Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park Reviews

Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park
Middlebarrow Plain
Cove Road
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA5 0SH
Tel: 01524 701508
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jeppo001 4 reviews from this member

 This site is the best I have very been to. I have been probably 10 times altogether and still love going there. It is a tad pricey but they seem charge about the same rate all year round. The leisure complex is great if it rains as the kids and adults enjoy the indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. It is all exceptionally clean and very well maintained. The cafe bar shop prices are not rip off and staff always very pleasant.

The pitches too are fantastic. Fully serviced and never ever muddy.

Plenty to do around here as well. Pubs walking drive to shops, go to grange on the train.

We live only 3/4 hour away but love to go here with family, never any noisy types on here neither. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Andrew28 5 reviews from this member

 This was our first proper stay with a new unit we had bought to try out the whole camping thing and it was excellent. Won't repeat everything else has said in reviews as they seem fair but would highlight:

Road is a bit narrow as you approach it but fairly easy to navigate if you take it easy

Staff very helpful, although gate works on number plate recognition so a minute of confusion occurs as you are not sure whether to park this side of the gate or drive up and get refused meaning you would have to reverse! We parked this side - still not sure of answer.

Pitches flat with gravel and grass; water and electric on each pitch; toilets clean and washing up facilities good; pitches spread out - don't be tempted to pitch until you get passed the one way bit as, although nearer, didn't seem as appealing to us; also the pitches at the very top seemed very busy so don't go too far

Pool etc great although very busy, particularly on Sunday morning when the inflatables come out! Very enjoyable though

Price is quite expensive but in comparison to other sites there is a lot on offer but still very civilised and fairly quiet - more like a continental site in many ways

Not the best part of South Lakes to be honest - more of a place to go and stay on site. To explore there are better sites but these don't have the facilities of course 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 Just returned from my second trip to Holgates and it is my favourite site. It is more expensive than other sites but its worth paying more for the following reasons:-

They charge the same rate all year so you know what your paying whatever the season!

The pool area is fantastic, they do a kids splash session on Sundays @ 10.30 with inflatables and don't charge extra, our kids loved it.

The food in the restaurant is excellent, the Sunday lunch is a must (all three courses!) and its not over priced.

The pitches are large on gravel and are all service with TV hookup which is useful as we couldn't get a reception.

The toilets and showers are immaculate and the staff are friendly and helpful.

This site take some beating and the area is lovely, we went for a walk through the woods and the views from some parts of the site are stunning. Its a top class site with top class facilities and a lovely location.

If I was ever considering siting my van for a season then this would be the site, however, I cant afford it, its mega expensive to site your tourer here so I will stick to weekends. They are only closed for a few weeks and open nearly all year round so its ideal for a winter break, we have booked for New Year this year.

Its a credit to the owners and you can tell that it is not owned by a large company. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RigLee 7 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Holgates. Our first visit was September 2008 when we were Camping Virgins.

We love this place. The site is spotless. The toilets 10 out of 10

For families, there are two lovely outdoor playgrounds and an indoor small play area and a small games room.

Outdoor pitch and putt area and lovely walks make it great for anyone.

They have a fab shop here that stocks far more than what you might need.

A lovely indoor pool with sauna/steam room that caters for all and has Adult only times as well. It also has a gym.

It's a nice walk into Silverdale, about 25 mins. But a lovely Italian restaurant and a couple of local pubs make it worthwhile. The Silverdale hotel has a lovely beer garden.

This is the dearest campsite that we have used, but you get what you pay for. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Twan* 4 reviews from this member

 What a site! Me, my wife and 5 year old daughter have been touring for just 12 months so we have only managed 7 different sites. However this is by far the best site we have stayed on. The pitches are fantastic (hard ground pegs are required.Which they do sell in their shop). The site is stunning both in setting and facilities. Usually the owners of big sites hide away in offices.Not this one, Frank Holgate was always around talking to staff and residents.

We are so pleased with the site we have booked to go back at the end of May. Can't wait!

Pool, Cafe, Bar, Games Room, Parks.Everything, all well managed, cared for, calm and quiet.

All pitches seem to have water, waste, electric and TV points. Toilets and Showers are ideal and there are campers kitchens.

The shop is small but well stocked with everything you could need.Prices are good.

The last mile is a narrow road but ok. We met a bus coming the other way but there was plenty of space to squeeze by. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rich52 4 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a four night break at Holgates. Had a great time. The site is huge, good pitch sizes and fully serviced.The toilet block was spotless.

It snowed as soon as we pitched up and stayed that way for a couple of days so we didn't bother going off site. The pool facilities were very good and we had three excellent meals in the restaurant, not too pricey either.

We stayed in the top area and my only gripe was that the toilet block in that area was shut. I appreciate there were only a few vans on site but for the pitch price I expected the block to be open as it wouldn't have been much extra work to clean it.

A particularly good choice for a winter trip. Well recommended. 


Date of Visit: December 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 This is the first time we have stayed on this site, we decided to treat ourselves to a post Xmas break and arrived on boxing day. The site fees are higher than we normally pay, however, the saying is true that you get what you pay for! The leisure club is really nice and clean, it is open until 9pm at night. The bar area is nice and relaxing, and the food is excellent.
The toilet blocks are spotless and the pitches are large and spread out. This is a top class site and a credit to the owners,its worth paying that bit more. We enjoyed it so much that we extended our stay. The only bad thing is the road into the site, it is single track at some parts and scary when you are towing a van. I would recommend this site to anyone as it caters for all ages. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RigLee 7 reviews from this member

 This was our first weekend away as new 'Caravanners' and we could not have picked a better weekend. Or campsite.

My apprehensions about the toilets/showers soon disappeared as I was delighted with them. They were spotless. 10 out of 10.

Great electric/water hook up. Each site had it's own.

The facilities were fab and would suit anyone.

We loved it so much we went to book for the following weekend and it was a real disappointment to find it was full.! Oh well we'll have to try somewhere else and then come back here another weekend.

The walk into the little village took us about 20 mins but a lovely walk. We ate at L'amico (a little Italian restaurant) the first night. The food / ambiance etc was great. Would eat there again.

We went back to the bar in the campsite for a drink and although I love kids it was great that the bar was for 16 yrs and over.

Sat morning we went for a drive to get supplies and then had lunch sat on the shore. Gorgeous view. We found another pub called the Silverdale Hotel with a great beer garden. We just had to try it. Very busy with families but no problems.

We spent the afternoon on site as the weather was wonderful and I was delighted to see other families playing together. The barbecues were out and everyone was having a great time.

I loved this site and will return. The only negative. The road leading to it. Narrow and for our first time taking the caravan. A bit hairy. But we made it and will be back to try it again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woowoman 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay at this site. This was our first visit to this site and first time camping as a family of 5. I must say the toilets and showers were very nice and there is a block situated on the tent field so only 1 min walk from anywhere in the tent field. Some of the pitches are quite hilly but it did not seem to bother my family as we just changed sleeping sides after the first night.
The shop is ok and not too expensive and the staff are very friendly and well trained however the biggest downfall for tent campers is the long walk from the tent site to the shop / pool / club but ok in good weather.
Also the lighting on the tent side could be a little better but overall we had a nice stay for the cost and the pool facilities are excellent with no extra cost to residents. Overall 9/10 so well done to Mr and Mrs Holgate. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karensmalley 3 reviews from this member

 Holgates is set in quiet woodland next to the sea, it is a beautiful campsite with spotless toilet and shower facilities. The swimming pool is great for the kids, great bar / restaurant, well stocked shop; great if you have forgotten anything . Will definitely be back

Please remember if you are camping the ground is really hard due to the granite in this area so getting tent pegs in can be tricky. But definitely worthwhile. Waking up surrounded by lovely views, rabbits and squirrels, makes this site a great stay 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4796 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement