Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wareham Forest Lodge Retreat (was Pear Tree Holiday Park)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Wareham Forest Lodge Retreat (was Pear Tree Holiday Park)
Organford Road
Holton Heath
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6LA
Tel: 01202 622434
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Lodges Only Now
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 82 Reviews
                7/10 from 82 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nhains 2 reviews from this member

My boyfriend and I stayed at this campsite on the 7th and 8th of June and I have to say what a lovely place this is. The owner was friendly and helpful and the site is immaculate. Yes there are rules, but nothing anywhere near as scary as you might imagine from less flattering reviews. One of the things we love about camping is the tranquility and peace and quiet, and the rules in place are there to make sure that their customers get just that.
 
Unfortunately on our second night a group of noisy couples turned up, but as we were leaving the next morning I didnt bother complaining as it seemed a bit petty.
 
I would definitely recommend staying here - a fantastic place to go.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LEO02 16 reviews from this member

We stayed here during the half term week- end May/start June 2007.
 
The site is terraced and is set in a peaceful semi rural location(there is a massive static site within 100 yards).

The manager/owner is helpful most of the time , just dont get on the wrong side of him!
 
The ground is 80% level and drains well with the exception of the very bottom camping field which gets very churned up in wet weather.
 
The main toilet block is excellent, the secondary toilet block is adequate.
 
Washing up facilities are brilliant as there is loads of boiling hot water. Its not free though as you pay for this water in your nightly pitch fee(dont ever let any camp site owners/managers tell you something is free-its never free, its always paid for in your nightly pitch fees)
 
We paid just over £25 per night, for 2 adults and 2 kids, and it was just about worth it.
 
However, if the pitch fees went up, I would not pay anymore.
 
The reception area/shop sells all the basics but has limited opening hours.
 
Best thing about this site?- easily the kids play park.
Its aimed at kids under 12 yrs, and has trampolines, football/netball nets, swings, slides, sandpits and much more-absolutely superb.
  
Being a family site there are literally dozens and dozens of well behaved kids here and mine made lots of good friends.
 
Finally a word about the helpful park owner/manager - we forgot to pack rice for our curry and the little shop didnt sell it.
The park manager kindly went to his house and lent us some of his own - first class service and a very kind scotsman!

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sarahh56 48 reviews from this member

Very pleasant site but the units were pretty squashed together.

The shower block was always clean with lots of hot water and there is also a cubicle with a large sink in that you can bathe young children in. The only thing is you do need a key to get in so this can be a problem if you are all trying to shower at the same time as you only get one key per family.

The owner is VERY strict and we were glad our children were fairly young as he was always on older children's backs about riding scooters and bikes at dusk etc and complaining about noise ( just normal children's noise) and when we had a day visitor he was quite rude about letting him in and would not unlock the toilet for him ( we had not arrived back at the site).

All in all, for couples a great site, if you have a family you may want to rethink.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jikki 2 reviews from this member

What a gem of a campsite. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We had a lovely pitch under the oak trees (which was noisy when it rained, but didn't bother us). We thought the campsite was well run, yes there are rules - but we didn't find them a problem.
Only the main shower block was open the week we visited (off-peak) and they were fine. There is a laundry room next door and the washing up facilities are just round the corner. I think we only had to wait once to wash up, but I hate to think how 2 sinks cope with all the people in peak season (unless there were other sinks we didn't see).

It was a lovely quiet site, the children's playpark was great with lots of things for the kids to play on for all ages (which is great for us). The people onsite were lovely and friendly and we met some lovely families with similar young children. We felt confident enough to let the children play around our row without being with them all the time - even our 3yr old.

We did have to watch the time with the icepacks at the shop- most days one of us was running to get there with a minute to go! But we found the staff helpful and polite and had no problems with them.

It's ideally situated with easy and quick access to Poole, Bournemouth and to Corfe and Weymouth.

All in all, a lovely holiday, very green, quiet safe site- we will definitely be coming back again and have already recommended it to many friends with tents!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tea + Cake 4 reviews from this member

We and the children loved this site, it's in a great location, and the pitches are a decent size. O.k. There are a few rules and regs, however I think these make the site nice and peaceful, and well presented.
The bottom field, where we stayed was lovely. It made a change to go to a site where all the tents weren't closeted inside windbreaks, this encouraged a lot friendlier atmosphere. We always chat to people when we're camping and without miles of windbreaks the place seemed even more sociable. Check out the website before you book up, the site is very open about it's rules and we expected them.
The facilities were o.k., the smaller block wasn't suitable for showering the children, the main toilet block (is only another 30sec walk away) was well maintained, although get in early or shower in the evening to catch the hot water. The children's play area is for children and the site monitors it with CCTV, which means that teenagers can't be hanging around smoking and generally misusing the equipment at the expense of smaller children, the equipment is well maintained.
There's a back door to Wareham Forest at the bottom of the site, a cheap day out and a welcome break from all the tourists at every other attraction in the area.
The on site shop is pretty basic, however there is a Costcutter in the holiday park next door which is 10 mins walking distance and holds a pretty good stock.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Crazylegsuk 2 reviews from this member

My wife and 2 children recently stayed on this site for a few nights with some family who were already staying here.  I visited one evening and was impressed by how clean the site was and the facilities looked quite good and well maintained.  The pitches are small and very close together, but again very well looked after.
The park owner is extremely strict and my wife said unfriendly.  He charged what we thought to be a large amount for my wife to stay on an existing pitch and also wanted to charge me to visit for an hour.  Although, luckily he wasn't in his look out tower and I managed to sneak in under the gate.  Overall a good sight, but run a little too strictly to want to return in a hurry.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K watkins 1 review from this member

On arrival we were given a key for the toilet blocks and a key fob for entering and leaving the site. This is to keep people off the site who are not staying there.
Toilets were clean, as were the showers.
Our daughter loved the excellent play park.
This is a really peaceful site, great for families, ideal location for getting out and about.
Will go back again.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jacktent3 1 review from this member

Having been weekend campers until this trip we weren't sure if staying 5 nights would be too long!  We needn't have worried though we loved it, the site was well organised with large shaded pitches for your tent, the sun shone all the time we were there. The showers were spotless and well looked after by fellow campers as well as the management.
The children's play park was great. We had to go up to monitor the youngest child but it was a good place to meet other parents / children and join in the fun & games.
Our site was slightly sloping but not enough to bother us. It was peaceful and the quiet "curfew" was well adhered to so a good nights sleep was had by all. We met some lovely people especially the family opposite. Our children were able to play with neighbouring children and really loved it.
My only small gripe is that the shop only opened for an hour in the afternoon, from 5-6pm and when you are not very organised it was difficult to remember to get your ice blocks into the freezer so we ended up having to buy ice from the supermarket to put in our coolbox.
All in all we really enjoyed the campsite and there was so much to do in the surrounding area, that we are thinking of returning next year.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Takisawa 16 reviews from this member

We enjoyed a fantastic week at Peartree Park. We even stayed over an extra night as we enjoyed it so much. The site is beautifully kept. The site owner is very friendly, and helpful. Excellent security with key-fob barrier access. Superb facilities with plenty of free hot showers etc. Our pitch was huge. 11m x 8m. Set amongst mature Oak trees, with a very slight slope, and excellent drainage. Very peaceful during the week, but busy at weekends. The rules might seem a bit dictatorial but they are there for the benefit of everyone. If only every site was as well run as this one. If we visit Dorset again we will definitely stay here again. 10/10 and a big Thank You to the site management.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SP+JM 3 reviews from this member

A very well kept and clean site with a great kids play area.

We are more used to smaller camping fields so the regimented lay out of pitches and A4 page of site rules was daunting, although ultimately in the interest of all.

This site is ideally situated between Poole and Wareham with Swanage not too far. This is a lovely area of the country to visit and this site is a good place to stay.

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


806 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019