Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Skelwith Fold Caravan Park Reviews

Skelwith Fold Caravan Park
B5286
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0HY
Tel: 015394 32277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 150
Open: March To End Of November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Senditbry 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this park for 3 nights over a long weekend, staying on pitch 70.

We arrived around 8.30pm which by this time was very dark. We were greeted straight away by the park warden, who gave us the induction and suggested we use the space behind the shop for the first night and then explore in the morning for a pitch we liked. However, we took our chances and picked the best available spot.

The toilet/shower facilities were excellent, clean and warm. The shop had everything you could need in an emergency.

A very nice park to walk the dog in the evening and plenty of wildlife around. Ambleside is a 30 minute walk via the back entrance and down the lane.

Would stay again and do recommend this site. However, I do feel the price is on the expensive side, but the woodland backdrop of this park can demand this price.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ivor 69 1 review from this member

Skelwith fold is a lovely caravan park and we enjoyed our last stay, although we did find the same problem with the showers, talking to the warden he said that they had tried hard to solve the problem but hadn't succeeded. when I called to book for Easter next year I was told that the top toilet block is having a new water system and completely different shower units which should cure the problems of last year. Tarn toilet block is also being totally refurbished.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Beeton 25 reviews from this member

Skelwith Fold is easy to find being well sign posted from Ambleside /
Clappersgate. The staff have always been very friendly and helpful. This was my fourth or fifth visit and I will probably return again.
The site is very established and has many static caravans on site. The touring area is quite small in comparison, but the pitches are all hardstanding with hook-up in nice woodland, so no views really. Great bird (and song), rabbit and squirrel activity in the evenings.
The toilets and showers are heated and very good facilities. Great for dogs in terms of walking round the site (on a lead of course)and on paths just off-site.
Quite pricey at around 25 a night that has to be paid in advance as a deposit. Child friendly /family oriented site so lone travellers may want to take this into account at school holiday times. On site shop sells useful supplies. Good O2 and Orange mobile phone signals.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kerry Adams 1 review from this member

We visited this site last year and again this year, its still up to the same standards. The pitches are all hard standing and you get to pick your own pitch.

The toilet and shower blocks are roomy and clean.

The staff are helpful and friendly and the shop is well stocked with lovely fresh and local food,a range of magazines and papers and it also has a dvd rental area.

The surroundings are lovely,there is a few nice walking areas on site that can lead out onto a main road area.

We walked into Ambleside on afew occasions with the dog (45 mins each way) there is a a footpath that leads through woodland which is very nice and peaceful.

The Drunken duck pub is a short walking distance away it has a very good reputation but haven't had the chance to go as yet!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Keltie2 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fabulous stay at Skelwith Fold. As novice caravanners, we were apprehensive, but needn't have been. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly from first enquiry to arrival on site. The toilets and showers were spotless, plenty of hot water and no queues.Great on site shop and the fresh croissants each morning were well received! Plenty to visit in the area and we had a great time. The park was beautiful, peaceful and relaxing and we can't wait to get back again in September!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindadf 8 reviews from this member

This site was lovely, just as described on the website. The facilities were plentiful and spotless, never a queue for either the toilets or showers,

The staff where friendly and helpful - the reception and shop having good opening hours. The shop stocked a good variety of essentials as well as local produce, everything you needed to make the stay enjoyable.

Some decent local walks without many main roads.

Great site would thoroughly recommend

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jules! 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful site, surrounded by trees. Has good wide access, chose own pitch on arrival, ground is very hard, so needed strong pegs. Tiered pitches as a hilly site, but gave you feeling of space. Toilet block was excellent, large free hot showers and always clean. Had great play area which our 2 year old loved. Large site shop stocking large range of goods, many local. Close to Ambleside and Windermere, so great for sightseeing.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Solitary 1 review from this member

Just returned fron a 3 night stay. We had originally only booked for two but liked it so much that we extended our stay. The pitches are hard standing which for us was a blessing as we have two young children who normally trial grass and mud into the van!

The site is very peaceful and we saw deer, squirrels and lots of baby rabbits.

The toilets are the cleanest we have come across and the showers very roomy and hot, although they were push button ones and the timer wasn't very long at all.

The only criticism was the waste disposal and having to empty it into a toilet which was difficult to do with the grey waste. We saw a lot of people just using the drain by the taps.

We will return to this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Erik 13 reviews from this member

We only live about 10 miles from this site but we could have been miles from home! The site is absolutely beautiful, well cared for, friendly and full of wild deer and other wildlife. The walk to Ambleside is beautiful through woodland paths and country lanes. The site has an excellent play area with an astroturf to keep energetic teenagers happy.

I can't remember when we last returned from a weekend away where all the family felt relaxed and rested. I can't recommend this one highly enough!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jones Family 3 reviews from this member

This site is in a superb woodland setting. Whilst it is a huge static Caravan site it is well laid out and does not give you the feeling of one. The toilets are very clean and the shop well stocked but a little pricey and shuts early.

The site is perfectly placed to explore the Lake District and is close to Ambleside and Windermere for those who need the shops. We walked to the Drunken Duck from the site, not recommended for the less fit. The food here was very expensive. The very short walk from the top of site to the view point in Skelwith is a must if you want to watch the sunset, this must be one of the best places to watch the sunset in England.

The play area is brilliant and must be vacated by dusk to ensure the peace and quite that this site has.

There are numerous walks from the site with guides available at the shop. You could do a different walk every day directly from the site and cover some of the most stunning scenery without using your car.

The biggest drawback for us was that the touring pitches were totally hard standing giving an impression of a car park and would like to see a little more grass around each pitch. Having said that with the rain we had we were grateful that we had no problems getting of the site.

The staff were all polite and helpful and we would have no worries returning here.

Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


320 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019