Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pinewoods Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Wells Next The Sea > Pinewoods Holiday Park > Reviews

Pinewoods Holiday Park
Beach Road
Wells Next The Sea
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR23 1DR
Tel: 01328 710439
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 114 Reviews
                7/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 37mike 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely location for a site. Wells is delightful as are surrounding areas. Toilet blocks need urgent attention and are definitely showing wear and tear and the toilet block cleaning was of low standard. The rest of the site is very well managed and tidy.

Wonderful harbour and beach area. Reception staff very friendly and efficient as were ground staff. Plenty of cycling and walking for all. Beach railway to Wells town ideal for those with walking problems and at a very reasonable fare. WiFi is available at low cost and very efficient. Altogether an excellent site and well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Vicar 7 reviews from this member

 Pinewoods is one of our favourite sites. Yes, the toilets are dated, but are kept clean. They also have a good dish washing area. The little shop on site offers you the basics and a morning paper. It also has a coffee shop.

The staff are friendly and obliging, but this is a big site with statics and a camping field with space for more than 60 tents.

With the town only a short drive away, or a mile walk if you are able, along the estuary, food of a high quality is available, with a small supermarket at the top of Staithe Street catering for most. Whilst the quality of the food on offer is great, higher than normal prices can be expected, but remember, you are on holiday.

The main attraction for the site is probably the finest beach in England, situated just a few minutes walk away. For beach lovers and those with small children this is an idyllic site. We also were worried by the march of the statics, which are invading many of the touring pitches, but were told by staff they are looking to re site the touring pitches to another part of the site, subject to planning permission, and the toilet blocks would be brand new, so removing the problem of dated toilets etc. Who knows when this will happen but until then we recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tansyf 1 review from this member

 I have to say, reading some of the reviews before going to Pinewoods, we were worried about the facilities, however, we had an amazing week!

The site is very close to the beach, which is the best beach we've been on in the UK, and very interesting, a great big rock pool at high tide for the kids to play in and a 'channel' at low tide, about half an hour after the 'alarm' sounds in the evening, make sure you go and watch the ships come in, its amazing!

The site itself, we found to be very friendly, very clean and we loved the privacy of the fences around our caravan. The toilet blocks are a little old, but they are regularly cleaned and the showers are lovely and hot. I'm not sure what others were expecting, but we were very happy with the site!

However, I am saddened to hear that they are taking away a lot of the touring places to make way for static caravans, we are already planning to go back next year.  


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sparklehedgehog 4 reviews from this member

 The site is very big for such a remote location but well laid out and nicely presented. Plenty of toilet/shower blocks even if they are slightly dated (but were clean to be fair). There is no clubhouse or entertainment so at night it's pretty lame as wells has no nightlife either.

The site is in the gorgeous harbour village of wells but over a mile from the centre so you either drive in (and pay 4. 50 parking even if it's just for an hour!), jump on the mini train (nice as a one off) or get walking. The site is next to a great wildlife area with the pinewoods bordering the beach and is a lovely walk.

Wells is good for a day but after that you've seen and done it all as nice as it is then you're left with travelling much further afield to do anything new. From what we could see it seems to be one of those sites where all the caravanners just sit at/in/on their pitch all day just for the break which is nice and pleasant for some people but for us we want to experience and learn new read not just sit in our caravan.

All in all it's an ok site with reasonable pitches but expensive area to eat, no on site entertainment or food, bit of a trek into the village, limited things t do in the area and just average all round. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MJandFamily 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from the Bank Holiday weekend at the Pinewoods site.

The facilities are poor, dated & unloved. At night, the toilet block lights are triggered by movement. If you're having a shower, they can go out leaving it pitch black, until you leave the cubicle, or someone else walks into the toilet block, which isn't ideal.

The site is very flat and level, but has poor drainage. It's very close to the sandy beach, and the Pinewoods, with great walks.

There's a small shop on site for basic essentials, and a small train into Wells.

There's plenty to do and see nearby.

We think that this is a great part of the North Norfolk coast. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Norfolklawrence 2 reviews from this member

 Ok, Wells itself is a very beautiful place to visit. A charming little seaside town, unspoilt by the amusement arcades and fairground attractions of so many coastal towns these days. The beach is magnificent as is the pine forest adjacent to it, very dog and child friendly, a truly breathtaking location.

Pinewoods however, is another story.

On arrival, the site looks clean and modern, reception, shop and internet cafe all seem welcoming enough and the static caravans all look clean and new. Touring however seems to be a little neglected.

The shower blocks were 'tatty', no plugs in sinks, toilets that struggle to flush, showers that take an age to get warm and need the tap button pressed every 30 seconds. Also, motion controlled lights, great for the environment, not so great if your using the shower or the toilet after dark!

The drinking water tap on our field was 3 feet off the ground, which made filling the water butt 'entertaining' for anyone but myself (children came back a little soggy), and considering it wasn't that warm when we went, the chemical toilet disposal was ripe to say the least.

As for the pitch. It was uneven and had a large bald patch in the middle, big enough for our needs with the car, van and awning fitting on. Our first night, it rained, not hard, but constant, and we flooded, as did everybody else. The staff were unhelpful, just telling us they cannot control the weather, which is true, but on further investigation we have discovered this problem has been going on for years. The whole site has a severe drainage problem yet they still sell pitches and refuse to acknowledge the issue. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kingkongkev 1 review from this member

 Had a great time camping at Pinewoods. The site was clean and well presented even though it was the end of season and there where a number of bald spots on each pitch.

Each pitch is fenced to offer more privacy. However this can be limiting depending on the size of tent. We had to email to find out what it could take. We were told it would take 25ft but when we got there it will fit up to 30ft. Our tent is 25ft by 16ft and there was not a lot of space left on our pitch.

The toilets and showers we very spacious it was great to have lots of room when showering. However it needs some tlc, it would not take much to spruce them up. The toilets were stained and paint coming of the walls. 1 handdryer was all that was offered and not that great.

The pot wash area is excellent inside and plenty of hot water.

The location is amazing near the beach, wonderful pine woods, and the wonderful town of Wells next the sea. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Macheath 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for the weekend with our two children. We arrived after reception had closed so booked in at security.

We were given directions to our pitch and some site information, the security were very helpful. We liked the way each pitch had small fences and bushes around so every pitch has their own space and dosent get cut through by other people.

Once we were all set up we went to wells to eat as it was getting late and didn't want to cook. Frenchs chip shop was very good value and the food was great!Back on site the toilet block was ok, but showers were a bit shabby and old looking, but they served their purpose.

However due to the fantastic location of the site it wouldn't put us off from going again.

Wells had a pirate festival on the saturday and sunday with lots of stuff going on for the children(and adults)and lots of locals dressed as pirates, with stalls and puppet shows.

Lots of nice little shops to browse and several pubs and food places. Only a 20 minute walk from site. A few minutes walk from our pitch was a lovely beach with surrounding woods.

Both fantastic for long walks to tire out the children!The site also had an on site coffee shop and shop, handy if you run out of milk. We had a great time in a fantastic area which totally outweighed the fact the showers could do with a lick of paint.

Will be using this site again for sure. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: NorfolkDave 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent location, minutes walk to beach, 20 mins walk to Wells town.

We stayed on a super pitch, which was fine in terms of size and facilities. The regimented way that all units doors have to open the same way meant that we couldn't use the grey waste point though.

We weren't allowed to put up small tents for the kids.

Toilets and showers were probably a good standard ten years ago, but other sites have moved on. Peeling paint and stained floors give a grubby feel. High level cleaning was non existent with plenty of spiders and webs to admire whilst showering. If this was one of the cheaper sites around, it would be adequate, but it isn't. The water in our shower block ran hot for around five seconds, before a quick burst of cold to wake you up. No chance of lingering.

Small shop on site carries a limited stock. Cafe nice with wifi, but very limited opening hours, owners missing a trick here, what about a bacon sarnie when you can't be bothered to cook.

Overall a pleasant experience, but investment in the showers and toilets sorely needed to justify the prices. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Casswag60 3 reviews from this member

 There is no denying its excellent location; close to wonderful beach, served by a miniature railway & close to pretty town with great pubs, restaurants & shops.

However, for tourers whether caravanners or motorhomers, Pinewoods is yet another example of a complacent site, content to expand the number of large plastic statics at their expense. Specifically, the toilet blocks are sub-standard; old, tired, poor lighting, peeling paint & unforgivably they are plain dirty.

The shower curtains were mouldy as are the lower walls; the shower rails are rusty & the hot water is subject to cold bursts possibly when basin users operate the hot tap. In addition the floor was grimy with ingrained dirt, there were no mops provided to rinse down floors before or after showering & the ceiling ventilator covers were clogged with dust. There was only one word to describe them, unhygienic & my advice to Viscount Coke is call in the experts from the Caravan Club & get advice on how to clean up & modernise your toilet blocks.

Furthermore, we paid a premium for a superpitch which was a complete waste of money as it turned out to be next to a transit road & we were told to park our motorhome nose in which meant we were unable to use the grey waste direct emptying point.

The pitch itself was not hedged or edged; it was unkempt & it was small as well as being bang next door to the infamous toilet block & refuse bins.

My advice would be don't spend the extra money on a superpitch & make sure you are in the central grassed area away from transit roads, toilet blocks & the intrusive statics.

Finally to add insult to injury the day we left a static arrived & was plonked right next to us on a 'superpitch' How long I ask before tourers are no longer welcome? 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pinewoods Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells Next The Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58692 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement