Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Skelwith Fold Caravan Park Reviews

Skelwith Fold Caravan Park
B5286
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0HY
Tel: 015394 32277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 150
Open: March To End Of November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Susang 2 reviews from this member

Second outing with motorhome. Pleased that you can select your own site and allowed to look around first. Very efficient booking in process with lots of information. We booked premium but unless you need television and water the other touring sites are well serviced and in a lovely wooded area. Think we would book these next time. No telephone or tv signal. Short walk to Ambleside and on a bus route which was a plus. Well stocked shop. Staff really helpful and friendly. Toilets and showers very clean. Not sure how you wash your plates in winter it seems a bit exposed. Will have to remember warm waterproof gear. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Swiftescape624 4 reviews from this member

Fabulously situated site for walking to Ambleside, Hawkshead, Ambleside, Langdale straight from the site. It is in a very picturesque setting.

We loved our time there. We had an all service pitch. Excellent showers etc. Very quiet at night.

The staff were very friendly and informative.

We will definitely be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Noeliewoly 5 reviews from this member

It was a very nice site with hard standing and grassed areas for a lean to. Clean wash facilities and conveniently placed. Friendly welcome and lots of information given both about the site and the area. Small shop which had most things one would need when camping. Buses run to Ambleside at regular frequency and also taxi fares are reasonable. The only down side was it was a bit expensive at £67 for 2 nights.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Photolady 7 reviews from this member

This site is in a beautiful location tucked inside woodland. We found a very peaceful spot past the children's play area and round the corner. All pitches are hard standing so no grass anywhere, but that isn't a hardship as you are surrounded by glorious woodland. The reception staff were most helpful and the shop was excellent. The site is very large with many beautifully situated static caravans. There is a bus stop outside the main entrance, but that is quite a walk to the touring areas. There are so many wonderful opportunities in the area for walking and cycling.

We didn't manage to get a fully serviced pitch, but we're quite glad when we found our little spot. It was quite a walk to the shower block and to empty the loo, but we got used to taking the car.

The shower block was lovely. Very clean and warm. Our only gripe (and it's a small one) was that they do not advertise when they are shutting the shower block to clean. So you get there and it's shut! Can be a touch frustrating! Minor issue. There is an excellent laundry (expensive at £4 a go) and even a drying room. This does mean that you are not allowed to put up your rotary dryer. There is also an extensive library.

All in all an excellent site and one to be recommended. We shall revisit. Finally, although there was some dog barking which you would expect, it was minimal and didn't disturb our peace. A warden patrols the site at regular intervals.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JillyandDave 1 review from this member

Absolutely stunning. Still! I was here year after year in the 70's and 80's. The site has expanded since then but so has the quality. A beautiful site to call your home. Immaculately clean with every amenity possible. Friendly and knowledgable staff. This is a must for all who love the outdoors life. Especially the toilets and shower block. Much warmer than the motor home! We can't wait to be back.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stevecox1 2 reviews from this member

Great site kids love it like being back with nature

Will be back next year.

Pitched in the dingle not far from kids park, great walks from park nice pub not to far away worth the walk.

Ambleside can be accessed easily by walking lots to do around the lake

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Centreno13 10 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights, lovely well laid out site, hardstanding pitches level and plenty of space, toilets and showers clean and worked well, decent size shop, we will try the serviced pitches next we come. Would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janine1947 43 reviews from this member

This is a huge site covering a large area of wooded hillsides. It caters mainly for the large number of statics and holiday homes it is beautifully landscaped throughout and has several designated areas for touring units. It's many years since we last visited and the reception building has been considerably upgraded and now houses a well stocked shop selling fresh bread to order and daily papers. The building includes a function/activity room. There is also a very well stocked library

The touring areas are subdivided into, premium, seasonal and standard areas. All the pitches are hardstanding with EHU posts. Most are fairly flat. The toilet blocks are heated but inadequate for the number of campers, we visited in late September but had queues for showers most mornings. The motorhome service point has a large waste drop but no drinking water. Water points are situated around the pitches and filling the motorhome requires either Using a convenient pitch or blocking off the road. Waste bins are situated around the site but 7 glass recycling bins are located together on the main site road, they would be utilised more if they were sited next to the waste bins. Television reception is poor ( we were warned when booking in). In the garden touring area it seemed limited to very few pitches.

The bus stops outside the site BUT the walk from the touring areas is 15 minutes and uphill on your return, buses are hourly. The area has many wonderful walks from the site. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is beautiful.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Franh 5 reviews from this member

Fantastic park - yes the pitches are extremely hardstanding but they do warn you on their website and sell rock pegs. Helpful service in the reception, friendly staff who always seemed to be busy doing jobs around the park. Heated shower block with loads of hot water whatever the time of day. Lots of walks from the site including beautiful woods. We have three dogs so it was perfect for them. Perfectly situated to tour the Lake District. One of the best ever sites we have stayed on. Will definitely stay here again - wish it was nearer home! Didn't have children with us but am sure the children love the huge playing field and play equipment.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mumoffive 17 reviews from this member

We made Skelwith Fold our first stop on route to tour Scotland. We arrived in torrential rain but the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The ground has to be the worst I've ever put a peg into but they did sell rock pegs in the shop and loaned us a heavy mallet.

Facilities were clean and warm with nice hot water. The disabled shower was ok but would love to see a shower bench for severely disabled.

We would definitely have this on our list if returning to the area.

Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3139 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019