Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kendal Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Kendal Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Millcrest,
Shap Road
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA9 6NY
Tel: 01539 741363
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 51 Reviews
                7/10 from 51 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fatbird 9 reviews from this member

Charming site set in stunning countryside. Really helpful and friendly staff with fantastic local knowledge. Spotless facilities albeit limited. Beautiful walk into Kendall which is a lovely dog friendly town.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Moss the Boss 5 reviews from this member

Small, quiet site by the River Mint. Ideally located for Kendal, the Eastern & Central Lakes, Howgills, North part of Morecambe Bay & Western Yorkshire Dales. Morrisons, Aldi & Kendal retail park in easy walking distance.

It is in desperate need of investment. The road into the site is very potholed. The toilets are ancient with just 2 WCs & 2 small showers in the gent's. The narrow roads around the site are also potholed. The pitch we were on was small & some pitches aren't level. We don't mind this type of site, happy to stay on them, but we do mind what the C&CC charged for what is a very basic site with poor infrastructure.

If you are used to good standards with other C&CC sites, you may well be disappointed at Kendal.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Macduff 6 reviews from this member

Nice site in lovely location and only a 10 minute walk to morrisons for bus into kendal. Staff very pleasant and helpful. However the shower/toilet 'facilities'care disgraceful!only 6 toilets and 4 showers in total for a site with 50 pitches and charging £27. 50 a night ! It is way past time that a new shower/toilet block was built. As a member of c+c club i am appalled that they allow this state of affairs to continue. We will not be coming back here until some improvements are made.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jtyson 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site with good access to the Lake District. This is a small site on the outskirts of Kendal meaning it's a good base to travel to other places in the Lakes.

On arrival we checked in at the reception which also sold some basic supplies. We had a choice of where to pitch on the grass only area which turned out to be close to the playground and toilet/ shower block. The toilet/ showers were kept clean although the showers did spray water all over the floor so there was a mop and floor squeegee to deal with the water which sometimes flooded across the room. The amenities are dated and do the job but could be upgraded to a more modern and higher standard.

There is a pot wash and clothes dryer which is handy when the rain doesn’t stop! All the staff were very helpful.

The site is close to a supermarket and small retail park which is handy for food or camping supplies.

Overall a nice small site which is close enough to Kendal and main routes to the motorway and Lakes to make it a good base. It was quiet and we woke to birds singing. Which is just what you want for a taste of the countryside.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Damaca 24 reviews from this member

Beautiful location, convenient for Kendal and with walks available direct from the site. However the facilities block is very dated and has far too little space for the capacity (tents and caravans/ motorhomes) of the site. Equally, the separate building with laundry and dishwashing facilities is too small and crowded. Both these buildings look like former farm outhouses, but whatever they are or were, they need to be replaced. They also don't have a grey water disposal point (or if they do, it cannot have been operative when we were there, as the site manager specifically told us there was no facility).

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 125 reviews from this member

Lovely location 1 ½ miles outside Kendal, however inadequate and dated ‘rural’ facilities with only 2 toilets and showers / block for the 50 pitch site – great if you like doing the morning queue session!

Washing up area doubles up as laundry and at the time of the visit had run out of hot water for the dishwashing.

Positive site, spacious site with delightful views and extremely friendly and helpful wardens. Lots of walks including riverside walk directly from site.

No facilities for kids, but wooded area on hand with plenty of adventures to be had for young explorers

Morrisons and Aldi supermarkets ½ mile from the site.

Overall, good site but outdated toilet block.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kaut0Bill 17 reviews from this member

Mike, Christine and the assistant warden (think it was Simon) are a credit to the club and are as good as any wardens we've come across during our years camping etc.

The site is in a picturesque location and immaculately maintained. It is however one of the most least level sites we have stayed at and blocks are needed on the majority of pitches. The amenities blocks though well maintained are somewhat small (2 showers & toilet cubicles in both male & female blocks) and dated. However Mike informed us that new and larger facilities are planned for next year. Also no drain off points for MH on board tanks though again Mike stated this facility will also be available from next year.

It is a walk of between 20 to 40 minutes into town dependant on which route you take. You can access the main road from the camp down the drive or footpath along the river and then the town either by the main road footpath or continue along the river or use a mixture of both.

There is a large Morrisons, Aldi and other stores at the retail park a 10 to 20 minutes walk (on the route to town) dependant on which route you take.

We would definitely use the site again if visiting the Kendal area. It is an ideal site for Motor Homes if you do not want to drive off site.

In Kendal we would recommend the Bride Hotel for deliciously fresh cooked food.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TomMac 27 reviews from this member

Just under 2 miles from Kendal town. Slightly hilly site, some pitches aren't level we were lucky to get a flat one. It rained two days out of the 3 we were there, and the site isn't well drained. Toilet blocks small and outdated, but always very clean, apparently new ones/updated ones are being built. Turn left and Morrisons is up the road on the left. Very busy tourist town, parking can be a problem, so we got taxis a few times.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lozhedgehog 4 reviews from this member

We live just eight miles from this site and both work in Kendal! We decided to stop here as it was my works party at the rugby club just down the road and it was cheaper to stop the two nights than a taxi home! So glad we decided to stop :-)

It is in a brilliant location far enough out of town to be peaceful and safe but an easy, level walk to shop, pubs, restaurants etc.

We had a slight issue with the type of pitch we were given in that we asked for an all grass pitch but were given all hard standing (and paid more for it) even though there seemed to be a couple of grass pitches available.

It's a very tidy site with OK toilet facilities. I say OK as there are only 2 cubicles available for gents and 2 for ladies. With the possibility of about 200 people on the site it's not enough so queuing is going to happen. The toilets also close between 10:30 and 12 which is a really inappropriate time, however they are clean and well kept.

Other than that it's great and within 10 mins walk of the northern end of town with supermarket and out of town shopping.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Whereeverelse 3 reviews from this member

Nice site, very friendly helpful wardens. We have used this as a stop over for four years now and can't fault it. Toilets and showers are clean and well kept. Some pitches may need blocks but we have not had to use them. A dog walk alongside the site is useful but sheep in the next field meant we kept them on leads just in case. Supermarket and refuelling a short distance towards Kendal town centre. We missed the motorway turn off this year and the sat nav took us the scenic route. ! NOT advisable! Mainly vertical single track! We'll know better next year and if travelling south on the motorway and you miss the correct exit I would recommend coming off and going BACK.

We will book again for next year.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3592 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!