Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pinewoods Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Wells Next The Sea > Pinewoods Holiday Park > Reviews

Pinewoods Holiday Park
Beach Road
Wells Next The Sea
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR23 1DR
Tel: 01328 710439
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 114 Reviews
                7/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: First timer 1 review from this member

 What a shame. Large and well established and next to one of the best beaches in the country, Pinewoods should be an amazing place to camp. But it's not, and it could so easily be.

Let's do the positives. Wells Next the Sea is a gorgeous little fishing village, with boats bobbing in the harbour and fish and chip shops so delicious locals and tourists alike queue around the block to sample the crisp battered fish and chunky chips cooked to perfection. A 10 minute walk (or -joy! - a short miniature train ride) to the main beach reveals pristine sand the colour of demerera sugar and undulating rows of beach huts at high tide, and at low tide mile upon mile of impressive sand flats perfect for kite flying, sand castle making, ice cream eating etc etc.

Then the negatives. Arrive at Pinewoods on a Saturday at peak season and you will be presented with a 27 charge. What facilities do you get for this princely sum? In the overflow camping field, not a lot. You get portaloos, which are fine at the beginning of the day but highly noxious after a day of Norfolk sun beating down on them. Try assisting a 2 year old child in a portaloo and still giving them the semblance of dignity - there's just not the room! Of course, you can walk the 200 metres or so the to toilet block (again, a challenge with small children) and you will find facilities that Risley Detention Centre would be ashamed.
Showers full of sand with broken shower heads and deperately in need of a refit. True, the water's a good temperature but when you're trying to avoid boiled sweets strangely floating round the shower tray, well, a good water temperature is the least they can offer you.

Pinewoods needs to realise camping has changed. It is not exclusively for those who cannot afford anything else.

The overflow field itself is fine for decent spots to pitch up, and it's kept clean and tidy enough, but I for one will camp elsewhere in future, sadly further away from that amazing beach. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucm 2 reviews from this member

 We went to Pinewoods and it was very successful. The ground was flat but did have a few bumps but we did't really notice. It was a big camp site but not humongous. The site has patches of long grass and little wild rabbits. It also has a little steam train that takes you to Wells next the Sea, it is a bit pricey.
Wells is the town nearest to pinewoods, it is wonderful, millions of brilliant shops everywhere and right next to the sea. The site has a very entertaining play area it has a little rock climbing wall, swings, a spring van its very wobbly. I would want to go there again soon!

Written by Daisy Age 8

We didn't have a problem with the facilities, they were a long way away from The Paddocks field but they were clean and showers were hot. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Turbowilly6 3 reviews from this member

 I've always wanted to stay at this site and so was delighted to book, confirm and arrive all in the same day. The staff were helpful on arrival, the shop and reception were great, the site itself was really good, close to the sea, great walks for the dog etc.
So why do they let themselves down in one area - the showers! (and toilets generally). This isn't a cheap site and everything else about it is so good, why is this criticism not acted upon - I note previous reviews!
I would go back for all the plus points and I guess that's why nothing is done - if we all keep going back, why should they?? It's a disappointment really. Come on Pinewoods - get this right and you've got a great site in my opinion. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Autobahn 3 reviews from this member

 The staff could do with getting the mop and buckets out with bleach and clean the toilet blocks they were rotten. But on the plus side wells itself is superb and the beach was stunning 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ScottRennie 1 review from this member

 Our visit to Wells could have gone either way. I did not really want to go, as due to the horrific weather last year for tents, they are no longer taking tent bookings. I am not too sure I agree with this, as travelling with Kids who really want to go camping on a bank holiday with no booking hardly seems fair. Anyway, we got there early, to try and get on, as suggested by the office when we rang up about 20 times the week before (There were 3 families in total going - another reason we would have preferred to book!)

We needn't have worried - apparently they have pitches for up to 800 tents!

We camped in the 'Group Area' next to the boating lake. We got a fab spot down in the corner, and stuck ourselves in a 'triangle' with a gazebo. To be perfectly honest, my only complaint about the campsite is the lack of toilet facilities. One toilet / shower block for the whole site?!?!?!? Not very good for the prices they charge. Adding to that is that they are miles away! They were clean enough, and we had a shower, so that was fine.

Weather wise - WOW!

A fab weekend, and I would go back, but not without my reservation! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve crouch 2 reviews from this member

 Wells next the sea is a beautiful town on the North Norfolk Coast and the locals are so nice, even though they are invaded by holiday makers each year. However I will not now use the pinewoods site.
Most of the old camping areas have been used for expensive mobile homes and apart from a few pitches the only fields available for camping are the 'overflow' ones which are prone to flooding.
Having called just to confirm that space was available (you cannot book a pitch on these fields, indeed there is no regulation on the number of tents that can be accommodated) I was told 'we can't accommodate you - we've just closed the fields as it looks like rain'
On previous visits tents had been packed into these fields and were in some cases only feet apart. This field was also used by cars and I was afraid of being run over, tent and all in the dark (there are no lights)
The toilet blocks seemed to be conveniently closed for cleaning at about 8 o'clock in the morning, just as everybody wanted to use them. The staff at reception were unwelcoming. Needless to say, I now stay at another site some miles away and I am happy there. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hollydood 8 reviews from this member

 We spent a week on this site and must say the location is spot on right next to the beech and a nice stroll to wells, As regards the toilet blocks I have never seen anything like it on any site and I have been caravanning for a number of years. We complained to reception and all we basically got was the site is full so it cant be that bad. As for the comment that Levitric made, no one is saying Norfolk as an area is bad, it is one of the nicest places in England, but when you pay 260 for a super pitch for a week I expect the showers and toilets to be usable. Luckily my in-laws were in a static so we used there shower. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chalky_bertie 3 reviews from this member

 After a three and a half hour drive, we arrived at this site (which we had booked in January and where we come every year), to find the tent pitch flooded. We returned to reception and asked if we could move somewhere else. We were told we couldn't and the only option was to write in to ask for a refund. They refused to move us anywhere else. I understand that obviously the weather is beyond their control but I would have thought they could have moved us to another site, especially when there were plenty of empty pitches available. We asked to speak to the manager and were told he was busy. Only after insisting did they eventually agree to give us a full refund. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Levitric 4 reviews from this member

 After reading reviews on this web site we booked this campsite with a bit of trepidation, however, our worries were completeley unfounded.

I pulled into Wells on a Thursday evening and as we went through the picture post card Quayside I relived many childhood memories of the beautiful town.

The campsite is absolutely fantastic, the toilet block near our pitch was very clean indeed, we were on a super pitch, the caravan was on hardstanding, but the awning was on grass, this to me is a perfect combination, I hate having to use rock pegs for the awning, but like the caravan firm and level.

My review of this site is purely based on my own experience of this site, however I did notice some muddy patches and I was glad that I had booked a super pitch. However, if you want to holiday on the Norfolk coast in August, you need to expect a slight amount of water, if not please feel free to bug*&r of to Spain and stop complaining about the beautiful area. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MeppershallKev 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 5 day break in some of the worst weather imaginable!

It blew a gale every day and night and rained for most of it, sometimes torrential, but unlike other reviews we found the Horse Paddock reasonably dry,the trick is to be picky where you site (its pitch where you like here) take time to look for the dry areas and you'll be fine.

Of course the main drives in and out were muddy but nothing too bad.

The shower block nearest the office is notoriously bad, there are several more that are adequate and water is good and very hot.

So, don't take all reviews for granted, intelligent decision of siting your tent, and a little walk about to scout out the best showers and you'll be set for a great stay. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pinewoods Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells Next The Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


38814 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement