Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park Reviews

Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park
Middlebarrow Plain
Cove Road
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA5 0SH
Tel: 01524 701508
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Adysto 1 review from this member

 Great facilities.

Excellent food at the restaurant.

Shower / toilet/ washing facilities absolutely spotless and in pristine condition.

Very enjoyable stay. Thanks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Abbeyp 1 review from this member

 Amazing family getaway. Facilities were clean and modern. Playgrounds for children and the swimming pool was fantastic. Everything was easy to access.

Great location close to south lakes.

Only downside was tent pitches were a little sloped and bumpy could have located tent area on flatter ground.

Luckily for us there were few other tents so we could choose a flat spot.

Highly recommend and would go again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ddckcb 1 review from this member

 Had 4 lovely days at Holgates/Silverdale with 2 small grandchildren, just want to say they didn't want to leave today Result.

Clean, well tended, lovely staff, felt secure with the care they took regarding Covid 19.

No Issues at all it was all pleasure. 😊 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mummyc 1 review from this member

 Booked last minute camping trip here. Really lovely site both my boys enjoyed it nice little park great for walks, swimming pool and food all great. We have bookd again to go back for couple nights next week too.

Stayed in tent this time even with horrible thunderstorms we loved it. Tents out the way all set together but everybody friendly here.

Thanks again for lovely stay xx 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: JoLB 3 reviews from this member

 My husband and my 5year old daughter absolutely loved staying here. The facilities were wonderful.

We swam in the pool most days. The views and walks were great from the site too. I would however recommend that if you are planning on using the tent area, to get there as close to the arrival time they recommend as you can.

We were a couple of hours later than recommended and end up with a very uneven pitch meaning we slid down our bed each night.

But the site was so nice that this wasn't a issue really. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DavetheIV 7 reviews from this member

 Wow an excellent site, really clean throughout. Plenty of space for the tourer, great pitch services, lovely clean facilities. Good pool & leisure availability.

Staff friendly & helpful. Bar & food good value & excellent wide choice. Proves you get what you pay for, premium price but premium site.

Only WARNING, choose your approach & exit routes carefully as many lanes are very narrow. I found going into Carnforth & then on to the site & the same in reverse to be the best options.

Take care where your sat nav wants to sent you! 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: ASC67 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site facilities, very clean. The areas are all private and well maintained.

The only criticism would be that the bar/ restaurant was a little on the pricey side. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Purplebonnie 10 reviews from this member

 We took our tourer to this site for 4 nights and were very impressed. We have spent time in the area so know the location and area well. The location is great, easy access to Silverdale and Arnside by foot or car and walking distance to the beach. I'd recommned a train ride from Arnside to Ullverston calling at Grange along the way, especially on a sunny day as the views are stunning.

The showering facilities were immaculate if a little old fashioned. The water was running cold on and off for the first day or 2, we reported it and it appeared to get sorted. The leisure facilities are excellent, the pool and changing rooms immaculate which for me was a bonus! I was concerned that the bar and restaurant might feel 'clicky' with the static residents but there was no sign of this. The restaurant overlooks the pool which is nice if you want a coffee whilst the other half swims with the little ones. As it was summer holidays there were lots of families, I was surprised that at no point did it feel like a Butlins or a Haven site! The shop is very well stocked and is very reasonably priced. There are 2 play areas on site for children and plenty space to kick or hit a ball out of the way of others. There are plenty dog walks straight from the site too. We pitched in the middle section as it was busy when we arrived. I would have prefered to be in the top section as it felt less cramped. I felt we were all looking on each other from our pitch but we were very close to the showers etc which was a bonus with a 2yr old!

Negatives (not many!)

We found cars including Holgates vehicles moved quite fast around the site

There seemed to be a lot of car movement past our pitch (people using cars to get to the on site shop etc!)

A little expensive for the pitches but worth it to have use of the pool 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JG1971 8 reviews from this member

 Large site with great facilities & friendly staff.

The pitch fees are expensive compared to other sites, but not excessive.

Although our pitch was almost level, some of the pitches are at very strange angles and it would be difficult to get near level even with ramps etc.

Pitches are allocated on arrival so all the decent ones go first!

Water, grey waste, 16amp electric and TV point on all pitches is very handy.

Showers & Toilets modern & clean.

The huge down side to this site is the approach roads, at least a couple of miles of very narrow lanes with high hedges or dry stone walls on either side. Although others won't be put off by this - it'll prevent us going back in a hurry! 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dave 418 35 reviews from this member

 Not a site we would have chosen during high season but for a late season weekend away this was an exactly what we wanted.

When we arrived the reception staff were very informative and said as it was not busy we could pitch were we liked amongst the touring pitches. We found a pitch, C1, with views out to the bay with a lovely sunset through the trees.

The pitch was fairly level gravel with its own water tap, hook up and TV point.

We didn't use the site facilities but when we checked they were modern and clean.

We used the pool twice during our stay. This included the steam and sauna rooms. There are adult only times if you prefer a quiet swim.

The on site shop was well stocked and opened quite late every evening. We ate in the bar on the first night, not being keen on bar food I was pleasantly surprised at the choice and the food was ok.

There are lots of well marked walks from the site with a leaflet provided by the shop. We walked up Arnside Knot, a bit steep but worth the views. From there we walked into Arnside for lunch. Our walk back took us along the coast to Far Arnside After a days walking it was nice to relax in the pool before dinner.

Other guests said the site can be very crowded in high season due to the amount of statics. We would go back and venture out to the lakes using this site as a base. 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4848 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement