Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pinewoods Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Wells Next The Sea > Pinewoods Holiday Park > Reviews

Pinewoods Holiday Park
Beach Road
Wells Next The Sea
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR23 1DR
Tel: 01328 710439
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 114 Reviews
                7/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cathy Sims 29 reviews from this member

 We had superb weather and thoroughly enjoyed the walks from the site along the coast path, including the nearby beach, which our dogs loved.

Facilities were fine and well cared for although dated. My only moan (which is down to fellow campers) was how often toilets were left unflushed!

The touring area is in the middle of a large static park which we felt was intrusive. Another camper told us the owners (the Holkham estate) are applying to move the touring area to another part of the grounds which will include new facilities

Charges were 17 per night for two adults and two dogs which we felt was reasonable

Wells itself was very busy but an attractive little town with a nice range of shops 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Juliesomerset 36 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights here last week, the pitches are beautiful, lots of planting between gives a lovely private feel, shower blocks under-floor heated - timing on shower and a little hot and cold, the shop, coffee shop excellent. The location is superb - right next door to beautiful holkham bay, and in the other direction Wells-next-the-sea with it, s fab shops, pubs and restaurants - there is a miniature train that runs from the campsite the mile into Wells - ideal for our old dog who was struggling to walk - did find the check in a little unwelcoming -we arrived at 11. 45 and were made to wait intil 12. 45 - 1pm is the official check in time, but this was mid-week in sept so I did think this was a little unhelpful - as we had travelled 5 hours I was not impressed ! price was quite high but as they have the monopoly in the area they can get away with the high tariff - would be expensive to stay a week ! As for Wells itself we were made very welcome with the dogs in the Globe Inn - it, s a great town. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stan on tour 48 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is fantastic. To one side you have the small town of Wells, about a 20 minute walk, and to the other a huge sandy beach with a lovely beach cafe. Its possible to cycle or walk to the Halkyn Estate from the beach car park.

The site itself does look a little crowded with lots of statics but we were there over a weekend and still found it peaceful and calm despite its business.

There are a lot of ducks around and whilst they can be lovely they can also be a bit of a nuisance, when eating outdoors. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Iggycamper 36 reviews from this member

 Quite good location near Wells next the Sea, about 1 mile along one of the 'sea defences'. (Note my GPS showed that site was at or below sea level - in fact there is an emergency procedure response for flooding in place!)

Some touring pitches a bit small and surrounded by many static caravans. Although the facilities were clean - the toilet blocks themselves reminded me of military buildings in the '60's ! Very dated - even using the word 'Lavatories' on the signs and with no internal day-light quite depressing.

The reception staff were quite pleasant and very efficient regarding 'the paperwork'.

Very over-priced compared to all other sites so far visited in Norfolk - 30 a night including our small dog!

Good dog walking in lovely pine woods adjacent to beach but dogs not allowed on first section of beach (First third of the 'beach huts - a bit of a blot on the landscape imho!)

Nice beach but couldn't find any sea when we were there!

Had good value meal in dog friendly pub (The Fleece) in Wells but for some strange reason many shops close early on a Thursday, including Tourist information!

TV reception very poor. Didn't ask about Wi-fi as we did not want stay more than one night. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motor2014 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the first trip in our new motorhome. Was brilliant, toilets and showers clean and airy, hair dryers free as we're showers. Very clean site wardens very helpful. The pitch we had was superb. The location of this site to the beach is perfect. We biked from the site along the pine trees to holkham hall. An excellent bike ride for the not so sporty! Flat ground all the way. We will be returning to this site ASAP. And would recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet clean site. The shop had everything you needed, but did close too early. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chezynickannie 8 reviews from this member

 We were looking for a campsite for the last night of our Norfolk trip and only wish we could have stayed at Pinewoods longer. What a beautiful location, you walk out the back entrance of the campsite, cross the beach car park and then you reach one the most stunning beaches I've ever seen. Pastel coloured beach huts line the beach with a pine forest back drop. On a small section of the beach closest to the harbour, dogs are not allowed, but after this point the beach runs for miles so you can break off and go into the woods to look for Deer and then switch back to the beach ending the walk with a hot chocolate at the beach side cafe.

The campsite itself has got good sized pitches and the amenities block whilst on the outside doesn't look all that attractive, on the inside they are very modern and clean. The Receptionist was very friendly, helpful and informative. The charge for dogs is a little bit expensive. The walk into town is pleasant along the harbour wall where you can see a variety of birds on the opposing marshes.

Nearby is Cley Next the Sea where there is a wonderful Deli and West Cottage Cafe is a great place to sit a relax in a sheltered garden next the reed beds. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: I8blades 54 reviews from this member

 This site is in a great location, just along the harbour right by the sea.

There is a small supermarket and a coffee shop.

The check in was quick, the staff friendly.

The site is quite large with a good few statics. We had a super pitch which was spacious. The toilet block near to us was immaculately clean, the showers were hot and heated.

There was a boating lake, trampolines and crazy golf.

The beach is just across the public car park at the rear of the site. Part of the beach is dog friendly as well. The beach itself is very good.

To get into town there is the miniature railway although its only a 20 min walk at most.

Wells itself was as ever gorgeous. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Yeehaa 4 reviews from this member

 On arrival it looked promising. The reception area was quite a new building with a well stocked shop where there was also an area with tables and chairs and settees where you could get a hot or cold drink and a light snack and it all looked very clean and tidy, we were pleasantly impressed. The receptionist was very friendly and efficient and soon got us sorted out and off to our pitch we went. Unfortunately this is where it started going downhill.

The hardstanding pitches, which were classed as Super Plus with electric, water and grey water waste, were long and very narrow. We had to park the way we were told to which meant going in nose first as they wanted ever outfits' entry door to open to the right of the pitch. Trouble is because the pitches are so narrow it meant that you had to step out onto the grass, which unfortunately was not grass but dirt/mud because it was worn out and had no grass on it.

But the worst thing was the showers. It was very cold weather at the time and they had no heating in them, it was freezing in there. You had to push the shower button every ten seconds to keep the water flowing and you could not regulate the temperature of the water as it was fixed at the temperature they thought was correct which was not hot enough, and every few seconds it would run cold before it regulated itself again. The shower curtains had been removed and there were no hooks on the back of the door. There was a shelf that you pulled down to put your belongings on but because of the lack of shower curtain and the way the shower head was fixed to spurt the water straight out towards the door and not directly down as they usually are, you could not keep your clothes etc. From getting wet. So a warm shower in a cold unheated building with damp clothes to put on afterwards was not a nice experience. Also there were no electric shaving sockets in the mens shower block and there were no private washing cubicles. Unfortunately we could not use our own motorhome facilities as there we had a leek and we could not keep water on board. Also the cost of 3. 00 a night for a dog and 5. 00 for an awning just seems a bit of a rip-off. We won't be going to this park again 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Beccyandsteve 26 reviews from this member

 A large caravan park mostly made up of static vans. A mixture of grass and hard standing for tourers.

We had a super pitch with electric, water and grey waste. The pitches were a little close together, but were clean and level.

The toilet block was disappointing. It was a bit cold and the paint was peeling off the walls in the showers, but there was plenty of hot water.

There is a very new mini market and coffee shop which was well stocked and the staff were very polite and efficient.

It is very close to the amazing beach and woodland walks where dogs don't need to be kept on leads and can run around for miles! It is without doubt the nicest beach I have ever seen.

There is a little train which runs along the mile long beach road between the site and the town or a lovely safe Tarmac foot path (unlit at night).

Wells is a lovely town with everything you could need.

Location, location, location.

Only let down by the toilet block, but that certainly won't stop me returning. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LJB70 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for half term in our caravan.

The location of the site is fantastic. The beach is 5 mins walk, the pine forest is beautiful and you can cycle all the way to Holkham without having to use a main road.

The site itself is another matter, I agree with other reviews, reception & staff great, however the pitches feel very close together. I stayed on a super pitch, I was given directions and told it was the last but one, when in fact it was the last one, the other pitch on the map had been covered and there were trees growing on it.

My pitch was level but you could tell it was the end of the season as the grass was suffering!

The toilet block. Oh my! I haven't come across anything so awful in a long time! The showers have to be pressed every 30 seconds, the mould is growing up the walls, the cobwebs are huge! There is an unpleasant smell also. I observed the cleaning one day whilst waiting for my daughter it involved mopping the floor, not the cubicles I hasten to add, then locking the mop & bucket away. I used the van facilities from then onwards

Wifi, reasonably priced. There is a great children's play park, and the little train which runs to the town was a great hit!

Plenty of places to eat in Wells, can personally recommend The Crown, great food.

All in all apart from the toilet block a great week. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pinewoods Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells Next The Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


32808 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement