Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Littlehampton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Littlehampton > Littlehampton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Littlehampton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Wick
Littlehampton
West Sussex   (Browse area)
BN17 7PH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 108
Open: 02/03 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 64 Reviews
                8/10 from 64 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 5 miles   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Macarw 19 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights as we were going to a wedding in the area. The cost was £105 for 2 adults 2 children and our dog, booked in advance and paid on arrival.

The site had wi-fi which was being upgraded when we were there, and there were a mix of serviced, grass and hard standing pitches. There was a play park with a seating area handy for adults to sit and watch their children.

The approach to the site was a bit difficult due to a lot of roadworks with barriers reducing the width of the road on the approach road, but the information sent out by the site warned of this. The turn into the site is a very tight left hand turn, and also the first corner onto the pitches is also a very tight right hand turn, both of which were awkward.

The wardens were lovely, when we arrived I'd forgotten we needed our membership card, and rather than have to go back to the car and dig it out they were happy with a photo id.

We were told to choose a pitch and then return to collect a card for the security barriers - the card was needed to go both in and out of the site - so no danger of forgetting to take the card out with you!

We have a dog, and the first pitch we chose was pitch 3 which was surrounded by tall hedges and quite near to the dog walking area. Ideal for the dog we thought. However if you choose this pitch be aware that the electric point was quite a long way from the pitch, an long cable was necessary. Also although at first glance it looked flat, after trying unsuccessfully to level the van on it (both front to back and side to side) and eventually realising the front legs weren't long enough and we had no blocks (although the wardens were happy to hunt us down some blocks) in the pouring rain we decided to admit defeat and move to another pitch (pitch 76 which was a flat hard standing directly opposite the dog walk).

We put our awning up and there wasn't much space left on the pitch in front of it, as a small hedge surrounded it - we needed to use the side door, but it was fine for us.

The toilets were big, modern and immaculately clean. The site was busy and I used the end shower when all the others were full - not marked as a disabled shower but clearly an accessible one, and the water was hot, continuous and the shower was really powerful. There was a space to get changed in the shower area with a seat and lots of hooks for your stuff, the floor of which stayed relatively dry whilst the shower was on. There were plenty of enclosed sink cubicles, a full length mirror, hair dryers and plenty of space for ladies to do their hair/make up etc.

My only gripe would be that the toilet block shut from 10:30 -12:00 for cleaning which I think is a bit early, but I think that's standard on club sites, and there were 2 other toilets available for use whilst the toilets were being cleaned.

The site was well looked after and well maintained. The dog walking area was a small enclosed field - about 12 yards by 100 yards, so long and thin, ideal for throwing a ball as it was also surrounded by tall hedges. The dogs could be let off the lead in there. The ground was lumpy and bumpy due to rabbits, but plenty of signs warned of this and of course the dog loved the rabbit smells!

The shop in the warden's office sold things like biscuits, sweets and ice-creams and toilet chemicals but not essentials like milk and bread. However Morrisons was very close by - less than half a mile. We drove there but you could easily walk. It also had a cafe where we treated ourselves to breakfast before leaving on our final day. Check out time was 12, but the wardens kindly gave us an hour extension on that - we were packed up and ready to go before 12 but wanted to get some breakfast before getting on the road.

For those of you with dogs, we put our dog into doggie day care for the day of the wedding at East Sussex dog training which was a short drive away. The cost was £20 for the day. We needed to show her vaccination certificate and she had a short trial in the morning to check all was ok and as she settled they were happy to have her for the afternoon. She was exhausted when we picked her up, but would definitely recommend it if you needed to go somewhere for the day without your dog.

Can't comment on the area as we were busy with wedding and family so didn't really see much of the area, but driving through Arundel the castle and cathedral looked worth a visit, and I believe from other dog owners that there was a lovely woodland walk and some dog friendly beaches nearby.

If we were in the area again we would definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 48 reviews from this member

This is a very nice site on which we have stayed several times. Ideal for motorhomers as it has very good hard standing pitches (serviced and non-serviced to choose from) and is within walking distance of many facilities.

Littlehampton is a 20-30 mins level walk and Arundel a short bus ride away (bus stop opposite the Six Bells PH), Morrisons supermarket is 5-10 mins walk away and two pubs are on your doorstep, the aforementioned Six Bells and The Locomotive. We had a very nice evening meal in the Six Bells and had a nice lunch at The Empress in Littlehampton Marina and we would recommend both. We would also recommend Cockburn's Tea Room in Arundel.

Yes there is train and road noise but it did not bother us and sometimes you have to just accept these things when you are staying in an urban area.

With regards to Travellers mentioned in other reviews; we have seen this at other Club sites (both C&MC and C&CCC) August to October and we think they are here for farm work during harvest time. Not much the Clubs can do as they pay their membership but I agree more could be done to make sure they adhere to the rules although sometimes these people just do not co-operate with anyone. They cancel their membership once they leave of course!

Overall an excellent site we would recommend and will always return.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Badger826 3 reviews from this member

History seems to have repeated itself (see October 2017). The site is well maintained to the usual Caravan Club standard. Very good facilities kept in top order. The site is set on the edge of this pleasant town with two pubs in short walking distance and a Morrison’s just down the road.

Our visit was marred by the sudden arrival of 8 travellers transit vans towing large caravans. Several club rules were violated by the occupants who used the facilities with distant and gave no thought the other campers. Vehicles were in and out at all hours and the visitors car was used as a storage for other vehicle and a trailer used for their trade.

At one point they tried to sell generators and pressure washers on site. The very nice wardens received a lot of unnecessary criticism for their efforts to rid the site of these people. It was rumoured the area manger was to call but I cannot confirm or deny this. They eventually left en mass later in the week. Until something is done to resolve this permanently we will not return.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JayneBerry 24 reviews from this member

We REALLY liked this site and didn't want to leave! The area is lovely with lots to see including Arundel only a couple of miles away - I cannot overstate how beautiful this town is, the view as you approach it from the road will take your breath away.

The site itself is right next to a very busy road and access is just round a bend so you will probably shoot past it by mistake as we did, the signage could be better! Luckily there is a roundabout close by where you can turn your outfit around and come back. This road proximity is literally the only drawback we found, and you will hear trains as well from the nearby level crossing, so suss out the pitches before you settle on one, otherwise you may be cursing the traffic noise. On the plus side, there is a decent Morrisons only a couple of hundred yards away so shopping for provisions is painless.

The actual site is completely level with manicured hedges dividing the pitching areas, so it all feels very open and restful. There are some standard pitches, some super pitches and some grass pitches as well, so something for everyone, with probably the cleanest shower/toilet block I have ever seen in my life. The dog walk is a narrow strip of grass about 60 yards long that is fully enclosed so you can let the dog off the lead and chuck a ball so it can work off some energy after the journey.

Littlehampton itself has a delightful riverside walk with a good choice of shops and a sand/pebble beach. If you like traditional seaside towns with fishing heritage, you will love it. Also Brighton and Chichester are straightforward to reach and both well worth a visit, as is Fishbourne Roman palace if you like history.

In summary - lovely site, lovely area. A long way from our home in West Yorkshire but we would love to visit again.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Minddhyg 17 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site. The facilities are second to none, but there is a but and a big one. The site was full of commercial travelling vehicles and trucks with ladders on them and their accompanying caravans. It was not a pleasant stay.

We were pitched on the small exit road and these vehicles were coming and going at all hours. We were awoken nearly every morning at 4am by these vehicles leaving the site. The wardens are quite aware that this is happening but choose to do nothing about the vehicles.

There was trouble with the owner of one caravan which had a dog tied up to it and just left unattended with no water or food. I would never go to this site again which is a pity, because it once had a great reputation and the facilities are very good.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

Littlehampton Caravan Club site is tended and maintained to the usual Caravan Club high standards, with facilities housed in a centrally-located block. The only downside is that the site is situated on the busy A284 road off the main A27. Traffic noise is not oppressive, although it is noticeable at busy times or when vehicles are backed up because the level crossing barrier is down.

The upside is that the camp site is well located for accessing all the main towns and attractions along the South Coast - including Brighton, Worthing, Bognor Regis, Chichester and Littlehampton itself, as well as the glorious South Downs countryside. If you ride bikes, it's worth bringing them because Littlehampton is flat, its beaches are only fifteen minutes cycle ride away, and parking can be scarce and expensive. The Coastliner 700 bus also stops outside the site, linking the main South Coast towns.

There is a large Morrisons superstore (with cheap fuel) located the other side of the level crossing from the site, as well as a Lidl in the town centre.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahh999 1 review from this member

My haven, this is the second time in as many months that I have visited this site, and every time I'm here I find myself extending my length of stay, and working out when I can come back. The site is amazing and has everything you could wish for or need.

The site is in a perfect location just outside of all the traffic, but close enough to all the amenities you would need, with a fantastic pub no more than a six min walk, usually a bit longer on the way back.

The site is pristine in every area, from the showers to the grass, the people that run it are so friendly and lovely and it shows their passionate about what they do, and always happy to help. I'd never had a caravan before and always stayed in static vans, I would definitely recommend this site and will definitely be back soon, for me this site & staff are worth 10 stars.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chief501 1 review from this member

Fantastic 7 night stay. This was our first proper stay away from home with our new caravan and we had a lovely time. Fab showers and free hair dryers and great little washing area for pots and pans. Very tidy and clean and the kids loved joining in with others on site. The playground was lovely and everything on your doorstep. Why put up with the noise of the A27 in Chi when for a short drive you could have peace and quiet.

Pizzas on Saturday night on site were just right with a salad and new potatoes.

Morrisons was just up the road but for just another mile drive there was a big tesco with a good clothes section if you have forgotten anything. Lidl was in town with a smaller Sainsbury's. Lots to do locally and friendly staff at the campsite made for a great stay.

We will definitely be back for another holiday.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Crocketford 12 reviews from this member

This was the 4th site on our travels, very neat and manicured, lovely toilet and shower block, very friendly wardens.

We found the location ideal, as it was a short walk for provisions to Morrisons and a stroll to all the local shops.

It was a very friendly site and if we did not live so far away it would definitely have become a regular stop.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frannyvan 17 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for May Half-term. Lovely smallish site with good playpark for the kids and spacious clean shower block.

Usual club standards and friendly wardens. Plenty of kids around for our kids to play with.

Good access to A27 with Arundel castle nearby. Littlehamptom is a nice seaside town (probably overshadowed by Bognor, Worthing and Brighton), but that was all the better as we were able to find free parking and found the seaside very pleasant.

Harbour park at Littlehampton seafront is a small amusement and ride park. Great for the kids.

Morrisons is a handy 2 minute drive.

We decided to avoid driving into Brighton as people have posted on trip advisor that parking is extortionate. Following a recommendation from the warden, we took the train from Angmering and parked near the station for free. Thanks for the tip.

Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Littlehampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5193 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019