with honesty box payment. Service was friendly both during booking and on arrival, and it's probably a relief that we didn't get chance to sample the cakes in the café at reception.

My one niggle concerns costs. £20 per night for 2 people plus electric is reasonable, and an extra £5 for late departure is probably fair enough. But an extra £15 per night on top for one extra adult and one child seemed steep and took our total fees close to those charged by larger sites with more facilities. Not that we wanted to stay on a larger site.

I understand that the owners try and control the number of people staying on site to avoid it getting overcrowded, and on this basis the pricing structure is probably understandable, but it did mean that we paid more than we had at first expected. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tempe 3 reviews from this member

 This is an open and grassy site that is relaxed and friendly. The showers and good and hot and the unisex facilities were kept clean. There is no hard-standing so the site is only suitable for larger vans in summer / dry weather.

The owners gave us detailed instructions for walks and we enjoyed a fantastic walk in to Knaresborough along the Nidd Gorge. Plenty of things to do nearby and excellent for cycling. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neil camper piper 21 reviews from this member

 Spent four nights at the cud life with my partner a few weeks ago. We really enjoyed the place, it's atmosphere and it's owners.

We were greeted and shown to our pitch, she was welcoming and told us where the toilets and other facilities were.

The field is small, on a slight incline with pitches all around the edges with a large fire pit the middle. At the top of the field is where the toilets are situated. Its about an acre in total, it's surrounded by the farms fields which have inquisitive cows that come over to see what your up to.

The field has hookups down three sides, two of which have a high hedge, the bottom of the field is where we were and the view of the open countryside.

The facilities on site are excellent. Small with only two unisex toilets and two unisex showers. But all very spacious, clean and well stocked. The shower cubicles are large with plenty of hooks, a seat and even a radiator. The showers were hot and powerful with no annoying button to keep pressing, It even had a built in seat. Another nice touch for those who wanted to use them was a hairdryer and straighteners.

Site lets you have off the floor fires if you have a pit and the sites fire pit was lit only on Saturdays, marsh mellows could be bought using an honesty box outside the toilet block where there were the huge sinks and a fridge freezer for you to use for food and ice packs.

The Area has loads to offer. Lots of places to visit and you are close to Harrogate and smaller towns, the owners where happy to tell us about the area at the cafe at the entrance to the site. It sold really good homemade cakes and milkshakes. There is also a cookshop attached to the cafe.

This site is great for families and couples alike, it's child friendly but does not have a play area. The campfire is a great way to meet fellow campers and a really great touch. I would recommend this site to anyone. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Malcolmtrot 13 reviews from this member

 We are just back from a lovely weekend camping in our VW camper. The campsite is down a long private drive and so the only noise is the wildlife. The owners are really friendly and helpful and the facilities are well maintained. They allow fire pits, which was the reason for choosing it, as so many other sites in the area don't, and have a huge fire in the middle of the site which is lot on Saturday nights.

There is a cafe and cookshop at the site which are brilliant. We could have spent a fortune in the shop. It has everything that you could ever need for cooking and baking at really reasonable prices.

There are two pubs within walking distance and a bus stop at the end of the drive to get to Harrogate and Ripon. The buses are modern and comfortable.

There is also full 4G coverage.

We will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sheffield Davs 18 reviews from this member

 We had just two nights but will certainly go back for more.

The site is up a track by the farm and so well away from any road noise. There is a coffee shop / cookware business so Tanya is usually about and is very helpful.

They go a little bit overboard with the various signs but that is probably because they care. The site is well maintained and they want to keep it that way, so don't want people who don't respect their rules.

The two showers and two toilets are modern and clean and as we are early risers we never had problems getting in but this could be an issue for some.

No play area but a tree hung swing and kids will enjoy the Saturday night camp fire. We didn't have the dogs on this trip and there were a lot of cattle in the fields with footpaths so you would have to be careful with your route.

Killinghall is 20 minutes walk and there is a Sam Smith's pub with genuinely home cooked tasty food. It is not a 'gastro' pub but the food and beer is very reasonably priced and you get a warm welcome. The beer choice is a bit limited though. We didn't get chance to try the other pub.

Harrogate is around 45 minutes walk. On the way in we walked down the main road (on a footpath) but on the way back we found a much quieter route via Knox. A lovely town with loads to do and some beautiful buildings. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: GarnetLiz 18 reviews from this member

 Quite simply the best campsite we've been to. The welcome was warm (despite the owner being rushed off her feet in the tea shop!) the field was as flat as they come, the awning pegs went in and came out easily, and the facilities were just right (heated towel rails!). It was a small, friendly site with a camp fire for everyone to share on Saturday night. Our children had space to play and made new friends. Easy to find, a lovely walk right from the site, two pubs that did food in the nearby village and the cafe and shop attached to the site are lovely. And we didn't break down! Couldn't ask for more. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motorhometwo 4 reviews from this member

 Another fabulous stay on this beautiful quiet little site. Since our last visit, the view from the campsite that we thought couldn't get any better now has the most stunning viaduct that was previously covered by trees - absolutely stunning! The on site cookshop is heaven for anyone that enjoys cooking and we are glad its not open every day as the cakes and scones are so delicious we would go home a stone heavier! Both pubs in the village are great with one being sam smiths which we like. Delighted to hear Tanya and Dave are considering a couple of hard standing pitches for people like us to be able to stay in winter too. Already looking forward to going back in June. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kaut0Bill 18 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful, peaceful rural retreat run by great people. For caravanners and campers it is probably ideally situated. As Motor Homer's who tend to not use the van while away it was probably getting towards our outer limits.

Walk to centre of Harrogate takes approx 45minutes though there are regular buses from just outside the site entrance (every 15 to 20mins during the day, £4. 30pp return). There is also a cycle track directly into Harrogate aapprox 6mls to city centre from camping field. Think it's called The Nidd Greenway.

There is no facility on site for the emptying of on board water tanks for motorhomes.

Nearest shop is approx 25min walk but 2 pubs in Killinghall approx 15mins walk. Tanya and Dave recommend The Three Horseshoes but we'd recommend The Greyhounds (check it out on Trip Advisor). If visiting Harrogate make sure you try out Hales Bar the oldest pub in Harrogate.

We would certainly use this site again if visiting the area for a few days. 
Management response: Thank you so much for your review, we just wanted to clarify that we are just under 2 miles from Harrogate (some people have mentioned that this review looks like we are 6 miles away - that is a cycle route along the offroad greenway cycle path). Our guests regularly walk into Harrogate as do we.

We also do have waste facilities, just not the ones you drive over to empty - we would love to have one of these but we are only a 15 pitch campsite!

The management in both of our pubs in the village have recently changed and we are delighted to announce that The Three Horseshoes is now DOG FRIENDLY - yippee!


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Cud Life Harrogate child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Cud Life Harrogate?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Cud Life Harrogate dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harrogate      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4486 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement