Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Skelwith Fold Caravan Park Reviews

Skelwith Fold Caravan Park
B5286
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0HY
Tel: 015394 32277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: March To End Of November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 77 Reviews
                9/10 from 77 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2020 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: WilliamMcBeard 6 reviews from this member

 Well this stay will always be remembered as the Covid stay. The drive up was the usual ~M6 and then Bowness route for the folks, I drove up from Burnley/Neson over towards Yorkshire and across. I do love leaving work on a Friday and having 1. 5 hours to myself.

The magnitude of the lockdown became apparent and the ideal of a pint in Stickle Barn after climbing Bowfell and Crinckle Craggs became a no go. The climb went ahead, as did an early Sunday visit to FellFoot, but then it became clear that we would be returning home Monday morning and wouldn't see this wonderful place in a while. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: ASC67 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, lovely and clean facilities, I would even go on to say 5*

Everyone on site lovely an helpful and also in a lovely spot for sightseeing. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janlam 1 review from this member

 Skelwith Fold Caravan Park in Ambleside, Lake District

Lovely clean site in beautiful surroundings. Warm welcome from friendly staff throughout. Good toilet, shower, washing up and launderette facilities, it even had a shop !

Bus stop into Ambleside or Coniston from edge of site, only disadvantage was that was at the bottom of a big hill ! Great site for walkers and dog friendly Good value Holiday ! :) 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: WilliamMcBeard 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed this time for the Great North Swim-Run. We walked down the wonderfully created lane between Skelwith and Ambleside, then on to the start of the event.

This park never disappoints. No camping but some caravan/motorhome pitches.

Not the cheapest but turning in feels like coming home. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Susang 2 reviews from this member

 Second outing with motorhome. Pleased that you can select your own site and allowed to look around first. Very efficient booking in process with lots of information. We booked premium but unless you need television and water the other touring sites are well serviced and in a lovely wooded area. Think we would book these next time. No telephone or tv signal.

Short walk to Ambleside and on a bus route which was a plus. Well stocked shop. Staff really helpful and friendly. Toilets and showers very clean. Not sure how you wash your plates in winter it seems a bit exposed. Will have to remember warm waterproof gear.

Thanks for a lovely stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Swiftescape624 4 reviews from this member

 Fabulously situated site for walking to Ambleside, Hawkshead, Ambleside, Langdale straight from the site. It is in a very picturesque setting.

We loved our time there. We had an all service pitch. Excellent showers etc. Very quiet at night.

The staff were very friendly and informative.

We will definitely be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Noeliewoly 5 reviews from this member

 It was a very nice site with hard standing and grassed areas for a lean to. Clean wash facilities and conveniently placed. Friendly welcome and lots of information given both about the site and the area.

Small shop which had most things one would need when camping. Buses run to Ambleside at regular frequency and also taxi fares are reasonable.

The only down side was it was a bit expensive at 67 for 2 nights. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Photolady 7 reviews from this member

 This site is in a beautiful location tucked inside woodland. We found a very peaceful spot past the children's play area and round the corner. All pitches are hard standing so no grass anywhere, but that isn't a hardship as you are surrounded by glorious woodland. The reception staff were most helpful and the shop was excellent. The site is very large with many beautifully situated static caravans.

There is a bus stop outside the main entrance, but that is quite a walk to the touring areas. There are so many wonderful opportunities in the area for walking and cycling.

We didn't manage to get a fully serviced pitch, but we're quite glad when we found our little spot. It was quite a walk to the shower block and to empty the loo, but we got used to taking the car.

The shower block was lovely. Very clean and warm. Our only gripe (and it's a small one) was that they do not advertise when they are shutting the shower block to clean. So you get there and it's shut! Can be a touch frustrating! Minor issue. There is an excellent laundry (expensive at 4 a go) and even a drying room. This does mean that you are not allowed to put up your rotary dryer. There is also an extensive library.

All in all an excellent site and one to be recommended. We shall revisit. Finally, although there was some dog barking which you would expect, it was minimal and didn't disturb our peace. A warden patrols the site at regular intervals. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JillyandDave 1 review from this member

 Absolutely stunning. Still! I was here year after year in the 70's and 80's. The site has expanded since then but so has the quality. A beautiful site to call your home. Immaculately clean with every amenity possible. Friendly and knowledgable staff.

This is a must for all who love the outdoors life. Especially the toilets and shower block. Much warmer than the motor home! We can't wait to be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevecox1 2 reviews from this member

 Great site kids love it like being back with nature

Will be back next year.

Pitched in the dingle not far from kids park, great walks from park nice pub not to far away worth the walk.

Ambleside can be accessed easily by walking lots to do around the lake 


Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Skelwith Fold Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Skelwith Fold Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Skelwith Fold Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5946 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement