Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ashfield Holiday Cottage And Touring Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Ashfield Holiday Cottage And Touring Caravan Park
Hagg Lane
Dunnington
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 5PE
Tel: 01904 488631
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/03 To 15/12

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 134 Reviews
                9/10 from 134 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  134 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RoughyedApples 3 reviews from this member

We were at Ashfield to visit the York Christmas Market. Lovely site with fabulous friendly Wardens, though I understand that they are retiring soon. Everything on the site was just as you would wish it to be. We enjoyed it so much we are looking to book again. If you are looking to use public transport into York the frequent buses run from Dunnington which is a good 20 walk.

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emily plays 5 reviews from this member

Lovely clean and well thought out small campsite. Only 5 miles from York center, regular bus service close by and park and ride a mile away. The facilities are very good and spotless, the park Wardens are very friendly and helpful. Very well priced for the standard of facilities. Dunnington sports and social club was 10 minutes walk and welcomed non members, cross keys put a further 10 minutes walk offering drinks and meals, no need to drive. Whitby an hours drive Malton and Pickering half hour drive. Thank you

Chris and Becks.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bazzo 4 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site but it certainly wouldn’t be the last. A warm and friendly greeting on arrival to a little gem of a site. There are grass and hard standing pitches, the later being a little small with large hardcore as a base, these would benefit from smaller gravel. The toilets and showers are immaculate probably better than some caravan club sites I have stayed on. 20p for a 5 minute shower is a small price to pay, well compensated with free wi-fi. (£10 a week on caravan club sites). If you eat out visit The Derwent Arms, Osbaldwick. Excellent food and very reasonably priced. ( Curry night on Wednesdays two currys and two bottles of larger £13. 99). Just 5 minutes drive from the site. Although there is a bus stop at the end of the road buses only run every 2hrs, better to use the park and ride. There is a little traffic noise during the day but very quiet in the evening and night.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TourTom 3 reviews from this member

On arrival, greeted by a very friendly and informative Lady.

Initial judgements of the site were impressed. Very well maintained, with a really nice layout.

The kids playpark was nice, well looked after, and our kids were soon making friends.

Amenities were good. Toilets and Showers always clean, and plenty of room within the shower cubicles. Don't forget your 20p, however, for 5 mins. This, we did not mind paying.

Shop was well stocked, and the shop keeper was full of info, advising on the buses and times, local takeaways, and places to eat.

5 minute walk to the Bus stop, and a 15 minute journey to the centre of York!

Pitches were large. We had a grass, pitch, which is my personal preference. Hardstanding stones were large, so Awnings may have been an issue putting up, in that instance.

All people encountered on site were very friendly also.

We stayed 3 nights but wanted to stay for more. Unfortunately, they were full, so this was not an option.

Would definitely come back, if visiting the York area again.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: David Maria 1 review from this member

We have just got back from Ashfields and had a very relaxing few days all staff one owners very nice and polite will defo go back bus about 20mins x46 catch it across from the garage 5 mins walk from site cricket club 5 -10 mins walk from site dunnington pizza are really good

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rotter1940 1 review from this member

Just returned from another weeks holiday at Ashfield, this was our 4th year at Ashfield and as usual it was a fantastic week. The owners, Rob and Jenny are always smiling and go out of their way to make your stay as happy as possible as do the site wardens. The site is always very clean and tidy as is all the amenities. We look forward to our next visit.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helen+Chris 7 reviews from this member

Lovely small and friendly site. We stayed for 2 nights with friends consisting or Caravan, tent and trailer tent and was all pitched together which was nice. Very handy for the park and ride into York and the facilities are great with a communal BBQ for £1 and clean showers and toilets, although it was a little slow the shower and if you have long hair 20p for 5 mins may not be long enough. Will gladly return again as it was very relaxing and a 10pm curfew is enforced which isn't a problem for us. Play area for the kids and we were also lucky to spot a couple of woodpeckers whilst there.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kokie 12 reviews from this member

We have stayed here over the Whitsun half term. The site is really easy to find, and the wardens were very helpful and friendly. Our pitch was hard standing for the motorhome and grass for its awning - which suited us just fine. Facilities are clean and modern. It is also very easy to get into York, using the park and ride which is less than 10 mins away. Great play area for kids the whole site had a very friendly safe feel about it. If we return to York we will be using you again! Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Donkey7 1 review from this member

Excellent very clean and tidy site. Facilities brilliant, only here 2 nights but very good with great access to York on local buses. Warden who dealt with us was very helpful and knowledgeable about local services. Good pitches and very quiet. Would use this site again.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Soundwizaler 1 review from this member

Great site good facilities, the staff and owners were very helpful and welcoming their local knowledge was very useful

Good size hardstandings, electric hook up and water services were very close

Although we didn't use it the small shop was well stocked with essentials

Would certainly use this site again

Previous     134 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2584 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019