Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wareham Forest Lodge Retreat (was Pear Tree Holiday Park)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Wareham Forest Lodge Retreat (was Pear Tree Holiday Park)
Organford Road
Holton Heath
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6LA
Tel: 01202 622434
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Lodges Only Now
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 82 Reviews
                7/10 from 82 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note that this site (previously known as Pear Tree Holiday Park) has been redeveloped and as of 2017 it no longer caters for tents, camping, touring caravans or motorhomes. It is now a holiday lodge site only.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vivteacher 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site last summer and absolutely loved it so we were really looking forward to returning this year however, what a disappointment, we couldn't believe the changes.

Firstly, good points:

Toilets and showers clean with constant hot water

Next to a really nice pub with good food

On an excellent bus route so easy to get into Poole or Swanage, without the car, giving access to various attractions such as Wareham, with its good shops and places to eat, and Corfe Castle for the steam railway

Drawbacks:

20 deposit for key to main gates and toilets

1 charge each time freezer packs are put in the shop freezer, even though it is used for ice-cream etc, and not especially for campers

Shop is advertised as being open from 10 each morning- it didn't open until at least 10:45 on 2 mornings and it was 11:00 on the day we were due to leave, we had to wait till then to claim our 20 refund which meant we were late travelling on to our next campsite.

We spoke to quite a few seasonal caravanners who are planning to move their 'vans at the end of the season so this is one site we won't be returning to, unfortunately

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnnymo9210 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 9 nights stay in this site, The site was very clean and lovely and clean toilet blocks, Its good that they have a baby changing room but I think it would be better if they have a room just for this, Instead they have it in the men and ladies toilets which mean if you want to help bath and change your little one you have to do it on your own, There is no kids clubs but they do have a park at the top off the hill, The thing I found strange is they have a small football pitch which is on a hill which was no good whatsoever, There was a food van on site but I never eaten from it, I think They should put all the seasonal vans in one place instead of having them all round the site as I felt that I was invading some ones space, There is a small shop on site which does sell all the things you need, All round ok site I would return but without kids.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MITCH74 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 2 week stay at Peartree Touring Park and I am overall disappointed with our stay.

The campsite itself felt cramped and there's not a lot of space between pitches. Our pitch was right in front of the toilet block so we did get a lot of kids going up and down the roads on bikes and scooters. One child actually crashed into someones car and left a lovely scratch and dent in their rear bumper. We also had a lot of kids hanging around our pitch and also running behind our caravan which did get annoying. I did have to tell some kids off because of this.

The toilet block was a bit dated and the roof tiles were dirty but the showers were lovely and hot.

I definitely wont be going back to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandrasgems4u 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week's holiday at this site. It is a medium sized site with no children's clubs, games rooms, pub or restaurant. There is a mobile burger van on the site but this was not open during our stay.

First the pro's

Lovely warden couldn't have been more helpful.

Well maintained, tidy site.

Good access roads leading to site.

Good location for visiting lots of places in Dorset, including Poole, Swanage, Bournemouth, New Forest, etc

Toilet and shower block clean at all times visited

Site shop stocked with all the basics

No road noise from site

Dog walking area

Pub just up the road, The Claypipe, which looked very nice but we did not visit during our stay

Now the Cons

Be warned, if you book a gravel pitch with water/waste this will be with the seasonal caravanner's. The water tap is on the ground, so you will need a special fitment to use this.

Only enough room on gravel for caravan and awning, so car has to go on the grass, leaving no-where to sit

Not enough room between units and no edges/borders in between

Lots of children on site with scooters, skate boards and bikes whizzing past all the time as there is nothing else for them to do

Group bookings are taken on this site, so be prepared for the inevitable!

Don't misunderstand me, we enjoyed our week, but would NOT book this site again during the school holidays. Children need space to spread their wings and things to occupy them, which this site just does not provide.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Delphius1 1 review from this member

We spent a lovely couple of nights at this site. We had a grass pitch with electric hook up.

The site was clean, tidy, well laid out and the facilities were excellent. The showers were always clean and well presented. The only minor issue being the lack of hot water at peak times! But that's easy to avoid by choosing a quieter time to have a shower. The main shower block had a washing up facility and chemical toilet disposal point. There were numerous drinking and waste water points as well as bins dotted around the site, so no fear of lugging heavy water barrels across the site.

As a base for exploring the area its great, with Poole and Wareham in easy reach. Even if you stay on site there is a nice pub within walking distance selling good food. Its very busy which speaks volumes for a pub these days! If the hundred yards or so to the pub is too far, there's a fast food van on site in the evenings!

As two adults we didn't investigate any family facilities on the site so can't comment on them.

When booking over the phone (2 adults) we were even given the choice of a quieter part of the site and when we arrived (admittedly relatively late) the staff were friendly and very helpful which was useful given this was only our second outing in the 'van. Another bonus for newbies was wide roads leading to the site.

There are a range of pitches for touring caravans, motorhomes and tents and each area is segmented by hedges giving it an intimate feeling.

All in all a very well managed site and would recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scudo 2 reviews from this member

On arrival at site staff were very friendly and helpful, we were shown to our pitch which was large and our friends were sited next to us. Campsite was beautiful and pitches were well looked after. Showers and toilets were clean although there was no mop or squeegee available, unfortunately when site was full the hot water was in short supply. Washing up facilities were poor for the size of the campsite, we had to queue every time. There also seemed to be a problem with the electricity, it was very cold at night, when we were there and the power couldn't seem to cope with the small heater that we had.

Shop was well stocked with essentials and the kids loved the supply of sweets. The children also enjoyed the playground and ball area.

Location is good, close to Wareham, Poole and Corfe.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Valellis 8 reviews from this member

Just had 5 sunny days down on Pear Tree. Must say it is one of the best sites we have stayed on. Very clean and quiet and the toilets/showers were the best. Very clean and lovely and warm. Well looked after site and everyone was so friendly. Lots of the people seem to be regulars who park there caravans there so not a lot of tourists people around. Will definitely be booking up again next year.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Busdriver799 4 reviews from this member

We feel dissapointed with this camp site, didn't seem to be many staff around, when I booked in I told them that my wife was disabled and unable to walk far so we were put close to the toilet/showers and gave 1 key to access the toilets, but we found that the wet room shower needed another key to open which I was not given. And the door to the ladies was very hard to open she had to try and open a very stiff lock whilst holding a walking stick turn the key and push down the handle. So the next day I asked for the disabled key the lady at the desk did not know where the keys were kept and spent 5 mins on the phone to find somebody that knew where the keys were kept, but could not find anyone who knew. I was told that they would be left open but when we returned to camp it wasn't, you even needed the key to take my dog for a walk, it seems everything is key controlled

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Longhorn 200 2 reviews from this member

Having travelled 7 hours we arrived to be greeted by very very helpful staff who could not do enough for us. Having a large tent plus pop up tent we were given a pitch on the meadow where there is plenty of space unlike some people who squeezed everything into a small pitch just to be close to friends. The site is very clean and tidy and toilets plus showers were all clean. On one occasion someone who hadn't had toilet training had used the toilets but was cleaned very quickly by some unfortunate person. Even my wife made a comment on how clean these places were and well stocked with everything. The site is very quiet with the exception of the odd child playing. We tried the clay pipe as does everyone and wasn't disappointed the food was great and plentiful and the staff very friendly. We have just booked up again for next year and they couldn't do enough to help us out

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3571 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!