Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park Reviews

Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park
Middlebarrow Plain
Cove Road
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA5 0SH
Tel: 01524 701508
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Terry909 7 reviews from this member

 Its not cheap. But like most things you get what you pay for. Fully serviced pitches, excellent toilet facilities, lovely views, swimming pool on site.

All in all its a lovely place to go and have a break. If you choose your pitch carefully ( away for the play areas) you can have a peaceful time.

The number plate recognition system is ideal, means the gate opens when you go in and out. They have nice theme weekends, like Bonfire night, Halloween etc and these are well attended. Book early.

We have been several times and are booked in again for Bonfire weekend later this year. Lovely walks from and through the site too. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bushido42 1 review from this member

 We visited Holgates over the winter to try out our then new caravan. We have sited the van for 3 weeks this August.

We have stayed for two weeks and my parents (who have never stayed in a tourer before) are still there. I have already booked October half term off work so that we can book again.

Lovely Staff throughout the park, excellent facilities, Great food, toilet block spotless,

Our daughter who is an only child met loads of friends, they enjoyed the playground and found a den and rope swing in the woods, the nice thing was we wouldn't have known this was there but another child remembered it from their holiday last year.

We can't wait to return on Friday. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sonia12 4 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 4 night stay at Holgates with our two children 8 & 11 yrs. Found site very quiet as English schools had not broken up yet for holidays. On arrival there is a very modern and efficient reception and you can choose your own pitch some having the odd sea view.

There were two playgrounds which kids found okay.

We were pitched at the top end of the site and found the toilet block modern and immaculate. Always being cleaned and checked. Probably the best toilet block we have ever visited. The only gripe was that you had to keep pressing a button for hot shower and one of them only lasted 7 seconds. Dish washing water was luke warm but we were informed this was going to be repaired shortly.

Swimming pool was excellent with lifeguards and an inflatable fun hour on a Sunday.

Restaurant was very nice with a good menu choice and average prices.

Bar area was lovely but you could not take any children under 16yrs into it. However you could sit with a drink in the restaurant area.

There was a pitch & putt area which our kids enjoyed.

Shop was very well stocked however you could walk to Silverdale (20minute stroll)where there was a good small supermarket, shop and butchers.

The road to and from site had a few bends and narrow in places - certainly taking the route from Carnforth was best if towing a caravan.

All in all this was a great site but just a bit too quiet for our children because of time of year and mid-week. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CHRISALIZ 14 reviews from this member

 Have been visiting Holgates for the past 46 years (that's showing my age!) and stayed in statics and also toured and it doesn't get any better than here.

It's a credit to the owners. Wonderful facilities. Yes it is a little more expensive than most, but is definitely worth it.

Tend to site the tourer near the top if a space available, you pick your own.

Be careful of the lanes leading to the site, barely passable with two vehicles, never mind a caravan, but take your time and its fine.

A must is watching the tide come in at Arnside. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andrewne 1 review from this member

 We had the pleasure of a stay at Holgates while on a break with the family in our touring caravan.

The pitches are well maintained and well serviced with power, water, waste and TV UHF socket for each. The latter is important given the level of TV signal received (esp. Where the teenagers were concerned!)

The toilets are clean and of a very high standard - although the showers are the push for flow and one shower I used managed 10 seconds per push. We never saw a problem with cleanliness even after some heavy rain so full marks there.

The touring pitches are a reasonable walk from the central facilities which is great on a nice evening but not so pleasant when it's raining.

The club area is very comfortable and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Food is excellent and not outrageously priced.

The shop in the centre was open until 9pm - slightly different from a previous poster's experience - summer times?? - was well stocked and catered for touring and camping needs as well as the usual food provisions / mags / newspapers.

The kids absolutely loved the swimming pool although weren't too keen about the 'no under 18s between 1745 and 1900' which may well be a big attraction to some people. With a sauna and steam room also, the pool area is very well appointed.

Our younger campers were a bit too old for the playgrounds but they seemed to be very well maintained and well designed. They did however, like the games room which has Air Hockey and pool tables as well as the usual shoot-em-up and driving video games.

As at least one other poster has pointed out, the roads leading up to the site are rather scary especially when towing a caravan but this is hardly the fault of the site. The locals do tend to hammer round the roads which have very limited visibility. We ended up with a few leaves and twigs sticking in the door on our way home but it's not a particularly long road and to a person, everyone we met was very courteous and very considerate with their road usage.

The only piece of advice I'd give anyone towing to their from the north is 'ignore your satnav: go all the way to M6 J35 and head through Carnforth. ' It's a longer journey but will be kinder on your brakes and your nerves.

Would we be back? Absolutely! It's around 20 miles or so to Bowness-on-Windermere but the peace and quiet on the site and the facilities for our younger campers make this a very minor disadvantage.

For us, it's definitely worth the added motorway miles for the facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 23happycamper 4 reviews from this member

 What fantastic site. There is everything you need to have a nice peaceful time by the pool in the bar or just sitting around your caravan looking at the views.

The walks around the site are beautiful. The toilets are spotless. There are plenty for the children to do from swimming to mini golf.

With your pitch having mains water and drains with tv point on every pitch its just what you want.

In the local village there is a post office shop pub.

The beach is not to far away a little bit rocky but not bad. I would recommend this site to anyone. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mburke63 9 reviews from this member

 Me and my wife stayed here for two nights midweek and it was very quiet. We used it as a base so we could visit Leighton Moss RSPB reserve which is just down the road (five minutes or so by car).

The site itself is very clean and of a high standard, showers are very warm and toilets spotless, we also used the swimming pool and sauna which is included in the pitch fee, but the gym is 5 for the day or 25 for the week.

As far as we could see all the hardstanding pitches have full services including freeview tv hook up, so make sure you have enough co-axial cable length.

The approach roads can be a bit scary if you are towing a caravan as they are very narrow in some parts. There is a supermarket on site which sells all the necessaries (closes at 5pm), there is also a tesco in carnforth about half hour away.

To sum up, lovely site, lovely location(careful of the narrow roads) High standard, deserves all the awards won. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boxertwin69 13 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely 5 night stay at the Hollins Farm site.

Plus points : beautiful location, fantastic for walks, not too far from shops & facilities at Carnforth & Morecambe, good on site shop & restaurant (with softplay), reasonable on site prices (pint of lager 2.95, burger & chunky chips 6.95, full kids meal with bottle of drink 4.75), 2 good playgrounds on site, well-kept grounds, friendly/helpful staff

Minus points : approach is difficult due to narrow single track roads (approach via Carnforth if at all possible!), more toilets/showers/potwashing facilities needed at Hollins Farm, some pitches difficult to get onto at Hollins Farm, cycling difficult for little ones at Hollins Farm due to road surface, whole area not very cycle-friendly due to gradients, Silverdale site is a 10minute walk away (not 5), but is pleasant as long as the cows don't charge at you!

Recommendation : kids will love Happy Mount Park in Morecambe, especially the free splash park there. Parking free in surrounding streets & rides etc very reasonably priced. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 Would not normally stay on a commercial site with the pool, bar etc but taking two young grandchildren this proved ideal. Spacious site with good sized pitches, all having individual electric, water and TV.

Two toilet blocks but four showers (two in male, two in female)/block used by 70 touring pitches, that would cause problems in busy periods. The toilets are also a bit of a hike from some pitches.

Well stocked shop on site, but Silverdale is only just over 1 mile with Co-op, and butchers. Great location for walks directly from site. Kids loved the pool and park/s.

Great for families but it is a very expensive site. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ferga2 11 reviews from this member

 One adult and three children ages 5, 6 and 7 on school half-term break with tourer van.

The weather was extremely cold and windy however, this was an ideal site to visit as winter approaches. Like many other tourers, we chose not to put up our awning.

The pool is the best facility, it is very well well maintained and has sufficient life guards.

There is a good family restaurant which is not over priced considering its remote rural location. The toilets are a high standard. The children's adventure playgrounds and site roads were safe. The shop is very well stocked.

We walked across the adjacent field to the nearby Siverdale farm with ponies, goats chickens etc.The site staff were friendly and my children enjoyed feeding the animals.

The entire area is beautiful and very scenic. The narrow roads and well kept drystone walls separating each field are impressive features.

It is a higher than average priced site but offers good value for money. I recommend this site. 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3561 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement