Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Skelwith Fold Caravan Park Reviews

Skelwith Fold Caravan Park
B5286
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0HY
Tel: 015394 32277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 150
Open: March To End Of November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: VL007 4 reviews from this member

This site is expensive, but the facilities reflect this - I've never been on a campsite where the toilet paper in the washroom is folded into a point like you get in a hotel!

We went in low season, and there was plenty of space, but this is a big site and when full could feel very crowded. It is a bit strange having to drive through the enormous static caravan park before you get to the tourer park as well.

You can walk into Ambleside in about 45 minutes through the woods and along the road for about a mile. There are also walking leaflets in the shop for various walks from the site.

The shop is well equipped, and all staff are very professional.

If you like a well run professional site, and don't mind paying for it, this is for you.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barks77 2 reviews from this member

Skelwith Fold Caravan Park is a stunning site that ticks all the boxes! We have stay here twice this year, firstly in June but it was so rainy we left a day early. We returned in October as we were passing through and we were able to use our one day owed to us. The pitches are generous with beautiful scenery.

The toilet blocks are clean, spacious and moden. The site wardens are friendly and helpful. This is a great base for visiting the surrounding area, the only drawback is Ambleside was a bit too far for us to walk into, about an hour. We look forward to returning again next year

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kathryn J 16 reviews from this member

Caravan park is situated close enough to walk to Ambleside and Hawkshead. The site is very well maintained and fresh bread and papers can be ordered daily. However, it is very pricey and some of the facilities could be better for the cost per night.

The toilet block is clean but only 3 showers and 1 private wash cubicle. There is no TV reception on the standard pitches and the top part of the touring section looks like a car park with hardly any grass separating the pitches.

On arrival it is made quite clear how to pitch a car, caravan and awning but unfortunately some people don't stick to the rule and try to spread out making it a squash for other caravans and motorhomes pitching nearby. I will return to this site simply because of it's location.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scoobabee 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a long weekend and picked one with decent weather.

We opted for a super pitch so no issues with TV reception as other commenters. Staff were friendly and site warden was expecting us and guided us to a choice of pitches.

The facilities were immaculately clean and warm. Showers were hot although in my opinion a 5 star park with 5 star prices shouldn't have the infernal push button showers.

We had a lovely walk to Skelwith Bridge and you could do a loop up to Elterwater and Slaters bridge. There is a great pub in Elterwater or you could have an Icecream on the green there.

We are long term fanatics of the Lake District and this is a top quality site at a top quality price, so if you fancy it indulge yourself. It gets 9 out of ten because I hate push button showers

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tavsday 1 review from this member

I'll mention the best bits first then the couple of minor downsides which to us could be overcome due to the quality of the site.

The toilets are fab, very clean and loads of space, we went on a bank holiday and didn't have to wait once for the showers.

The location is great, a lovely clean 1. 5 mile off-road path takes you into Ambleside

Great shop, very well stocked and the fresh pastry and bread every morning is a real bonus

The staff were very friendly, you receive a welcome pack when you arrive and nothing is too much trouble

The only downsides we found were that the toilets were quite a long walk (but we did feel we had a nicer pitch than the ones near the toilets) and the tv reception is very poor. We were parked near the children's play area and neither us or any of our neighbours had any reception, apparently the other side of the park is better or you can get a premium pitch with a tv plug in

All in all a fab site, the best we've found in the lakes. We'll be back!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Goberson 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a week, first time we had stayed in the caravan for longer than 3 days. The entrance to the park is magnificent. Entering a red tarmac driveway into the forest. There are plenty of statics on site, but the way it is laid out is a good mix of statics and touring caravan areas. The whole of the pitch areas are gravel, so you will need appropriate pegs, although they do sell rock pegs in the well equipped shop. The shop also has fresh bread and pastries every day. Toilets and Showers were spotless, although the main block was large enough, there was only one shower near the other two pitching areas. Whilst we stayed over the August bank holidays, queueing for the shower was not a major issue, usually only 1 or 2 in front and the children's playground kept the kids busy. There are lots of walks in the woods and surrounding areas and there is a nearby pub. The site is on a hill, so walking out is fine, but walking back is always uphill. Quite expensive. But worth it. We will visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jo mawn 8 reviews from this member

We had been here before and only went back as could not get in anywhere else. Was in lovely woodland, but you could have been anywhere, could not see no mountains due to the trees. There was hardly no phone signal, no tv signal, the wifi was so expensive that is was funny, we certainly didn't use that! You could not get anywhere on foot as too far. The toilet block was lovely, really nice hot showers and really clean. The staff were really helpful and friendly. It was not worth the £28 per night cost and I would only go back if there all other camps were full. As we were leaving I fell down my caravan step and broke my foot ( no fault at own of the site, I just missed my footing)!.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Oddball780 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a wonderful 8 days at the site. The whole experience was great.

From the time we booked to when we left, everyone was helpful and made the whole process so easy.

The whole site is kept clean and tidy by a number of wardens. They encourage recycling too, but not in an in your face type of way. The shop was brilliant and well stocked; the queue for rolls in the morning speaks volumes.

Our stay was in the middle of a three week trip and the laundry facilities were extremely helpful, good and reasonably priced. There was also a drying room in the laundry area.

There are plenty of walks in the area and easy access to a bus route if required.

There is a local pub at the end of the road and a wonderful café within a fifteen minute walk. The walk back works off the calories.

There are a number of units on the site; despite this the site cannot be seen from the surrounding hills.

The only downside was the poor quality of the hand dryers in the toilets.

It’s a wonderful place to stay.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jmg44 7 reviews from this member

We have just arrived home after having a wonderful 5days. We were there so we could go to the great north swim

The site is one of the best we have been to over the years. The country round the site is just lovely. We were having a cupper and a deer came across our path we took some great pictures.

The facilities are spotless, great shop on site, sells everything prices very good, the staff could not be bettered friendly, helpful, excellent customer service

We will be back in autumn for a short break. The drive from the road is a good 10 min walk so there is no traffic noise at all

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gacull 5 reviews from this member

Although this site was big and roomy, it was very clean and good facilities. The emptying out of van waste was easy. The staff were helpful and pleasant. If you needed to go on the bus to save taking a vehicle you were a 10 minute walk down the drive to get to the bus stop. A word of caution if you decide to take the bus we had a 12 minute journey and that's with traffic, return trip 2 people cost us £10.60 (so don't forget Bus pass) Also follow directions given by site not Sat-Nav.

Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6328 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019