Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Budle Bay Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Belford > Budle Bay Campsite Reviews

Budle Bay Campsite
Budle Bay Campsite
Waren Mill
Belford
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE70 7EE
Tel: 01668 214 598
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: February 28th 2020 To January 3rd 2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 152 Reviews
                8/10 from 152 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 17/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Magicb80394ybc 1 review from this member

 Friendly site close to the shore, good bird watching.

Facilities closed because of the COVID pandemic when we visited.

But had a nice tour of the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Louissa 16 reviews from this member

 We've stayed at this site a couple of times now - both times for a single night out-of-season while passing through the area. It's not the best site in the world but it's fine for that or as a base for a couple of nights exploring the area.

The warden is friendly and very accommodating when we were a last minute booking.

The site seems to be mostly given over to seasonal caravans but there are spaces for tourers and tents. When we've been, out of season, it's been very quiet despite all the vans.

The toilets & showers are ok - a little tired (the push taps need a bit of tlc) - and the pot wash feels a bit bolted on but does its job.

One issue we have isn't with the site itself but a small warning: there aren't any good places to walk dogs nearby. As other people have noted, the road back to Bamburgh is busy/fast and there isn't a footpath, and anyway the beach is more of a marsh mudflat than a sandy bay. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Flearn 8 reviews from this member

 Tent pitches on a slope which was good considering the amount of rain we got while there. Site would feel crammed if full.

Toilets and showers clean and all working.

Plenty of water and electric points.

Excellent area to explore Bamburgh castle and Holy Island. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rmfdevon 5 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site. Helpful owners, level pitches, good sized facilities, although they were a little tired and not as clean as some places, probably due to the number of people using the site.

Some things seemed a little unfinished, but that didn’t stop us enjoying our stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 78 reviews from this member

 Arrived to a nice welcome by a warden and offered numerous pitches.

The site is scruffy, no hiding that fact but, it’s clean and tidy and the facilities are good. I thought toilet waste going down the Grey waste wasn’t good though.

The new concrete pitches are good, with electric and water easily to hand but the outlook is rows of scruffy seasonal pitched Caravans with all the junk they have around themselves.

There is nowhere to exercise Dogs unless you leave the site and this site has tent pitches just everywhere so it would be crazy when and if it was filled.

There is a great walk over the fields to the Pub or another around the boggy bay (after walking along a busy road with no pavement) to the castle, that’s a fantastic walk each way but quite a way.

For say Two nights it’s ideal, any longer unless you have a car, I think not. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gu53bee 3 reviews from this member

 Really friendly. After that it all went rapidly downhill.

‘200m from mudflats’- yes, but you can’t get to the coast at all there. Very narrow road. We tried to walk alongside but it was too dangerous.

‘Tranquil’- tiny pitches so we could hear the people either side and behind.

‘River’- litter filled stream

‘Play area’- closed

Toilets- broken today.

‘Showers’- single jet. Went scalding as button needed repressing. 3/5 broken today.

Awful smell coming up once I got a semi-working shower.

Grassy areas were cut but the wet cuttings were just left so we were treading it into the van.

Overall- felt overcrowded and dirty.

Never done this before but we’ve just paid out for a different campsite as couldn’t face going back tonight. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachel10 5 reviews from this member

 Level pitch. Bit of a trek to toilets. Site a little untidy as new facilities not fully completed. Close to A1 for stopover but no shops nearby.

This was not a wow site but fair value for money with facilities of acceptable quality.

You can walk to coast very easily but it is not a beach.

It was quite stressful having a strict deadline to arrive by as it is quite possible to be seriously delayed on motorways these days if travelling some distance. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yorci 9 reviews from this member

 I stayed here 21-24 May 2018 in a tent with EHU. A great little campsite, the facilities have been recently refurbed, so immaculately clean as new. Plenty of hot water, the showers are powerful, though no temperature control, the cubicles are a decent size to get changed in, though no curtain to save your clothes getting splashed, just keep the shower nozzle facing down! The tent pitches are level. Handwash provided at the sink, the hand dryer is a bit low powered but does the job. Could do with a few more mirrors at the sinks in the gents to get shaved with, had to share the couple that are available.

The owners and staff are very friendly and welcoming with plenty of tips on local knowledge for walks and places to visit. An ideal base for exploring Bamburgh and for visiting Holy Island of Lindisfarne.

I am hoping to return later in the summer. A great place, I had a great time. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Neil684 35 reviews from this member

 We got to this site after touring the Bamburgh area and finding most other sites not yet open.

The site is flat, with good hardstandings, really necessary specially at this time of year.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities good but getting better as there is a lot of upgrading underway (I assume the site had only just opened for the season).

The site is well placed for this lovely bit of coastline. The owner directed us to a great beach walk to view an enormous seal colony via 2-3 miles of dunes and beach (each way). It was a great experience. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BivvyBoy 24 reviews from this member

 We took our 8 berth tent out for it's first trip, and used an EHU for the first time too. It was a five day family holiday, so we really got to know the area.

The site was great for us - may be because it was so quiet and all we heard were geese flying over - but because it just felt right. The facilities are fine - the hot water it hot, the loos don't smell, and everything is clean. It's not brand new, maybe 30 years old, but is all we needed for a week.

I won't give anyone a reason why Northumbria is a great place to stay let's just say we never had a dull day with places to visit.

The thing that sums the site up for me is this: just before we arrived, our 10 year old threw up with car sickness, all over himself. Think of the Exorcist. The site does not have laundry facilities. But the warden said he'd pop up to his place and wash and dry his clothes for us. Nothing was too much trouble, and that was truly appreciated!

Thank you! 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Budle Bay Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Budle Bay Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Budle Bay Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Belford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4089 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020