Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Skelwith Fold Caravan Park Reviews

Skelwith Fold Caravan Park
B5286
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0HY
Tel: 015394 32277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 150
Open: March To End Of November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Motley 26 reviews from this member

The park is situated close to everything that is excellent in the Lake District.

Ambleside, Bowness, Windermere, Coniston, the list is endless.

Great little pub a mile or so away, The Drunken Duck. It has it's own micro brewery and provide one third of a pint glasses to sample their ales.

Camp shop is very well stocked but very pricey. Plan ahead and you shouldn't need to use it as there's ample supermarket shopping close by.

It's not all good though! We stayed on a premium pitch, not because I'm rolling in money, but have limited mobility, so the waste and fresh water is handy. The 2 premium 'paddocks' are nothing more than oblong shapes covered in a horrible dark grey shale, not a blade of grass to be seen. It's filthy and sticks to your footwear. No screening of the pitches at all. We were in a corner and the motor home in the adjoining paddock was five feet away on the other side of the hedge. We could hear every sound they made and I'm sure vice versa. The rest of the park is for statics and is landscaped beautifully. Looks like a case of touring vans being second class again!

Phone reception is poor and tv signal is non existent. The premium pitches have a tv socket but this is not available on normal pitches. If you do go, dig your old sat system out of the loft!

We certainly will not be returning, but will still try to find a good site in the area as we had a great week, off the park!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Webboss 2 reviews from this member

This site is one of the best sites I have been to it has amazing views and is set in fantastic woodland, shower blocks are great nice and clean and warm with hot showers which is ideal as the weather in the lakes can be cold and wet any time of the year. The on site shop is fantastic it has just about everything you could need. It is a big site but is very quite, it has a really nice play area for children with a outdoor court for football plus a zip rope and other things for smaller children. Ambleside is around a 10 minute drive but is possible to walk and now cycle with a newbike path that goes onto a road section. There are a few pubs in the area but one we like is the wateredge inn with great food and service.

A excellent site in the most beautiful part of england

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 42 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a week at Skelwith Fold Caravan Park having had a great time. We were given a very friendly welcome from the staff at reception and were free to select our pitch of choice, we chose our pitch in Loughrigg at the highest section of the site. The pitches were hardstanding and mostly level and large, but not separated. The water taps were placed on some pitches which may not please anyone with outfits on these and would make topping up your motorhome tank awkward if the site was busy, however we had no problem. A simple solution would have been a fresh water tap at the motorhome service point.

The toilets were very clean and well heated, with a card entry system. Only one of the 3 showers had a curtain, but the showers were very good and spacious. The laundry was large and excellent and the adjacent library room was the best I have seen yet. The shop was very well stocked with most things you may need. Our teenage children loved the play area and made friends there.

The walking opportunities in the surrounding area are excellent, with a good safe footpath all the way to Ambleside. We even walked from the site to Grasmere over country lanes and footpaths and found a basket of delicious home made scones at a cottage in the village at the back of the site in Bog Lane. The last mile before the site entrance is a bit tricky especially if you meet a bus or a bin lorry as I did, but it is worth it to get to this site. I We would most certainly return.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kbheal 19 reviews from this member

What a great site, about 2 miles walk from Ambleside. We had hard standing and could choose our pitch, we also had electric but didn't go for the premium pitches with extras, we didn't think we needed. Water was close by and the motor home service point was a drive in bay, very adequate for our van and easy to use.

The toilet and shower blocks were immaculate, good strong shower with plenty of hot water. Although didn't use, there was a laundry, drying room and a library, all very clean and well stocked, washing powder was available to buy, all very organised, great.

We used the bus from the campsite entrance to Coniston, good service. You can get bus timetables from the shop.

A really well stocked shop and very helpful staff.

The walk down to the pub at Skelwith Bridge was lovely, along a quiet road, downhill on way there but. Well a little harder on way back up!. Called The Talbot Inn and the food was excellent and they let dogs in, so brilliant.

We also found more cafes in Ambleside than we knew that let dogs in, The Apple Pie cafe was one, and cannot remember the names of other 2 but they did have signs in windows.

Have already recommended to friends and family, we will most definitely be back.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andie74 21 reviews from this member

We have returned from 5 days at the site and enjoyed it very much. Nice views good walks from site. Facilities included shop (well stocked with dvds frozen food & bits and bobs)library laundry spotless washroom. Cant comment on playground as we didn't go that way.

Two pubs in walking distance Drunken duck and Talbots bar both dog friendly.

As you drive to the site have to be careful as you go over bridge as road is narrow.

Only slight Criticism is for the size of the site it could have more dog bins, and the sensor for the washroom needs altering as it kept going off while I was under shower.

Would be returning soon.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glenpat32 4 reviews from this member

Just back after our second stay at Skelwith Fold. We will be back again in October next year. Yes, this is about as good a site as we have found. We recommend the extra cost to get a premier pitch with grey waste, water and tv hookup. Premier are spacious pitches and some of the standard pitches are just that little way further away from facilities and may not get tv reception.

The staff are so helpful and pleasant, just how it should be. Nothing is too much bother. The shop is well stocked with local produce, dvds, information, some caravan essentials. And also fresh bread if required.

Have to say we haven't found shower/ toilet blocks better than this. Immaculate. This year the wifi coverage has been greatly improved and, although expensive at 10 for 8 hours ( which goes in very quickly!), it is fast and reliable.

The site is beautifully laid out and, although there are dozens of static caravans, they are interspersed with trees and areas of woodland - we loved walking the dogs at night and negotiating the many twists and turns like some sort of maze, following our map! For our eight year old son there was a good play park and he could zoom about on his bike quite happily.

As a base for exploring the surrounding Lakes area I doubt if this site can be bettered. Ambleside is minutes away by car, and Hawkshead nearby. Chesters at Skelwith Bridge is a short walk ( don't miss it - for some reason we didn't discover it until this year!).

The only 'negative' we can think of doesn't reflect on the site however access to Skelwith Fold isn't perhaps for the nervous caravanner, the road out of Ambleside is tight and there's an interesting hill to negotiate back on to the main road. All said and done however it is just like anything else - as long as one takes one's time everything should be ok. We didn't find the site particularly cheap however we have to state that you get what you pay for, so we have no complaints.

In conclusion this really is a first rate site and one that we hope to return to time and time again. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chriscable 38 reviews from this member

What a great site. No idea why we not been before as it not that far away. Lots of statics to go through but worth it when you get up the far end. TV reception can be iffy but the ladies in the shop pointed me to the best place to set up. Toilet block clean and heated and showers have lots of space for drying and hanging things. At what other site would you walk to a shower block at 5.30 in the evening and find a large deer stood right outside. Two good pubs in walking distance - a dog lovers paradise. Great well stocked shop and really friendly staff. Will return

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pintacider 28 reviews from this member

Cracking site. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Shower and toilet block was fab. Under floor heating and very clean and warm. Shower cubicles were quite large too. And you didn't have to keep pressing the button every 5 seconds so they were a real joy.

Set in a lovely location. I could recommend a bike ride or walk down the road from the back entrance down to Ambleside for some amazing views. There's also a cycle path / walk way from the main front entrance in to Ambleside as well. It's a fair old walk but no-one ever died of fresh air and exercise.

There are quite a few walks from Ambleside that offer even more amazing views. Would definitely recommend and return. Only slight downside was the lack of TV reception but we had plenty of DVDs instead.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jeffgame 26 reviews from this member

Large site with lots of static units, but well laid out so does not feel crowded. Touring areas are all gravel pitches, generous and quite level, separated by numbered posts. You could chose your own spot. Toilets and showers were very good. I liked the button operated showers, spacious and water temperature was just right. Large laundry facility with drying room. Shop was adequate, but no cafe or club room, small library though. Site was dog friendly. Buses from main road, happy to take dog. Took us about 30 mins to stroll to 'Drunken Duck'. Food was excellent but not cheap. Ok to take dog into bar area. First class site, large recreation area. Well worth the money.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aldoscott 19 reviews from this member

As newbie caravanners this was our first trip south of the border. Wow! What a place.

If you like a peaceful, clean, tidy, well laid out site with great, clean, modern facilities and friendly helpful staff then this site is a must visit.

The location is handy for Ambleside and Windermere and within walking distance to the skelworth bridge hotel.

We spent 3 nights here and we really didn't want to go home.

To summarise. This site is fabulous. So much so we booked again for August.

Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4583 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019