Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wareham Forest Lodge Retreat (was Pear Tree Holiday Park)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Poole > Wareham Forest Lodge Retreat (was Pear Tree Holiday Park) Reviews

Wareham Forest Lodge Retreat (was Pear Tree Holiday Park)
Organford Road
Holton Heath
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6LA
Tel: 01202 622434
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Lodges Only Now
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 82 Reviews
                7/10 from 82 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Moriartyw 15 reviews from this member

Well, it was a long way from home, seemed to have good reviews but I confess I had some trepidation as we pulled into the site. However, I have to say it was quite painless!

The staff are very approachable, knowledgeable and above all courteous and friendly and will go out of their way to help. A bonus already eh

The site is gently sloping and yes I did have my front legs low and back legs high and there was a slight side to side list but nothing untoward, however, and this is the first of only a few bad points. I felt the access to pitches was tight necessitating moving of the odd car and tent guy ropes to allow us in.

Not realising how tight it was once on the pitch I did not heed the rangers remark about keeping tight to the pitch edge and as my neighbours had not either I could not park my car by my awning as envisaged! However, as we had booked as a group (there were around five families at any one time) we had a couple of spare spaces to park cars in to relieve the problem. If the site had been packeded there would have been a few upsets if we had asked people to repitch!

The site is not large and the toilet block is not a long walk and on initial inspection is well appointed, modern and very clean. However, I do feel it is only adequately sized for the amount of pitches on the site.

Whilst mentioning the toilets, showers were hit and miss for peak times if you like a warm shower. We just adjusted our times to suit and all was generally ok. Also, and this is always frustrating, toilet paper ran out at regular intervals. The problem is the size of the containers is just too small for the turnover of people! So pack a loo roll in your washing bag!

There was not a lot of space for the children in the party around the vans and tents, but, there was a small park and this was used by our group extensively. In our group, children aged from about 4-11 years of age if this helps?

Location: Well, Peartree is well situated for touring all the touristy spots and the area is superb. Its our first visit down there and we have already booked our spot for next year we enjoyed ourselves so much. We did various activities everyday from horses, sightseeing, cycling and of course the obligatory beaches and shopping. Shopping in Poole seemed to be favourite for us as once 'shopped' we liked the Harbour/Quay settings for a drink an an icecream.

One big bonus for us as a party was we chose to holiday during the Carnival week at Swanage. This was a boon! Swanage is idyllic and with the carnival came the Red Arrows, Red Devils, the carnival Parade, fantastic firework displays and lots of live bands on two stages on the sea front. Listening to some classic songs played by a good live band with the surf in your ear behind you is a fantastic feeling!

Yes, as I have already said we will be back next year!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Indalo 3 reviews from this member

A nice camp site in a great location, but we were left with an impression that the high standards we have previously seen at this site were beginning to slip.

All the staff were very polite and helpful, but as we checked in we were informed that the electronic barrier was not in operation and the small toilet block was closed. No further explanation was given and neither began operating throughout our stay. Although we understood a gate was locked at night, is was a little disconcerting that anyone could drive straight into the site.

A single key is provided for the toilets, but as the Gents door needed to be slammed shut for the lock to catch (and there was no self closing mechanism), they were normally left open (unless you forgot your key - when you could guarantee they would be locked).

We were disappointed not to find any mops or cloths in the showers and sinks to wipe down the area before and after use. I would also agree with a previous review which noted the unpleasant smell left by the cleaning products.

A large mirror had been removed from the ladies washroom - leaving only 2 small mirrors for the whole site. When queried, we were simply told it had been smashed?

The pitches are small for tents making it a challenge to avoid guy ropes when parking. Many of the grass pitches are now desperate for a period of recovery having been left bare by a wet summer.

I am conscious this may sound too critical when the site is generally OK - but we do question whether the site still merits its high rating and top end prices.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Big cheese 2 reviews from this member

We went to Pear tree on the jubilee weekend it was the only site that wasn't full so was not sure about the site after reading some of the reviews, how wrong we were. When we booked we had the last pitch so expected the site to very busy and not a lot of room as other reviews have stated

I found the site to be very clean, well kept the pitches were a little small from front to back but enough room to feel not cramped. The reception staff and site staff were very friendly and helpful. The toilet block was always being cleaned and so as expected spotless (one of the cleanest blocks I used)The burger bar on site did a lovely breakfast and fish and chips in the evening.

The site for me is in a good location for visits to Poole and surrounding areas, there are good Pubs doing food near by The Claypipe Inn 100yards from the site is very good with friendly locals to chat with.

I would definitely recommend this site, I have already booked another visit there

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CamperTate 5 reviews from this member

Just back from our '95p per night with the Daily Mirror' Weekend. I have to say it was mid September so very quiet and wet!

For 95p per night it was fine - we probably used that much in electricity and hot water. However, if we had to pay the right price then I'm not sure I'd be so complimentary. So I'm going to write this review and provide the ratings as if we paid the right price!

We had a small pitch - our tent is not large at a 6 berth (approx 6. 2 x 4m) but we had no room to get our end ropes pulled our properly and secured in the ground as we hit the road or the hedge at each end. I would say the pitch was approx 6. 5m in depth from the road to the fence.

We did think about pitching across the pitch but wouldn't have been able to get the car on the pitch as well it was probably 7m wide. We weren't able to put up our tent canopy due to lack of space so cooking had to be done under an umbrella leaning against the car!

We were also on quite a slope, and were close to the main toilet block. This wasn't a problem as the site was quite empty and so there wasn't much traffic, but I would imagine it could get quite noisy at peak times.

The other pitches at the bottom of the hill looked very crammed in. Also we noticed that they got very, very boggy after it rained and I'm not sure you would have been able to get your car out let alone a caravan or heavy motorhome. I have never towed a caravan but I would imagine getting your van's on and off some of the pitches could be challenging, not only due to the boggy ground but also the lack of space and the slopes.

It rained hard for about 8 hours on the second day/night. We have never had leaks in our tent before but because we couldn't pull all our ropes out due to space on the pitch we had some water collect on the roof and leak in! I'm really glad we were on an up-slope as being at the bottom of the hill would have been a nightmare - try to get as close to the entrance as possible.

Didn't see the staff all weekend apart from when we arrived and checked in and then just as we left. But from those two fleeting encounters they seemed friendly!

There is a shop/reception but it never seemed to be open when we went past - we arrived at 5pm, closed! Went out at 10am, Closed! Back in at 5pm Closed! Back out again to go home at 10am and it was open but in the process of closing. You could ring a bell for assistance but apart from check in we didn't feel the need to!

The security on this park was good with a key for the gate and a barrier although we weren't given a 'zapper' as it was broken when we arrived. But when fixed the next day we had to sit for ages until another camper came in or out as we couldn't find anyone to ask for the zapper or to let us in! The lady was very apologetic when we left!

The facilities were ok - quite basic and small for that many pitches but were kept reasonably clean. Plenty of hot water. The play park was adequate for our 3 year old with swings and room to play catch etc.

They have a policy of quiet from 10pm till 8am and silence from midnight and apart from some people enjoying a few drinks until about 10:30 on the second night it was adhered to well.

In conclusion, we wouldn't pay the right price for this park as the pitches are simply to small or boggy for our needs. However, the location is fab for Poole, Wareham and Swanage. It was good for us for a weekend (at such a cheap price) but unless we get another offer we wont be going again I'm afraid!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Harveyclan 1 review from this member

Getting there was straightforward, the entrance clearly marked. Reception/Shop was for essentials, Don't expect to do weeks shopping here, the Staff friendly and welcoming. Told where to park and pitch so off we went.

The pitch size for our Sahara 6 was ample, the Electrics hooked up and there were no problems there.

The site was kept clean and tidy, with the main shower toilet block being clean all day long, the smaller toilet shower block was clean but the hand dryer didn't work! and the tap in the shower seemed to be missing! The kids spent a lot of time at the playground and were happy with what was there, they said they would like more! but my kids say that about Legoland! Lots of families, and a very safe feeling about the place.

Poole/Bournemouth a short drive, there is a local pub 3 mins' walk The Clay Pipe, again family friendly and reasonable fare, I have no complaints about the site staff or facilities.

Would I go again, Yes, would I recommend this site? Yes

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tenttogo 4 reviews from this member

Good secure campsite, with very friendly staff.

Each pitch had high hedging which gives plenty of privacy. Not all plots are flat for tents try to avoid pitches 92 & 93 which did slop. (Well worth asking for a discount if you do not mind) They are also very near the facility block so can be noisy.

The facilities block seemed slightly dated but were adequate and were kept clean not only during the day but also throughout the night. Only two washing up areas so had busy periods, try to wash-up either late night or early morning. Same goes with the showers but at least we had hot water at all times. There was another block which I saw but did not use.

This is a child friendly camp so expect noise throughout the day they seemed to not only like the play area but also playing around the main facility block.

The camp shop had the basics. The Claypipe inn a short walk away was fine with a good menu selection and child menu. Also has good information of what’s happening and general information.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: M6lbe 3 reviews from this member

Have just got back from a week at Pear Tree campsite.

We went with friends and were given pitches next to each other.

A nice basic site with plenty of showers and toilets. Never had to queue, even though the campsite was full, and never really experienced cold showers. Lukewarm maybe but not cold.

Washing up area was a bit grubby and no plug for the 2 sinks, but plenty of hot water.

Nice pub just up the road called the Claypipe. We ate there twice and the food was good and reasonably priced.

2 days before we were due to leave, Poole had its worst day of rain for 30 years! 2 weeks of rain fell in half an hour!

Our pitch was completely flooded. We had 2 choices, either pack up and go home or move the tents. We didn't want to pack up and admit defeat as it was our friends 1st time camping, so we moved the tents to a different pitch. Again next to each other.

The wardens were brilliant. Very friendly and helped us as much as they could, gave some extra groundsheets as all of the pitches were now swamps. They did have lot to do as most of the site was in a bad way. Lots of caravan awnings collapsed with the sheer weight of the rain.

Even though not my favourite site, would return.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bambam 8 reviews from this member

We started our holiday on Monday(15/8) with a phone call 10 mins before we were leaving to do the 3hr journey with a 3&5 yr old, from Jackie the Manager saying that our pitch (no. 122) had a burst pipe and they could offer us another pitch but for one less night than booked or for us to move for the last night.

Having an 8 berth tent moving for one night was not an option so we had to accept that our holiday would be cut short by 1 day but Jackie deducted 30% from our bill as well as taking off the last day which I thought was very generous and she came across as very friendly & professional.

When we got there we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff called Nikki who called Jackie to Reception. Jackie apologised for all the inconvenience but then had managed to get us a pitch for the whole of our stay and still took money off our final bill. We were shown to pitch 101 which was on a slight downward slope but was no problem at all.

We were in what I would describe as a small ''cul-de-sac'' with 4 tents/caravans either side. There was enough space either side for our tent but I found that you were far too close to the tent opposite and we could see right inside their tent. Also there was no space for children to run around by the tent and we did not sit outside the tent at all because I felt there was not enough room.

The toilet/shower facilities were clean and we never had to queue for the showers and considering this was the school holidays that was good. Also we never had a problem with the shower temperature, I always had a hot shower. There is a family shower in the mens & ladies with toilet, Belfast sink, baby changing table & shower.

The washing up facilities are outside and I only had to queue once and only for a matter of minutes. There is also a laundry room but I can't comment on that as I didn't use it.

While we were there Dorset experienced ''flash floods'' so we were trapped in our tents for most of the Thurs with thunder & lightening. The ground became very muddy but luckily we were slightly 'up-slope' and I do know that the people opposite got flooded in their tents but these were very exceptional circumstances.

The site was very clean and there is a playground for children with goal-posts, volleyball net, swings, sandpit, climbing frame & giant draughts.

If anyone was thinking of going I would recommend asking for a pitch further down into the site. You are more amongst the trees but there seemed to be more space.

All in all a nice site with very good staff but too close to your neighbour opposite and no room to run around unless you were near the bottom of the site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jameshudson 13 reviews from this member

We spent a week camping in the first week of August with a large group of families.

Firstly, the site is very expensive; £30 a night for a tent, 2 adults and 2 children, so we were expecting an outstanding campsite. Unfortunately it's not in that category.

The campsite is very handy for Swanage and Poole and various fantastic beaches (Sandbanks, Branksome, Studland).

On arrival there is very little space to park at reception, so the entrance becomes very congested, particularly if caravans checking in. Entry to the site is through a barrier using a remote control which seems a good idea.

Our pitch was just about wide enough for a tent and a car, but not very deep, so if we weren't in a large group it would feel very cramped. Our electric point was a long way away, so reception kindly lent us an extension, but we still had to run the lead straight across the front of another tent. We didn't have any issues with electric supply that previous reviewers did.

There are 2 toilet blocks. A small one nearby, the single shower never worked, soap dispenser always empty and the hand drier never worked. There were also 2 washing up sinks here, although one had no plug for the whole week.

A larger toilet block was in the middle of the site, and this was superb, with plenty of showers (never had to wait at peak times) and the water was always hot (unlike previous reviews). There are also 2 washing-up sinks here. A laundry facility is also here with 2 washing machines (£4) and 2 driers (£1/20mins). The washing machines supposedly provide their own detergent, but our washing didn't seem to get very clean?

There is a big park and playing field at the top end of the site, which the kids really enjoyed.

The shop at reception is very limited, but there are plenty of supermarkets within a short drive. The staff at reception were always very friendly and polite.

The site has a 10pm to 8am quiet policy. We were very politely asked by staff a couple of times at 10. 30pm to keep the noise down.

Overall a nice site in a nice location, but certainly not worth £30 a night, particularly with such a small pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Toyotakid 4 reviews from this member

Our 2nd visit to this site our last being approx 4 years ago

Helpful staff and clean site

Shower block smelt of vomit when they were cleaned (chemicals used caused this and once that had faded all was fine)

Showers were always hot (lets be serious about this if you use them early morn or late evening they were brilliant but you cannot expect hot water 24hrs a day with 150 pitches and say 600people )

Loos always clean and paper available.

Laundry was good value and self dosing so no powder etc needed (good idea)

Park sited to top of facility near the road, but well screened off with fence and bushes, so absolutely no safety issues. kids noise kept away from main site due to the park location.

Shop ok and not bad prices

We stayed on a service pitch. we had no issues with power and we had heating on all day drying clothes and fridge, sky tv, mobile chargers etc. and this didn't trip once.

Main concern was the lack of thought in placing tents and caravans. With modern large tents with guyropes etc. you cannot expect a normal caravan driver to navigate their way through a gap a few inches wider than the caravan to get to the pitch

You need rows of tents and rows of vans don't mix them up

Pitches also weren't the biggest

Drainage poor, we were at top of site and excessive rain caused the bottom of the site to be flooded and our awning floor soaked with kids bedding etc having to be lifted from our bedroom annex.

If the problem of locating vans and tents was resolved I would stay again

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5041 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019