Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Littlehampton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > Littlehampton > Littlehampton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Littlehampton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Wick
Littlehampton
West Sussex   (Browse area)
BN17 7PH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 108
Open: 02/03/2024 to 03/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 70 Reviews
                8/10 from 70 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: December 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Brianc 1 review from this member

 Good site…. Not many there…. Phill and Julie are excellent hosts and had wine and mince pies with them on Christmas Eve.

Our 2 greyhounds enjoyed the dog paddock where they could really get up to speed…….

Toilet block clean and warm…what more could you ask for…….

My only criticism is actually aimed at the people who dream up the prices for these sites…. It should have been heaving but was nearly empty……. Almost £40 per night for a member…. Non members add on another £15 per night.

The price should be £20 per night for members…. Do that and you will get the members back and fill the sites.

I have just spent 90 days in France, Portugal and Spain and paid on average under £20 per night…. Most of these sites have indoor and outdoor swimming pools, gyms, games rooms, bars with food etc etc……Get the idea?

IS ANYBODY LISTENING. ? 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Npkent 58 reviews from this member

 Lovely October stay, warm greeting from the wardens and easy check in. Perfectly level service pitch, good TV and WiFi signal.

Decent facilities block. Some background noise from the trains and rush hour traffic but nothing of any concern.

Littlehampton is a charming old fashioned seaside town which is probably a lot busier during the school holidays. Lots to do in the area including Arundel, Worthing, Brighton, Bognor Regis or further afield we travelled to Southsea and took the Hovercraft to Ryde on the Isle of Wight.

Reasonable prices during October unlike a lot of club sites. Only complaints half the toilets and showers were closed and the facilities bins weren't emptied while we were there.

Beware seems to be an issue parking on the road nearby despite no restrictions, I think the locals must complain as the guy who arrived before had his ear bent from the wardens. Think he advised her it was not within her jurisdiction and that he had parked legally and safely. Noticed a previous review with a similar issue. Maybe a little bit more tact required from the wardens. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gazza1309 45 reviews from this member

 The site itself is good, clean and tidy. There are two pubs local to the site that are good.

The six Bells does food in the evening. The Locomotive doesn't do food, but did have a pizza van Friday and saturday evenings. The wardens said the "Just Eat" App delivers to site.

Lttlehampton is a bit run down. The towns heading nearer to Brighton were much nicer with better shops, restaurants and pubs.

We made it as far as Shoreham which had a nice market on the Saturday we were there. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 56 reviews from this member

 Spacious open site with good sized pitches. The shower block was well presented although not as spotless as CAMC ones usually are (only a minor gripe as it was still clean).

The site is very family friendly with excellent kids play facilities. If you don't like noise, pitch well away from here!

It's a good 30 minute walk into the small town. The town itself needs investment & has nothing to commend it. However the promenade and beach area (a further 10 minute walk) are brilliant.

Very clean, the promenade is traffic free, suitable for sensible cyclists or for a pleasant stroll. The Wave leisure centre has a great pool. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Pat Perry 1 review from this member

 Lovely, clean and well organised site.

Safe for the children on their bikes and lovely enclosed dog walking area.

This was our second year at this site and would not hesitate to come back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Oxfordeagle 10 reviews from this member

 4 night stop - caravan - serviced pitch.

Excellent all round - lovely wardens - helpful - site very clean.

Would certainly revisit. Cannot comment as no children 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Macarw 25 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights as we were going to a wedding in the area. The cost was £105 for 2 adults 2 children and our dog, booked in advance and paid on arrival.

The site had wi-fi which was being upgraded when we were there, and there were a mix of serviced, grass and hard standing pitches. There was a play park with a seating area handy for adults to sit and watch their children.

The approach to the site was a bit difficult due to a lot of roadworks with barriers reducing the width of the road on the approach road, but the information sent out by the site warned of this. The turn into the site is a very tight left hand turn, and also the first corner onto the pitches is also a very tight right hand turn, both of which were awkward.

The wardens were lovely, when we arrived I'd forgotten we needed our membership card, and rather than have to go back to the car and dig it out they were happy with a photo id.

We were told to choose a pitch and then return to collect a card for the security barriers - the card was needed to go both in and out of the site - so no danger of forgetting to take the card out with you!

We have a dog, and the first pitch we chose was pitch 3 which was surrounded by tall hedges and quite near to the dog walking area. Ideal for the dog we thought. However if you choose this pitch be aware that the electric point was quite a long way from the pitch, an long cable was necessary. Also although at first glance it looked flat, after trying unsuccessfully to level the van on it (both front to back and side to side) and eventually realising the front legs weren't long enough and we had no blocks (although the wardens were happy to hunt us down some blocks) in the pouring rain we decided to admit defeat and move to another pitch (pitch 76 which was a flat hard standing directly opposite the dog walk).

We put our awning up and there wasn't much space left on the pitch in front of it, as a small hedge surrounded it - we needed to use the side door, but it was fine for us.

The toilets were big, modern and immaculately clean. The site was busy and I used the end shower when all the others were full - not marked as a disabled shower but clearly an accessible one, and the water was hot, continuous and the shower was really powerful. There was a space to get changed in the shower area with a seat and lots of hooks for your stuff, the floor of which stayed relatively dry whilst the shower was on. There were plenty of enclosed sink cubicles, a full length mirror, hair dryers and plenty of space for ladies to do their hair/make up etc.

My only gripe would be that the toilet block shut from 10:30 -12:00 for cleaning which I think is a bit early, but I think that's standard on club sites, and there were 2 other toilets available for use whilst the toilets were being cleaned.

The site was well looked after and well maintained. The dog walking area was a small enclosed field - about 12 yards by 100 yards, so long and thin, ideal for throwing a ball as it was also surrounded by tall hedges. The dogs could be let off the lead in there. The ground was lumpy and bumpy due to rabbits, but plenty of signs warned of this and of course the dog loved the rabbit smells!

The shop in the warden's office sold things like biscuits, sweets and ice-creams and toilet chemicals but not essentials like milk and bread. However Morrisons was very close by - less than half a mile. We drove there but you could easily walk. It also had a cafe where we treated ourselves to breakfast before leaving on our final day. Check out time was 12, but the wardens kindly gave us an hour extension on that - we were packed up and ready to go before 12 but wanted to get some breakfast before getting on the road.

For those of you with dogs, we put our dog into doggie day care for the day of the wedding at East Sussex dog training which was a short drive away. The cost was £20 for the day. We needed to show her vaccination certificate and she had a short trial in the morning to check all was ok and as she settled they were happy to have her for the afternoon. She was exhausted when we picked her up, but would definitely recommend it if you needed to go somewhere for the day without your dog.

Can't comment on the area as we were busy with wedding and family so didn't really see much of the area, but driving through Arundel the castle and cathedral looked worth a visit, and I believe from other dog owners that there was a lovely woodland walk and some dog friendly beaches nearby.

If we were in the area again we would definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 87 reviews from this member

 This is a very nice site on which we have stayed several times. Ideal for motorhomers as it has very good hard standing pitches (serviced and non-serviced to choose from) and is within walking distance of many facilities.

Littlehampton is a 20-30 mins level walk and Arundel a short bus ride away (bus stop opposite the Six Bells PH), Morrisons supermarket is 5-10 mins walk away and two pubs are on your doorstep, the aforementioned Six Bells and The Locomotive. We had a very nice evening meal in the Six Bells and had a nice lunch at The Empress in Littlehampton Marina and we would recommend both. We would also recommend Cockburn's Tea Room in Arundel.

Yes there is train and road noise but it did not bother us and sometimes you have to just accept these things when you are staying in an urban area.

With regards to Travellers mentioned in other reviews; we have seen this at other Club sites (both C&MC and C&CCC) August to October and we think they are here for farm work during harvest time. Not much the Clubs can do as they pay their membership but I agree more could be done to make sure they adhere to the rules although sometimes these people just do not co-operate with anyone. They cancel their membership once they leave of course!

Overall an excellent site we would recommend and will always return. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Badger826 3 reviews from this member

 History seems to have repeated itself (see October 2017). The site is well maintained to the usual Caravan Club standard. Very good facilities kept in top order. The site is set on the edge of this pleasant town with two pubs in short walking distance and a Morrison’s just down the road.

Our visit was marred by the sudden arrival of 8 travellers transit vans towing large caravans. Several club rules were violated by the occupants who used the facilities with distant and gave no thought the other campers. Vehicles were in and out at all hours and the visitors car was used as a storage for other vehicle and a trailer used for their trade.

At one point they tried to sell generators and pressure washers on site. The very nice wardens received a lot of unnecessary criticism for their efforts to rid the site of these people. It was rumoured the area manger was to call but I cannot confirm or deny this. They eventually left en mass later in the week. Until something is done to resolve this permanently we will not return. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JayneBerry 24 reviews from this member

 We REALLY liked this site and didn't want to leave! The area is lovely with lots to see including Arundel only a couple of miles away - I cannot overstate how beautiful this town is, the view as you approach it from the road will take your breath away.

The site itself is right next to a very busy road and access is just round a bend so you will probably shoot past it by mistake as we did, the signage could be better! Luckily there is a roundabout close by where you can turn your outfit around and come back. This road proximity is literally the only drawback we found, and you will hear trains as well from the nearby level crossing, so suss out the pitches before you settle on one, otherwise you may be cursing the traffic noise. On the plus side, there is a decent Morrisons only a couple of hundred yards away so shopping for provisions is painless.

The actual site is completely level with manicured hedges dividing the pitching areas, so it all feels very open and restful. There are some standard pitches, some super pitches and some grass pitches as well, so something for everyone, with probably the cleanest shower/toilet block I have ever seen in my life. The dog walk is a narrow strip of grass about 60 yards long that is fully enclosed so you can let the dog off the lead and chuck a ball so it can work off some energy after the journey.

Littlehampton itself has a delightful riverside walk with a good choice of shops and a sand/pebble beach. If you like traditional seaside towns with fishing heritage, you will love it. Also Brighton and Chichester are straightforward to reach and both well worth a visit, as is Fishbourne Roman palace if you like history.

In summary - lovely site, lovely area. A long way from our home in West Yorkshire but we would love to visit again. 


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Littlehampton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Littlehampton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Littlehampton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Littlehampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


47452 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement