Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Skelwith Fold Caravan Park Reviews

Skelwith Fold Caravan Park
B5286
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0HY
Tel: 015394 32277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: March To End Of November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 75 Reviews
                9/10 from 75 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 5 miles   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lennythevan 2 reviews from this member

A beautiful site with very friendly staff but a little too isolated in terms of walking distances to amenities for families with small children.  We also thought it was expensive considering the facilities / local amenities (or lack of them).
 
We are not a fan of the big holiday parks but we like a pub / restaurant within reasonable walking distance at night and other local amenities. We picked this site because it did say on its website that there were shops, pubs, etc. Nearby - but they are in driving rather than reasonable walking distance with a small child in tow.
 
We also had great difficulty pegging the awning down as the ground was so hard. We woke at 5am to our own swimming pool attached to the van. We had to cut our holiday short as the awning was irreparable - and our clothes and shoes inside soaked through. The site did refund our money for the rest of the holiday when we explained that our awning had collapsed. They informed us that it happened quite often in heavy rain. For future note, their camp shop sells special screw in pegs for the site (which would have been helpful information prior to us setting up - and also saved us the cost of a replacement awning)
 
Toilets were clean but consisted of a drafty portoloo that had seen better days. We stayed in a wonderful site in Bath through the summer that was a good few pounds a night cheaper and had beautiful bathrooms and an on site country inn so relatively, the facilities were a let down.
 
A quiet site for walkers with limited facilities and a bit overpriced. Ambleside is a joy - well worth a holiday visit - and the location of the site is superb in terms of scenery. Pack your wellies, books, board games and screw in pegs.leave the TV at home as no reception on site. (We don't usually camp with the TV but as it was winter and we thought we'd have to forfeit our normal bbq entertainment!) Probably more a summer site where you are quite happy to sit outside your van all night with a bbq and don't have to find indoor entertainment for the evenings - or walk to the pub!

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MattCharlie 17 reviews from this member

I visited with my parents early this year in their caravan on a C&CC rally. It snowed constantly and we were under about 3 foot of snow, so as you can imagine we were stranded there for a few days and couldn't go to work what a shame, the extra nights we had to stay due to weather were offered to us for free. I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, am due to visit again soon on the C&CC rally again but this time in my trailer tent, hopefully we will see more snow again (with luck) as it was so much fun last time. The toilets are clean and tidy although not the warmest in the world. The drunken duck pub is about a mile away down a hilly and narrow lane which helps get rid of the beer belly a little. The pub is friendly though it is expensive and a little snobbish. All in all a wonderful site and am looking forward to my revisit as it is so beautiful up there. But i do find it is expensive when not on a rally. Hopefully I shouldn't have too many problems getting the pegs into the ground.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris45 1 review from this member

Visited for first time after reading good reviews. Roads VERY narrow/windy, When we arrived on road leading towards campsite, turned towards Skelworth Fold instead of carrying on following caravan sign. Difficult to turn around but managed it. Found campsite to be very nice, spacious and really quiet apart from RAF jet planes flying over 3-4 times a day REALLY loud. Didn't spoil our enjoyment of site though. We asked if there was space next to play area (we have a 5 year old) and was told sorry it was full but to go and have a look around and park up anywhere else. As we came out of reception a warden asked where we wanted to go and said he would make sure the park spaces were all full. He came straight back and told us there was one empty. On our way up to the pitch a deer ran straight out in front- didn't have camera handy though. There are just four-6 pitches in this part and right at side of excellent play area which was checked regularly by wardens for rubbish, damage etc. Great zip wire and football pitch, swings, slide etc. Very hard standings so take strong pegs! Lots of forest walks, about 1/2 hour to Ambleside but no pavements so have to be very careful with kids. Bus at gate to Windemere two adults/child £17 return but can use all day and get 20% off any boat rides. Attempted 'mile' walk to Drunken Duck pub. Seemed like 5 miles very narrow roads and very secluded. Didn,t serve what I call pub grub- more like posh gourmet food. Wasn't for us so we walked back and took car to Ambleside chippy. I would visit this site again as scenery is stunning, site clean and spacious. Daughter loved play area (as did all the kids) also liked watching the rabbits.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julieshaw2388 2 reviews from this member

This was our virgin tour and what a way to start!

The friendly greeting was second to none, the pitch was spacious, the play area was superb, the toilet blocks immaculate, other campers were great company, freshly baked croissants, peaceful surroundings.

What more could we ask for.we will be back!

Reviewer: Moonbeam2 2 reviews from this member

August 2005
Spent a week here in August. Quiet site set in gorgeous countryside. Woke to find deer grazing near caravan most mornings.
Fantastic astro turf football pitch and play area with zip slide. There is also lots of forest and grassy areas to play on. My kids (aged 11 and 8) absolutely loved this site.
Only downside was the toilet block which was old and drafty.
Also advisable to walk around the site first to choose your pitch as the road past the play area is a dead end and we had to unhitch to turn around! All pitches are hard-standing but we put an awning up with no problem.
Most of the pubs in the area are rather pricy but there is a Booths supermarket in Windermere so easy to stock up there.
No club house etc on site and TV reception is very poor.

Reviewer: Crookbar roo 1 review from this member

August 2005
After reading some of the reviews I thought this site would be awful.... but it wasn't, it was lovely, some people are just so picky! The staff are helpful and friendly, they told they sell the really hard standing pegs, which worked a treat, we didn't need a pneumatic drill!!! and as for the showers being too near the toilets, so what, they're not that bad, I'm fussy and if I can use them anyone can!
Anyway the site is lovely, it has a great childrens play area, a great shop and is set in fab forest, we went with 2 children aged 3 and 1 and they loved it and thats good enough for us.... we would go there again.

Reviewer: Aberlake 2 reviews from this member

April 2005
Was here week after Easter. Shop half empty and very pricey. Nearest supermarket (small co-op or Spar) in Ambleside. V. Difficult to park near the shops! Toilet blocks clean but quite drab and cold, despite being heated. This is a very large park (around 1000 statics) with space for 25 tourers. Strange being told to just "pick a pitch". Staff on this occasion were very courteous and helpful, but again found it strange that reception and shop were only open 9 to 5.

Only 10amp hookups available, but pitches generous, although entirely hard-standing so not suitable for trailer tents. Awnings were up on some pitches, but owners must have had pneumatic drills to put the pegs in! Very, very quiet. Really suitable for walkers as some superb walks nearby but families will find it a bind if having to entertain kids. Did find that local Indian in Ambleside will deliver!

Price for 2 adults and dog for 4 nights with electric and no awning in low season was £78, a bit pricey! Drunken Duck pub is "only" a mile away. As mentioned earlier this is a mile over extremely hilly and narrow roads, not suitable in dark or inebriated state. Pub pricey and quite snobbish. Dogs only allowed in Public bar (normal) but won't serve food other than sandwiches in the bar, so don''t take dog expecting a meal!

Reviewer: Paulfielding 3 reviews from this member

August 2004
This site is NOT for Trailer Tents, although advertised as such. The pitches were rock hard and covered with gravel. I much prefer walking bare-foot on grass. Poor drainage when it rained - standing water everywhere. As far as I am concerned, it has excellent views, great location, but that's about it.

Call me picky, but, having a shower less that two feet away from a toilet, makes for very smelly bathing.

Reviewer: BMW530 2 reviews from this member

Spring 2000 every year - 2004
Beautiful site with spectacular views, well stocked shop.
There is no bar, no club house, but fantastic setting for a relaxing time.
30-40 minute walk from Ambelside walking through woodland and past a scenic river setting.
Suitable for caravans and folding campers, NO ground tents allowed.
Quite spaceful pitches. Excellent kids playing area with an areial zip wire (good fun for adults too).

Reviewer: maxsabre 1 review from this member

June2004
Horrible,horrible site.The worst I have ever stayed on.The pitches are so cramped ,it's like sitting in a gravel car park.In fact save your money and go and spend a weeks holiday in caravan storage instead you would probably have more room!

Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2817 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019