Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wareham Forest Lodge Retreat (was Pear Tree Holiday Park)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Wareham Forest Lodge Retreat (was Pear Tree Holiday Park)
Organford Road
Holton Heath
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6LA
Tel: 01202 622434
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Lodges Only Now
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 82 Reviews
                7/10 from 82 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Reviewer: Julianp 4 reviews from this member

May 2005
Pleasant and quiet site set in the country. Friendly owners who are more than happy to help and always out-and-about. There is a shop but has very limited stock. The gates are locked at dusk and the toilets are always locked, you'll be given a key that fits both.

Close to Poole and numerous other places such as Studley, Corfe and Swanage. There is a pub within walking distance but we didn't try it.


Reviewer: Tonyb549 5 reviews from this member

August 2004
On arrival at the site you were immediately impressed. With the first impression, a small shop combined with a reception well laid out.

The pitches seemed of good quality and each tent had plenty of room, even considering that the park was full.

The Toilet Block was spotless and incorporated a laundry room, washing area and chemical disposal point.

The Childrens area was fantastic with our 4 children ranging from 5 years to 14 finding plenty to do - although the eldest had to make do with a supervisory role as she was too old to use the equipment.

The location is excellent with only a short drive to Poole and plenty of other sites within easy reach.

One thing when the staff say that a noise reduction time of 22.15 they relly mean it!

Would definately return.

Reviewer: ERichards 1 review from this member

August 2004
Chose this site as it had very good reviews, and wasn't dissapointed.
Very good facilities, clean and modern showers and toilets (the showers were free for as long as you wanted), and there were hairdryers available.

Great for kids, my 7 yr old son loved the mini football pitch, and the kids play area.
There is also a lovely wooded walk from the rear of the site, which is ideal for dogwalking, or in our case, mountain biking.
No problems with noise at night, and problems were quickly sorted out by the owner.
BBQ's are allowed as long as they are off the ground, and the rates are very reasonable.
A short walk from the site there is a lovely family pub that serves very reasonably priced food.It has a small children's play area to keep the kids occupied.
The only thing I would stress is that if it is high season try to arrive fairly early, to avoid a wait for food.

Over all we had a lovely stay at the site and would definately return.

Reviewer: LilMoMarmite 6 reviews from this member

July 2004
Great site - exceptionally tidy and clean. The majority is given over to little hedge lined avenues more suited to caravans and campers, but at the bottom of the site is a wooded glade for the tents.

The owner gave us a fantastic warm welcome and gave us some ideas for walks and pubs in the area. There's also a little shop and loads of tourist info for the area. The toilets and showers are plentiful, however there is only one washing up area (two sinks) so had a small wait for that.

It's in a good location for exploring the area - 20 minutes to Bournemouth, 20 minutes to Swanage.

Will return.

Reviewer: Mark N 7 reviews from this member

May 2004
May/June 2004. Having popped in to this site for a looksie last year we booked in for the Bank holiday weekend. The site lived up to and even exceeded some of our expectations. The welcome was excellent and remained so throughout the weekend.

Some of the pitches are on a gentle slop so chocks would be useful. There are fully serviced pitches on grass and pea shingle. Standard pitches with EHU on grass. The rows of pitches are separated with hedges. The main toilet block was spotless and in excellent order, even had fresh flowers in the gents! The shower cubicles where of good size and there was a larger one for doing the kids in.

Kids are the operative word for this site. The play park puts other parks to shame, a climbing frame, outdoor draughts, trampolines, sandpit with Little Tikes castle, swings and a small football pitch. No “I’m bored” here. Small shop on site for the essentials fairly priced.

Wareham is about 2-3 miles away with a great Chinese takeaway and a Somerfields. Dogs are welcomed and it was good to see that they were on leads etc at all times. The site is very quiet and peaceful, no radios blasting out during the day or night. There is a nice walk into Wareham Forest at the back of site and this is used to exercise the dogs. Also just down the road is Farmer Palmers which is well worth a visit.

We look forward to returning.

Reviewer: emma 17 reviews from this member

May 2004
Stayed here for Fri and Sat night. The site was very quiet. Excellent toilet and shower facilities spotlessly clean (the porta loo block mentioned in other reviews was closed until peak season). Re previous review - The washing up facilities now have hot water. There was a laundry but didn't use it. My kiddies loved the play area with little tykes climber/slide and trampolenes all for under 12's. The owners were welcoming, friendly and very helpful.
The downside, the bottom field which appeared to be mainly for tents was a little boggy at the time of our stay and our pitch was beside a "stream" that was actually green & stagnent.
All in all though we enjoyed our stay and would recommed it for young familes.

Reviewer: Steve Shortland 2 reviews from this member

August 2003
Very well laid out site. Owners were welcoming and friendly. Main toilet/shower block was always very clean. Second toilet block (nearest to camping field) is a portable building with just one loo and one shower (stone cold the only time I tried it). However, even with the site full, the main block coped adequately.
During the late evening, the site was very quiet and relaxing. The owner does walk the site in the evening to check noise rules are being obeyed. I only wish he was as vigilent at 07:30 in the mornings as this is the time when people seem to allow their children to start screaming and shouting. Other than this, we enjoyed our stay and would strongly recommend the site.
If we travel to this area again, we would definately revisit this campsite.
Site 10/10 Fellow campers 5/10

Reviewer: Paul Wilkinson

August 2002 & 2003
Have visited this site on consecutive years in a group of 5 families.
In August 2002, found the site to be well deserving of the 5 stars, facilities were very clean, the site well looked after,everything functional, and well ordered.
Having been impressed last year we returned this year. We found that the management had changed and we all agreed that it was not up to the same level of cleanliness. Obviously this may improve as the new management gain in experience.
The site is very quiet, achieved by evening noise patrols, where groups are disbanded and sent to bed. The childrens play area is good. We found the biggest headache was the traffic to and from the beaches.

Reviewer: Philip Green

August 2003
Very pretty, well organised site giving level pitches for everyone. Trees providing some welcome shade from the sun (it was baking)!
You put down a £10 deposit for a key to the site gate (after 10pm) and to the toilet blocks - but this works quite well. Everything is in pristine condition.
A couple a minor points:
- the secondary toilet block (nearest the camping pitches was rather small and not really suitable for having a wash (the 'fluctuating temperature' warning on the single shower seemed to put everyone off from using it and there were no clothes hooks beside the washbasins)
- the 'camping' washing up sinks did not have a hot water supply!
Basically your best off using the 'caravan' facilities

Reviewer: Rachel

July 2003
Only good things to say about this site. Just returned from a weekend stay 8 adults and 7 children. Quiet site, pitches plenty big enough,some shady on the edge of the forest. Toilets/showers clean and warm. Play area with trampolines and shop selling basic things. Owner friendly and accomodating. Will definately be returning.

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1683 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019