Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park Reviews

Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park
Middlebarrow Plain
Cove Road
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA5 0SH
Tel: 01524 701508
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 107 Reviews
                9/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Purplebonnie 10 reviews from this member

 We took our tourer to this site for 4 nights and were very impressed. We have spent time in the area so know the location and area well. The location is great, easy access to Silverdale and Arnside by foot or car and walking distance to the beach. I'd recommned a train ride from Arnside to Ullverston calling at Grange along the way, especially on a sunny day as the views are stunning.

The showering facilities were immaculate if a little old fashioned. The water was running cold on and off for the first day or 2, we reported it and it appeared to get sorted. The leisure facilities are excellent, the pool and changing rooms immaculate which for me was a bonus! I was concerned that the bar and restaurant might feel 'clicky' with the static residents but there was no sign of this. The restaurant overlooks the pool which is nice if you want a coffee whilst the other half swims with the little ones. As it was summer holidays there were lots of families, I was surprised that at no point did it feel like a Butlins or a Haven site! The shop is very well stocked and is very reasonably priced. There are 2 play areas on site for children and plenty space to kick or hit a ball out of the way of others. There are plenty dog walks straight from the site too. We pitched in the middle section as it was busy when we arrived. I would have prefered to be in the top section as it felt less cramped. I felt we were all looking on each other from our pitch but we were very close to the showers etc which was a bonus with a 2yr old!

Negatives (not many!)

We found cars including Holgates vehicles moved quite fast around the site

There seemed to be a lot of car movement past our pitch (people using cars to get to the on site shop etc!)

A little expensive for the pitches but worth it to have use of the pool 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JG1971 8 reviews from this member

 Large site with great facilities & friendly staff.

The pitch fees are expensive compared to other sites, but not excessive.

Although our pitch was almost level, some of the pitches are at very strange angles and it would be difficult to get near level even with ramps etc.

Pitches are allocated on arrival so all the decent ones go first!

Water, grey waste, 16amp electric and TV point on all pitches is very handy.

Showers & Toilets modern & clean.

The huge down side to this site is the approach roads, at least a couple of miles of very narrow lanes with high hedges or dry stone walls on either side. Although others won't be put off by this - it'll prevent us going back in a hurry! 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dave 418 37 reviews from this member

 Not a site we would have chosen during high season but for a late season weekend away this was an exactly what we wanted.

When we arrived the reception staff were very informative and said as it was not busy we could pitch were we liked amongst the touring pitches. We found a pitch, C1, with views out to the bay with a lovely sunset through the trees.

The pitch was fairly level gravel with its own water tap, hook up and TV point.

We didn't use the site facilities but when we checked they were modern and clean.

We used the pool twice during our stay. This included the steam and sauna rooms. There are adult only times if you prefer a quiet swim.

The on site shop was well stocked and opened quite late every evening. We ate in the bar on the first night, not being keen on bar food I was pleasantly surprised at the choice and the food was ok.

There are lots of well marked walks from the site with a leaflet provided by the shop. We walked up Arnside Knot, a bit steep but worth the views. From there we walked into Arnside for lunch. Our walk back took us along the coast to Far Arnside After a days walking it was nice to relax in the pool before dinner.

Other guests said the site can be very crowded in high season due to the amount of statics. We would go back and venture out to the lakes using this site as a base. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DenD 2 reviews from this member

 We've been going to Holgates for the best part of 30 years but sadly I don't think we'll be returning. It's not because Holgates charge top price but because the touring site is outdated and tired. Push button, fixed temp showers are from the past, Wi-Fi available only at the reception area is not what a modern site should offer and many of the pitches are far from level. It was state of the art 20 years ago but has fell way behind now. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gibstir 5 reviews from this member

 Had 2 night stay here on the way home from Cornwall, what a find ! Lovely site with generous pitches. We chose to have a fully serviced pitch which meant a super fast set up. The site itself was exceptionally pretty with lovely views across the bay and surrounding countryside. The facilities were of a very high standard. The site has a good restaurant bar and leisure pool, with a further extension currently being built( although you would not know building work was happening)completely unobtrusive.

Surrounding area is typical lake district - narrow roads, beautiful scenery and villages. Easy travel distances to Morcambe and the Lakes.

Wish we had had longer to explore and enjoy this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gringers 2 reviews from this member

 We originally booked to stay at Hollins farm where we have been before, but the site phoned to ask us if we would like to change to Holgates Silverdale main site, as they didn't have a warden at Hollins for the day we arrived. We agreed, and were very pleasantly surprised.

The site pitches were excellent. Well kept and spacious with lots of wildlife. We had rabbits, squirrels, woodpeckers, bullfinches and treecreepers all within feet of our campervan. Toilet block was immaculate, well-thought out and toasty warm.

The complex facilities were spot on. This was our first holiday with our 9-week old daughter - she had her first swim in the heated pool, where there were shallow steps to make it easy for us, and baby inflatable rings and noodles to borrow. The changing facilities were good, and the whole place had a very nice, relaxed feel about it.

Ok, it's not cheap, but with the use of the pool we thought it was worth it. We'll definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stan on tour 48 reviews from this member

 This is an upmarket site with a range of excellent facilities and amenities. It is more expensive than we would normally pay but we were keen to visit the area and weren't disappointed. The site is really well landscaped and maintained with individual pitches each with hook up and water.

The bar is functional with good outside seating, shop well stocked and adult only swimming hour most welcome.

The only down side is you are a good walk from silverdale and arnside the local villages. We had a lovely walk to and from arnside for lunch but it was an hour each way on footpaths so without using a car you are rather stranded on the site at night. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Starstruck 1 review from this member

 First time towing my caravan, large pitches were easy to set up, lovely wooded settings, country and Morcambe bay views, toilets and showers spotless, cafe/bar food and pool great for grandchildren, as wifi high on their list of needs.

Local pubs The Fighting Cocks and The Ship, food/ service was good with fabulous views over the bay.

The only downside was my family had a pup with them we couldn't all be together to enjoy the on site facilities of food and drinks as there is no area inside where you can take a dog. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hughes75 2 reviews from this member

 A very clean and tidy site, slightly expensive but you do get a swimming pool which was nice and clean, staff nice n friendly, bring hard tent pegs as ground very hard, we ate one night in the restaurant food was reasonablyprice and was ok. We brought our dog, but disappointed we couldn't bring her inside. We would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Light Infantry 10 reviews from this member

 We booked on silverdale on the cumbian/ lancashire border. The site is clean and well maintained with a really good leisure facility- pool, sauna, jakoosee, gym, restaurant, bar, small shop and kids play room. Pitches all hardstanding. But don't go if you want telephone or internet connection. There aint none. The site advertises wifi but it is a joke. It is only in the restaurant and it don't work. You see every night people trying desperately trying to connect by phone or tablet. When are sites going to be honest about their internet coverage and more to the point when are they going to move into the 21st centary? Even the older generation use the internet and mobile phones. 
Management response: In response to Light Infantry's comments we accept that Holgates WiFi is not as good as you would expect at home. Being in a rural area we have struggled for some time to get adequate bandwidth to service all our users in our Cafe area, where up to 80 users can try to access the small bandwidth that we do have at present. Living in large cities may give you the impression that rural areas have the same access to large bandwidth, which we do not. Broadband is far from ubiquitous in many rural areas, and that is why most campsites struggle as we have done to service your needs. However the 21st century is about to reach us as Broadband is now being installed by BT in Silverdale Village. We have been in discussion for several months with our service provider to try and find a viable solution, which we now appear to have, so subject to final agreement, we will be installing 100Mg fibre circuit to site to give you the service you expect. We apologise that it is not very good at present, but we will have a major improvement very soon and please bear with us in busy times when everyone wants to connect to the WiFi service.

Thanks,

Simon

Operations Manager

Holgates Caravan parks Ltd


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3493 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement