Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park Reviews

Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park
Middlebarrow Plain
Cove Road
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA5 0SH
Tel: 01524 701508
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Swiftc3 7 reviews from this member

 Went with my husband and our 6 year old daughter. This was our first caravan adventure so really didn't know what to expect so we picked a site with everything on and as it was still winter we thought a pool would be ideal for our little girl especially on cold rainy days. A great site with great facilities, shop, cafe and bar, pool and small arcade. Shower blocks were clean, staff friendly and helpful, food in the restaurant was great, great for walking. Couldn't fault the site really and would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vw kid 4 reviews from this member

 Just been for a long weekend, we have stayed here before and you know what to expect, great staff, clean and top class amenities, if you want peace and quite go to the top of the field, bit of a walk up hill on way back, price is a little expensive 70 2 adults one child but the way I look at it is you have a swimming pool and all the amenities there for you so use them.

I love the place cant wait to go back especially when its dull and raining for that autumn break 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mallybum 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a very rainy weekend at this site which is such a shame because it is a beauty. Showers/WC blocks are very nearly first class, only let down by those stupid timed push buttons on the showers which are never on long enough and take away the enjoyment of the thing, not good enough really considering the price of this place.

Anyway in general the whole site is pristine. The shop is well stocked and the wife said the pool was very nice especially the aqua aerobics class (3). There is no land based TV signal but there is a aerial point on every pitch so you will need a lead (available at the shop for 7).

One thing to note for campervan owners is the site is very large and if pitched at the far end there is one helluva walk to and from the reception/shop/cafe area with the walk back being all uphill, not good if your bad on yer pins. You will go a long way before you will better the class of this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kathryn J 16 reviews from this member

 This is our first visit to this site even though we only live an hours drive away. We booked for 2 nights to see if we liked it and decided to stay for an another night. When we arrived I was greeted by a very pleasant, welcoming, smiley young lady who explained everything to me. I was told to go and find a pitch and to enjoy my stay. The site has many static caravans as holiday homes but there is also a lot of pitches for caravans, motorhomes and tents. The pitches vary in size and some are shady and private and others open to sunshine, so there is a pitch suitable for everyone. There is plenty of grassy areas and a couple of play areas. It is quite pricey but you get what you pay for and included in the price is access to the pool facilities. We did not eat at the cafe as dogs are not allowed inside but it was always busy. The shop was well stocked with essentials and was licensed. There are lots of walks everywhere and we walked to Arnside which was an easy hour leisurely walk. The toilet facilities are clean my only gripe is the showers. The showerhead is quite low down so if you are tall like me you will have to bend down to wash your hair. The push button has to be pressed every few seconds and the temperature of the water cannot be altered so you cannot have a cool shower after a hot days walk, but this is my only gripe so that's not too bad. We will definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sharvale 4 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a weekend stay and have to say that the site was a huge let down. Firstly I was left standing in Reception for over ten minutes on arrival even though two staff members were behind the desk, not a very good sign on arrival. Secondly the showers and sink unit water supply was extremely slow, 5 seconds of water in the one shower before it turned off, same in the sink unit. I have heard of water saving but this was ridiculous. Another trip to Reception and again I was left standing there in front of staff for ten minutes and ended up walking away. Last night in the restaurant our food came eventually, 40 minute wait. Wish we had gone to a nice local pub to dine. Bar staff, or should I say the lack of bar staff was a joke, my daughter waited 15 minutes to get served. I waited for 15 minutes also, and in the end we returned to our seats and asked the waitress who brought our food if she could get served as we couldn't. Five of us were in our party so we thought we would go here as a treat yet we were all let down badly by the service. We will stick in future to visiting smaller more personal sites that are a lot cheaper where the staff are the proprietors who care about the service that they provide to their customers. Also if you don't mind kids that aren't even with you taking water from your service pitch tap, filling up litre water bottles and throwing water everywhere and then leaving all the empty bottles rolling around outside your caravan then you certainly must pay this site a visit. 
Management response: Firstly, apologies that your stay at Silverdale was not as you or we would have wished for. The vast majority of our customers, as per previous reviews, do have a fantastic time at Silverdale and have complimented us on the service received in both the reception and the restaurant in the past. I am keen to explore the background of your dissatisfaction further and would be grateful if you would contact me at Silverdale to discuss on 01524 701 508.

Kind Regards,

Steven Byast

General Manager

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ggandj23 6 reviews from this member

 Roads can be little tricky specially when arriving when the school is letting out with all the Chelsea tractors 'parked' about.

This site is fantastic.

Checking in is a breeze and the welcome pack seemed to cover everything one needs to know.

Barriers and security on entrance with number plate recognition cameras.

Its pick your own pitch here.

The majority are level but those that are not need clever positioning and levelling. All have hook ups, fresh water and waste water drain.

The facilities are spotlessly clean and bright. They are regularly attended to during the day and evening.

At the complex. There's a bar, a reasonably priced restaurant with beautifully prepared and tasty food pitch and putt, swimming pool, soft play games rooms. Our 4 year old loved it and so did we too.

It seems a little expensive (37. 00 early July)but with the exception of the gym you don't get charged extra for showers hair dryer, swimming pool and pitch & putt.

You get you get what you pay for and if you are like us, you will pay more and you will be very happy with this beautiful park.

The staff are all helpful, polite and courteous.

The owner should be very proud of them and his beautiful park.

Definitely recommend this park and we are definitely going back hopefully sooner than later. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gtfreight 2 reviews from this member

 This site is on the edge of the Lake District and has views from Morecambe Bay over to Heysham.

The lane on the approach to the site is quite narrow for a mile or 2 so proceed with care.

Upon arrival you book in at the reception where you are given a welcome pack with opening times of the facilities. You are asked for your vehicle registration number so that it can be entered onto their system to allow you through the automatic barrier.

Once booked in you can choose any available pitch you like. We prefer the lower ones as you get a sea view and there is also a phone signal (with Orange) which you can't get further up the site. All pitches are fully serviced which saves you having to walk to top up your water containers.

The site is immaculately clean. We have been coming here for over 10 years and if we didn't know better we would say that the shower blocks were brand new.

There are plenty of walks to take on in the area from gentle strolls to challenging hikes.

You are only a short drive away from Kendal and Lancaster. Nearer is Carnforrh which is where the film 'A Brief Encounter' was filmed in 1946.

When we first visited Holgates our daughter was quite young but we felt totally confident in letting her play out with the other children as everyone was so friendly.

There is a swimming pool with a spa, steam room and sauna that are all kept in spotless condition and are free to use for guests. There is also a state of the art gym which you can use for a small fee.

There is a good restaurant and bar next to the pools facilities which is also excellent.

I have seen cheaper places to stay but I think the charges for holidaying here are worth every penny.

Our caravan is currently in storage in Wales but we will still be coming to Holgates and staying in their superb static caravans in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mal600908 1 review from this member

 We came here for a weekend, we usually go to caravan club sites but it wasn't too far and though we would treat ourselves as it was 40/night with 2 kids, we usually pay around 25/night.

As said before, you just drive around and pick your spot. It's a a large site and plenty of choice and the pitches are a decent size as I have a fifth wheel caravan. The pitches have water/waste/TV hook up so a serviced pitch.

The area is very nice and great for walks and not too far from Kendal and the Lakes.

We ate in the cafe/bar and the food was good, decent quality and the chips were very hot.

Overall a nice site, we only live 30 minutes away so might come back gain next autumn as the pool is handy for the kids when the weather is poor.

I still prefer the caravan club sites which are always clean and good value although caravanning isn't as cheap as it was, especially with 2 kids.

I still think its a bit expensive although swimming is about 9 for 2 adults anyway and a serviced pitch is a nice change, especially with a 250 litre tank to fill.

The mobile phone signal is a bit hit and miss so be warned if you like to surf the web but there is free Wi-fi in the bar/cafe.

Overall a good site, plenty of room and nice location. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 Great location on this spacious family oriented site with indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym, bar and restaurant but so expensive at 44 / night for family with two children! Considering this site is geared up for families and has a 10mph speed limit, this should be a safe environment for children to play.

Unfortunately the speed limit is not enforced. Even the numerous service vehicles, tractors, JCBs etc. Speed around the site roads (20-30 mph). This resulted in a complaint to the management as the vehicle speeds, location of pitches and number of children playing on or near the road was an accident in the waiting!

Granted following the complaint the service vehicles did slow down, but (some) of the grossly inconsiderate campers continued to use excessive and dangerous speeds around the site.

Overall, good family site if you have very deep pockets, and dont have issues with children playing near speeding motorists! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Lyndie 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable stay at this site. Everything was as described, the layout of the pitches was such that you had some privacy. The toilet/ shower blocks were maintained to a high level, good dishwashing facilities, and the whole site was kept to a very high standard. Despite the site being full to capacity whilst we were there, we never had to wait to use the facilities.

Receptionist staff were pleasant and explained everything we needed to know, we had to find our own pitch - but that was no hardship.

The shop on site was well stocked and opened until 9pm, and was actually very reasonably priced.

Cannot comment on the food served in the bar/resteraunt as we didn't eat there, however the area was very child friendly and the drinks were reasonably priced.

The swimming pool was a godsend as it rained and rained and rained whilst we were there, excellent pool, sauna, steam room etc - and again open till 9pm. If there was one thing we could change it would be to have the pool open longer!

The area was scenic, close enough to visit the lake district and The World of Beatrix Potter - a tad too touristy for us, but not expensive at 18 for a family ticket. Forbidden corner is a must, a longish drive through breathtaking scenery, but fun for the whole family in this quirky folly. We spent just over 3 hours there (infact we were the last to leave!) and still didn't see it all. Fun for kids of all ages.

Ingleton Caves and the walk to Gaping Gill, or nearly as it turned out was beautiful and at 65p for each adult to walk the trail well worth it. Only the fit can manage the whole walk as being faced with climbing through the gorge up a very steep hill beat me! maybe next year as I would love to be lowered down into the cavenous Gaping Gill - do allow plenty of time to reach it, and waiting your turn!

A fantastic part of the country to visit and the camp site was everything we thought it would be and more, would highly recommend it. Not the cheapest site, but worth every penny! 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3694 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement