Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park Reviews

Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park
Middlebarrow Plain
Cove Road
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA5 0SH
Tel: 01524 701508
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 107 Reviews
                9/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RigLee 7 reviews from this member

 This was our first weekend away as new 'Caravanners' and we could not have picked a better weekend. Or campsite.

My apprehensions about the toilets/showers soon disappeared as I was delighted with them. They were spotless. 10 out of 10.

Great electric/water hook up. Each site had it's own.

The facilities were fab and would suit anyone.

We loved it so much we went to book for the following weekend and it was a real disappointment to find it was full.! Oh well we'll have to try somewhere else and then come back here another weekend.

The walk into the little village took us about 20 mins but a lovely walk. We ate at L'amico (a little Italian restaurant) the first night. The food / ambiance etc was great. Would eat there again.

We went back to the bar in the campsite for a drink and although I love kids it was great that the bar was for 16 yrs and over.

Sat morning we went for a drive to get supplies and then had lunch sat on the shore. Gorgeous view. We found another pub called the Silverdale Hotel with a great beer garden. We just had to try it. Very busy with families but no problems.

We spent the afternoon on site as the weather was wonderful and I was delighted to see other families playing together. The barbecues were out and everyone was having a great time.

I loved this site and will return. The only negative. The road leading to it. Narrow and for our first time taking the caravan. A bit hairy. But we made it and will be back to try it again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woowoman 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay at this site. This was our first visit to this site and first time camping as a family of 5. I must say the toilets and showers were very nice and there is a block situated on the tent field so only 1 min walk from anywhere in the tent field. Some of the pitches are quite hilly but it did not seem to bother my family as we just changed sleeping sides after the first night.
The shop is ok and not too expensive and the staff are very friendly and well trained however the biggest downfall for tent campers is the long walk from the tent site to the shop / pool / club but ok in good weather.
Also the lighting on the tent side could be a little better but overall we had a nice stay for the cost and the pool facilities are excellent with no extra cost to residents. Overall 9/10 so well done to Mr and Mrs Holgate. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karensmalley 3 reviews from this member

 Holgates is set in quiet woodland next to the sea, it is a beautiful campsite with spotless toilet and shower facilities. The swimming pool is great for the kids, great bar / restaurant, well stocked shop; great if you have forgotten anything . Will definitely be back

Please remember if you are camping the ground is really hard due to the granite in this area so getting tent pegs in can be tricky. But definitely worthwhile. Waking up surrounded by lovely views, rabbits and squirrels, makes this site a great stay 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Domag123 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from half term break here and it is the first time we have visited. It was FAB and would definitely return. Bar/restaurant area clean and reasonably priced. Swimming pool lovely (bit cold for my liking) games room and shop. Two play areas for kids and plenty of open space for them to run around.

Approach road to site can be narrow at times. All in all would recommend and will be returning shortly I hope. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Choirister 2 reviews from this member

 I have very pleasant memories of walking in the surrounding countryside and swimming in the sites own very well appointed pool.

Whilst not the cheapest of sites the facilities are worth the money. Well situated for travelling in the Lake District and for those that like bird watching Leighton Moss is a must.

Pitches are well drained and spacious with the majority being on hard standing rather than grass.

One slight disadvantage to this is that the ground is slate and can be hard on the awning pegs. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Steveandwendy 3 reviews from this member

 Been here a few times. What a site to visit. ALL MOD CONS. Very very very nice toilets. Sinks etc in the toilet cubicles as well as the blocks. Showers great, and so very clean. 
Site well laid out and loads of room around the hard standings etc. but still some privacy . EHU also come with a connection for your TV antenna so you can get digital no messing about.
Nice staff, lovely swimming pool, spa, Steam room etc. Food nice as well as CHEAP. Very quiet site too. A REAL GEM. Only one slight complaint, very expensive in comparison to other site we have visited, but a nice treat. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hymer655 5 reviews from this member

 Read reviews prior to visit and the general consensus was that it was an excellent site with the only downfall being the access roads to site and the speed and the locals being inconsiderate to caravans and motorhomes.
 
Swimming pool - best visited
Shop - excellent
Facilities - excellent
Cleanliness - excellent
Toilets - excellent
 
Best site visited overall, apart from above which the the site has no control over. 


Date of Visit: February 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesley/Ian 31 reviews from this member

 We visited here 2006/2007 in the February half terms, we like it because it has a great indoor pool and is in a lovely setting.

All the pitches are hard standing and serviced, try and get one by the toilet shower bocks, if you don't want a hike.

Access is a little hairy! Some tight winding lanes, last time we went we were met by the beer delivery wagon and had to un hitch and spin our van out of the way as did the other units arriving behind us! Be warned.

However even though we have not visted in the summer months, it is still a lovely setting and has some great walks and has access to the Lake District, we travelled to Bowness for a day out from there.

The pool is great, not overcrowded and they have a couple of water jets they switch on every now and then which is great for the kids.

The bar area is nice and is adults only but there is an area where you can sit with your children.

They also do meals from the restaurant, carvery on Sunday I seem to remember.

Small shop selling the basics.

It is a great site for the kids, good play area, open spaces for play and good for bikes as it has a one way system.

Now, the important bit, it is expensive. This year (2009)the basic pitch fee is £ 33.50 per night for a family of 4, but there is an awning fee of £ 3.00 per night too, making it £ 36.50, this is all year round and does not alter for seasonal changes.

Please don't let this put you off, it may deter some, but it is well worth it, the quality of the site and facilities are absolutely top notch, it has the feel of an exclusive country club, with a touring park attached.

We love it and for us circumstances have not allowed us to visit this last year, but we will be back this year and again and again. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathyroboo 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Easter weekend at Holgates. As mentioned previously site is expensive, however facilities first class. There are a number of draw backs mainly:- No organisation of who stays where, its first come first served which on a busy day led to a wackey races scenario. The pitches that were available were extremely sloping and distant from the only available toilet block which was way uphill.
The toilet block was clean however only 2 showers for all concerned. The staff were friendly however unwilling to help when we had a minor problem with our unit.
Our pitch was very scenic however we were in the middle of the one way system which resulted in our little one have no safe area to play. The speed limit appeared to be disregarded at will and in four days we didnt see any warden.
The bar and restaurant were good value for money and the pool, swings and recreation areas were all very good. The approach road was difficult but passable with care and the area in general was scenic.
Grange over sands is a pleasant town as was Arnside and Silverdale itself. In conclusion a good site with good facilities but not ideal for small children. 


Date of Visit: February 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Morgana 3 reviews from this member

 This was a really lovely site, mainly occupied with families. They only have a few vans for hire, the rest are privately owned. All vans on site are less than 10 years old and are superb. We stayed in van 1 which had a brilliant view of the childrens' play area so the kids could go off and we could keep an eye on them. There is no club on site and my only critisisms of the site are that the bar is for over 16's only so we couldn't go in for a drink as a family. They had a nice indoor pool but it was a bit cold. Spa pool was fun and the sauna/steam rooms were nice. There was a rule about no children being allowed in the pool after 5.45pm but unfortunately, this wasn't enforced so no chance of a quiet swim in peace! Also the only food on site was average although the dining area was lovely. Really nice shop and small arcade area and soft play den.

Overall, 8/10 and would definitely go back in the winter season. Fantastic location for visiting lakes and Yorkshire and Lancashire's best country villages. 


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3256 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement