Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park Reviews

Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park
Middlebarrow Plain
Cove Road
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA5 0SH
Tel: 01524 701508
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mikeywill 1 review from this member

 Absolutely lovely site, well laid out, nicely landscaped and always clean and tidy. We were in a trailer tent and, as far as I could see, the only trailer tent on site.

It is mostly a static site but has a nice touring/camping section.

The pitches themselves are a pick your own affair, basically drive around the site until you find a pitch you want and that's that.

Make sure you take hard ground pegs. The ground is absolutely solid.

The approach roads are a little narrow but luckily we didn't come across a large unit coming the other way. I doubt the locals are too impressed with the amount of traffic though.

The site is 10-15 mins from the A6 which is the nearest main road.

The facilities were always very clean and warm and we never had to queue for anything, the showers were actually a little hot for me but the wife said they were perfect for her.

The restaurant was very nice, not too pricey but busy when the weather was poor.

There are a couple of playgrounds dotted about the site which are ok although these again do get busy.

The games room was a little tired and I thought that considering how expensive this site was it could have been better.

The shop was very good and prices were just reasonable.

The surrounding area is beautiful if you are into nature and countryside etc but don't hold your hopes out for a decent beach. Closest one to the site can't even be called a beach. Best description would be 'A place where the sea meets the land and is a bit dangerous'.

There are signs all around telling you about quicksand and riptides etc.

My only real disappointment with site was the swimming pool. Yes it was free, relatively uncrowded and not too cold. The problem was it was dirty. The water looked more like milk than water, there was 'stuff' floating about in there that I couldn't identify and you couldn't see more than 6 feet in front of you under water. The changing rooms were very clean but the family cubicles were a little on the small side.

All in all a very nice site although I don't think we will go back anytime soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Karende 7 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Holgates after several recommendations? The drive into the site was very narrow with not many passing points. On arrival we where told to pick our own pitch and was given a map of the site. It is mainly a static site with touring pitches around the edge, all are full service pitches.

We ate in the restaurant on site and it was not too over price good selection of meals and very nice chips all food we had came piping hot.

My two girls used the swimming pool a couple of times.

I am not sure we will return as we did not find a lot to do in the surrounding area.

Toilets and showers were always clean. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigandyg 6 reviews from this member

 We love this place. We've been going for years. Fantastic lanscaped park, plenty of spaces for your van, awning and car. Also has the club, pub, pool, games etc if that's what you want.

Prices are OK, as they are in the well stocked shop. Walks are fantastic. Love the pool, sauna, steam area. Never seems too busy anywhere, although it's a very big site.

Arnside is the nearest civilization, has a Spar, few pubs, great Fish and Chip shop that is always busy (be warned, queues likely). Arnside is also home to Beach Cafe.

Hidden away on a walk from Arnside out along the promenade. Amazing place, exceptionally cheap, probably about 20 seats max, smallest kitchen you've ever seen, but some amazing home made food up for grabs, at great prices.

Silverdale Hotel is also good for food at reasonable prices.

All in all, a great park in a greate part of the country, still relatively unspoilt. Love it. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ang2906 2 reviews from this member

 I would say this site is expensive. Your paying for the area, because it doesn't have anything more than other sites. It can be expensive for some families. I enjoyed the 3 night stay and the area and site are lovely. Toilets are clean and warm.

The pool though was too cold ! The kids enjoyed the play areas, and the pitch and put. The bar doesn't allow under 16's in it and the restaurant and bar do get extremely busy at bank holidays and you can't move. I think holgates should look at the times of departure and arrival as the road leading to the site is too narrow for units either side of the road.

The price of the weekend wouldn't have been so bad if we could have used the pool, but at 40 a night for a family of 4 it was too expensive for us.

I think we will stick to sites that are value for money. Maybe better for couples, and people with more money than me. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Harrys47 5 reviews from this member

 This site is on the coast road from Silverdale to Arnside and my wife and family have been to this site many times in the last twenty five years, even though it is by far the most expensive site we have ever visited.

It is a very popular location, however even though I have visted many times the access road from the M6 ( Carnforth ) is not for the faint hearted as you get closer to the entrance.

The road is marked as 6ft access limit and if you are unlucky to meet a vehicle coming in the opposite direction breath in as it is virtually impossible to pass in some places. Some of the section of road has blind corners due to buildings, the local small bus uses the same route - good luck !

Once at Holgates it is impressive with a good reception office giving a view of the swimming pool. There is a sauna and steam room which are good. There is a nice eating area and bar area with a well stocked shop all under the same roof.

The pitches are all fully serviced and most are easily accessible.

The site is surrounded with woods and plenty of walking areas. Everybody that goes to this site will return.

Make sure you have rock ground pegs and a lump hammer as the ground is solid.

It is only a short walk down to sea which forms part of Morecombe Bay, however the water is extremely tidal and taking a dip is out of the question either for people or dogs - beware.

The Lakes are a short drive a way which makes Holgates a prime spot.

Please do not let the access road put you off it is worth it when you arrive, there is no easy way to the site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vikki75 14 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, very clean. Shower/toilet block were immaculate and nice and warm. Swimming pool was lovely but like many have said a little on the cold side but not awful. The hot tub/steam room and sauna soon warmed us up again.

We were on pitch 5 which looks like you should be able to drive though it but it is the only one on that row that you can't (as we found out, luckily a couple of helpful caravanners gave us a push!). The pitches are generally sloping side to side but are fairly spacious.

We are very likely to return but I will aim for a pitch further up the park nearer the toilet blocks as it was a long walk from where we were.

The prices are quite steep and are more than I would usually pay (40 for 2 adults 2 children) but as we used the pool everyday I feel it was worth it.

The walks from the site are also good - the dog had a brilliant time. It's a very pretty part of the country.

The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced.

My only criticism is that they need to be more stringent about the arrival and leaving times as the road leading to the site is very narrow and meeting 3 caravans on the way out was not fun. We were off by 11. 30am and the earliest arrival is supposed to be 1pm. They could do with advertising this a bit more clearly on the website. Passing involved folding mirrors in and there was a couple of inches max between vans which as this was my first trip towing scared the living daylights out of me. 


Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lbn26 4 reviews from this member

 We went here for 5 days over new years eve. We loved it! Toilets and showers really clean and warm. Facilities - pool, arcade, restaurant, bar and shop were brilliant! Food was great there.

The party on new years eve was perfect for our family (2 adults, an 11 yr old and a 2 yr old) although we did have to wait for half an hour in the rain to get in as they opened late but once in the manager couldn't have been more helpful in making sure my 2 yr old got fed quickly as it was getting late and got us a table tucked away in a corner when we had struggled to find one.

Pool and changing rooms were warm and clean.
Shop very well stocked. Arcade had 'the really good machines' according to my 11 year old.

The pitch itself has EHU and individual water supplies that you can hook straight up to for constant water. The whole time we were there it rained none stop and was freezing but we loved it due to the great facilities which are perfect for rainy days. We visited Morecambe bay and a few shops there and a pub opposite the beach which allows dogs in and did great food, really helpful staff.

The only downside for me was that you can't reserve a specific pitch. On arrival you're given a map of the site with all the available pitches marked with an x and just go and take your pick, luckily for us we got one right next to a toilet block as I didn't fancy running through the rain with my potty training toddler! Good level pitches, pricey but worth it. We're booked to go back for a week for the jubilee and have high hopes of another great holiday! 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Madasmad 13 reviews from this member

 We spent six great nights at Silverdale. The pitches varied in size with some a little on the small side and not all were level side to side so take your levelling ramps! We were on pitch section 1-6 which is the closest to the main reception and facilities, however it is quite a walk uphill to the wash block. We were with friends but we could not book two pitches next to each other which was a shame.

There is two wash blocks on site with the other being further up the hill. They were always clean and had larger than average cubicles.

The pool looks fantastic but it was commented by many that it was on the cold side.

The shop was well stocked and good value.

The restaurant food was good and value for money.

Previous reviews are quite correct by saying that the roads to the site are very narrow. This however is really only the last 200m or so. But people do come early which makes leaving very tough.

Location wise this site is great. You have Silverdale and Arnside on the doorstep with good local walks and the Lake District 30-40 minutes drive away.

Would I go back - yes but at 40+ a night the pool needs to be warmer! 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cartdog 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a five night stay at holgates silverdale and had a great time. The play areas for the kids are great our baby loved the swings and there is a really good exercise area for the dog which was great.

The pitches were brilliant with water, waste and a tv aerial point on each pitch it was also nice that you could choose where you wanted to pitch yourself.

The toilets were clean but a little on the chilly side with the British weather. The staff on the site were really polite and very helpful.

The shop on site is like a mini supermarket they sell everything which is good. We found the pool facilities were not all that good with a small baby. The cubicles were too small to change all of us in and the pool was freezing after two minutes the baby was fed up.

My biggest complaint, although not the sites fault, was the roads approaching the site, when we were on our way at the allocated arrival time, we had to try and get past five other units coming the other way and scraping down the side of my van, which wasn't a good start to the break.

I think holgates should warn people when they book as to say the roads are narrow is an understatement. That's really my only complaint, just a word of warning be careful on your approach. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Asfc70 33 reviews from this member

 This site has everything. A choice of pitches, some sheltered which are closest to the main reception, some next to shower blocks.

A bar which thankfully excludes under 16's, a lovely dining area with a great choice of food, slightly expensive large portions.

The pool, with hot tub spa, sauna, steam room which does not get overcrowded. A games room, soft play room, 2 outdoor play areas. Pitch and put.

It was our first time here and we will definitely return, it it the best site we have been on to date.

Arnside Knott is strongly recommended and is easily reached from the site, a 2 hour leisurely stroll (round trip). Tv hook up. Five star site 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4674 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement