Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pinewoods Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Wells Next The Sea > Pinewoods Holiday Park > Reviews

Pinewoods Holiday Park
Beach Road
Wells Next The Sea
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR23 1DR
Tel: 01328 710439
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 114 Reviews
                7/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: All4cats 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here at the end of August on an electric hook up pitch. 2 adults and 2 under 4yrs children. We couldn't pre book which was a shame so took a chance and there was 1 pitch free!

There were hedges to 3 sides of our pitch which was nice. The beach was a 5 min walk away which was a beautiful golden sandy one.

The toilet/shower block 1 min away. They were very basic, more like what you would find in a public swimming pool.

I have experienced much better. We stayed 4 nights and they were quite noisy! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Bondy1980 12 reviews from this member

 2 adults and 2 children stayed for a Monday - Friday break in August 2011 in our trailer tent. We stayed on the Tern field on a serviced grass pitch. The pitch itself was surrounded on 3 sides by wooden fencing overgrown with planted shrubs / hedging. The pitch was sufficiently large for our unit, car to one side and about a 6' strip to the other side. The pitch was level, however there was a dip in it that was in the middle of our awning.

On one day we had rain for a day and night. Nothing too heavy but this caused a puddle under the side of my unit into the awning so poor drainage.

There were 2 toilet blocks near to us, 1 was closed, permanently by the look of it. The other had sinks, shaver points, showers and toilets. In the block was the washing up facility and drinking water. There is also a chemical toilet disposal point and large wheelie bins for rubbish. The toilet blocks were grim. They were dark and smelt very unpleasant. I saw them being cleaned around twice a day but they really need a full makeover. The water would stay on for around 30 seconds at a time. There was no way to regulate the heat and the water was far too hot for me. I have a 4 year old and a 3 month old. The showers were too hot for my son and there was no bath for my daughter.

The shop is average. It is expensive, as are most site shops. What was strange though was that they didn't sell any sort of BBQ food, fresh or frozen. Given that these are campers in the summer holidays they seem to be missing a trick. I didn't purchase anything from the shop.

Reception is good, I exchanged my gas bottle here for 23. There are tourist leaflets etc.

I didn't use the children's play area or boating lake or crazy golf so cant comment on these.

The site is right next to the beach and was literally 3 minutes walk from my tent to the sand. The beach is excellent and the water very clean. This site could be fantastic given its location if only there were more for campers. The site is clearly for statics mainly and campers afterwards. Shame.

Wells next the sea is around a 1 mile flat walk along the sea and harbour. A pleasant 10 minute walk or there is a narrow gauge railway from the site for 1. 50 p. P one way. The town itself is lovely with a good array of shops, mostly on one street. There are proper butchers, delicatessens, chippys etc and you can go crabbing on the harbour wall which is very popular. There is a good size Costcutter in the town which we used over the site shop. The nearest large brand supermarket is some way away.

For days out I cant recommend the beach highly enough. We also went to Hunstanton for a day which was agood seaside town with nice little eateries. There are seal trips and coastal tours that run regularly. We took a coastal half hour sea trip on an old troop landing craft. The kids will love it as it has wheels and drives out of the sea like a transformer! The cliffs are great for fossil hunting and rockpooling, shame it rained when we went.

We also went to the Mucklebrough collection which is a tank museum. Id say its worth a 3 hour trip at most, not too impressed to be honest.

All in all, a good site in a good area but definitely room for improvement. You pay for the area and not the site. Id revisit but it is expensive so it wont be soon! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jcharlotte 1 review from this member

 Spent last weekend (Friday to Sunday) camping on the overflow field. I went with a large group of friends, aged 18-26, in three tents. We had an amazing stay here, with good friends and good location its hard not to, but as a warning to others staying here the site is very basic so be prepared!

The overflow field is just that an open bumpy field which did get a little muddy when I rained so wellies are a must!. There was no shower block only portaloos on the field, which I didn't go near after a friend said how awful they were. There is a shower block about 6 minutes walk away, but this wasn't exactly ideal especially at night. This shower block was also pretty basic and got very wet and muddy through the morning so going early would be recommended. I was a little surprised when I turned up as I had expected the site to be better from the website, but for me and my friends it was manageable, I just think its better to be aware of this before turning up.

Despite the site its a brilliant location, Wells is a wonderful town, lots of shops and pubs to enjoy. There was a beer festival and a fair in town the weekend we stayed so there was lots to do. The beautiful beach is only a twenty minute walk and we spent a wonderful day there, we even managed to swim in the sea!

If Pinewoods were to improve its shower blocks and put one on the overflow field this would be an incredible camp site. For the price per night I think they should invest in that. But overall I will be returning as the location is too good to miss! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rickystar 3 reviews from this member

 Wells-next-the-sea is like a second home to my wife and myself, both having stayed there dozens of times growing up, with our respective families. Pinewoods is very familiar to us and is a great location for the beach and not too far from the town centre which is lovely. The site doesn't seem to allow pre-booking for camping, which I think is daft, as we have a 2 and a half hour drive before knowing if there are any pitches still available! We found this out one weekend in April, and stayed at Manor farm which was fine, but on this occasion managed to get in. The pitch was separated by small bushes or hedges and was a reasonable size, but we didn't get any choice, and there seemed to be quite a few that were flooded (ours was OK - probably pre-picked for us for that reason). Next to the site road, so had to be wary of traffic for our 3 year old. Shower blocks weren't open across the road from us, so had to walk some way to one that was open. Price not too bad, as it is an all in price 24 per night for electrical hook-up, there are other areas without electricity, which you can pitch where you like. No doubt we will go back again (and again!) but Wells needs more choice. Childrens playground is ok, nice train link to town (1. 40 for adults one way), boating lake for kayaks, trampolines, and crazy golf on site. Main selling point is access to beach and forest area. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jezmd 2 reviews from this member

 Have just spent four nights at this site and will never return again.

The overflow campsite is like the surface of the moon. The track to the campsite has not seen any maintenance for years and is even more bumpy than the site itself.

The only toilets near anywhere near are the chemical type portaloo. There are about eight loo's for two huge fields and they are in a disgusting state.

The shower block is a ten minute walk away and when we stayed it was always dirty, flooded and muddy. There are five mens showers to serve hundreds of campers. When my wife complained about the state of the showers the explanation was 'well there are a lot of people here'. Even if they were clean, the toilet and shower block would be years out of date and cold.

So, in summary, Pinewoods will give you terrible facilities and expect 30 a night from you in return. 30 for an unserviced pitch in an unlevelled field. Oh, and it was busy. We had people allowed to pitch within 5 foot of our tent.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taffycen 2 reviews from this member

 My partner and I have been staying at Pinewoods since before we had kids, and have continued to visit with our two daughters now aged 8 & 5. Up until our recent visit things have been fine, but I don't think we will be returning in a hurry, first the positives

Great location between the lovely beach and the town, which has a small supermarket, great butchers and several great pubs/eating places.

Staff at reception are always very pleasant.

The train to town which the kids love.

Nice little playground, although bigger kids sometimes congregate there

Decent shop on site, although a little pricey.

Our favourite place to camp is by the boating lake, which used to have a shower block just outside. This has been knocked down so now you have a fair walk to near reception for a shower. Also, this means there are portaloos on the field which can become extremely dirty when there are a lot of people staying there. The removal of the toilet block from this part of the site just reinforces the opinion that they care more about the static caravans than the campers, as 3 vans now sit where the toilet block used to.

I was astounded to hear from the lady at reception that the weekend price was now 30 per night! I would happily pay this if the facilities had been improved, but they haven't changed much in the 10 years we have been going there. It is especially annoying when there are sites just down the coast in the Cromer/Sheringham area where you can camp for less than 20.

The showers and toilets aren't bad, but they aren't particularly great either. We have stayed at other sites over the past few years with far better facilities for the same price.

I feel a bit bad writing this review about a site that has given us some great memories, but the people who run this site need to decide whether they want campers or not. If they do, then they need to improve the facilities for those in both camping fields 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Millyjack 3 reviews from this member

 We dropped in for a 1 night stay in our motorhome and were not impressed !

We were charged 32 for pitch, 2 adults & 2 westies. Not sure what the dogs get for 3 each !

It seems we were given probably the worst pitch on the park, small in the shade and next to a large tree, in hindsight we should have asked to move as we later saw plenty of more suitable pitches empty.

The location is good as you are reasonably close to the sea, didn't use facilities so can't comment.

Will not return at these prices, far too expensive for what's on offer. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed Pinewoods for it's great location although we could not see the sea from the site, it was only a short walk from the fantastic beach with it's unusual dunes and beach huts.

A short walk away from the beach,about a mile takes you to the town of Wells Next the Sea, with bank, and a variety of shops including a small supermarket, butchers and bakery as well as pubs and eating places.

The site it's self is large and well laid out with large hot showers and washing up facilities. It caters for all types of units statics, tourers, vans & tents.

There was a mini supermarket which included in its stock local produce and cafe with comfortable seating serving local ice cream. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janinel 9 reviews from this member

 My husband and I stayed at pinewoods park in wells yesterday, one night stay thankfully, I really couldn't have stayed any longer as the toilet facilities were disgusting, I was interested to see if other people had also visited and left a review here, I can now see we are not the only ones complaining.

My husband booked in and said the staff at reception were lovely very friendly. First impressions were good, nice coffee bar modern shop, we stayed on tern in a motor home one night only on our way home. The pitch was large enough and hedged in which was perfect for us,

The beach was beautiful, cafe in car park next door,we walked round the site in the evening and were also shocked at the closeness of the static caravans, I see someone else thought they were in storage too! my initial thoughts of this being a nice site we could return to were changed on seeing the inside of the toilet block, an interior washing up room with mens toilet/showers through an arch to the left and womens to the right,

I used the toilets at 10pm at night, they were cold unheated floor appeared to be rough and damp, not very clean and outdated, sinks had a gulley running along the floor, I didn't look any further as I didn't like the idea of the mens and ladies being open to all no doors on either,

I had to use the toilet in the morning, my husband remarked on the sense of the cleaners being in there cleaning at 8am busy times you would think, I checked the showers that were in a very poor outdated state, not tiled, black round the edges, no heating, I decided to wash down in our motor home instead and wait until I arrived home today to shower, not really what I would expect when paying 25 a night!

The beach was lovely, I think its a great shame this site probably has very few returning visitors due to the state of the toilets/showers. The reception areas are modern and yet nothing is spent on those toilets which look an absolute eyesore,

We have spent many years camping before having a motor home, used rough backpackers sites in lake district, basic no frills. But I cant say I have ever stopped anywhere with toilets as bad,

Though the location is perfect for a beach holiday the facilities let the camp down, we wont be returning here, we stay at woodlands sheringham all the time, the toilets are state of the art warm clean and a pleasure to use and a lot cheaper,its a shame the owners don't update the facilities at least as otherwise it could have been a top site, a great shame and foolish as it is a unique location, we wont be going back until something is done. One night was enough, but I admit that on busy periods bank holidays this camp will be full due to its proximity to the beach and we have witnessed the queues there on busy bank holiday weekends 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Posieflump 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for the first time last weekend. We booked a fully serviced pitch which was hard-standing with electric and water plus waste water drainage.

The site was fairly quiet as out of season. In contrast to the previous reviews we really loved this site. It's well laid out with a big lake (boat hire available )and right next to a beautiful beach.

There's a playground most suited to young children (our 3 year old loved it!), a small shop and has a little train which runs into Wells & back at a small cost (1 children, 1.20 adults) every 20 minutes (I'm not sure if it runs on week days as we were there over a weekend). Our son loved this best of all and is still talking about it days later.

It is not far to walk into Wells if you prefer. They also have crazy golf and trampolines which we didn't try. We arrived late the first evening and they had a security man at reception with directions for our pitch, we were allowed a late checkout until 6pm on the day of departure for an extra 8 which suited us.

The toilet block was basic but very clean with plenty of loos. They have washing up sinks under cover in the entrance to the toilet block. The showers were hot with underfloor heating and a pull-down shelf to put your things on. I think the previous reviews were relating to the toilets in the tent field which we did not see.

The only problem we experienced was that it was very windy and we didn't feel comfortable putting up our awning due to this (after having had wind damage to our awning last summer on another Coastal site).

All in all a great site in a perfect location. We have booked again for a week later in the year. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pinewoods Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells Next The Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


36091 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement