Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wareham Forest Lodge Retreat (was Pear Tree Holiday Park)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Wareham Forest Lodge Retreat (was Pear Tree Holiday Park)
Organford Road
Holton Heath
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6LA
Tel: 01202 622434
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Lodges Only Now
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 82 Reviews
                7/10 from 82 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Treblem 1 review from this member

Spent last weekend at pear tree, party of 12 on 2 adjacent pitches.

Staff were helpful from booking to departure

Showers/toilets were as good as could be expected, did not use main block, but apparently you need your key to do so

Gate pass fob, were not charged deposit although we had 2 (1 for each pitch), but on a previous review stated 20 deposit. May have changed.

Good play area for the children, but quite a distance from camping area.

Only bad comment we had, is 'shop' is poorly stocked, but there is a costcutters in the sandford holiday park next door (walking distance) site ideal for 'chill out' weekend or as a base for exploring the surrounding area of dorset if staying longer

Live local (poole) and first time we have been to pear tree.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Philbaker 1 review from this member

It was about time that someone entered a more up to date review of this site. The site appears to have changed ownership recently and it seems a change for the better.

Great hard standing pitches for caravans, nice wooded area for the tents. There was a very little slope to the ground but this is no issue, just plan which way you pitch the 'head end' of the tent.

For us, the site is not too big or too small, there are no site clubs or noisy evening entertainment. PERFECT for an evening with the family more interested in a BYO bottle of wine and a BBQ.

There is a good (new) kids play area tucked to one corner of the site, it is not an intrusive and we have a 3 yr old. Climbing frame, slide, swings, large chess board, space to throw a frisbee or kick a football. PERFECT.

There is a great new toilet block, very clean and large enough for the site. Best part was the showers that didn't work on one of those dreadful push button time switches. You could shower for as long or as little as you liked with plenty of hot water.

Yes the security barriers are there, but it is no inconvenience.

Short walk (5mins) to the large campsite down the road and there is a costcutter that opens at 8am, perfect for a pint of milk and the all important pain au chocolate.

Nearby is Wareham (3-5miles), perfect for an evening meal in a local restaurant or pub. Swanage is 14 miles and great for a nice sandy beach

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SBCamper 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here just for one night as close to a friends house. Obviously aimed at families and every unit seemed to have children and a dog! Far too much security for my liking (need a key to get into the toilets) and there are signs everywhere telling you what not to do. Probably very reassuring if you have small children but meant the place felt very controlled.

There's very little local apart from a busy pub but fine if you are planning on driving everywhere during your break.

Felt expensive for just an overnight stay as we weren't using any of the kids facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tlck9 32 reviews from this member

We visited this site for one night over the bank holiday. I found it quieter although they were fully booked

It seems the current owners have recently took over the site and from what I understand have been making changes and improvements - for the site and to also improve the image

It has 'a dog friendly' and child friendly public house just down the road - a sort of harvester type rather than an old country pub but the food was nice

The site is highly security conscious and there are locks on the toilets and a raised barrier - I suspect they have a number of seasonally pitches

Altogether a pleasant stay, the showers were warm and clean

Price was about normal in this area

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vti2007 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights with 5 of us in the tent.

Very impressed with the site in general. It was a nice location and a nice atmosphere. Lots of very pleasant people and it was very quiet after 10.30pm.

Facilities were mostly good, clean certainly but could do with a little bit of a revamp. The hair dryer didn't work in the mens (I know - why does a man need a hairdryer! Saves me going back to glue my hair when it has dried!) Lighting didn't work in small toilet block and as already mentioned shower was out of order and only cold water. However the main toilet block was about 40 seconds more walking! I think that paying 20p to wash your dishes is a bit unreasonable when we were paying about 36 per night for the 5 of us. Showers in the main toilet block were nice and large and had a couple of shelves and a chair in each. Could do with a bit more water pressure.

I did like the fact that there was a tent only field - better than being squashed between 2 caravans! The field did slope slightly so watch how you pitch your tent. We spend 3 nights rolling down the bed!

All in all I would like to go back but I think that some money could do with being spent. It would not take much money at the moment to make this a really first class site.

My main gripe was tht they did not tell you anywhere you need a 20 deposit before you can get into the site. It was pure luck we had enough cash on us. They really need to put that on the literature.

Lastly if you have youngsters watch them in the ditches. They are dry and about a foot deep but I saw a couple of little 'uns fall down the bank into them.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lisa37 3 reviews from this member

We hadn't booked at this site, so were very lucky to get in as it was very busy. The pitch that we were given seemed bit small (cosy) and as we had a tent and 3 dogs we were situated right behind the toilet /shower block which was fine.

Think the idea of a key system for the toilets was great, but wasn't that impressed by them, I know it was peak season but the floor was always dirty and wet and the shower cubicles really did need curtains up, as there was no dry area really.

The play area seemed fine and there were lots of children around that were happy.

The pub round the corner - easy walking distance.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fawn 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a two-night weekend on the Pear Tree Touring Park. Went with another couple, we each had a large tent and a car, and had booked adjacent pitches.

Our pitches did not resemble the 'wooded glade' shown on the website, we were in a cul-de-sac with leylandii hedges either side. Probably good for noise-deadening but not what we had anticipated.

Our pitch was on a slight slope which would have been fine had we been able to pitch face-on, but we had to pitch side on because the pitch surface was so muddy. I don't mind sleeping on a slope if my head is a little higher than my feet but we were along the slope which was less comfortable (for me).

Having our tents face to face was nice, it meant we had social open space, and other groups made more of the same space by using windbreaks and/or gazebos, all of which seem welcome on site. Several pitches had clothes airers and / or washing lines also. We strung our washing line between the two tents and this did not cause a problem with the owners. I think we must have pitched far enough apart.

The owners had put out some rubber mats and a sheet to help cover the worst of the mud. I know they can't help the weather and at least we weren't in the bottom bit of the site, as I imagine the rain pours down the roads into those tents!

The toilet block says it has won awards! A long time ago, presumably? Very much in need of refurbishment. One small hairdryer attached to a coin-box was labelled 'Haircare Centre'. Sorry, but it isn't! The loos nearer us were in a portacabin; the shower was out of order (labelled as such) and the hand-dryer likewise (but not labelled).

We only found two sinks for washing up. Not enough for a site this size.

The shop looked small but well stocked, we did not need anything during our short stay. As our daughter is only 7 months old we did not try out the playground.

The area is lovely. We had dinner at the Claypipe Pub up the road and can vouch for good food. Wareham is pretty, and if you fancy going a little further afield, we enjoyed picking up the Steam Railway at Norden, and travelling down to Swanage. We stopped at Corfe Castle (National Trust) on the way back and enjoyed a stroll around the castle grounds.

Not sure we'd prioritise going back to this site as we feel we have stayed at better places, but we still had a nice overall camping experience.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bev K 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 17 night stay at Pear Tree. We really enjoyed staying here, it was peaceful and quiet even though full. The facilities were basic but very clean and well looked after. My husband used the portacabin toilets that he found very clean but unfortunately the showers didn't work. The main toilet block was clean and well maintained. We used the laundrette which was very good and like other places we have stayed at we did not have a long wait to use the machines.

The staff were very helpful and put themselves out to help when we ran out of gas and the reception was closed. Everyone we spoke to enjoyed their stay and one couple was on a return visit.

As our child was older he only used the play area for football. This area is situated away from caravans therefore not causing any damage.

The site shop stocked only basics but the Costcutter at the site next door had good stocks but quite expensive.

The site provided all we expected it to and we were not disappointed.

We found the site well situated to explore Dorset and will be returning here next year as we want to explore the area further.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vinkaz 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weekend stay at this camp-site. When we made the booking we found the lady on the phone very helpful.

On arriving at Peartree, check in was very quick and we were shown to our pitch which was big enough to take our six man tent and two cars. The pitch was slightly sloping but not enough to cause a problem.

The lower toilet block near to the tent pitching area could certainly do with ripping out and renewing as the shower in the mens was out of order no hot water to the sinks and the hand dyer wasn't working and it all looks quite tired.

The main toilet block is much better with nice free hot showers and plenty of sinks with hot water but need to be cleaned more often as even though the site wasn't busy, at times they were dirty.

One of the dish washing up sinks now has free hot water so saves hunting for change.

Agree with the last review about the play park as a lot of the equipment is either broken or badly worn and where were the trampolines?.We had to pay a 20 deposit on arrival for the entry barrier key which we didn't mind but there is nothing about this on the web site and it was not mentioned when booking.

If this review seems a bit harsh its because they claim to be a 5 star site, which they could be with a lot of work but are not at the moment. We would return here as the new owners seem to be set on making the improvements needed but only after the work has been completed.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deb7170 7 reviews from this member

Was a bit apprehensive of this site given the old reviews but spoke to new owners and they were so helpful & friendly that we decided to give it a go - and so glad we did.

Although it's a bit site, it's well laid out so doesn't feel too crowded - even though we were there on the Bank Holiday weekend and it was full.

Plenty of showering / toilet facilities and cleaned regularly (obviously get a bit messy in between times but can't be helped when it's so busy). Good disabled facilities and all areas are wheelchair / buggy accessible.

Washing up sinks currently need 20p to get hot water but staff said this was a carry over form the old management and they are looking to change it - which will help.

Kids play area needs some work but parents seems to bother more about that sort of thing than the little ones - they loved it. And the whole site felt very safe - all cars there were aware of the kids around and drove carefully - probably helps having the entry barrier.

On site staff were great - really helpful and friendly. All pitches well tended and pretty level - although some looked a little bit cramped due to the road going down the middle of each section - we were lucky to be a group of 3 tents together at the end of one of the cul-de-sacs so had plenty of room.

Great location - especially if you've got little ones who might want a day out at Farmer Palmer's Farm Park just 5 mins down the road.

Would definitely recommend.

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


811 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019