Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Webbers Camping And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Exeter > Webbers Camping And Caravan Park Reviews

Webbers Camping And Caravan Park
Castle Lane
Woodbury
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX5 1EA
Tel: 01395 232276
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 115
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 60 Reviews
                9/10 from 60 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Steve1001 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent well kept site, good access, pet friendly.

Recommended for families and dog owners, lots of open spaces and plenty of room between pitches so plenty of privacy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KimWalker 7 reviews from this member

 Quite hard to find but when here a delightful site.

Wide pitches, clean showers, some pitches with nice views, good playground including gym equipment for adults, donkeys, rabbits, goats etc.

Chargeable wifi but it works.

Beware, most pitches slope but bricks available.

Would be be nice if there weee some hedges between pitches but not really an issue. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nikko136 48 reviews from this member

 We relied on the Best Of British membership and UKCampsite.co.uk reviews when choosing this site - we overlooked that their own website describes it as Caravan and Camping, ie caravan first. Most of the pitches are on a slope and even with our motorhome at the top of our ramps we were still not level. Some of the caravans were almost bottoming out at one end to get level.

We’d booked the site 3 months beforehand as we had wanted to check this out as a potential destination for more frequent breaks within 3 hours drive from home. We were given a hardstanding pitch with no view other than the washroom block, an electricity transformer and a hedge. The asphalt pitch was only a couple of feet wider than our unit and was covered in semi-composted grass cuttings, so presumably these are not collected when the grass is cut. We and our neighbours had the choice of either walking on the soggy grass next to our pitch to deal with power connections, toilet cassette etc or shuffling sideways down the narrow strip of asphalt, soiling our clothing in the process. We chose the latter, as there were already deep holes in the grass where others had trodden.

To avoid getting stuck in the muddy grass some campers had parked their cars partially on the narrow roadway as the hardstanding pitches were too narrow and short to accommodate their cars. This resulted in the grass areas opposite being churned up by passing vehicles.

The washroom block was conveniently located in the middle of the site and was clean. One side had a ‘conservatory’ with sliding patio-style doors at each end and this contained the dishwashing sinks, which were good, with plenty of space for dirty, draining and dried dishes. Downside was that the windows were always open and inconsiderate campers left both the sliding doors open. With temperatures dropping to just a few degrees this meant that the area was icy cold. This provided access to the mens’ toilets and washrooms, and as there was no automatic closer on this door these were also freezing cold, with no hint of heating in the toilets or showers.

The entrance to the ladies’ showers and toilets was on the other side of the building, and the door to this was difficult to close, so again it tended to be left open when campers left making the whole room very cold, with no obvious heating.

There was a severe shortage of hooks in both washrooms/showers: only one for all the wash basins and only one per shower to hang up towels, old clothes, clean clothes, shoes, etc.

The chemical toilet dump had no flush, just a length of hose to rinse it down. The refuse and recycling point was close to the entrance so it was quite a walk away for some of the pitches.

How this site can qualify for 'Best Of British' membership we do not understand. Hopefully no overseas visitors stay here and think this is the best we have to offer: it is one of the worst sites we have ever stayed at. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VWange 3 reviews from this member

 This was our 4th trip to Webbers Park, and as always they were very welcoming and accommodating. We had a nice flat pitch on a ridge with a lovely view of the park and beyond. All the facilities, Showers, WC's and Washing Up were all clean and tidy. There were recycling facilities and a site shop selling most things you would need. There was a children's play area, and a run with Rabbits and Guinea Pigs which was lovely to see.

The site is very rural, however it is only a short walk to the village where we enjoyed a drink and a meal at The Maltsters Arms. The site is also well located for visiting Exmouth and Sidmouth. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Spendrey 1 review from this member

 What a great site - perfect for families, and in particular (like us) those with dogs!

The site itself is a variety of hard standings, level grass pitches, and some slopes too. Initially we were allocated a sloping grass pitch, but upon arrival the attendant was really helpful to find us somewhere more suitable.

The dog walk area is great, loads of room for dogs as well as other users to visit the animals there. All grounds kept in excellent condition.

Facilities are top notch, dish washing area is under cover, loos/showers/sinks are all spotless and all in good order.

Woodbury itself has a few useful shops, the Chinese/F&C shop is nice, but cash only! There is a small Londis too, but the best part is the Maltsters Arms pub. Lovely! Not far are many other attractions like Dartmoor, Exmouth and Budleigh Salterton beaches, Crealey Adventure Park, and more. Lympstone is a particularly pretty village.

My only criticisms of the site are as follows.

1 - The shop is very basic, if you need sweets for the kids, or perhaps milk then fine, but not much in the way of accessories for camping or caravanning.

2 - The site is a down a fairly narrow lane. I wouldn't want to meet another caravan coming the the other way! I did use the 'wider' approach from the common, but still it is narrow.

Will consider here again next year. The kids loved it, including the playground which is spacious if sometimes a little busy still! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheeky oiks 2 reviews from this member

 In the first instance the management of the site were very helpful in that we had to cancel an earlier booking in June 15 for this later date with no surcharge, big bonus point from us! We were allocated a pitch with electric hook up on one of the terraces which gave us great views across the Exe estuary and up towards Dartmoor. The site was spotless and had beautifully kept hanging baskets. There was one main Toilet shower block albeit there was a toilet and shower by the reception. There were essential provisions for sale in reception bread, milk eggs etc. The main shower, toilet, dish washing up area and laundry room were all kept spotlessly clean. Whilst there was a disabled shower/toilet(key from reception), one bathroom facility (key available from reception), three family shower/toilets, three female showers, three female washrooms, three male showers and three washrooms, we felt that for a site of this size there should have been another shower/toilet block. The dog walk was amazing and went around the area where the donkeys, goats, sheep and ponies are kept. There were plenty of dog waste bins. The fresh water and toilet disposal points were in easy walking distance and were evenly positioned around the site. There was a nice playground for children and an area for playing football and grass tennis. There was also a pets corner with lop eared rabbits and guinea pigs. The wi-fi available from Caravan connect is very poor and expensive. The site is well placed for the Exe trail, Exmouth, Exeter, Exmouth, Woodbury Common, Donkey Sanctuary (Sidmouth) and the Jurassic Coast. Plus much more. We would recommend a visit to the Greendale Farm shop only a short drive away ask at reception they will give directions

Good value for money as we went in low season

Did feel that to vacate pitch by 10. 00hrs on day of departure was a little early!

However all in all a lovely quiet site, beautifully kept and in a fantastic location and we would not hesitate to recommend the site to other caravaners. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tents are us 30 reviews from this member

 Great site with all laid out with great view down to exe estuary, we had 4 days here with a 3 yr old & small dog with ehu for only £14 a night, great value.

Best thing I have seen on a site, a bathroom! Our 3 yr old loved having a bath as she hates showers, £10 deposit for the key & £1 per day for use.

Great little play park for kids, donkeys & goats for kids to look at & good dog friendly site.

We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Weaversbrook 7 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site on several occasions over the years, and will be visiting several more times in the years to come.

This is a very well laid out clean site, has spectacular views.

The toilet block in the middle of the site is immaculately maintained and always clean with the added bonus of Family/disabled rooms. There are also toilets and showers in the reception buildings which again are immaculate.

Very Dog friendly site with a lovely little dog walk within the site area. I would say although our kids have flown the nest it is a very child friendly site as well with the swing park and the football/tennis area not to mention the animal enclosure.

The staff are always friendly and would and have bent over backwards to help us. The reception has a shop which is quite well stocked with the essentials, and there is a Spar shop just down the road in Woodbury itself along with two pubs a fantastic Aladdin's cave type second hand shop and a lovely Chinese/fish and chips. From there you can also catch a bus to Exmouth or Exeter on an hourly service.

Up the Lane from the site is Woodbury common (lane is a normal little devon lane so take care best bet is go up to Cottles cottages on the left look right and you see a bridleway sign follow signs all the way up to the common of road) a haven for wildlife and fantastic for the dogs roam all day so much to see.

I would and have recommend this site to everyone and with the special deals for over 50's in low seasons its a fantastic bargain. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adam- 2 reviews from this member

 General Comments:

We were recommended this campsite by a fellow caravaner that I work with. He said it was a lovely clean site with very clean and well thought out toilet/shower/laundry and washing up facilities. And he was spot on. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the park.

We were on pitch 108 so had lovely views. This site is definitely among the very few nicest sites we have been to.

Would definitely go back again. Excellent. Only thing I would change is the wifi. Ditch the provider sort it out themselves and don't charge.

Access to the camp Site:

Basically two entry points, one through the village of Woodbury itself the other via the Budleigh Salterton road. Both where easy to drive through with a caravan on tow.

The camp Site:

The staff were friendly and helpful and the whole site was kept tidy and clean - always. Block shed provided blocks to raise your van if you needed them for your pitch.

The site was quiet with good views. Did hear the donkeys braying some mornings as they probably saw their breakfast coming. This was not a problem it really was not that loud and only lasted probably all of a minute. They had several enclosures housing goats, sheep and donkeys. These were in a separate field. They had two large area for dogs to walk and play. Tennis and football for the more active along with a play area (swings etc) and rabbits/guinea pig shed/run. So no balls around the caravans which was great.

The toilets and shower blocks were the cleanest I have seen. They also had separate wash basin cubicles which is brilliant. Water always hot regardless of time of day used. Never had to queue. I guess this is because there are 3 shower/toilet/washing up blocks. All shower blocks are modern. In one block the washing up facilities are in a conservatory, the other in a kitchen type environment with double glazing and the third outside.

They did have a site shop, it was small. Think we used it once for milk and a local map.

Local Area:

5 miles from Exeter, close to Topsham, Exmouth, Lympstone (well worth a look), Budleigh Salterton, Sidmouth, Bear and Lyme Regis.

Plenty of pubs to eat in. We ate locally in The Maltsters, The Swan, Diggers Rest and The George

Bottom Line.

Would we return : Absolutely.

Would we recommend : Definitely 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MadAboutMotorhoming 18 reviews from this member

 A fairly good site in a lovely area. The toilets were very busy as the site was full and it would have been helpful if the family bathrooms were available to use. No hooks in the mens showers, so expect to be dressing in wet clothes if you are not well prepared.

Very reasonably priced for this time of year £17. 50 for motorhome, hook up and 3 adults.

Very disappointed that visitors are expected to be off site by 10. 00 am! What site expects customers to be packing up that early these days. Surely 11. 00 am would be reasonable or 12. 00 midday would be better.

Lovely area for cycling and Exmouth was buzzing in the late summer sun. We will go back but probably look for another site - preferably one which doesn't want to get rid of customers at a ridiculously early time. 


Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Webbers Camping And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Webbers Camping And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Webbers Camping And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Exeter      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6764 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement