Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Skelwith Fold Caravan Park Reviews

Skelwith Fold Caravan Park
B5286
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0HY
Tel: 015394 32277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 150
Open: March To End Of November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Frootbat 3 reviews from this member

Following on from my last review I want to add that having been again, touring units are very well catered for and there is no way that this place is being given over entirely to statics as they have just put in a motorhome grey waste disposal site and a bike / boot / dog wash area!

This is a fabulous site for wildlife. We saw deer in the woods and listening to the owls at night was magical.

The play area is great and it's a great park for the children to get around on their bikes. The views are magnificent and it's great walking country. The Drunken Duck is very nice indeed and they allow dogs in if you eat in the bar area as opposed to the restaurant.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Frootbat 3 reviews from this member

We have been to Skelwith Fold three times and think it is a really great site. I am quite sorry to learn from the other reviews that it may stop taking touring units in the near future.

I agree that the touring pitches are not the prettiest - there is no dividing hedge or even a dividing strip of grass, but most of the pitches back on to the woods and we saw a red deer from the comfort of our own van!

You can't beat the Drunken Duck for a drink outside with such great views of the fells. We usually go to The Glass House in Ambleside to eat as they do really good food and a good children menu at lunchtime (no rubbish!). It was on the first series of Gordon's Kitchen Nightmares but is really good now.

Back to the campsite. The children's playground is fabulous with an all weather football/basket ball pitch and pulley wire thing, swings, and everything. Also there is a great recreational space (a bit out of the way) but a fabulous space with picnic tables and benches and a table tennis table and a wooden stone circle feature.

The shop/reception has a book of around 13 walks of varying levels which are laminated and you can buy for £1 (money goes to conservation). I found the people in the shop/reception to be very nice and helpful.

The toilets are lovely and the cubicles themselves are the roomiest I have ever been in.

The only down side I can think of is that the site seems a bit subdued and none of the other campers seemed very friendly.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Neilrichardjones 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a very enjoyable week at Skelwith Fold. We find this site is an ideal base for walking in all areas of the Lake District. Being so close to Ambleside is also a bonus. OK, the pitches are a bit like National Car Parks, but when you have such an abundance of wildlife (roe deer visited our pitch side on several occasions) you can't complain - just remember rock pegs!
Facilities were quite adequate, toilet block nearest to us was clean and warm. Detest the Drunken Duck, but really liked Wainwrights at Chapel Stile and the Outgate Inn - proper walkers pubs, not catering solely for the London weekend set. Britannia Inn at Elterewater also very good. The walks from the site are worth investing in and are detailed and clear. I am sure we will be back (as long as tourers are accepted!?)

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Purplehat 30 reviews from this member

A large site devoted mainly to owned holiday statics, and this is clearly their major interest. Beautiful grounds, good reception, friendly staff, adequate but pricey shop.
Touring pitches in three area all completely covered in grey gravel over concrete. We gave up on the awning. Pitches variable in size often un-even and mainly quite small with some squeezed in on slope on side of main road. You choose your site on arrival so latecomers were left with some pretty dire pitches. TV and radio reception mainly poor to non-existent, but higher pitches with fish aerials reportedly OK. 
Children's play area but set away from tourers. Water points few and right behind parked caravans. Just one toilet for loo and waste water flush. Everyone used water points to flush away their waste water as it was too heavy for most people to lift their Wastemasters onto loo.
Refurbished and very clean toilet block but showers came under pressure. Push button flow control with extremely short intervals. Laundry room on site but always busy.
The famed Drunken Duck pub was a good miles easy walk away. Good for a drink and they have their own very tasty ales brewed for them. Good wines but a somewhat pretentious rather than creative menu. Prices were high, but so was everything in the Lake District.
Overall a very central location which is ideal for first timers to the Lake District.
Nearest supermarket 16 miles away and it can take up to an hour and a half to get there.  Almost everyone we spoke to was very disappointed with the site. It is very expensive for the quite basic facilities provided and the grey gravel wasn't pretty although necessary for a wet area. 
Not a site on which we would have wanted to sit around and relax, but we were there for the walking and driving over the white knuckle passes. For these activities, the site is perfect. The site will eventually be turned over to owned statics only and this is clearly where the owners interest lie.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maxandpaddy 12 reviews from this member

Arrival good, a beautiful setting very like driving into a stately home, woods etc. Also 5 star so must be good!  Reception from a very nice lady was good after a boring and long journey up the M6. Reception seems to double up as a shop which is the wierdest set up I have ever seen. Limited stock, pricey but with the benefit of local produce, bread and the bacon is the best!. 
Site is HUGE! wooded and some of the caravan pitches resemble graveled car parks! quite awful. Top of the site is a bit better with at least a view of trees. Pitches are grouped but small and we felt quite hemmed in. Again more gravel and well lets say concrete for your pegs to go in. They clearly have spotted a gap in the market, me and other vanners sharing out a ration of pegs to go through the terrain!. 
Quite a job! and at 75p a peg, I kid you not! 20 quid later and the job was done! 

Now having read all of these reviews we thought we would go to the infamous drunken duck, so with harris tweed jackets we walked up the hill. Loads of home owners in some strange world that thinks 30 quid on a VERY average main course is ok. We think otherwise. Next night we had a barbeque and beers on the gravel outside the van and it was much better. 
We think that the lakes eating establishments are VERY expensive and a place to avoid is Jade garden, 9 quid for some chow mein! the best is the Swan Hotel for style and content.
 
The site we found too far away from anything and having a shop that shuts at 6 to be insane. Walking from the area is fab though.

The toilets and showers should get a mention, very attractively done, slate floor etc, plants near the sinks etc, useless showers though that have that awful push button set up. Also the waste disposal is a  loo, try that with your wastemaster full up! Overall an average site but we think doesnt warrant the 5 stars due to location, and gravel, everywhere! far too pricey too!

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clark52 11 reviews from this member

Was here for a flying visit in May 2006, to take part in Kendal Rotary's 5 valleys challenge, which started in Ambleside.
Havent really seen enough of the site itself to do it justice, but what I did see was spot on.
Reception great, given choice of pitch. Toilets nice and clean. One tip, dont miss the turning (left) off the main Ambleside to Coniston rd, its almost impossible to get safely turned if you do.
Had a great night in Ambleside (as usual), wasnt at the drunken duck this time, but have been before. Beers fantastic, but wear suit and black tie to be sure of a good reception! Will be back to this one

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Maincoon 1 review from this member

Spent October half term at Skelwith and was very impressed with everything. Showers are convenient and clean, toilet block a bit cold in the evening but that is to be expected. Warden and staff really helpful -hook up coped with all our electrics including my hair dryer, straightners and all my general necessities!

Walk to Ambleside is great - even our 16year old enjoyed it but have to agree the Drunken Duck pub is not somewhere we would walk a mile for again. Drinks are expensive and they only serve organic cider at an exorbitant rate (3 drinks and 3 packets of crisps was over £10.00) and it is not a particularly great pub to go with a family for 'pub food' - the chippy in Ambleside is worth the walk tho, they do haggis in batter which my hubby can recommend.

We were happy enough we are going again next year as the location is great, the scenery is lovely, the woods were marvellous entertainment for our lad and the lack of lots of traffic on site means you can let the family play on site in safety.

A great place to visit from here - but is not well advertised by the Lake District board is Honister Slate Mine. They do a tour where you can go on a rather scary bus ride to the old mine then a walk into the mine following the route the miners used to take. It is cold and damp and you do get wet but it is well worth it for the rock formations inside.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ang/Ken 18 reviews from this member

Lovely site in woodland. There are several areas for tourers or motor homes (no camping pitches). All pitches are hard-standing with hookup and they keep some pitches just for twin axle caravans - I was told because they are usually longer vans. Toilets / showers in our area were clean & tidy.  Washing up sinks were outside which wasn't so good on the days it rained.  The staff are extremely helpful & friendly. 
They sell in the shop some walks from the site, not having done these planned routes before we found we had to take extra care in understanding the instructions.  The play area was well equipped, unfortunately we didn't find it until the last day. 
The nearest pub - The Drunken Duck wasn't for us, we looked but didn't stay.  Ambleside has many good places to eat including a great Indian Resturant. 
There is so much in this area to see we could of stayed a lot longer. Felt the side was a bit expensive at £24.50 per night for 2 adults & 1 child especially for the facilities they offer. 

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lennythevan 2 reviews from this member

A beautiful site with very friendly staff but a little too isolated in terms of walking distances to amenities for families with small children.  We also thought it was expensive considering the facilities / local amenities (or lack of them).
 
We are not a fan of the big holiday parks but we like a pub / restaurant within reasonable walking distance at night and other local amenities. We picked this site because it did say on its website that there were shops, pubs, etc. Nearby - but they are in driving rather than reasonable walking distance with a small child in tow.
 
We also had great difficulty pegging the awning down as the ground was so hard. We woke at 5am to our own swimming pool attached to the van. We had to cut our holiday short as the awning was irreparable - and our clothes and shoes inside soaked through. The site did refund our money for the rest of the holiday when we explained that our awning had collapsed. They informed us that it happened quite often in heavy rain. For future note, their camp shop sells special screw in pegs for the site (which would have been helpful information prior to us setting up - and also saved us the cost of a replacement awning)
 
Toilets were clean but consisted of a drafty portoloo that had seen better days. We stayed in a wonderful site in Bath through the summer that was a good few pounds a night cheaper and had beautiful bathrooms and an on site country inn so relatively, the facilities were a let down.
 
A quiet site for walkers with limited facilities and a bit overpriced. Ambleside is a joy - well worth a holiday visit - and the location of the site is superb in terms of scenery. Pack your wellies, books, board games and screw in pegs.leave the TV at home as no reception on site. (We don't usually camp with the TV but as it was winter and we thought we'd have to forfeit our normal bbq entertainment!) Probably more a summer site where you are quite happy to sit outside your van all night with a bbq and don't have to find indoor entertainment for the evenings - or walk to the pub!

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MattCharlie 17 reviews from this member

I visited with my parents early this year in their caravan on a C&CC rally. It snowed constantly and we were under about 3 foot of snow, so as you can imagine we were stranded there for a few days and couldn't go to work what a shame, the extra nights we had to stay due to weather were offered to us for free. I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, am due to visit again soon on the C&CC rally again but this time in my trailer tent, hopefully we will see more snow again (with luck) as it was so much fun last time. The toilets are clean and tidy although not the warmest in the world. The drunken duck pub is about a mile away down a hilly and narrow lane which helps get rid of the beer belly a little. The pub is friendly though it is expensive and a little snobbish. All in all a wonderful site and am looking forward to my revisit as it is so beautiful up there. But i do find it is expensive when not on a rally. Hopefully I shouldn't have too many problems getting the pegs into the ground.

Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4607 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019