Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Skelwith Fold Caravan Park Reviews

Skelwith Fold Caravan Park
B5286
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0HY
Tel: 015394 32277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 150
Open: March To End Of November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 74 Reviews
                9/10 from 74 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 5 miles   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gacull 5 reviews from this member

Although this site was big and roomy, it was very clean and good facilities. The emptying out of van waste was easy. The staff were helpful and pleasant. If you needed to go on the bus to save taking a vehicle you were a 10 minute walk down the drive to get to the bus stop. A word of caution if you decide to take the bus we had a 12 minute journey and that's with traffic, return trip 2 people cost us £10.60 (so don't forget Bus pass) Also follow directions given by site not Sat-Nav.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mooney3 6 reviews from this member

Just spent 4 nights at this magnificent site. If you are looking for peace and quiet with a lot of comfort this is the place. The surrounding views are out of this world. The site is very well spread out with a mix of Statics, super pitches, seasonal tourer pitches and std tourer pitches, all hardstanding and very level, no tents (I did see trailer tent there though !) There are many walks from the site that can be purchased for a small fee (£1 per walk). The shower units are new, warm and clean (albeit they can be busy as only 3 toilets and 3 showers for men)

Only digital television if you desire, and only from selected spots due to the very high trees around the site. Satellite wasn't any good either from the position we had.

Wi-Fi is only available on visiting the library.

There is a play / picnic field which is right on top of a hill and offers sun until late into the evening, great area for kick about with kids or family picnic.

Site is either a decent walk or a short drive from ambleside and also the opposite direction to Windermere lakeside.

Had a great time and would def return.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emilysianthomas 2 reviews from this member

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst I attended a Cani-X event (running with dogs) in Grizedale Forest which is very close by. When I arrived the staff were very friendly and helpful and the site was immaculate all over.

The pitches are all hardstanding so no problems with soggy ground and it is all tarmac roads.

The toilet block was so warm the whole time and the nicest showers I have experienced, under floor heating meant the joy of stepping out of the shower into a warm room!

The site is really well placed for both Windermere & Coniston Lakes but there is so much more you could see and do from here with Ambleside very close by for dinner out or a takeaway.

I actually had problems with my car on the day I was due to leave and the warden very helpfully got out of his bed to jump start my car so that I could get off on time.

Initially I thought this site was a bit pricey £27 per night(it was half term) but I appreciated the quality of the site and facilities available for example there was a DVD rental shelf and fresh baked bread and pastries daily in reception.

I cannot recommend this site highly enough for anyone looking for a peaceful break with a relaxed atmosphere and I even saw deer on site both mornings I walked the dogs - perfect!

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bootlucy 10 reviews from this member

Second stay here and this site cannot be faulted, beautiful surroundings,spotlessly clean and exceptional shower block.Well stocked shop with polite and helpful staff. We stayed on a premium pitch because they have tv hook-ups as reception is tricky.

Those wonderful people in reception will provide you with an extension lead for £5 refundable deposit. Great play areas for the kids and plenty of walks,we saw deer and squirrels on our first stay!

Ambleside is about 2 miles away and you can catch a bus at the site entrance,last one about 17 30, but be sure to book a taxi back if you want one, we didn't and had to walk back in very heavy rain!.There is a pub about a mile away but the road is narrow and unlit, without a footpath and we didn't fancy it in the dark,maybe ok in summer.

The approach roads are a bit tight in places but buses and coaches use them all the time so don't let this put you off just take your time and its ok.

All in all a great site, a perfect base from which you can explore the lakes. PS don't let the weather put you off!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wildduck 1 review from this member

We visited this site many years ago when we first started caravanning (1970ish) in fact it was my parents who introduced us to it and we had several happy holidays there,

We particularly enjoyed the nature of the site in the trees with small areas for individual caravans, at that point they did not have many motorhomes on site and only a few static vans,

The shop and office were housed in a wooden building the toilet and shower blocks were concrete rendered buildings, the showers were I remember a very good size, so the there was plenty of space and your clothes stayed dry!

Our return in September 2010 was during my coast to coast walk and we spent 3 nights there

The evolution of the site is superb and the new laundry facilities very welcome, as was the drying room.

The pitch was good with easy access to hook up, toilets, showers and wash up.

The shop and staff were great very helpful with good choice and fresh bread! they even had a record of previous visits.

We shall be staying there again in June this year, for 2 nights, while walking the Cumbria Way, which is close by, really looking forward to both the walk and staying at Skelwith.

The surrounding area is of course well known to lovers of lakeland, the site is close to Ambleside with lots of good restaurants for all tastes and there are 2 pubs within walking distance of the site.

This is a site well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Keltie2 3 reviews from this member

Absolutely love this site! Third visit this year and next one in 3 weeks - can't get enough. This site was our first on our return to caravanning last year, after many years and none of the other sites we have visited before or since comes close to being as good. Like many other sites in the Lakes, access roads are narrow, but this means no traffic noise from busy main roads - we've experienced that and are happy to cope with a few minutes of careful driving for the last mile or so instead.

All pitches on hard standing - hooray! Very nearly ruined our awning on a 'grass' pitch last month, give me a clean and dry hard standing every time.

We were, as usual, on the top of the site and the stroll down to the shop to collect fresh croissants each morning was blessed with the sight of a deer wandering through the bushes at the side of the site road no more than 5 metres away - awesome! The woodland areas are vast and wildlife plentiful. The toilet and shower block at the top is quite new, spotless, warm and the showers great.

We had five glorious days of sunshine and visited north and south Lakes - the site is pretty much in the middle, so easy access to the whole area.

Staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly and always happy to help. Local walk routes are available in Reception for £1, which is donated to the air ambulance/rescue. Free library on site, so plenty of reading material.

We ate out most days as there is plenty of choice, but can heartily recommend the Brittania Inn at Elterwater ten minutes drive up the road. Busy place and only small, but the food is amazing! Stay away from the Drunken Duck unless you've won the lottery though. The Chocolate House in Kendal is great for hot chocolate lovers too!

Definitely our favourite site, no question about returning again.And again!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alistair 8 reviews from this member

We booked our five night stay at Skelwith Fold after seeing their website and reading some of the reviews on here. We have arrived home after our visit with mixed feelings about the site, so we will list the good and the bad.

The Good

The instructions on the site on how to get there were excellent and we got there without getting lost. The access road to the site is superb - a red metalled road that is very wide with a smooth, undamaged surface.

Reception was excellent and out check-in was handled without delay. We were very impressed with the glass sliding doors taking customers into the well stocked shop and reception. Staff were very pleasant indeed and we received a brief site overview before being sent away to find our own slot. (We were too late to book one of the premium pitches unfortunately). Lots of local advice, walks and maps are available from the shop.

We have a TA van, and Reception gave us a map on which they outlined the TA pitches which were clearly marked. Finding a pitch was easy, and there was ample room to manoeuvre the van. We were on hard standing (all pitches are) backed up to the wall. Clear instructions are given on how to pitch.

The tariff paid for the van included all those staying in it, be it two people or six so in terms of cost per head it could work out very reasonable.

The Toilet block closest to us (we were right at the top of the site) was immaculate. It was finished in showerboard throughout, and the showers were in the form of a wet room. They were very modern and very clean.

Grey and toilet waste facilities were excellent as were the washing up facilities for those that wanted to use them. Plenty of water points.

There were optional activities laid on, for example while we were there, there was a bat evening happening where experts took those interested out looking for bats in the evening with bat detectors. They also brought along some bats to show. Unfortunately we missed it.

The peace & quiet was wonderful. Children and animals were well behaved throughout

The wooded setting was lovely and peaceful and it was only a short trip into Ambleside by car. Sadly it rarely stopped raining long enough to chance walking there.

The Bad

The road to the site from Ambleside!

Skelwith Fold state on their site that Satellite Navigation should not be used, but rather to follow the printed directions. It was no problem to us and we found our way following the directions without problem. What they don’t state though is that the road from Ambleside to the site is very narrow and very winding. As an experienced tower even I was heart-in –mouth with a 27’ TA van behind me and was never so pleased to see a turning into a site as I was this one! If you are not a confident tower then accessing this site may not be for you.

The pitches were all hard standing. If taking an awning then steel rock pegs need to be used to stand any chance of pining everything down. The shop sells these at a very pricey 75p each. I bent about 6 of ours getting our porch awning up.

Pitches were very tight. All vans are supposed to reverse in with the rear offside of the van on the pitch marker. This then allows for van, awning and car. In practice, most vans around us were nowhere the pitch marker, so space became so condensed that we were unable to get our guys out properly, let alone squeeze the car in between our awning and the next van.

The shop and reception were a long way from our pitch, which was fine for us but as the site is on a hill the infirm may find it hard going.

Visitors cars are charged at £5.00 per day, and the site are happy to take it, but during the weekend there was little or no room for a visitor’s car anywhere near our pitch or those around us.

As a keen photographer I was looking forward to the wildlife that the site offered. I took a plethora of equipment hoping for some great shots after having seen some of the wildlife at the site on Flickr. I have to report that if wildlife is your thing, forget Skelwith Fold! From the vicinity of out pitch and the woodland around it, all we saw was. 1 x blackbird in 5 days! In fact on the whole site we did not see as much as a crow or a pigeon, let alone rabbit, squirrel, deer or anything else. So from a wildlife point of view it was very disappointing.

Value for money? Well, for two people in a caravan at £30 per night it is very steep considering what is on offer. Top dollar is paid for being in the lakes. However, if you throw some more adults into the van, it becomes less painful.

Would we go back? No we wouldn’t. Not just to Skelwith Fold, but to the Lake District. It rained every day for the five days and was for us not worth taking the van through there. We will reserve the Lakes for out of season romantic getaways in nice hotels.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FNot 12 reviews from this member

Return visit to this site. Stayed 4 nights this time on premium pitch. Recommend these pitches if you cannot arrive early enough to choose pitch. There are approx 24 premium pitches which are serviced and slightly larger than the other areas.

We have dogs and like the fact that there are lots of walks in surrounding areas. Out of all sites in the Lakes this is probably our favourite. Agree with all previous reviews. Cannot fault anything on this site.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Emma_griffiths2009@ 3 reviews from this member

My husband and I stayed at Skelwith Fold for three nights at the end of April. The site overall was fantastic. All the Pitches were hard standing and pretty flat- we didn't have to get the chocks out to level the motor home what so ever. We could also choose from a wide choice of locations to pitch from near the woods, to the child play area, to somewhere near the toilet block. Because of this where we parked it was really quiet. No noise at night which was great!

The on site shop was brilliant and the opening hours were really good. Its by far the best on site shop I have seen so far.

The facilities were really clean and are pretty new ( about two years old from what I was told).

If you aren't going to be going without a car ie motor home beware that the distance into Ambleside is quite far. We used taxis a couple of time which were easy to book and pick up and drop off at the reception. Beware when booking taxis if you are planning on going out for the day. Book in advance as there were taxis up to a two hour wait. But there is a bus stop at the end of the road once every hour.

There are plenty of walks in the area and its such a great place to relax and unwind.

Overall for a quiet no hassle break I would definitely recommend it and I'm sure we will be going again soon (but with a car in tow).

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lrr77 14 reviews from this member

This is such a lovely campsite. The staff are very friendly and willing to let me look around before deciding whether to book a pitch for the night. There were a choice of 3 areas to choose from and they let you decide on which pitch you wish to use and you just let them know where you have decided on. The toilet/shower block was good and heated. There were laundry facilities but I did not use them and the dishwashing area is good.

The pitches have plenty of room and you have adequate space between each pitch for privacy. The pitches were on hard standing which is just as well considering it was very wet.

The site has a very well stocked nice shop where you can obtain most items. It was quiet and the site was quite busy but with it being so quiet you would not realise that.

Really impressed with the site and would re visit if I were back in the area.

Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5537 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019