Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kendal Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Kendal Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Millcrest,
Shap Road
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA9 6NY
Tel: 01539 741363
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
                7/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Moonseeker 6 reviews from this member

We've just got back from this delightful site.

The site was spotless - although rather muddy, thanks to the rather wet weather that we have been experiencing. Daily rain meant that the ground didn't get the chance to dry out.

We were greated by a very friendly man, who was very apoligetic at the fact that there was a slight delay in checking in, but he was solo that day.

The toilets and shower blocks were immaculate, with plentiful hot water - the only slight downside was that the shower cubicles were rather small for mums with children. One child was possible - two and it was very cramped.

There was always plenty of hot water in the washing up area. I was impressed at the fact that a bowl and drainer was provided. Although there were only two sinks this was not a problem.

Wasshing was £2 a load and drying 50p for 20 minutes - my load was dry in about 30 minutes.

Morrisons is within walking distance, along with Aldi. There is a large carpark, and buses into Kendal itself.

Although there isn't much in the playarea, it is a decent size, and there is a separate ball field.

My two spent a lot of time just running around the play area.

We would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Farshar 2 reviews from this member

A lovely, quiet campsite in beautiful surroundings. Suitable for families and couples.

Site owners were friendly and polite and general atmosphere of the camp was very welcoming.

Toilet and shower facilities were clean with powerful showers. Close to large supermarket for supplies.

There is a small play park for the kids and nice walks along the riverside.

I would recommend this site to anyone seeking a peaceful break in a relaxing and scenic location.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Watty1976 1 review from this member

We went on a two night break to this site, on arrival we were met by friendly staff who showed us where we could pitch our tent.  The site is well situated and easy to find.  The facilities are spotless and well deserving of the toilet's of the year award!  There is an area to wash pots etc with a seperate sink for laundry also a washer and dryer, very handy.  My daughters aged 9 and 10 loved it, made lots of friends and were kept entertained in the play area,  while we struggled putting up and taking down the tent, anyone with children knows that feeling.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steve1961 18 reviews from this member

Spent a lovely few days here, the site & toilets are very well looked after & clean, the wardens have only been there a few months & are lovely & friendly, they showed us to our pitch, unhooked the van & pushed it into place for us without me having to do a thing. There is a small shop on site selling gas bread etc & a newspaper delivery service, also a retail park close by with supermarkets etc. It's about a five minute drive into Kendal & around 10 to 15 mins into Bowness, The site is on a hillside so leveling blocks are advisable, the tv reception is not brilliant. We would return to this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TekkieAnne 10 reviews from this member

Though we were warned that some pitches would be sloping, we hadn’t realised how bad it was. We were taken to a pitch and told to park the caravan wheels on two slabs, meaning we could not park sideways to try to negate the hill. We had to use several large blocks of wood under the jockey wheel and front steadies in order to level the caravan. The back of the caravan was sitting on the ground. As for the awning –we had to try to level the table with blocks of wood but the plates still slid sideways while we tried to eat our meals and our chairs were at a weird angle! We gave up in the end and ate inside the caravan. There were flat areas on the site and we watched people arrive, stay on a flat pitch for a couple of days and move on, while we were stuck on our hill for nine days. The manager was very protective of the grass. As we were sited between two roads, we took the easiest route which was slightly longer that the other route. We were told not to go that way, so had to manoeuvre the car backwards and forwards to take the shorter route. We found this rather strange as we caused more damage to the grass doing this. The site was very full while we were there and we felt quite hemmed in by the other units on three sides, especially when the BBQs were lit. This is unusual for a Camping and Caravanning Club site. On the bright side, the facilities were good, clean and seemed to be adequate for a full site. There were good walks around the site, including a dog walk and, if you were so inclined, you could walk to the supermarket. Kendal was very busy and not my sort of town but it is a good base for exploring the Lake District. Our days out were wonderful, with scenery to die for. This was the reason we went to the Lake District and we would love to go back there. However, we wouldn’t stay at this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neilwirving 2 reviews from this member

A lovely well kept site. 
Myself and my fiance went with another young couple who were in a caravan for a week at the start of June this year.  The site itself was very well kept with the grass cut everytime a unit moved off site and nearly everyday in other areas.  Toilets and showers were clean, only 2 toilets 2 showers in each block, however this was never really a problem even though the site was full.  It has a small play area for kids seperate from the tourers.
 
Nearby, Kendal is only a 1 1/2 mile walk away (about 20mins away at our pace) its a nice town with cafes, bars, restaurants (try Cortez for fantastic Spanish) and plenty of shopping.  The nearest pub is the Duke of Cumberland about a mile away over some fields, good beer, good food, good atmosphere.  Windermere is 15 minutes by car and there is plenty to do there also Ullswater 30min and Keswick 30 min.
 
Will be there again, hopefully soon!

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DizzyIzzyWizzy 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site for two nights with our new tent which is 4.85m x 6.40m it is fairly large but not the biggest on the market.  we were told on booking that this size of tent was just within the limits of the pitch size. 
 
on arrival the staff were friendly and very helpful but quite specific on where we should pitch the tent.  once we had pitched and got organized the man who ran the site came over and was disputing the size of the tent and made it clear that he was not happy as he thought it was too big. Quite abruptly he informed us that we were lucky, he would allow it, but many other sites would turn us away.
 
However once we had let his comments fly over our head we enjoyed the weekend, the site is lovely, the grass was immaculate, with lovely views. 
 
The retail park is just a short walk away which is very handy and there is a very sizable children's play area with swings and slide etc.
 
The toilet and shower blocks were wonderfully clean however I feel that the shower cubicles are a little small, but functional all the same.
 
I would recommend this site but if you have a large tent prepare for some sarcastic comments and a lecture if the area dimensions are larger than a caravan with an awning!

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 493 reviews from this member

An excellent little site, well located on the A6 a mile out of Kendal towards Shap. Staff were very friendly and accommodating and the site manager assisted me when my vehicle briefly broke down. Showers and toilets immaculately kept and the reception sold some basic essentials. Some nice walks around the site, one of which takes you to a useful retail park with Morrisons, Aldi and Halfords. Great site - highly recommended!

Reviewer: York3379 3 reviews from this member

June 2004
I have stayed here several times over past 4 years. It is a medium to small site with basic but clean facilities. great location (but no good pubs within walking distance). I would go again even though the helpful staff are brusque and un smiling. The grass is always in excellent condition.

Reviewer: dweeby 2 reviews from this member

May 2004
Excellent little site 1 mile out of Kendal, but you wouldn't know it whilst on the site. Immaculately kept, short grass and spotless toilets. Normal CCC facilities of hookups, some hard-standings, kids play area etc.

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2791 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019