Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Llwyn Ffynnon Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Llwyn Ffynnon Caravan Park Reviews

Llwyn Ffynnon Caravan Park
Yffor
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 6UY
Tel: 01766 819272
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 62
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 51 Reviews
                10/10 from 51 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is closed until 28/02/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 28/02/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SamandRose 24 reviews from this member

 This site is evidently hugely popular with seasonal pitchers and it's easy to see why. It's situated about three miles from the lovely coastal town of Pwllheli and an easy drive to anywhere on the beautiful Llyn Peninsula. The facilities are clean and plentiful and the site has its own fishing lake.

It also has a pub, and it's lovely. There's a cosy bar with a choice of local ales, and beyond that, a larger lounge with a pool table, a dartboard and a log fire. Putting the world to rights with some of the seasonal pitch owners on our first night made for a very pleasant evening! I understand from the site's Facebook page that they host themed weekends - 'Christmas in June' being very popular.

It's a shame that we didn't get to meet the owners, who had taken their kids away for the weekend leaving the site in the care of Chris' parents. Chris did however leave a friendly voicemail message during our journey and the instructions were very friendly and relaxed ('pitch up anywhere you like as long as you're more than 6m away from any other caravan or tent').

Just don't do what we did and pick a pitch at the lowest point of the higher of the two fields when heavy rain is forecast. Because what will happen is that your pitch will turn into a mud bath and your front-wheel-drive VW will barely be able to drive itself away, never mind pull a caravan as well. We have to thank our 4x4 owning neighbours for their help here.

However, because the weather and the ability of the soil to absorb water are two things that the owners can do nothing about this is not enough to warrant anything less than 10/10. We would happily return to this site and probably will. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Amcal3 1 review from this member

 Absolutely cracking site !

Chris couldn’t do enough for you.

Peg and Mallet bar was very handy and serves a surprisingly nice Guinness!

Immaculate facilities

Super location too for local beaches

Strongly recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Mhuntcamping 1 review from this member

 Amazing great campsite clean tidy site and facilities. Homely feeling from the minute we arrived made very welcome by Chris.

The pitches are well spaced out and plenty of them, all with electric hook up and drinking water on tap.

Food truck the Grumpy grub serves great food and the peg & Mallet on site pub great beer some of which locally sourced. Loved Chris Guiness room with bar games.

Looking forward to the next visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ginty1 8 reviews from this member

 This is our third year visiting here and can't say enough about this fantastic site. Chris and Toxin the owners make you feel so welcome and treat you like family.

All facilities on site are spotless, the peg & mallet (the pub on site) is fantastic as well with lovely seating area, pool table, dart boards etc. They hold many themed weekends which are always popular. We were there for the Christmas in June weekend which was fabulous.

You just need to look at all the photos on website or their facebook page to see what I mean. We will be returning again next year all being well. There are not enough stars on reviews as we rate this site so highly.

It is also very central for many days out to explore area and close to many lovely beaches. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ginty1 8 reviews from this member

 Spent the most fantastic 2 weeks here. First visit was last year and we loved it so much we returned this year. Owners are fabulous and nothing is too much trouble. Always on hand to help. All facilities are first class. Everyone on site is friendly.

Great atmosphere in the the Peg & Mallet which has just had a huge extension added to it. If we could give this site a 1000+ stars they sure deserve it. We were there for the Christmas in June themed weekend where everyone on site gets together to enjoy a Christmas dinner, lovely turkey is supplied and cooked by owners and everyone on site brings the sides. Entertainment also great.

We can't say enough good things about this site. Lastly a huge thanks to Chris, Toxin and family for a great holiday. See you all again on our next visit. Xx (The Scottish Girls) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TinTin72 3 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to Llwyn Ffynnon & another great weekend! Chris the owner is so laid back he’s almost horizontal!

Great bloke & can’t do enough for you. Site was a little water logged over the Easter weekend but it didn’t dampen anyone’s spirits. Location is perfect for exploring the area & we will definitely visit again soon. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SmittenMummy 5 reviews from this member

 Our October half-term camping trip to North Wales coincided with the tail end of Storm Brian. We’d chosen to stay at Llwyn Ffynnon campsite because of its ideal location for visiting nearby attractions, backed up by the excellent reviews it had received. We weren’t disappointed.

The owner, Chris, made a great first impression by giving us a courtesy call while we were on our way there, and he greeted us on arrival, showing us all the facilities. As the recent weather had been pretty awful, the site was very muddy and apparently a lot of campers had cancelled their stay. But we found the driest and most level spot – right in the middle of the first field, surrounded by caravans – and set up the tent.

The first two nights were so stormy, to the point where at one point we could feel the tent being lifted off the ground slightly by the wind. But it all added to the excitement for the kids and we soon came to ignore the mud and the rain. From day three the weather brightened up anyway.

We actually spent very little time at the campsite during the day as we were off visiting places every day, but the facilities were really clean and Chris was always on hand to offer help, advice or information.

The best thing about Llwyn Ffynnon is its location. When we first got there, we couldn’t truly appreciate the surroundings because of the weather. But when the clouds and fog moved on, it was breathtaking. We were only a short drive away from Caernarfon, where we explored the castle, went crabbing, and had an amazing meal at the popular Black Boy Inn. We also got up at the crack of dawn one day and drove to Snowdon – successfully climbing it as a family, which was a great experience for all (I’m still so proud of the kids for doing it with hardly any complaining as they are only aged 5 and 8!). A third day was spent visiting the National Slate Museum, which was really interesting (and free!).

I would definitely recommend staying at Llwyn Ffynnon if you’re visiting North Wales. The facilities are fantastic, Chris and his family are super friendly, the location is perfect and the surroundings are beautiful. What more could you want from a family camping trip?! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gillyarss 3 reviews from this member

 First time here in mid August- Met by Chris on arrival and given choice of pitch. They have really thought of everything here. The toilet / shower facilities were spotless and plenty of them. The on site pub was great if a little small, 10 mins to bustop & literally 5 minutes into Pwllheli.

You can buy logs, gas and hire firepits, all delivered to your door. There is even a burger van early every evening and mobile shop every other day. My husband is fishing mad and the on site fishing lake, which is free, proved very popular with a good head of carp, tench, roach and bream.

The wi-fi was also free, unlike most other places. Very friendly - we will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Danmac1504 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from 8 nights, 2nd time here and we loved it as much as previous camp, stayed on the bottom field this time as two pitches together suited us and our friends, think I preferred the top field though. Our trip this time involved the summer funday (prehistoric fancy dress), was a great laugh and day, even though we didn't know anybody. The site has many season pitch caravans but there is no them and us, just lots of getting on together. The facilities on site are great, very clean and more than enough. It is a family run site and you can tell the pride they have in it, Chris is always buzzing around doing something. Having a pub on site is great, enjoy the banter (kids should cover their ears), watch the tv, throw some darts and drink good beer. There is a butchers van that comes around every other day and weekends, grab your supplies fresh in the morning. Grumpys serves food on most nights from 6-8 and is very nice. Is a great base for exploring.

Although the site is quite large, you feel very safe and our kids were running around playing hide and seek every night.

We will be back 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mtel1970 2 reviews from this member

 Second year we have visited this gem of a site. Chris and Tocsin make you feel so welcome and are the best site owners we have ever come across. Site very clean with lovely facilities. We stayed on the 'Raleigh Field' which had lovely spacious pitches. Chris put on a prehistoric themed fun day on the Saturday of our visit with bouncy castles, games for the kids etc. Great fun and our kids loved it. Fire pit hire very good value at £1 a night. Fishing pond on site used by one of our group who caught 8 in the space of an hour! Lovely location for visiting anywhere on the Lynn peninsular. Can't speak highly enough of this place and can't wait to return next year. 


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Llwyn Ffynnon Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Llwyn Ffynnon Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Llwyn Ffynnon Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1531 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement