Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wareham Forest Lodge Retreat (was Pear Tree Holiday Park)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Wareham Forest Lodge Retreat (was Pear Tree Holiday Park)
Organford Road
Holton Heath
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6LA
Tel: 01202 622434
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Lodges Only Now
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 82 Reviews
                7/10 from 82 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pennine Man 1 review from this member

Having just returned from the Pear Tree. We found it was under new ownership & what a difference they have made. No more long list of rules & you can now have wind breaks around your unit and no more smelly toilets. So I will be returning to the Pear Tree very soon.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jen21 7 reviews from this member

We Stayed here for 10 nights. The site is extremely quiet & peaceful which was lovely. Our pitch was in the caravan section (near the entrance) which was quite private. On arrival we were greeted by the owner who was very knowledgeable of the local area. We found him to be ok & when later in the week when we had a problem with the hot water he sorted it out immediately. Cant fault that.
The site has a great playground for the children & drivers seemed to drive slowly around the site. There is a very basic shop on site but there is a costcutter at the next door site. Other than that there is a somerfield within the Texaco garage on the way to wareham. In wareham there are 2 small supermarkets.
The site gate is closed at dusk & reopens at 8am so if you are late back or out early you have a key to open it ( This also operates the toilets). This makes the site feel safe. You can get into the Wareham Forest via the back of the site.

The only downside to this site is the dated & not very clean toilets / laundry & wash up area. Dont know how they have won awards for the toilets??? The showers are free but they are closed at 10.45am & reopen at 4.30pm until 9pm. They recycle the shower water into the toilets which I don't have a problem with but when you flush there is a terrible smell which lingers. Not very pleasant.
Also there is no hot water in the hand sinks either when the showers are closed, so you have to wash your hands in cold water. Extra costs; 20p for the hairdryer / 1 plug socket / iron & for the hot water for washing up, which only gives you a quarter of a sink of hot water. Because of the cleanliness issue, we would not stay at this site again.

The local area is wonderful the claypipe pub just up the road doesn't look much but serves really good food. Wareham is a lovely place. Grab some fish & chips & head down to the quay. On a hot day people go swimming in the river Frome! The 'Granary' serves good coffee & the menu looks good. The toilets are great! The Silent woman pub at cold harbour does fabulous food. They do accommodate children but only in the garden area.

In summary would definitely return to this area but wouldn't return to Pear tree

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pam young 1 review from this member

What a gem of a campsite. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We had a lovely pitch under the oak trees (which was noisy when it rained, but didn't bother us). We thought the campsite was well run, yes there are rules - but we didn't find them a problem, it is nice to find a site where you are not overrun with windbreaks and other peoples washing.

Only the main shower block was open the week we visited (off-peak) and they were fine. There is a laundry room next door and the washing up facilities are just round the corner. I think we only had to wait once to wash up, but I hate to think how 2 sinks cope with all the people in peak season (unless there were other sinks we didn't see).

It was a lovely quiet site, the children's playpark was great with lots of things for the kids to play on for all ages (which is great for us). The people onsite were lovely and friendly and we met some lovely families with similar young children. We felt confident enough to let the children play around our row without being with them all the time - even our 3yr old.

We did have to watch the time with the icepacks at the shop- most days one of us was running to get there with a minute to go! But we found the staff helpful and polite and had no problems with them.

It's ideally situated with easy and quick access to Poole, Bournemouth and to Corfe and Weymouth.

All in all, a lovely holiday, very green, quiet safe site- we will definitely be coming back again and have already recommended it to many friends with tents!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Xtinexoop 7 reviews from this member

We went with friends who had not been camping before. It was an ideal 'first' site. Quiet, well laid out, with good toilet facilities.

The rules and regulations on the website amused us, and I was reassured by their existence that it would be a 'nice' site - I liked that it wasn't overrun with windbreaks and washing.

The play area was great (according to the kids - I didn't actually venture to it).

Our pitches were a good size and flat. They were particular when we booked in about which way round we should pitch our tent/place our car etc. Due to fire regs which is fair enough. Sorting out key deposits, gate deposits etc did take time and the kids were hovering near the ice cream freezer and got into trouble as the owner thought they were on their own whereas in fact we were just letting them get on with it as they had been cooped up for 3 hrs in the car.

The toilet block was clean and warm. One of the taps broke while we were using it and we couldn't turn off the hot water - we let them know and they were very grateful as if we'd left it running it would have cost them a fortune.

I felt the washing up area wasn't big enough for the site as had to queue quite a long time and the water there wasn't really hot enough.

We didn't want to pitch tent, car, tent, car as we wanted an area between the tents as we were sharing cooking/seating faciltiies so we placed our car to the left of our tent rather than the the right as requested - we paced it out and the tents were still far enough away as our friends tent is small and ours is a tunnel. The owner did come by and say we'd done it wrong, but it would be ok, so to be fair they didn't make us change it.

We would definitely go back, but as there is now a 5 night bank holiday minimum at Whitsun we are restricted to the first May bank holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Langstroth4 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here during August with 2 children and a sailing boat. The owner was good about letting us keep it onsite in his caravan yard (for a fee), although access to it was difficult. Weather wasn't great, and as we were in the lower camping area it got pretty muddy (the whole site is on a slope, although all the actual pitches looked flat).

The toilet blocks were OK, what was really annoying was the use of a key to access them which is really pointless, I've never come across this on other sites. If the owner ever reads these reviews - get rid of the keys.

Entrance on check in day is strictly controlled by making everyone wait on the road outside the park, which although I guess helps control the check-in process, seemed a bit OTT.

The children liked the seperate play field, and we felt safe letting them go to it on their own.

We had a good holiday here despite the weather (and the keys!), but it isn't one of those sites I can see us returning to.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BigJohnny 1 review from this member

We were a party of 2 tents and one caravan and the owners gave us pitches together at the end of a row, so the kids could play around without any hassle. We stayed for a week and found the toilet block kept clean. The key idea seemed to keep the kids out from messing around, and I didn't object to using the mop after I had finished my shower as it seemed a good idea for the next person along.

The site was a bit muddy, but that was due to the bad weather that week.

The owners were not too bad, seemed a bit frosty at times but we didn't bother them so they didn't bother us!

Shop was a bit sparse and we used the shop in the next site for papers etc.

Area was nice. Recommend a visit to Wareham. Nice Italian next to the bridge was great.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coulston 5 reviews from this member

The toilets and showers left a lot to be desired and did not deserve the award, the sink to bath babies in had a dirty piece of string connected to the plug. The washing up sinks were overlooked by the mens toilet window,this did not make for a pleasant experience when washing up the breakfast things. (smell).

The keys for the toilets and showers are infuriating (who else is going to use them).

Even the owner asked to use our key to access the toilets.

The site was beautiful but we will not return. Cleanliness of the showers and toilets is the most important issue when booking a site. They may be clean in june but they were not in september.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: AndreaW+family 2 reviews from this member

Arrived after a delay due to traffic (Saturday in August) only to find that there were 4 cars in front of us and we had to queue on the road outside the site for the wardens wife to physically unlock the gate and allow in one car at a time (which took approx 5/10 minutes each) My daughter needed the toilet after the journey and was told she would have to wait as the toilets are locked and until we were let in we could not have a key! Once we were let in we decided we would need 2 keys (one for the males, one for the females) at a cash deposit of #40. (you also have to have a barrier access fob - with a #30 fine if that is lost!) I spent a lot of the holiday checking we had both keys in the tent! The toilets were clean but the showers could be a bit reluctant to get hot some days. The main toilet/shower block is shut at 11am for cleaning for however long it takes and the alternative is a porta cabin (which were were advised by the owner not to use the shower in there as it is bad) so make sure you have had your shower before 11am. There are only 2 washing up sinks with hot water for the whole site which was not enough (again there are alternatives but without hot water!?) After some very heavy rain (tuesday) which saturated our pitch under our groundsheet which started to smell very nasty (like pooh!) which got stronger and stronger so by the Saturday we asked if we could move pitch - which we were able to do. (when we picked up our groundsheet underneath looked and smelled like pooh - which the warden saw and smelled and agreed with and let us have a spare one he had as ours had to be thrown away) Having 'wasted' a day moving pitch I did go and ask the owner if he could have a look at our first pitch and see what he thought of what we were camped on, he told me he was too busy and he would the next day. He never did (or if he did he never told us he had bother too) Ruling re drying laundry at a pitch - ok if you have an airer having from a caravan window it seems but not a collapsable airer outside a tent as I came home to find a note pinned to my airer and towels. (I was advised by another camper that I was lucky as they had had their washing removed and thrown inside their tent!)

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jma28 7 reviews from this member

In general the site is quite nice, however, you do need to take note. Although the toilets have won an award we were unsure how. The spiders and dirt in the showers and toilets was a little off-putting. The grass pitch we had was very dusty with very little grass. The location however was great. The pub up the road looked good value and the big static site next door had some great facilities. The welcome at the Pear Tree was unique and the farewell was equally charming! There are a lot of rules and they are clearly outlined to you when you arrive. For dog lovers there is a walking area and a local dog sitter gives you the chance to have a day without him/her if you wanted. Overall I don't think this is not a site we will be going back to, although we will be going back to the area again.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tikka72 8 reviews from this member

Just spent a few days at this site after spending a week in Cornwall. Wish I had stayed at Cornwall. Pitches were too small even for us (3 adults 1 child). Children's Park was good. Site shop was open a few hours a day, which was not very well stocked. Went to site shop on neighboring campsite.

Lots of do's and don'ts. It rained for one night and the site ended up like a swamp. If you end up and the bottom of the slope, be prepared for a stream of water running through your tent.

Toilets were supposedly award wining, no wonder you had to mop them your self.

Felt to me that tents weren't welcome, cater more for the caravanner. Tents pushed away at bottom of site, under loads of trees which drop all sorts during the night, and on un even ground.

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3788 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019