Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park Reviews

Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park
Middlebarrow Plain
Cove Road
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA5 0SH
Tel: 01524 701508
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 107 Reviews
                9/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boxertwin69 13 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely 5 night stay at the Hollins Farm site.

Plus points : beautiful location, fantastic for walks, not too far from shops & facilities at Carnforth & Morecambe, good on site shop & restaurant (with softplay), reasonable on site prices (pint of lager 2.95, burger & chunky chips 6.95, full kids meal with bottle of drink 4.75), 2 good playgrounds on site, well-kept grounds, friendly/helpful staff

Minus points : approach is difficult due to narrow single track roads (approach via Carnforth if at all possible!), more toilets/showers/potwashing facilities needed at Hollins Farm, some pitches difficult to get onto at Hollins Farm, cycling difficult for little ones at Hollins Farm due to road surface, whole area not very cycle-friendly due to gradients, Silverdale site is a 10minute walk away (not 5), but is pleasant as long as the cows don't charge at you!

Recommendation : kids will love Happy Mount Park in Morecambe, especially the free splash park there. Parking free in surrounding streets & rides etc very reasonably priced. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 Would not normally stay on a commercial site with the pool, bar etc but taking two young grandchildren this proved ideal. Spacious site with good sized pitches, all having individual electric, water and TV.

Two toilet blocks but four showers (two in male, two in female)/block used by 70 touring pitches, that would cause problems in busy periods. The toilets are also a bit of a hike from some pitches.

Well stocked shop on site, but Silverdale is only just over 1 mile with Co-op, and butchers. Great location for walks directly from site. Kids loved the pool and park/s.

Great for families but it is a very expensive site. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ferga2 11 reviews from this member

 One adult and three children ages 5, 6 and 7 on school half-term break with tourer van.

The weather was extremely cold and windy however, this was an ideal site to visit as winter approaches. Like many other tourers, we chose not to put up our awning.

The pool is the best facility, it is very well well maintained and has sufficient life guards.

There is a good family restaurant which is not over priced considering its remote rural location. The toilets are a high standard. The children's adventure playgrounds and site roads were safe. The shop is very well stocked.

We walked across the adjacent field to the nearby Siverdale farm with ponies, goats chickens etc.The site staff were friendly and my children enjoyed feeding the animals.

The entire area is beautiful and very scenic. The narrow roads and well kept drystone walls separating each field are impressive features.

It is a higher than average priced site but offers good value for money. I recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rivvy 11 reviews from this member

 Camped on this site at the end of October in a small three man tent with my 4 yr old boy.

As stated in a previous review, the camping area is small and undulating. I think we would have struggled to find a suitably level area for a tent much bigger than the one we had.

The camping area is at the far end of the site and is very exposed. The ground is also very rocky and rock pegs are an absolute must, we would not have been able to pitch without them.

I think campers would be better advised to stay at the Hollins Farm site just down the road. It is run by the same company, it's a five minute walk away and guests have use of the pool etc. At Holgates.

The toilet and shower facilities were modern and spotlessly clean. As were the swimming pool changing areas.

The on site cafe and bar serves food of a reasonable standard for this kind of establishment and the shop is well stocked.

In summary, this is an excellent site and I'll return but will probably camp at Hollins Farm next time. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rensters 1 review from this member

 I am a total clean freak and this site didn't make me cringe once (which is very unusual!). The toilets, shower facilities, etc are spotless at all times and cannot be faulted. The same can be said about the swimming pool area and changing rooms and the grounds are very well tended. There are lots of open spaces for kids to play ball games and lots of trees to climb and two great play areas that blend well into the surroundings.

The pitch was larger than many we've used and we were able to choose the one we wanted. You definitely need good strong hard-ground pegs and be sure to take a co-ax cable for the TV point if you want to watch telly as our ariel wouldn't pick up the signal here.

We walked accross the farmer's field (not sure if we were supposed to!) and under the little bridge to 'the dip' which is a small cove/beach area with pebbles, caves and rock pools. Be sure to check tide times though as it's easy to get cut off here and watch for the quicksand! The seaside village of Arnside is 1 mile away and has some lovely shops and a nice little art gallery that used to be a bank. We took the train from here, across the sea to grange over sands which is very pretty.

Nearest supermarkets are in Carnforth (Tesco and Booths) and the on-site shop is pretty well stocked, with freshly baked deli-france products every morning.

Do be careful on the journey in, it's windy and narrow at times, but well worth it.

We've already booked again and I'm sure it will keep us returning. It might be a bit pricier than other sites, but you definitely get what you pay for! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kiwichick 1 review from this member

 This was an excellent site. We stayed in a tent. There are limited spaces for tents, and the area is undulating, so only small tents are allowed (those that sleep up to five), although our neighbours' tent was huge!

The toilets/showers/washing up block was very clean indeed. The children enjoyed the playgrounds and the walks through the forest.

The site is huge, but because there were lots of facilities, it felt smaller.

Pool was excellent, shop well stocked. Will definitely be returning even though we thought that it was a dearer site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dixons 3 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have camped at Hollins Farm and the children are already planning next years visit. We only live 20 mins away but absolutely love this site. The unlimited use of the pool facilities makes this the cheapest camp of the year for us!

5mins walk to the beach which is a pebble cove when tide is in and 5 mins walk into the woods of Arnside Knott which is great for making dens!

Welcoming staff checked us in and the site warden checked we were ok during our stay. Wash cabins are very clean and well maintained but there is still only 1 basin for pot wash which causes a bit of a queue.

No facility for drying hair at Hollins farm and only hand dryer types at the swimming pool changing rooms so I would like to see some sockets installed so children don't go to bed with wet hair. Minor moan though and I certainly wouldn't let that stop me from camping here in the future.

Great site and a superb location. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Allan15 1 review from this member

 Having just recently visited this site I have got to say and I don't normally go in for writing reviews but this site was one of the best I have been to. The facilities are excellent shower toilets very very clean. Playground for the children very well thought out. The swimming pool and sauna was excellent. The surrounding gardens were immaculate very well kept. We went on one of the public walks and really enjoyed it. Be aware you do need hard ground pegs as it suggests on their web site. I have never seen a site that is kept so clean and tidy. And the staff was one of the most polite set of people I have met on a camp site. This is only 50 mins from where I live but when there I might as well of been the other side of the country. We are definitely going back in fact I have just booked. Children are all catered for and the food in the bar was very reasonably priced and was very good we was going to cook in the van but had evening meal in the bar 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Little Sparkle 1 review from this member

 This site is superb.

The field was well maintained - recently cut, and even the stinging nettles had been zapped next to regularly used paths and gates.

The toilet blocks, showers and pot washing areas are the best I have ever experienced camping. They are new cabins and are cleaned three times a day - morning, lunchtime and teatime.

We didn't need to use disabled facilities but from what I saw I'd say that accessibility is great.

There are farm animals around, which are great for the kids to say hello to. There is a small on site shop, which sells essentials, and will also order in your sunday papers.

At the CP you can find a restaurant, beautiful pool and spa, steam room. There's also a good on site shop too. There really is something for everyone.

Views from the camp site are outstanding - both of countryside and the beach. The beach is only a 5 minute walk away.

Staff are warm and friendly too.

There's only one thing that I thought was missing, and that was proper hairdryers. There were none on the camp site, and none at the leisure facility, just the hand dryers which doubled up as a hair dryer. To be honest, this is only minor and didn't trouble me one bit.

It was quite busy whilst we were there for the bank holiday weekend but it never felt over crowded and lots of groups joined in for a game of rounders so there was a really good feel to the place.

We went for a couple of walks whilst we were there, and also drove to a couple of villages / towns close by to get some provisions. I've got National Trust membership too so could make use of the NT areas, of which there are many!

We are definitely going back, in fact, couldn't get back soon enough! It's not the cheapest but I think you get what you pay for and this camp site represents real value for money. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Time2 2 reviews from this member

 I cant praise this place enough. Site wardens very friendly. Lovely clean toilets and free hot showers.

5 mins walk and you have use of a swimming pool sauna pub and restaurant, all this for only 14 pound a night.

I would strongly recommend this site to anybody: couples, family's etc. There is also a lovely beach just a short walk away 


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3462 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement