Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kendal Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > Kendal Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Kendal Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Millcrest,
Shap Road
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA9 6NY
Tel: 01539 741363
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: York54 2 reviews from this member

We were very disappointed in this site Normally C&CC sites are brilliant. We had booked a hardstand but were put on a bit of gravel that we were told had been flooded the week before! They had to cut the grass next to us whilst we were setting up.

Directly in front of us about 12 feet we had a motorhome - so brilliant view! Then the assistant warden parked his Navarro between us and the motorhome! Glad we had our own shower as there weren't enough for the amount of people.

The warden told us to write and complain to the club as they never get any modernisations done. It is a very busy site so don't know why this would be.

Shan't be going back - the windermere site is loads better!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adsheadv 11 reviews from this member

A small but well kept site with friendly, helpful staff who obviously take a pride in keeping the place spotless.

Toilets/showers were small but fine & likewise with washing facilities.

The hardstanding we'd paid for consisted only of 2 rows of stony surface for the wheels to sit on.

The space where we had to pitch our awning was like a mud-wrestling ring & we couldn't step outside the door without having to walk through it & everything ended up filthy.

Maybe it's our understanding of hard-standing that's wrong but unfortunately this has put us off & we won't be returning here.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: V1a3w 21 reviews from this member

Very friendly staff - managed to squeeze us in on a grass pitch in the monsoon season, however no problems.

Toilet block small (including shower cubicles) so to avoid a queue it's best to get up early.

Walked to morrisons to get bus into town but after a day around the lakes on buses it was a shock to find no buses came back after 6pm even on a Saturday, however a taxi was only £4 & it was probably walkable if you had a street map.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ecosse 6 reviews from this member

A well kept site with good clean facilities, although there were queues both mornings for the showers. Our only gripe was although many flat pitches lay empty for the time we were there, we were allocated a spot in 'the hole' (named by regular users who avoid it). We had to use a total of 6 blocks to try and level our camper and I must admit was a bit nervous as I felt we were perched up on them especially on one side. Be warned if your unit is less than 18 feet long as this is where you will probably be sited. We would only return if able to have a flatter pitch.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Farmers wife 4 reviews from this member

Fantastic site - small and perfectly formed! we were welcomed by the very friendly host and shown all the facilities which are clean and looked after well. This site is perfect for young children as there is a separate area for swings and ball play and fantastic dog walks just a few steps away from your pitch.

The ideal site for sitting, enjoying the scenery and not moving from your tent! the pitches are well spaced out and everything you need for a quiet, relaxing time is there - we will def be back. Don't think we will beat this one for organisation , cleanliness and friendliness!

Location is perfect for getting to Kendal and Windermere if you feel the need!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonchris 11 reviews from this member

A nice site close to kendal town centre and morrisons but yet still in the countryside. Good toilet and shower block. The booking in could be improved by being quicker as you get held up and others already there get held up as they canít get by people waiting, as we found out. Still a nice site close to the lakes and quiet on a night.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Michelle + Kev 33 reviews from this member

We stayed for 2 nights over the May Day Bank Holiday Weekend.

Small site. Toilets and showers are clean, only 2 showers though, but very clean and hot. Hairdyrer in toilets 20p for about 10 - 15 mins.

We were on Hardstanding and it was great, first time for us and I loved it. Some of the grass pitches were muddy and some of the grass was churned up.

The camping field had very long grass I heard the Manager say as we booked in he hadn't had time to cut it.

You can walk along the river and through the fields to the Morrisons or along the main road. Also a Next, Pets at Home and a few other shops there too.

Small play area and ball games area for the kids.

Dishwashing and laundry room very small could only fit two in there at once, but again adequate as the site is only small.

All in all a good site with good clean facilities would return for a weekend.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Motty27 2 reviews from this member

My boyfriend and I and our dog have stayed at this site once.

The site is small but very well kept and the toilet block is very clean.

Staff we quite helpful - we were shown to our pitch.

There is a decent amount of space between pitches so you don't feel crowded or get any annoyance.

Although the site was very pleasant and civilised, it was very quiet (a bit like being in a library) so I think it is more suited to older couples or families who are used to civilised camping.

Also we didn't find any country pubs or cafes within walking distance, so we sat outside our tent in the evening but almost felt like we had to whisper.

A nice site but wouldn't go back as a couple - but would be ideal for those with young children, who want peace and quiet only.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BobOn 17 reviews from this member

Nice peaceful site North of Kendal just off A6, about 1/2 mile from Morrison's which you can walk to along the river. Caravans down on the flat and most tents up on a small hill so may have to look for a flat spot. Staff welcoming and friendly. Not sure about availability of hook ups as they're not something I use. Reasonable, £36 for large tent for four nights, two with children and two on my own. May be slightly more for non-members?

Small playground with slide and two swings for children.

Toilet blocks clean, although shower room floor always seemed wet but there's a mop to clear up the excess.

Weather typical for this summer, wet most of the time but you don't go to the Lakes expecting much else!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Binjence 2 reviews from this member

We have just come back from two nights at this site (our first visit). We were in the tent area although would normally have booked a pitch with electric hook up were one available. The tent area is on top of the hill giving great views of Kendal and the surrounding hills but leaving us rather exposed in the wind and rain on Saturday night. The staff were reasonably friendly although busy. As it is a small site, our son was quite happy to ride his bike and visit the small playground on his own. The toilets, showers and washing up facilities are really clean but we did have to queue each morning for the showers (their are only 2 for the ladies and a further 2 for the men) and also for the dishwashing as there are only two sinks (but bowls provided which was brilliant). The site is in a great location for exploring the southern lakes and only a 5 minute drive to Morrisons supermarket which was handy. There is some road noise from the A6 but the campsite itself is really quiet at night. Good food to be found at the Wheatsheaf pub at Brigsteer and at the bakery/ coffee shop at Staveley. We concluded we would visit again!

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2261 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019