Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kendal Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Kendal Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Millcrest,
Shap Road
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA9 6NY
Tel: 01539 741363
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
                7/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Whereeverelse 3 reviews from this member

Nice site, very friendly helpful wardens. We have used this as a stop over for four years now and can't fault it. Toilets and showers are clean and well kept. Some pitches may need blocks but we have not had to use them. A dog walk alongside the site is useful but sheep in the next field meant we kept them on leads just in case. Supermarket and refuelling a short distance towards Kendal town centre. We missed the motorway turn off this year and the sat nav took us the scenic route. ! NOT advisable! Mainly vertical single track! We'll know better next year and if travelling south on the motorway and you miss the correct exit I would recommend coming off and going BACK.

We will book again for next year.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rdee5 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site, friendly and helpful holiday site managers, great views of surrounding countryside and two supermarkets a short walk away ( try the riverside route for preference), Kendal rail station within easy walking distance, facilities clean if a little old fashioned. Most pitches need levelling blocks or chocks. All of South Lakes within a relatively short drive - Arnside, Silverdale, Windermere, Bowness etc

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pintacider 28 reviews from this member

Very nice site and in a great location. A 10/15 walk in to the town centre or 5 mins from Morrisons and Aldi's.

The toilets and showers were very clean and tidy. I guess some people might expect a little more glamour or room (depends on your size I guess) but they was perfectly ok and functional.

Those looking after the site were helpful and friendly.

Site was relatively small and some of the pitches were on a slope. Although ours was dead flat (pitch 2) - I've never seen the spirit level so even.

So would happily revisit and recommend to others.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rich1987 1 review from this member

The toilet block really does need updating. Shower cubicles are too small, with shower curtains that blow towards you whenever someone uses the hand-dryer or opens the door! Only 2 showers meaning a 20 minute wait if you happen to want to sleep after 7:30 whilst on holiday. ALL facilities are closed for cleaning from 10:30 until 12- Morrisons has toilets down the road! Why pay for CC membership- go to a proper family run campsite like Gwithian Farm in Cornwall or Rozel Camping Park Jersey- They know how to run a site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tlck9 32 reviews from this member

Met by a very friendly couple, the wardens for the site. The site was clean, tidy and showers were hot/clean. Not the most modern of facilities we have stayed in this week (others with heated under floor, etc), but still kept to a high standard and maintained.

Located close to Kendal, but a good walk, since there is plenty of parking we chose to drive. There are shops close by within around 10 minutes walk of the site.

I found the site quiet and in comparison to other sites we have stayed in, well priced for the area.

Views over the countryside and sheep in the next field along.

Our pitch was reasonably level and only needed slight adjustment on chox, reasonable size for our motorhome and access proved easy enough

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Avensis Lady 3 reviews from this member

A brilliant and compact little site with easy access to shops, buses and walking distance to Kendal Town Centre. We have been there numerous times since we joined the C & CC in 1991. We use it as a base to visit relatives and places of interest in the Lake District. The Managers are very friendly and helpful. We shall certainly be going back again. There are more hardstanding pitches than there used to be so we may have been better booking one instead of a grass pitch as we did get some rain during our 13 nights stay

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Susan G 8 reviews from this member

Arrived to find a few people wanting to book into site so it was almost 20min till we got our pitch. After putting up the tent we had to move it 12' due to the C&C club 6m rule but the warden did help us. The pitch was fairly level and nice size. The site facilities were ok but practical if anything the shower cubicles were a bit on the small side. Having said that there was plenty of hot water and they were free. The site staff were friendly too.

The site is about 30min walk into Kendal and about 10min walk from Aldi and Morrisons there is a short cut down the side of the river but involves some very narrow gaps in stone walls!.

All in all a quiet site with just a little noise from the West Coast Mainline over a mile away on the other side of the valley.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Diztaylor 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for the jubilee weekend from Friday to Monday. We have had a fantastic time

Good points.

Lovely area

Lovely staff

Very clean area and toilet / shower facilities

Good access to local attractions

Close to Morrisons if you need anything

Points for improvement.

Really bad sewage smell that came from the toilets to the play area, we did see a plumber there one of the days so maybe this is in the process of being fixed. If there wasn't this issue we would go again but the smell was awful so it has put me off visiting here again.

The play area could do with more play things in there, one swing, one baby swing and one slide and an area for playing with balls.

The showers. There are only two in the ladies not sure about the mens. The shower cubicles are very small so when you have young ones its near on impossible to shower them and get ready yourself.

We were told we were not allowed to play ball games around the tent as there is an area to play ball in the play area, we were fine with this however this rule was not enforced as other children were playing football around our tent. We didn't mind that but if its a rule that they said we were not allowed to do with our children then this should be stuck to with others too. The staff were walking past when ball games were played and nothing was said

Points that couldn't be helped.

The sheep! they are so noisy we didn't really get any sleep on any of the three days we were there. They are very close to the camp site and very loud practically all night!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hulluk1 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, clean and well kept, easy to get to. Manager was friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

Shower block was clean and well kept with plenty of hot water, wasn't hugely busy when we were there, but only 2 showers in each block, so probably more of a problem during busier periods.

Part of the site is on a hill, which might be tricky for some people, we had a site on the flat, which was fine, but did have to use a leveller.

Morrisons supermarket 10 minute walk and Kendal about 20 minute walk. Windermere and Bowness short drive away.

Great base for exploring the rest of the Lakes. Would definitely go again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Louisechloe 22 reviews from this member

On arrival met by a nice couple who booked us in and showed us to our hardstanding pitch and explained where everything was. Our pitch was very uneven and there were already some wooden chocks owned by the campsite by our pitch which we were told we could use. We tried every thing to try and get it even but ended up just leaving the motorhome with an incline on it. I thought I would ask the next day if we could move if there were any vacant pitches, but I did not bother asking.

Other than that the site is lovely and clean, the toilet blocks were clean but reminded me of school toilets, the wash up area has 2 sinks with plastic bowls and drainers to use. Kendal town is a couple of minutes in the car, I don't think I would like to have walked it with the kids. Although it is a nice site, all the strict rules and regulations are a bit over bearing.

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3763 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019