Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pinewoods Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Wells Next The Sea > Pinewoods Holiday Park > Reviews

Pinewoods Holiday Park
Beach Road
Wells Next The Sea
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR23 1DR
Tel: 01328 710439
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 114 Reviews
                7/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Gumstabber 12 reviews from this member

 Excellent location almost on the beach. Fairly expensive at £28 A night but big fully serviced pitches and facilities that are some of the best we've ever had. Very open and quite windy as a result. The only pr8vact is provided by the sheer distance between eavh pitch and the size of them.

Staff are courteous and business like but not friendly. There are rules and you WILL follow them including parking your van the correct way round and not arriving before your allotted time (Despite the fact that the previous people should have left 2 hours before then we weren't allowed on and had to go kill 45 minutes which just seemed a bit cold hearted).

I'd probably go back for the l9cation and niceness of the site but the cold reception we received soured it a bit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: J.jacob 4 reviews from this member

 We'd read the reviews, so knew to expect this to look like a fairly newly constructed site, which didn't bother us in the slightest. It's a well spread out site, love the space at the back of the pitches too. The toilet blocks are one of the best I've ever used, the cubicles are lovely and big, in fact huge (I do so hate trying to squeeze in past a door that only just clears the loo!), the shower cubicles are a great size too, with lots of "dry" space, and there are washbasins in cubicles as well as the open washbasins.

The site is still quite open and exposed, and a bit windy, but we're from Lincolnshire so used to that.

There is site wi-fi, but we couldn't get it to work, it didn't like the password we had been given to use. As we used our phones anyway, we didn't actually find out why it wouldn't work.

Noting the previous comments about dogs, when we were there, they were mostly on leads, and if you take the time to read the information folder you are given, it does say in there that they should be on leads on the site. Ours were kept on leads, but the odd one off lead was no problem. We still haven't worked out what our two dogs were paying £3 a night each for though, there aren't even any dog waste bins.

It's in a great position, the main reason we chose it, being only a short walk to Wells centre, and lots of walking along the coast.

The only downside is the cost, it's very expensive, but you can see why, it's so well spread out, other sites would have got at least double the amount of pitches in, and half the size toilet blocks. And that £3 a night for dogs is ridiculous really! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Tibbetts 8 reviews from this member

 Great site. Lots of space between pitches, nice and flat pitches. Shower block gorgeous, clean and new.

Great for walking to the beach as it's so close. Walk/cycle to town flat and short.

Shame they don't accept tents as I have lots of friends who would visit. Very hot in summer as very little shade. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Drjbc 66 reviews from this member

 This is one of the most expensive (£30 per night) and lavishly appointed sites we've ever stayed at. Every pitch has hard standing, water and water disposal. The facility blocks have turf roofs and the showers and toilets are to the highest standards. Access is by individual smart cards which you drop in a box as you leave. The free wifi has a strong signal all over the site, though the internet connection is not very fast, so most people will prefer to use their phone's 4G. Besides the grey-water disposal on the pitches, there's an excellent drive-over grill for motorhomes.

As others have noted, it is 'dog-friendly' and there was a VERY large number of dogs - too many for our taste, but none was causing a nuisance during our stay.

The touring pitches are on the landward side of the statics, shielded from them by trees. Southwards they look out over a broad expanse of Norfolk landscape, empty and flat. You can walk out in two directions. Going west and through the main entrance you're a short walk from the beach cafe (again dog-friendly!) and the road and miniature railway into Wells-next-the-Sea. Going east, there's a small gate that reaches the coast path which follows the inland edge of the trees behind the beach. After 2km it reaches Holkmam gap and emerges onto the wide expanse of sand and shingle beach.

While we were there we realised why it's 'Wells-next-the-Sea' not 'Wells-on-Sea': the tide does go out a very long way! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 24 reviews from this member

 This site is great for dog owners as you don't have to have your dog on a lead. Woman along by us had 3 spaniels which were never on leads, I'd say at least 70% of owners just let their dogs wander about freely. Still that's fine as there were no signs about saying dogs on leads and I didn't see any poo bins.

Fantastic shower block, about a year old, which were constantly being cleaned.

Large pitches with full service (leccy, water and grey waste)

No wardens on this site, but they have a number for security. Security let people on site quite late at night, not good when the late arrivals are still hammering awning pegs in at 10. 15pm!

There is a site shop, which is quite a hike from the touring field. You can walk into Wells town which has some nice shops, butcher's, bakers, a Nisa etc. I think the nearest supermarket is a 25 minute drive away in Fakenham. You can also catch the little train from the site entrance into Wells-£1. 50 each way.

The touring site is quite new, so the shrubs and trees are still very young so when it's blowing a gale, until the trees mature there's no protection.

Would we come back? Very doubtful, due to the cost and the dogs wandering around off their leads. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: _tich_ 13 reviews from this member

 I visited here with some friends back in May & it's a beautiful site in a lovely location. The facilities were nice new & clean but my only complaint is there wasn't enough toilet cubicles for such a busy site, which isn't a good thing when you're desperate to use the loo.

Apart from that the site facilities were very good & with the mini train going to & from town came as a bit of a godsend saving my poor bad foot I've been suffering with. I'd definitely go back there again but probably when it's less busy until they added some more cubicles. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Td5boy 6 reviews from this member

 This was the first time we had visited Pinewoods Holiday Park's new Touring section. It has been a residential holiday park for, well, it seems like forever, but the Holkham Estate who own the park built a very large touring park at the back of the original and it opened late in 2016 I think. Whenever it was, it was very recent and that is reflected in the site itself.

Frankly it is exceptional, and will become a fabulous site when the trees have grown around the border.

This is a very flat site located literally just yards from the strip of glorious Scots pines that run along the coast between Wells and all the way to Holkham beach. Although it certainly helps being beside a little piece of English country/beachside paradise!

All of the pitches, and there are a lot of them, are flat, have a 16 amp EHU, water and grey waste facility. They're all well spaced too, so no one's parked cheek-by-jowl next to their neighbour and there's plenty of room for an awning, no matter how big.

There are two very large and very impressive amenity blocks. I say impressive, but really, I mean they are quite simply amazing. Possibly among the very best amenity blocks on a caravan site that I have ever experienced.

Fabulous showers, with enough space to spread out in the cubicles and still keep your clothes dry. Heated floors! I repeat, heated floors! And plentiful hot water in very modern, immaculately clean surroundings.

Naturally there are also facilities for washing up, laundry and chemical toilets, all of which are as beautifully planned as they are clean.

Are there any downsides? Not really, but if I had a choice, I would not have the keycard security to access everything except the chemical toilet disposal point. I kept on forgetting the card and having traipsed halfway to the amenity block before remembering, I was constantly walking backwards and forwards to go and get my forgotten key card. But then, maybe I shouldn't be so forgetful.

The wind can whip across this stunning site, so those young saplings around the boundary can't grow quick enough. I just hope they've planted some young Scots Pines around there to keep it in character with the legendary tree line along the beach.

Would I go back? In a heartbeat. This would have to be one of the greatest caravan sites in Norfolk, if not the East of England.

I thoroughly recommend giving Pinewoods Holiday Park a visit, but plan well in advance as it's sure to be busy. And if you do go, and you're there over a weekend, make sure you book Sunday lunch at the Victoria Inn at Holkham. If you're feeling energetic, you can walk along the beach at Wells all the way to one of the best roast beef Sunday lunches in the county. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Steve911 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Pinewoods site for 3 nights over the October holidays. This looks like a newly built site, very clean and spacious. We stayed on a hard standing pitch and with water, waste and electric hook up. The toilet facilities on this site are excellent. Very modern, warm and the showers are hot and powerful. Very modern site which even has car charging point if you have brought one. Only down side to the site itís very exposed to the elements and when the wind picks up you will know about it. There is a small hobby train which you can get from the site to the town, the town has a great selection of dinning places and the site is nicely located to visit Holkham estate. Dogs are welcome on this site and the beach has a dedicated dog area all year round. The beach is very beautiful, long sandy dunes and a lovely beach cafe which is also dog friendly.

The only down side to this site was the reception, they was not helpful and not very friendly. They had no info on the train service which pulled into their site and no info on local area when asked. There is a gym and I believe pool on site but this is for residents only. We did feel like this was a resident site and we were a side line to make more money. Other than this itís an excellent site to explore this beautiful area and would recommend this highly on our list even if we canít use the parks facilities. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

 Hate to be negative but here goes. When booking by phone I explained that our friends would be staying at the same time so could we request that we were close to them. No problem at all she said we will get you as close together as possible and said she had made a note of it on our booking. When we arrived we were given pitch 32 and I asked when checking in were we near our friends ? cant tell you that because of data protection said the reception staff, so off we went to pitch 32 phoned our friends and they were on pitch 1 ! just about as far away as you could get. At this point I was ready to go home as the pitch looked awful, rang reception and said I wasn't happy so had to walk back down to reception and we were given the choice of 62 or 65 we chose 62 as that was opposite our friends. I'm sure the site will be nice in a year or 2 but not at the moment. For £30 a night in September it is overpriced yes it is by the coast but other things let it down. As for customer service try sending your staff for some training and if you cant site friends near to each other just say so at the point of booking not much to ask is it ? Just one other thing PITCH 2 WAS EMPTY ALL THE TIME WE WERE THERE RIGHT NEXT DOOR TO OUR FRIENDS ! 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ron jacobs 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived about an hour early and got told that our pitch would not be ready until designated time (1pm). When I we did check in, we found the receptionist rude and very unhelpful as waiting for the pitch we got caught in a shower and so were soaked. We asked about laundry so we could dry our clothes. She failed to mention that we needed tokens to use the dryer. When we did get to the pitch we found the site was half empty, so why did we have to wait. On speaking to other people staying here we heard other more stories of staff being deeply and unhelpful. The only chemical waste was blocked for 2 days but I did find one that wasn't. Touring site is very open and prone to strong winds. We will certainly not be returning here. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pinewoods Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells Next The Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59202 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement