Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Chichester > Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk) Reviews

Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk)
Vinnetrow Road
Chichester
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 1QH
Tel: 01243 218520  or  0343 178 7070
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: Caravans for Hire & Sale Only
Open: 15/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 53 Reviews
                5/10 from 53 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Lraven 1 review from this member

 Good location however dogs were constantly barking.

Even after complaining NOTHING was done. If you want a relaxing holiday do not come to Lakeside.

We will not be returning or recommending Lakeside to anyone 


Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note that as from 2018 onwards, Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park will no longer have any touring caravan, motorhome, or camping pitches. Holiday caravans for hire or sale only.  


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wydcombe 1 review from this member

 We used the campsite as a base to explore the Chichester region over the August Bank Holiday period. The surrounding area is beautiful with it's lakes, stunning country side and many stately homes and gardens to visit nearby.

If I had done my research I would have been aware that the campsite is adjacent to the A27, so despite its beautiful location, the traffic noise is deafening, all day and all night. On the plus side it drowned out some of the rowdiness from the large group of campers next to us!

Unfortunately there were not enough facilities or staff to cope with the volume of guests. The campsite warden was so helpful and friendly, but he seemed to be fighting a losing battle. I felt really sorry for him and the cleaner. The ablutions became filthy within seconds of being cleaned and the bins overflowed again the moment after they were emptied.

The Club House was in a lovely setting by a lake with an outside decking. The staff did their best to clear the tables and serve customers but service was understandably slow due to the sheer number of people. We were also slightly put off as some guests were swilling beer and using offensive language in front of young children from as early as breakfast time.

The pool was small and crowded. Our teenagers got turned away from the pool on two separate occasions because it was too busy, so they didn't bother to try after that.

Of course traffic noise and undesirable guests are not the fault of the campsite, but hopefully management will take on board the comments regarding insufficient facilities and lack of staffing and do something about both soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyd71 4 reviews from this member

 Don't do this often, but can find very little to recommend this site

Location ok, but noise from A27 can be tiresome,

Toilets sub adequate, and cleNing between 8-9:30am not sensible on a touring site

Inadequate grey disposal, poor chemical disposal involving a 2ft lift over wall

Entertainment average for a small site, tables sticky in bar

But worse was the state of the pitches, turned down allocated pitch as someone had just been towed off it ( this had been a semi perm pitch as it had no grass )

2nd allocated pitch was already occupied when got there, and bogged down trying to get onto third pitch and had to be pushed on by neighbours 4x4

Only good thing close to town 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattsport 2 reviews from this member

 Decent park, good location but not as good as it could be or as was advertised

Liked:

Clean showers and toilets

Close proximity to other attractions such as the beach, Chichester and butlins

Well kept grass and ares In general

Lots of other families there for my child to make friends with.

Disliked:

Very noisy dual carriage way behind camping field, it felt lie we were sleeping on the roadside.

Play area was not suitable for younger children (1-3)

Staff in the shop/cafe were not very friendly and had a ridiculous system where they had one shop but two different tills for different items from the shop. Despite spending 20 on meals in the cafe on my debit card, I could not then purchase a drink to go with it unless I spent at least another 5 because the drinks went under a different till to the food. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Collied 10 reviews from this member

 Never again ! Very uneven pitches and caravan easily grounded when leaving the road to go onto the pitch. Hook up points falling over in many cases. Toilets dirty but water hot.

Staff didn't seem very friendly or welcoming. Limited stock in the on site shop soon ran out of milk each day. Areas of this site are prone to flooding and many pitches are wet and muddy at any time.

The worst part of this site is the close proximity to the busy A27 main road with incessant traffic noise at all hours of the day and night. The only plus we found to this site was some lovely walks around the various lakes.

The nearby Tangmere aviation museum although small has some interesting exhibits if they are actually on display and not away for some reason. Maybe if you are a keen fisherman this is the site for you, but we wont be bothering again. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Michaelely 2 reviews from this member

 Best site we have ever visited. Modern and clean. Staff very accommodating. Could be noisy over by the A27 but we were on a pitch furthest away.

Only grass pitches so be careful of bogging down as we were. Tractor arrived to help us out so many thanks to the 'maintenance team' who were very helpful.

Obviously modernised and offers many entertainment features. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Cost very reasonable. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brannlou 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for five nights over the August bank holiday. It was really busy on arrival so we camped in the bottom field heading to the very busy/noisy A27. The first night, the constant stream of traffic, was annoying but after that we got used to it & slept really well.

The first impression is how idyllic this place looks. The two main problems were that the rubbish was over flowing out of the bins and the showers/toilets were filthy. In the 5 days we were there the bins were only emptied once & the showers/toilets looked like they had a quick flick with a cloth.

The floor (muddy & full of grass) didn't look like it had been swept or mopped. I never saw them closed for cleaning like on other sites that I've been to. We heard that they are having trouble employing cleaners at the moment & the warden doesn't feel it's their job to clean!

On a positive note, we had a really great time camping here as it's a great location to visit the surrounding areas. We would return as the camping field is great & the location suits us.

We only used the clubhouse for a quick drink one evening. We were served by a rude & uninterested girl. Any other members of staff seemed very nice.

The playground in the camping field was very busy with kids. As we don't have kids, we were glad to be camping on the other side of the field as the kids were still screaming & shouting in the play area at 10pm with torches in their hands.

You don't need to use the camp shop, there's a huge Sainsburys near by or a Tesco Express in Pagham. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heidihi 3 reviews from this member

 We've just had a week at Chichester Lakeside, and for our first camping trip it was okay. At first it seemed idyllic to us, but as time went on we found more reasons not to wish to return.

To reduce rambling (slightly), I'll list pros and cons:

Pros:

- Lovely big field situated near beautiful lakes.

- Nice wash station in newer toilet/shower block.

- Nice, hot showers (ones in older block seemed more powerful. )

- Plug sockets in 'laundrerette' room

- Nice climbing frame. Decent size. (but. See below)

- Nice decked terrace area outside clubhouse overlooking lake.

- Surprisingly lovely evening meal - generous child's portion! I think hubby felt a bit bad when my 'bucket of fish' (or similar) kid's meal was so nice, and filling! For half the price of an adult meal I was very impressed.

- Heated pool (apparently) - certainly not cold :)

- Lovely little 'bathing machine' changing huts (won't mention the wee smell in one of them. Oops)

- Good dog-walking opportunities.

- Good fishing. Hubby caught a nice big Common Carp on his 24 hr fish at one of the lakes.

- Plenty to do nearby, and information leaflets in clubhouse about stuff to do nearby eg. West Wittering beach (free), Walnut Tree pub (nice food), Chi. Canal, Cathedral, Fisher's Farm, etc.

Cons:

- Tent/'touring' field right by busy A27

- Some miserable/unhelpful staff (except guy who seemed to work all hours, as lifeguard then barman. Helpful, friendly and much more 'switched on' than the guy in the cafe! :o )

- Permanent unpleasant smell in the (ladies) toilets, particularly the 'older' block. Cleaned/mopped when people getting up/using them. Slippery and dangerous! No warning signs. Cleaner asked us if we'd finished in shower. Not very relaxing when you think someone's waiting for you to finish. Soap dispensers in toilets don't seem to get filled up often either. ?

- Launderette at other end of camp to touring field, though a nice-looking one actually on the field. Unfortunately there were no washing/drying machines in it.

- Large play area mostly empty (of play equipment). A decent-sized climbing frame was all that was in there, occupying a tiny portion
of the fenced play area. Oh, apart from crazy golf which I believe you needed your own clubs/ball to play. I only saw it being used once all week.

- Shop/cafe doesn't open till 9am, so if you're an early riser and want to use the toaster in the cafe, or get breakfast/something for breakfast, tough.

- Shop is very small and consequently lacking in range (though supermarkets nearby)

- 'Entertainment' awful! (NOISE!) Son won comp and got blank certificate. 'Entertainer' also kept talking over bingo on live Park holidays TV system: mega annoying! No escape from noise of clubhouse if you go anywhere near that area.

- Would have preferred no arcade either, but guess that's just personal preference.

- Adult bar better, but can't make much use of if you have children.

- Ridiculous pool times! - Closes at 5. 30pm in Summer! And so small and shallow (Deep end 1. 4 m). Sardines anyone?

- Can't walk all the way round the lakes/each lake/s - unless you don't mind walking along the bypass. Though perhaps this is nothing to do with the park/owners.

- WiFi service appalling! Didn't pay, but couldn't get signal anyway. (Free trial didn't help)

Tips:

- Some kind of insect repellant in 'social' areas. Playing 'it' with wasps when trying to eat/drink isn't fun!

- Air fresheners in toilets

- More equipment in play area

- Increase pool opening times!

- Clean toilets earlier before people turn the clean(-ish) wet floor into a muddy wet floor.

- Clean toilets more often: once a day isn't enough in high season.

- Increase opening times of shop/cafe/laundrette. (Or just open laundrette earlier and put toaster in there. ?)

Overall, despite the gripes, we had a nice time. We were happy with our camp, BBQ, dog walks, etc. Had we booked meals, or wanted to visit the bar area more often, we would not have enjoyed it. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NigelLisa 1 review from this member

 Very noisy campsite right on the A27, our first pitch was like sleeping in a lay-by. The staff were great and moved us to another pitch but still the traffic noise is 24-7. The reviews state a quite campsite we don't know who wrote that.

The site was dirty with bins often overflowing as only a limited number of staff trying to keep it clean. Few travellers on site which a few campers had issues with and one night boy racers racing round the site with only one security guard for the camping and caravan park.

The staff were fantastic always happy and more than willing to help although often run off their feet, the only up side of the park was the outdoor heated park which was clean big enough for every one and well guarded.

The toilet and shower facilities were nothing special with the new block rather better than the old, shower nice and hot, but tended to be dirty.

Having camped for many years the reviews, in our opinion, on their web site are miles from the truth and we will not be staying on this site again. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chichester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1110 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020