Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wareham Forest Lodge Retreat (was Pear Tree Holiday Park)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Wareham Forest Lodge Retreat (was Pear Tree Holiday Park)
Organford Road
Holton Heath
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6LA
Tel: 01202 622434
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Lodges Only Now
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 82 Reviews
                7/10 from 82 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bishy 12 reviews from this member

We have just arrived back from Pear Tree Caravan Park after a truly fantastic holiday.

I will give a full honest review of the site however I really recommend it.

Bad Points:-

1) Not very generous pitch sizes if you have a large tent. You can fit, but may be very close to your neighbours in busy periods.

2) Site is on a slight slope, I had to change the position of my bed as the only time I noticed a problem was at night when I felt like I was rolling out of the bed.

3) No matter what you do you cannot get a signal for the TV unless you have satellite.

That's it I can't think of anything else that was negative. Must admit though we had the best possible weather you could wish for which will have added to making our holiday brilliant.

Good Points:-

1) The couple that run the place are the most helpful people on the planet. They were in the toilets at all hours of the day and night ensuring that they were spotless. They tried everything to help us get our TV going and when we all accepted that this would not happen they came over with a pile of DVD's for us to borrow for our stay.

2) The site was full when we booked and we were offered the over flow pitches and if we ever stayed there again I would book these first as the location was perfect.

3) The location of the site was perfect. It was pretty much 10 miles to everywhere from the site so you could travel all over, (Monkey World, Splashdown water park, Poole, Swanage, Durdle Door, Lulworth Cove, Studland beaches - Knoll is the best, and so much more). There are takeaway places all close by if you don't fancy cooking, and they all deliver to the site. There is a Sainsbury a few miles away and there's Asda and Tesco about 5 miles away, so shopping is easy.

4) There is a fabulous park for the kids to play in and for the 2 weeks we were there we barely say the children as they were in the park, making friends and having fun.

That's about all I have to say but I would go back to this site in a heartbeat and upon checking out they gave us a 30% discount off our next holiday if we go with Darwin holidays, so I am now going to do some research into my next trip.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helsbels69 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Pear Tree. I really liked the idea of having a remote control to raise the barrier & also a key for the main gates Ė at least you knew that it was only campers on the site.

The area we were had a lot of caravans that were there for the whole season - The pitch was ample for our Montana tent, even with the awning extension. We were on pitch 64 and it was probably best in the area for all day sun, on an evening you could watch the sun set behind the trees.

There were quite a few dogs on site & there was quite a lot of barking but this wasn't too much of an issue - they certainly didn't keep us awake.

We did not experience any problems with the shower/toilet facilities, we didnít have to queue & the water was always lovely & warm.

There were only 2 sinks for washing up & only 1 of them had a plug but this caused no issues & we never had to wait.

The only problem we had was lots of insect bites so make sure you take your insect repellent & bite cream.

We used our vouchers saved from the newspaper for this trip but would happily return for another visit.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharon Jones 1 review from this member

What a friendly site. The staff were lovely and the facillities (toilet/shower block) were always clean & tidy and well maintained.

Although there is not a lot within walking distance (apart from the Clay Pipe pub - really good food) and the camp at the start of Organford Lane; the buses are very good to go to Poole or Swanage.

There is lots of places to visit by car (including the Cerne Abbas giant!)and all the coastal resorts including Bournemouth - gorgeous beach, Swanage - rather more quaint, Weymouth, Poole, Christchurch and Sandbanks - home of Harry Rednap.

We will definitely go back even though its a 6--6. 5 hour journey for us (we live in Bolton)

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whiting4 9 reviews from this member

We've just returned from Pear Tree and even though its a good campsite I wouldn't say its my favourite.

The location is excellent. Very close to Swanage and Poole which are both lovely.

Good atmosphere and felt safe for kids but my children were a little disappointed with the playground which seemed a long way from our tent.

The pitches weren't that big and we did feel a little cramped on our field, though that may be due to lots of big tents.

The showers and toilets were kept clean but the showers were cold.

Saying all that I would consider returning.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PipCat 3 reviews from this member

Spent the Bank holiday weekend at Pear tree;

The site is lovely and feels smaller than it actually is. It is perfectly located to visit Wareham, Swanage, Poole, Bournemouth etc.

There is a nice pub down the road, the food is tasty and prices are reasonable.

The toilet and shower block are modern and very comfortable.

Unfortunately, although the campsite has electric it is only 10amp which meant that the electric tripped multiple times during the evening. This was extremely annoying. Not sure whether this is a regular occurrence.

As per the previous review - we also found the showers cold and this would probably stop us from returning to the site. The weather wasn't brilliant and we really needed a warm shower - the signs in the shower block suggest that this is always a problem.

I expect campsites to be busy at Bank holidays and peak times and I like the atmosphere that comes with this, however we did pay extra for staying over bank holiday and I expect the campsite to provide consistent hot water and electricity.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thetruthisoutthere 3 reviews from this member

Confused by the conflicting reviews here and our actual experience, I thought I would leave a review myself.

The wardens were excellent, working very hard and cleaning the shower block regularly. There is also an excellent pub (Claypipe) with good food, just 500 yards away. That was the positive side.

However, there are 155 pitches at this site. There are only 5 showers in the ladies (one larger in order to take children in) and just 2 washing up sinks. The long queue's for showers in the ladies were a daily experience (queued up to 45 minutes one day). In 5 days, the shower was cold (and I mean COLD) 4 out of the 5 days. On the 5th day, I opted for an evening shower and at last, a tepid shower without a queue. There was a portakabin with one more shower, near the bottom grassy tent field. With 155 pitches all full, the facilities could not cope at all.

On the Saturday night, a large group of tents that were holidaying altogether, had a disco until 12 midnight. Teenagers ran around talking and giggling. The 2nd night, a large group of teenagers in the bottom tent field shouted and laughed till midnight. During the daytime, the noise was from endless children on bikes or with footballs, screaming as loud as possible, over the sound of the dogs barking. There was a playfield where they screamed even louder, which must have been terrible for the people next to it.

Obviously, if you are looking for a place to meet up with several other members of the family in groups of tents, or would like to have an open air party with friends, its excellent. However, a quiet getaway in the countryside it certainly wasn't.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kezwez 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned home from this site. The staff are very welcoming and help you out with your every need.

My 5 year old thoroughly enjoyed playing in the playground and riding around on her bike. It felt very safe.

It is a very quiet site even though there were loads of children there. This was a huge plus point.

The shop was good although a bit pricey. The staff did direct you to Sandfords (up the road) for anything they couldn't provide which has a costcutters. Eg. Charcoal.

The shower block was immaculate! Beware though that it is closed at 11am for a deep clean.

There also have to be cons-

The first day when I went to the toilet, there was no toilet paper.

The showers are boiling hot in the evening, but unless you shower before 8am, you will find them freezing cold as my kids did.

The only other con we we could see was that everybody did seem to be on top of each other. Lots of people crammed in, but because of the lack of noise it didn't bother us.

We would definitely holiday here again and would look forward to it.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mjrees 40 reviews from this member

We arrived without booking and were made to feel very welcome. The staff were even anxious that we should attend the local hostelry later in the evening as 'Sunday is quiz night'!

The toilet/shower facilities are prizewinners and as soon as you walk in, you can see why - immaculate!

The site is a mixture of statics and touring pitches but each area is separate and divided by mature hedges. There are areas allocated to tents (some with electric) and these are in sheltered grassland bordered by trees.

The site is adjacent to a bridleway which gives you the choice of both short and long walks.

Although not as part of our current venture, this is one site we will revisit in the future.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rosecol 9 reviews from this member

We arrived at the site at 11 in the morning but no problem letting us in and pitching tent.

There is an area for tents only, some with electric hook up, there is own supply of water in this area.

Showers lovely and hot and along with toilets very clean.

Very quiet when we were there and kids gone back to school, just 200 yards along the road very nice pub.

There is a child play area on the site, but well away from our area.

Staff made themselves available and were very friendly, they keep a few essentials in reception.

Would visit again

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kamping4 1 review from this member

Pear Tree Holiday Park was ideal for our first camping trip on our own without seasoned campers being with us and helping us. When we arrived we were given a map of the site and instructions of how to pitch, so as not to encroach on anybody elses pitch. This makes it sound as if we were packed in but was not the case. The wardens were very helpful, when we realised we didn't have a screwdriver for our gas supply, and persisted with us until we were up and running. Jackie in the office was extremely friendly when I enquired the best way to the playpark for the kids. She made us feel really welcome.

Our pitch sloped slightly at the back and there wasn't enough room to put up a windbreak. Neither of these were real problems though. The toilet block was kept clean, the water was always hot, and the soap dispensers were always full. Only once did my husband go to the loo (Sunday morning) and there was no loo roll! 2 sinks for washing up but we never had to wait. The camp does state that all should be quiet after 10.30 p.M., however this was not the case and we were woken both nights by loud talkers/clubbers coming in after 2.00 a.M. However the kids were not woken so we will let them off! I would hope the wardens would nip anything too long or loud in the bud though.

The kids play park is on the outer edge of the campsite and was quite good. £20 cash deposit for the barrier key. Local pub 'The Claypipe' was extremely busy but the food was lovely, so would recommend if you don't mind waiting a bit. Wareham was lovely with good butchers/bakers/Sainsburys and coffee shops.

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1418 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019