Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Burrowhayes Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Minehead > Burrowhayes Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Burrowhayes Farm Caravan And Camping Site
West Luccombe
Porlock
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA24 8HT
Tel: 01643 862463
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
                9/10 from 110 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <10 miles   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Alanterri 52 reviews from this member

 Liked:

Location.

Facilities not used but looked well kept.

Friendly staff.

Well stocked shop and papers to order.

Good walking with dogs.

Peaceful in bottom field by river.

16 amp EHU.

Disliked.

Water logged pitch. Not their fault and Duck boards were provided. Good job we didnít erect the awning!

Zero WiFi.

Zero mobile phone signal leaving us is in a complete black hole.

TV channels so basic as to be back in the 60s.

We wanted a fully serviced pitch but in fairness all taken. However the ones we saw were extremely close together. No screening between pitches, but I am sure they are legally compliant although a bit too close with social distancing🤪

I suspect WiFi May have been available near the facilities but it doesnít cost much these days to run a wire and mast to the rest of the site.

The bottom field where I was only had one service station. More water pipes and disposal areas would be beneficial.

In conclusion I will not return. However at £20 per night we did enjoy very good value for money. For a few dollars more this site could rise to an excellent five star place. We are not all super fit these days and some of us do enjoy our FreeSat tv in the evening. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cclcfc 18 reviews from this member

 Really lovely site. Nicely spaced pitches and very Covid safe. Lots of Sanitiser available at all waste and water areas.

Handy shop for provisions and you can order fresh bread and croissants for the morning (which we highly recommend as we had them on both days !).

Beautiful location in amongst woodland with many, many walks directly from the site. The walk in to Porlock itself takes about 20 minutes (a bit longer coming back as the hill is a killer !).

We walked down to Porlock Weir via the Woodland Walk one way and back via the marshes which was lovely for our dog. Everywhere very dog friendly with Pubs, cafes etc all allowing dogs in. We ate in the Top Ship and it was fantastic.

We will definitely be back ! 


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Yelsel58 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely welcome on arrival at the site on its first day of opening for the season.

Beautiful riverside location with some spacious hardstanding pitches. Toilet and shower block clean with plenty of hot water.

The owners and staff were all working hard with the final preparations for the forthcoming season and were friendly and approachable.

There are numerous walks from the site which is surrounded by National Trust land. Porlock - approx 1 mile away via a woodland walk - is a lovely village with shops, pubs, tea shops and a quaint church which is usually open to visit.

At a very difficult time with the coronavirus pandemic I wish Julian, Marion and all the staff the very best for the forthcoming season.

We stayed for 4 nights but will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: SymondsFamily 1 review from this member

 A beautiful site! Idyllic views and so peaceful. Ideal location to get away from the hustle and stresses of everyday life.

Julian was lovely, we had such a warm welcome and shown our pitch to set up on.

The facilities were clean with hot showers and a laundry room.

We wish we had booked for longer! Will definitely book again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Uksmudge 3 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 2 nights as a family group with 3 tents, 6 adults and 2 kids. Site is amazing and very relaxed. Sitting within National Trust land (we were unaware of this at time of booking) the scenery is perfect.

The small stream running adjacent to the park gives a nice feel to the place too. As said before the site is on a gentle slope, but our pitch was flat enough that we didn't notice. Staff super friendly and happy for us to sort balance when we were settled.

Toilet block very clean, spacious and modern. No kids play area, but with the shallow stream, and relaxed nature to the fields, they have fun just being kids. Plenty of walks locally. Porlock only a mile away. Loads of horses next to the site. Wife did see a huge stag too, but I missed that one :(

Love to explore new sites, but this one is going on our return list. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bowls15 4 reviews from this member

 What an excellent campsite. Staff are so friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Facilities are great with the showers always hot.

It is quite a big site but it's so quiet and relaxing No children's playground but the kids just seem to make friends and love it on their bikes/scooters and playing in the stream that runs through the site.

It also has a stable yard and you can go on a 1/2 hour ride for just £12. 50. It is dog friendly and there are loads of different walks off the site, one up the lane leads to two little tea rooms (dog friendly) which are great.

Overall an excellent site will return next year 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Alistair Munro 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent little site!

We were attended to very quickly on arrival, and able to pitch up and have a cup of tea before settling up!

The although most of the tent pitches do have a slope, I've seen worse advertised as flat!. Not to mention, I got the impression that if there were a serious problem, the staff would do their best to find a reasonable alternative.

Everyone friendly and chatty from check in to departure.

Facilities absolutely top notch, clean, well maintained.

I don't have kids but there were many there and all seemed happy and well entertained. Our dogs were also fine, especially as there are some excellent walks for them. The site is situated just far enough from the main road to make rambling with kids or dogs comfortable and safe.

The shop has everything you forgot to bring from home, and I can recommend the locally sourced Sausages as some of the best I've ever eaten!

I have no hesitation in recommending this site and this area for a good holiday! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jamesfh 5 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant site in a lovely location. Owners friendly and organised. Lots of decent walks to be had and can walk to Porlock from this site, its a hilly area so be prepared.

As for the site, many tent pitches have a gentle slope to them but nothing too serious, the tent pitches with hook-up have been dug out in the past so a little more level. Grass nice and short and on the whole a well kept camping site.

Toilets are well managed and showers roomy and hot. On site shop is well stocked 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jacjones 12 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Very peaceful. Fantastic facilities, well stocked shop and very friendly and helpful staff and owner. Will return as it was very relaxing. Dog friendly too. Some pitches are on a slope, but some of the slope ones are flat so not a problem. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bschaldon 6 reviews from this member

 Had never used this site before but it met all our expectations and more. We love the Exmoor countryside for variety of landscape and lack of touristic development, and this site is perfectly placed for many wonderful walks in the area. Its a 15 minute walk (down steepish hill) into Porlock for provisions or pubs, but the camp shop is pretty well stocked for basics. Lovely open green site, and although it was the middle of August, with many families, we never found it too noisy or intrusive. Great dog walks nearby, VERY friendly and helpful staff and owner, free wifi (best nearest reception, as the huddle of teenage girls demonstrated) and plenty of space. We had a serviced pitch - not requested or charged for - which was perfectly flat, with grass underpinned by a plastic mesh which seems to work very well - personally we don't like hard standings.

We will certainly return 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Burrowhayes Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Burrowhayes Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Burrowhayes Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3062 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement