Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pinewoods Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Wells Next The Sea > Pinewoods Holiday Park > Reviews

Pinewoods Holiday Park
Beach Road
Wells Next The Sea
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR23 1DR
Tel: 01328 710439
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 114 Reviews
                7/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Penny080604red 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed in a friends static so we were quite lucky although parents were in their tourer on a super pitch. Toilets/facilities were not up to standard I would expect considering the cost of the site per night. Rather smelly and dirty not as clean as some sites we have stayed at.

Unfortunately they were pitched next to a rather inconsiderate father who allowed his daughter to play her music with the bass turned up so load you could feel the ground vibrating. Having said this we did report it to the security on two occasions and they came straight away to ask them to turn it down so thumbs up on that one.

We had considered taking our tent and I am glad that we chose the static option as the campsite is nothing but a field which due to the adverse weather was horrendous. The main site was also quite water logged around the caravans etc. They only have portaloos and the main facilities are a walk away particularly if you have young children. The site seems to cater more for the static owner I fear, which is a shame as it is well sited for the beach. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Samwest 2 reviews from this member

 At £29 per night at the weekend one would expect fairly good facilities but unfortunately this site seems to focus on the static caravans far more than the campers. There are two fields for tents without electric hook up. This time we stayed by the lake. It is a nice spot and there was enough room for us not to feel too cramped. However if the site was full or people were not considerate when choosing their spot you could end up feeling a little squashed in as there are no pitch markings.

The brick built toilet/shower blocks are a fair way to walk and so they have put a row of portaloos on the camp field. These are very well maintained (cleaned daily) but unfortunately do not have any electric which makes a torch essential for nightly wees! Mine had a magnet which meant I could attach it to the loo roll holder and save myself from trying to hold it under my chin!

The field has a lot of potholes in the middle so beware if you have a sports car as you will ground! Around the edge is flat and fine for tents. We had a lot of rain over the 2 nights which left the tenters bailing out in the morning, we were ok as off the ground. The field does get quite waterlogged and I understand they have to close it if too wet. The kids loved playing in the huge puddles though!

I will return again to this site as it is so well situated, a short walk to the lovely beach. Cycles, canoes for hire next door and a mini train to get you into town if you don't want to walk! Just a shame they haven't invested in a proper toilet/shower block on the camp fields. Wells next the sea is a lovely town. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meggzees 1 review from this member

 Great week at Pinewoods.

Like other reviewers I was unsure of the 'first come, first served' approach but in the end there's so much room on the overflow site (The Horse Paddock), that despite it being great weather, the start of the school holidays, a very popular resort, etc, we had loads of space on the pitch. Level ground and soft enough for easy pegging.

Facilities are fine. Yes, there are portaloos; yes, it's a walk of 200 yards to the nearest block; yes, they're not perfect; yes, it's not that cheap but no complaints from teenage daughter or parents. A well stocked shop, a cafe, launderette if you need it. Attentive and friendly staff in the reception and on-site. Above all, you can get to the most fantastic beach in a trice.

Wells is a fab little town with everything you need for a British seaside holiday as well as hidden gems - no, I'm not telling! They even put on a half-decent footie match. Good food shops, chippies, pubs and easy access to other towns, villages and holiday activities. We can really recommend the boat trip to Blakeney. Excellent bus service running the length of the coast. Will we be back? Yes. Most definitely. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bojjer 3 reviews from this member

 We had a very successful time at Pinewoods.

Prior to going we got quite nervous as you cannot prebook a pitch for your tent. We were a group of four family tents with our parents staying in of the caravans. We arrived on a Sunday in August (at the start of Wells Carnival week) and had no problems finding a spot in the tent over flow field (Horse Paddock). This area is a huge area but split by 'islands' of three foot high grass so you don't feel you are in a large field but there is still plenty of space for kids/adults to play ball games next to the tent. I would certainly pitch your tent in this area and not the smaller camping area within the mobile home part of the park.

You are encouraged to pay by the day as the field is at risk of flooding-I understand rare that it happens and only after 3-4 days of solid rain.

As others have said the location is superb, right next to a beach with good walking/cycling routes.

We found the facilities fine. There is an endless supply of really hot water in the main blocks, great washing up facilities. Yes they aren't the most modern but both the shower and toilet cubicles are spacious and showers always warm with good flow. There are portable toilets on the camping field which we found okay. They are a reasonable size (each one has sink in) and they are serviced regularly.

We did not use shop on site-used local supermarket in Wells and then larger ones in Fakenham. Reception staff were friendly. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Savvycamper 4 reviews from this member

 We chose this site as it looked to be well established and close to the beach. Unfortunately we felt that the only positive was its proximity to the beach which is within walking distance. At £29 per night, this is definitely not value for money. We arrived late on friday afternoon and were informed by that we could choose a field (there are two) and pitch where we wanted. There is no hook up but a cold water tap at one end of the field and a few portaloos.

There was a strong wind blowing so we chose the smaller more sheltered field which was beside the lake. Each field is a long walk from the toilet blocks which are located close to the reception. There are a set of portaloos on each field but they are not really adequate.

If you want to go and brush your teeth and have a wash before bed or use the toilet you have to walk around half a mile to the nearest block or as we did, take the car! The field we were on had huge potholes so you were limited to where you could pitch. We also had pretty ropey weather so after the first night of heavy rain the field was water logged, the potholes full of muddy water hazardous for driving over (of course the weather is not the fault of the site).

We stayed 3 nights (£29 for the fri/sat nights and £19 for the Sunday night) and on the morning of the fourth day we woke up and found our tent literally sitting on a lake after torrential downpours overnight. You are close to marshland so there is nowhere for the rainwater to go.

Pros about this site is its proximity to the beautiful beach. There is a little train that takes you to the village of Wells which is very sweet for children. It was very quiet at night. A small playpark and shop. You also don't need to book and only pay per night you want to stay so no paying upfront and loss of any money should you decide to leave early. The toilet blocks could have been cleaner and there were only curtains in a couple of showers cubicles. The toilets beside the coffee shop were smelly.

It is a real shame as there is little effort needed to make some improvements which would make this site really fantastic 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Keviebaby 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at Pinewoods on a number of occasions in the past but always in static caravans so this was our first trip there in the Folding Camper. The site has a fantastic location close to the huge, clean beach at Wells-next-the-sea. A good walk is through the pine woods at the side of the beach along the coast to Holkum and then back along the beach itself, lots of places to explore for the kids along the way (with plenty of blackberry picking if you go at the right time of year) and then shell gathering on the way back.

The site is accessed 3/4 mile down a road from the quay front in Wells itself and this junction can be busy with pedestrians and cars and poor visibility so some care is needed here. The reception area is welcoming as are the staff and there is 24 hour security which can also be used if you arrive late. Pitches are allocated for you and are well sized and level apart from some hollows. There are also a number of hard-standing pitches and all pitches have electricity. There is also a camping field at the other side of the site which is unserviced. We didn’t go down there this time but a couple of years ago this was unusable due to flooding.

There is a shop on site that sells groceries, fridge and freezer stuff, newspapers/magazines, a small range of toys and beach stuff, wine, beer and spirits and a small bakery that sells fresh bread, croissants pastries etc. But be warned, there is always a queue at opening time for this!

The site also has a play area behind the shop that is really only suitable for small children but there is no other area on the site that is dedicated for children to play so they play outside of the vans. Not much of a problem for us as there was a grassy strip between us and the vans across the way that made a good play area but this does mean that it did get noisy on occasion, but it was high season so there were lots of kids around and our little girl made lots of friends. Next to the play area is the station for the narrow gauge train that takes you into Wells if you don’t fancy the pretty 15 minute walk along the coastal inlet. The site, although large, feels safe.

We are there at festival week and there were a few nights where there were live bands playing outside in Wells itself. One of these were playing on the football field that you pass on the way to the site and there is nothing to block the sound so it was very noisy. However, they did stop these concerts by around 11pm.

I have to say that this is a great site to stay at with one huge exception. The facility blocks are terrible. This is the only site that I have been on where I wouldn’t drink the water from the tap and bought bottled instead for drinking water as the tap area was filthy and grimy. I had to hold my breath when I emptied the toilet or waste water, the toilets and showers themselves were dirty and because of the design and the continual leaks and blockages the floors got wet and filthy as soon as they were cleaned.

This is not a reflection on the cleaning staff as they were around twice a day (although cleaning a toilet block at 8:30am does not seem a sensible time in my view) and I am sure they did their best but the whole blocks really need fully refurbishing, they are so old it is difficult to keep them clean and the grouting was totally black in some places. Blockages in our block were common and they had the rods out twice that we were there and another blocks showers got blocked and flooded. We ended up doing all our dishes in the camper and washing as much as possible in there as well and I ended up wearing a pair of flip flops when I showered. This is not the standard I expect when paying over £30 a night.

Having said all that we would go again. The location and the site itself is one of my favourites and being able to walk to such a fantastic beach is great. We just won’t go until we have upgraded to either a pathfinder or a caravan so that we can rely pretty much on our own facilities. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ellef 7 reviews from this member

 Not a good experience, I'm afraid. I called ahead to try and reserve a pitch, but they don't take reservations and when I arrived at the site I found out why - there are no numbered pitches and the reception staff seem to have no real idea of how many people are on the camping field and just keep letting people in for as long as they continue to turn up.

On the night I stayed, people continued to arrive until around 8.30 pm and were pitching their tents cheek by jowl and almost jostling for space. I had a small backpacker's tent and hardly dared leave the pitch in case someone took it upon themselves to move me along in my absence.

I was charged £15 for the night which seems to be the going rate in the area, but for that price I wouldn't expect the toilet facilities to be Portable loos. I suspect that the Portable loos are in fact just there so that people don't have to walk all the way up to the camp entrance where the main toilet / shower block is located, but it doesn't make a good impression. The toilet and shower block proper was functional but clean and in good working order when I used it.

On the positive side, the site is well located near the beach at Wells, and the town itself seems nice. A little steam railway runs from the campsite entrance to Wells Harbour, and there are a little shop and a cafe on site.

The staff were friendly enough, but I do suspect the campsite's main business is static caravans and you would have a better experience holidaying in one of those here. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marathon429 1 review from this member

 Ok, well I wouldn't necessarily have chosen this site as there were no pitches with hook-up available and you can't pre-book tents, but as we were going with friends (both in caravans) it was a small compromise to make.

On arrival we checked in with no problems and the staff were helpful and polite.

We were directed to the overflow field which is a large grassed area, but as there are lots of areas of long seaside grass 'tufty' bits, it's easy to find a space to make your own without feeling that you're sharing the field with dozens of other campers.

The field was dry with quite long grass, so that packing-up after three days meant a perfectly clean groundsheet, but there were signs that it gets a bit boggy when wet.

The facilities in the field amount to some portaloos and a drinking water point and nothing else. The main facilities however, were only a five minute walk away so the portaloos really were just an emergency measure.

The main facilities do leave a bit to be desired - the washing-up area is fine, but the showers and toilets are in a desperate need of an overhaul and are quite a lot smellier than most.

That said, I have seen worse and on the plus side, whenever I used them they were clean and there was lots of hot (not just warm) water.

Other than that the site is lovely and its proximity to the amazing beach makes it worth the (small) hardships that go with it. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Boxster 4 reviews from this member

 Such an excellent camp site, stones throw from the beach, a photographers paradise for early morning sunrises, big pink skies and so peaceful, a small piece of heaven right here in the uk.

Site handy for the north Norfolk coast road which has many lovely places along it and Huntingdon is a great place for sunsets, where the cliffs turn a lovely golden colour.

I have stayed at this site 10 times over the last couple of years, have always been more than happy. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Simon_harvey 2 reviews from this member

 I read the reviews and decided against staying at Pinewoods last Summer. However, my brother ignored my advice and booked the site for a Easter family break. Against my better judgement I went along. It may be a new season, but it seems that nothing has changed!

The emphasis is firmly on holiday homes, hence the reluctance spend any money on maintenance of the toilet facilities. The toilet blocks are dilapidated and, despite the touring pitches being half-empty the toilets were still filthy. Even the toilets near the coffee shop were in an appalling state; my nine year old daughter insisted I look in the Ladies, as they were so bad!

The rest of the site is quite good, but then it should be, given the cost of the pitches! However, there is very little to do on site. The shop and cafe both close at 5pm, leaving a long walk into Wells as the only alternative to sitting in your tent all evening. Judging by the proliferation of satellite dishes on the caravans and motor homes near us, a typical night at Pinewoods is geared around the TV schedules. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pinewoods Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells Next The Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53986 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement