Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenhill Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Kidlington > Greenhill Leisure Park > Reviews

Greenhill Leisure Park
Greenhill Leisure Park
Station Road
Bletchingdon
Kidlington
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX5 3BQ
Tel: 01869 351600
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 156
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 217 Reviews
                9/10 from 217 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  217 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 28 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: DylanOES 28 reviews from this member

 This is a superbly located site adjacent to the River Cherwell. There is a long (surfaced) access road from the entrance close by Bletchingdon, so the site is well away from surrounding roads.

Pitches are mostly seasonal but there are a number for touring.

Surprisingly for a large site, there is a relatively small number of hardstanding pitches - nearly all have EHU but none are fully serviced.

Land surrounding the park area is all accessible, with many ponds (fishing available), so many walk opportunities and there is a huge (>5 acres?), fenced dog exercise field.

There are four facilities blocks spread around - all well cleaned and maintained. Reception area includes a small shop with the usual essentials and also fishing equipment.

A great facility is 'Loubees' bar and burger café, which has a menu extending beyond burgers (e. G. Pizzas, scampi, full-English, etc. ) - in season open all week except Monday & Tuesday. Hosts Louise & Brent very welcoming - great atmosphere.

The only significant negative for the site is poor drainage - after heavy rain some standing water around the main touring facility block and nearly all grassed areas very soft underfoot. 


Date of Visit: February 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nwestw 1 review from this member

 Exceptionally clean and quiet.

Beautiful site with plenty of walks.

Really pleased there was a dog paddock for our puppy to run off lead.

Lovely owners.

We will definitely stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 107 reviews from this member

 We use this site as a stopover on our way south and it is ideal. I have reviewed the site before and nothing has really changed.

There are no real negatives apart from the small number of toilets and showers which, most of the time, is not a problem, but when the site is full, like the bank holiday weekend when we were there, you have to queue for a shower at peak times.

My husband had no problem at 6am as he is an early riser but at 8am, there was a queue. I have given the site facilities 7/10 but this is not a reflection of their cleanliness, they were very clean when we were there, it is a reflection of the fact there are very few of them and they get very busy.

The thing we really like about this site is the peace and quiet. There is no road noise, which is very important for us, and even when we were there over the bank holiday weekend, the site was very quiet at night.

On one of our stopovers next year we are hoping to stay a bit longer and explore Oxford and the surrounding area a bit more 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikeanddeb 42 reviews from this member

 Booked the site to break up the journey home from Isle of Wight to Manchester.

Met a couple on holiday who'd also used the site on route to the Isle of Wight, both very impressed.

Our first impressions were of the manicured drive way leading to the site. Ladies managing reception and the shop were very welcoming, informed of our pitch allocation and issued with a site map. Shop was very well stocked.

Site was so peaceful.

Stunning walks around the site, just kept going and going. Wonderful to see all the wildlife, butterflies, variety of birds, wrens and their chicks on the fishing pond off the drive, woodpeckers, rabbits.

Took the dog on early morning walk near the river and seen two deers, thankfully dog was on her lead, as she wanted to follow them.

Facilities were very clean, noticed 3 blocks in total for the various sections on the site.

Two large rotary airers for the campers to use, never seen this provision before, but think it's a great idea.

Very large children's play area. Visited Bicester, Birdland, Bourton on the water. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gena-2610 1 review from this member

 Our stay at Greenhills was very enjoyable and relaxing,

We have been there a few times now and will keep going back,

The site with its 4 fishing lakes is beautiful and well looked after,

It has its own site shop with lots of choices plus camping and fishing equipment too,

The staff are very friendly 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 107 reviews from this member

 We needed to find a site in this area as the site that we usually stop at on our way from North to South (Bladon Chains) has recently closed.

We only stayed here for one night as a stopover on our way south, however impressions were very favourable. Pitches seemed large, however there was a side to side slope on most of them, so levellers might be needed.

The toilet block was clean however there were only three toilets and three showers in the one near our pitch, so I would guess that this might get quite busy at peak times. However when we were there, it seemed adequate.

There is a bistro on site which seems to have a reasonable menu, however we didn’t try it, and instead opted for fish and chips from the village about 10 minutes drive away.

The site is in a very rural area, and there seems to be a number of walks. We just wanted a brief stretch of the legs after our journey, and there was a nice short walk down to the river and back which took about 15 minutes.

The site had a really big children’s play area however it was behind a large hedge which meant that the noise didn’t seem to travel which was good.

All in all, this was a great site for our needs, and we would have no hesitation in stopping here again in the future. 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bede 9 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant stay in a largely empty field. Whilst there, we'd thought pitches (EHU) were extremely spacious and that there was a large play area in the middle of the field which seemed wonderful.

Looking on the map, though, it seems that the some of the large play area becomes non-electric pitches so could be less room to play but there is a play area and a sports field so not really an issue.

Friendly and helpful warden; shop that sells essentials; excellent café/restaurant on site; a long driveway but, once you've hiked to the top of it, the Coop in Bletchingdon is five/ten minutes walk away along a wide grass verge. The pub on the village green, The Black's Head, does food Wednesday-Sunday and offers a friendly welcome.

Decent sized washing up sinks (with plugs!); recycling; a laundry room with (paid) washer, dryer, and iron. They also have rotary washing lines available outside the laundry room which I thought an excellent idea.

Showers were spacious and easily adjustable with the possibility of hot water (easily big enough to take kids in rather than sorting access to the family room). Two sinks in the gents; three urinals; three cubicles. The block wasn't dirty by any stretch but there was a lack of attention to detail over the couple of days. No evidence that it had been cleaned in the 48 hours there but, as it was quiet, not a huge problem. Assume this was due to low usage as camping fields were very quiet.

Large children's play area. Equipment suitable for under 9s which suited us fine.

A pleasant stay which I'd happily repeat. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Amorelle 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed between Christmas '21 and New Year's Day 2022. It was such a lovely site - quiet, rural, lovely walks, and the lakes where there was an elderly chap doing his Tai Chi / Qui Gong every morning and evening.

Great location for visiting Blenheim Palace, Oxford and the Cotswolds. Very clean and friendly site. Very quiet when we went with all the other campers seemingly having permanent pitches there.

It was our first time taking our new caravan out & our 'neighbour' on the pitch next to us was so helpful, gave us great advice, and even took all the paint off our tow ball for us (who knew we had to do that?!)!

We tow using our campervan and following heavy rain we got stuck in the mud - doh! - but the owners kindly towed us out using their tractor!

Such a lovely site and we'll definitely be back again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Archer750 7 reviews from this member

 Very nice site, although very crammed in. We were put in the middle of a field and had a huge extension to a hook-up. This was then teed off to the tent which was with us.

4 adults and 3 kids, one caravan and one tent. (Although straight in front of ue there were two empty pitches).

Washrooms could do with an upgrade. Apart from that, a great location with loads to do with the grand kids.

Would go back! 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Footprints68 5 reviews from this member

 On arrival, the entrance to the park looked lovely, there were pigs and chickens to see. We were greeted by a warden and shown to our pitch, that's all I can say about that (no friendly welcome).

Positives: The showers were hot and the pitches were a very good size (sloped), fully serviced. There were two donkeys and some alpacas which you could visit as well as the pigs and chickens. There were two very good pubs nearby.

Negatives: The toilets and showers never seemed clean, toilet rolls left lying about, tissue on the floor and wobbly toilet seats. The shower shelves were rusty and looked unsightly. The park was very noisy and this didn't quieten down after the designated time. When we mentioned this on leaving (a day early) the response was "oh that's a shame isn't it".

Ok for families but not if you want a quiet relaxing holiday. We will not be returning. 
via mobile


Previous     217 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Greenhill Leisure Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenhill Leisure Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Greenhill Leisure Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kidlington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53807 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement