Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pinewoods Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Wells Next The Sea > Pinewoods Holiday Park > Reviews

Pinewoods Holiday Park
Beach Road
Wells Next The Sea
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR23 1DR
Tel: 01328 710439
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 114 Reviews
                7/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: 

 This is a second review of Pinewoods, the first being in 2011, we have visited the site several times since, thought this review would be relevant as the site has had an upgrade.

The refurbished site is now further away from the beach so now a 10-15 minute walk. Unfortunately the route to the beach was littered with dog fouling which was not pleasant. The facilities are lovely, large shower & toilet facilities clean & tidy designed in muted colours inside, outside sympathetic with the environment. The motorhome rollover is one of the best we have seen effective and with plenty of room.

Although we were lucky having nice sunny weather, no rain the site is so positioned that the wind did affect all the units on the site as the site is now much more open. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

 This is a second review of Pinewoods, the first being in 2011, we have visited the site several times since, thought this review would be relevant as the site has had an upgrade.

The refurbished site is now further away from the beach so now a 10-15 minute walk. Unfortunately the route to the beach was littered with dog fouling which was not pleasant. The facilities are lovely, large shower & toilet facilities clean & tidy designed in muted colours inside, outside sympathetic with the environment. The motorhome rollover is one of the best we have seen effective and with plenty of room.

Although we were lucky having nice sunny weather, no rain the site is so positioned that the wind did affect all the units on the site as the site is now much more open. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fonsi 3 reviews from this member

 We loved coming to Pinewoods, the pitches were cosy, fairly private and well laid out, but staying here now is like camping in a desolate car park. The shower blocks are fantastic, some of the best we've seen, but what's the use of fantastic facilities when the location is so depressing. Unfortunately we have another week booked and paid for in August, but sadly it will be our last! If anyone wants lessons in how not to create a site they should visit here 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Vicar 7 reviews from this member

 Whilst a regular visitor to Pinewoods this was our first visit to the new touring site. WOW. What a difference, and how much better.

Each pitch is fully serviced and there is plenty of room for caravan, awning and car with space to spare. There are plenty of CDP's around the site so wherever you are its not too far to empty the toilet !

As mentioned previously the showers and toilets are really first class and well designed. You get given key cards when you book in and you use these to access these facilities.

A little bit further to walk to the beach but this is a small price to pay for this great site, after all where else is there so close to Holcombe Beach.

Friendly helpful staff ensured we will return. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alize 1 review from this member

 We have returned from our 1st visit to Pinewoods Wells next to the sea.

What can one say

Fantastic

Plenty of space, facilities are amazing so clean as is the whole site,

Disappointed there does not seem to be availability for August bank holiday weekend would book in a flash.

Staff very friendly and helpful

Just a couple of points

1) maybe a gate as cut through from touring area to reception

2) dogs to be kept on leads not site fault just customers not adhering to site rules shame 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Samuraidave 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from Pinewoods and have to say that I am a little disappointed. We have been for the last two years and have felt that the position of the site is just fantastic, and although a long walk into town this is countered by the short walk to the beach. We could load up all of our gear for a day on the beach (including a couple of kayaks) and happily walk laiden to the gunnels the short distance to the beach.

The new touring site is at the south of the main park and I appreciate that it has only just been completed and that it will take time for planting etc to get established. However.

The site is very exposed to the wind, there are trees planed around the perimeter but these will take years to become established. Being deciduous they will also only provide protection from the wind in the spring - autumn period. The pitches are very close together with no planting in between them whatsoever, and there is bare earth all over the site. Once again I do appreciate that this will change as the grass grows. However this will not stop the biting wind from ripping across the fields.

The site is separate from the main park and for the children to get to the play park they have to walk down the road which has no footpath. The walk to the beach is now several hundred meters longer. Thankfully we had not brought our kayaks as we would not have been able to carry them the distance to the beach.

On the plus side the toilet blocks are the best I have ever seen. But once you stepped outside you could feel the wind biting at your skin.

Overall this site felt sterile and unfinished. The high price used to be offset by the convenience of the access to the beach. That has now been removed.

Unfortunately we will not be going back. The beach is still one of our favourite places but in future we will drive there and pay for the car park rather than staying at Pinewoods. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DonMacHod 2 reviews from this member

 The touring pitches are very narrow hardstanding with 'Grass' at the side for an awning. The grass was bare earth, & all the Super Deluxe Pitches were the same.

Luckily it did not rain otherwise it would have been mud. The grass had not been cut in an age.

The toilet block was disgusting & in desperate need of a though clean & coat of paint at least, rebuilding at best.

We left a day early as it was forecast to rain.

This must be the worst site we have stayed on. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AndrewMoorey 38 reviews from this member

 Mixed views on this site, We stayed on a super plus pitch which is a caravan sized tarmac pad with a grass area to put up the awning, you'd expect if they had gone to all that trouble they would have made it level? We were pitched next to the washblock which meant our pitch was the unofficial short cut to and from the rest of the area. Its very unpleasant to be sitting on your pitch while people thread their way round your chairs to get to the toilets. We attempted to counter this by erecting a borrowed windbreak to close off the back of our pitch but they still stepped round it and someone close to us was so incensed that we dared to block her route to the loo moaned to the site that we weren't taking our windbreak down at night (same as eveyone else) so the heavies turned up and made us all take them down that night. I think she was hoping we'd not bother to put it back up but we did!We weren't bothered again especially after we had a gripe about people crossing our pitch they offered to erect a temporary fence to seal off the unofficial path. The other downside to being that close to the very dated washblock was the oil fired boiler runs pretty much 24/7 and the fumes and noise become annoying to say the least.

This is all countered by the area itself. Wells is a pretty little town with some interesting shops and fine eateries like the Golden Fleece (dog friendly). The harbour area at night has a nice atmosphere with loads of people about and the beach is just amazing, mile upon mile of soft sand. There's a really good cafe there with a dog wash and we were there most days. Good base to visit the local area but the roads are small and local traffic dawdles along so relax and allow plenty of time to get about.

I'd come back here because of its location but wouldn't waste the extra on a serviced pitch and try and get some distance from the washblock. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from two nights at Pinewoods. It is very difficult to decide exactly what I think about this site.

I was there in my RV with a friend; two other friends stayed in a lodge. We were celebrating a mate's 50th and we had a great weekend. Football and cricket on the beach; St George's Whiskey Distillery (highly recommended - both the tour and the whiskey!) and a few ales in Wells.

The site provides reasonable sized pitches, without being hugely spacious.

Facilities were ok without being outstanding; a bit of a 1960's feel about the toilet/shower block. I think they could do with a bit of an overhaul and modernisation. The lodge facilities seemed reasonable. Given the fees charged both for the pitch and the lodge, more money could be put back into the site to improve things all-round.

Wells is about a mile and the walk is along the Beach Road, not too bad. The town itself is very nice, with some decent pubs and a nice feel about it. We ate in the Golden Fleece both days; their pizzas are exceptional. If you like a nice beer in a slightly bohemian place then I would strongly recommend the Albatross.

The biggest issues we had and the reason I am undecided centres around the staff at Pinewoods. When I arrived quite early in my RV having read previous reviews I was expecting to be told to go away and come back later but the warden could not have been more helpful and I was on pitch and set up by normal check-in time. Obviously with friends staying in a lodge I had called previously to ask if they could be located near us; I was told they would try. When I checked in I asked about their lodge location but was told under data protection they couldn't tell me - not sure that's true but I left it. My friends arrived at 2pm; again early. When they asked about checking-in they were told it was too early; when they asked if they could leave their car they were told the car park was only for half an hour (no signage) and it was only when I asked about parking the car on my RV pitch that they allowed us to leave the car. We also asked where the lodge would be and apparently they didn't know until all the lodges had been cleaned. In the end the lodge was pretty much the other side of the site and they couldn't have put them further away if they had tried. It certainly felt as if the staff were going out of their way to be unhelpful; it really put a dampener on the start of the weekend and I think some hospitality/customer service training wouldn't go amiss. Whilst the site has a bit of a monopoly in the area I would probably not return because of this.

I genuinely do not like being negative in these reviews but frankly, this is the least friendly and helpful site I have visited. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: User2 4 reviews from this member

 We've just had two nights on this site with our motorhome. It cost us an eye watering 64, yes that's right 64 for two nights. This included 6 just for the dog! We were on pitch 40, which is extremely small and I mean tiny. The logical side to sit outside, with your awning or whatever, was completely in the shade due to where the pitches were. We actually sat at the back of the motorhome, just to get some sun. The caravan on the next pitch was so close they wouldn't have been able to put an awning out as it would have touched our motorhome. We had no privacy at all, especially when the extended family visited the caravan next door and they all sat just outside our motorhome. It wasn't their fault, their pitch was just as small. The facilities are dated and need an upgrade. The upside of this site is its proximity to the beautiful Wells beach. Having said that the site is so over priced we will not be returning. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pinewoods Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells Next The Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


52432 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement