Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Bwch Yn Uchaf

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Bwch Yn Uchaf Reviews

Bwch Yn Uchaf
Llanuwchllyn
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7DD
Tel: 01678 540983
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 136 Reviews
                9/10 from 136 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  136 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 13/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our facilities may be open

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hokeryx 1 review from this member

 Another stop over at Bwch Yn Uchaf. Excellent as always. Good to see ongoing improvements that enahance the site without spoling its essential character.

Customer service v. Good.

Facilities good.

Site condition good.

Location v. Good.

Value for money excellent.

Perfectly acceptable meal in The Eagles in the village. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Suzi4366 1 review from this member

 Clean open site with 2 shower blocks - only used 1 which had 3 showers but there was also a family shower room and a disabled room.

Site has 2 levels - top site is flat and open, lower site is by the river with a few hard standing - these were non electric, ehu area on top level by entrance.

Bala steam rail station right next door which was lovely.

Pub called Yr Eagles bout 10 minute walk with the local village shop - gorgeous meal but you do have to book as itís very popular. Overall a nice quiet site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Misscoffeebean 1 review from this member

 Shower/toilet block is nice and clean. Scenic area and there is plenty of space.

Friendly reception on arrival, with Dogs and fires allowed.

Nice and peaceful place to pitch up. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Deborah247 6 reviews from this member

 Brilliant camp site, only about 12 ish touring spots, but massive for tents.

Toilet/ shower facilities, clean and always paper, quite a walk from campsite suppose, they hire out firepits and you can camp right by the river,

Narrow gauge steam train station behind, into bala £11 adult but ok for the novalty factor, have to walk 10 -15 min into bala town, few pubs, spar, co-op and local shops for food,

all in all I would definitely recommend this site,

was a gem of a find with the Eagles pub just 10 min walk down the road for a superb Sunday lunch / evening meal. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Burton07 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 4 days (booked for 7 nights but cut short because of the weather forecast) I would definitely come here again. The pitches are a good size and the toilets are kept clean and there are plenty of drinking water points.

The grass was kept nice and short and it was mown every time a pitch was vacated. The river was excellent for children to play in (and adults too!).

The main toilet block seemed fairly new and was very clean. There is a fridge freezer, a washing machine and tumble dryer (both coin-operated)plus 3 washing-up sinks with boiling hot water. The site is big enough to give plenty of secluded pitches with some right next to the river in little sheltered spots.

The site is excellent for train enthusiasts as the Bala lake railway is right next door. Look forward to visiting again soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ph1l1p 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 2 days at the end of a holiday around the coast. It was by far the worst campsite we stayed at.

Pros -

Facilities clean (but not enough! Queues for gents loos in the morning). Showers free.

Grass areas flat and well maintained.

Excellent pub 10 mins walk away - the Eagles Inn.

Cons -

Attracts large rowdy groups, with lots of vehicles.

No enforcement of rules.

We arrived in our small campervan and chose a quiet location in the large field with a nice view of the nearby hill. Pretty soon after another group with a very large tent and a motorhome set up on our right, parking their four cars very close to our camper. Our nice view of the hill was now replaced by the tailgate of a Vauxhall Astra.

Worse was to come. A different group arrived on our left, with two large tents. Their large fierce looking dog was released on a very long lead and did a huge dump by our van. Again they had parked their cars very close to our van and proceeded to erect their tents in the light of their car headlamps, with engines running. This was 11:30 at night. Their noisy kids were also running around unrestrained. At this point, to avoid the noise and diesel fumes, we moved our van to a quiet spot on the opposite side of the field. Our old neighbours were still unloading stuff, slamming car doors, at 2:30 in the morning.

On our second day, in our new spot, once again a large noisy group arrived with a huge tent, a motorhome and several cars. The cars were very close to our van and again they frequently had engines running and radios playing. Their dog was frequently not on a lead as per the rules.

Perhaps you can't blame the campsite for the clientele it attracts, but some guidance on where to set up would help, locating large groups in one section of the site, perhaps. Also some supervision of the site in the evening would not go amiss. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nomads101 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic gem of a campsite! We spent 3 nights in the lower field near the stream and we had a great time. There was plenty of space even as the site started to fill up and the facilities were good. The kids loved paddling in the stream and running around the fields making new friends. Such a happy vibe and all campers were respectful, no noise or loud music (it really isn't that kind of campsite thankfully) just a peaceful setting to enjoy the surrounds.

We enjoyed a meal at the Eagle Inn which is close by but I'd advise to book as it was very busy when we went on a Thursday night.

Overall we loved it here, with it's stunning location and ease of getting to Bala on the steam train, can't fault it! Makes a great base for exploring further afield too. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sammyboop1 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit here both me and my partner loved every second. It has beautiful scenery. The campsite owner was extremely friendly and helpful. All of the toilets and showers were spotless. Was impressed that they have a washing machine and dryer to use. Could not find one fault with this site and will definitely be revisiting in the near future 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ReddingDarling 3 reviews from this member

 This as a stunning camping site! Beautiful green hills to one side and rolling farm lands to the other. The owner was more than helpful. Supplied us with wood and kindling each night on request. Fire pits were also available, but we brought our own. You were able to drive to your tent, although some other residents abused this and drove themselves to the toilets. But luckily didn't mud up the grounds.

The amenities were great, clean, hot showers, drinking water, washing up facilities. And I really loved the freezer access as well.

There is a large open space camping area, where we camped. It got significantly busy on the Saturday night, and we could hear some of our neighbors' music. But the other nights we were there was quiet bliss. There was a smaller camp area below, closer to the creek, with port-a-loos. That would be have been a more secluded spot, but was already taken. The sound of the creek was beautiful. Bugs were fine, we didn't really notice many, but it was quite a cold weekend in August, around 12-15 degrees during the day, but no rain.

We paid £8 per person per night, which I thought was very reasonable. The drive in was stunning as well. The locals are quite happy to over take you on the winding roads, no matter what speed you're doing. The drive from London on a Friday was about 7 hours, and we all came from different directions. Drive back on the Monday was a more reasonable 5/6.

We did a day of hiking and it was beautiful, farmland, sheep, cattle, streams, the lake. We hiked up to Bala then caught the train back. The train does take a while and is slow (and expensive we thought at a £9 per person), but was great. The train stops right at the camp site.

Its a short 10min drive to the north side of Bala lake, and the small town of Bala which has a co-op, petrol station, pubs, shopping and leisure center. THis is also where you can hire bikes, kayaks, sail boats etc. We should have spent more than 4 days here! So much to do and so beautiful! Even the cold weather didn't spoil it. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Laraways 7 reviews from this member

 We booked one night on the campsite at short notice but wasn't a problem. It wasn't at all busy and we had our pick of pitches to choose from. The hard standing was level and just wide enough for our motorhome so our outside area for sitting was all grass which was much better than when you have a wide hard standing and no grass. The showers and toilets were clean and plenty of hot water. Only 2 toilets (+ disabled toilet) and 2 showers in the ladies - am not sure this would be sufficient if all the pitches were in use.

Owners were really helpful and friendly. We ate in the local pub, The Eagles which was about a 15 minute walk - the food was really good.

Our children enjoyed paddling in the stream on the site and we also took advantage of the closeness of the Bala Lake Railway station to have a trip on the train.

Not one of the cheapest sites we've been on and I think it was a little overpriced considering the small no. Of toilets and shower facilities BUT the lovely location made up for that. 


Previous     136 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bwch Yn Uchaf child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bwch Yn Uchaf?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bwch Yn Uchaf dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bala      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3033 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020