Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kendal Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Kendal Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Millcrest,
Shap Road
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA9 6NY
Tel: 01539 741363
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
                7/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katie_and_Andy 1 review from this member

As an avid camper I was cautious about camping on a site which also catered for caravans, motorhomes etc. I have never been so pleased to be so wrong! Kendal C&C is a pleasant site with sparkling ablutions and welcoming staff who are a credit to the C&C club, with their attention to detail and courteous nature. There was a small shop within reception which sold toiletries, washing up sponges et c. And a small children's play area which comprised of a set of swings and a slide.

Surrounded by trees this site was secluded and well suited to family camping, but possibly a bit pricy for single or couple campers. You do, however, get what you pay for with this site, which is within a 20min walk of Kendal (approx 2miles) and close to Public Footpath walkways. Dogs are welcome. The ablutions close daily between 11am and 12noon which shows the cleanliness of this site. A small seat/stool is also located in each shower for anyone with mobility conditions or for those after a long day's hike! Would definitely go again!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Goldfish Boy 5 reviews from this member

Stayed at the Kendal club site for a weekend in June along with three other parties.

We all arrived separately and unfortunately our visit didn't get off to a good start when one of the managers proceeded to berate each of us in turn, the first for parking on the grass near the reception desk (they were first time campers) the second for taking the wrong road on the way to their pitch, and the third for forgetting to bring their club membership card. She was quite rude to three of the four groups in our party which we all felt did not get our visit off to a very good start!

The good news is that our visit definitely improved from there - the other two managers were very friendly and even came to see that we were all settling in well. The site was small and basic but clean, quiet and well kept and the play area for the kids was a real bonus. Our pitch at the top of the hill was a good size and was only on a gentle slope and the managers had clearly made an effort to pitch us all together.

I heartily recommend a visit to the Maize Maze which is a short drive away and has loads of stuff to do (even if the maze isn't open) and of course an extremely short drive to Morrisons Cafe for Sunday Breakfast!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ric03 3 reviews from this member

This is a lovely, small site with friendly wardens and good local amenities.

I found the site easily enough. Simply drove through Kendal (following signs for Penrith) until I came to the train station. It's about half a mile further on after bearing left past the station (on the A6 to Penrith).

The warden and his wife were both very helpful and welcoming. The site is fairly small (and quiet) with a nice, clean toilet block (the showers were always nice and hot) and good washing facilities. I was in a tent and the camping area is very close to the toilet block (but with the site being relatively small, all the pitches are fairly close to it). Adjacent to the site, is a field (which leads to more fields) alongside the river for walking the dog (so he was very happy!:) There is also a small playground on site for the kids.

It's only 2 mins drive from a large Morrison's, and Kendal town centre itself is within walking distance. From there, you're about 10 minutes drive over to Windermere. Kendal itself has a nice art gallery, a museum and plenty of good shops. The castle is quite ruined, but it still makes for an interesting visit (it's free and you can take your dog inside).

I liked this site so much I've booked another week. I did stay also at the Windermere C&CC site, which was also very nice but much bigger. The distance between them isn't much and if you prefer a small and friendly site then you're probably better choosing this.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sage 2 reviews from this member

This is a well located sight within a half hours walk of Kendal along the river bank for part way. Shops supermarkets takeaways and pups are all handy.

The site itself we felt was run along military lines no booking in before 12.00hrs, toilets closed 11.00 to 12.00hrs for cleaning and stuck too with no forbearance as we have come to expect with other sites.

We also asked if we may choose a pitch as the site didn't look full. We were told only one pitch free. Then we passed half a dozen empty pitches which we liked better which we still empty the next morning when we left.

Fresh water tap was hidden from view and not near the ablutions as expected.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Turkeyboy 1 review from this member

Visited for a weekend in august,Nice peaceful site, area for the children to play.

The toilets were small but clean and were not a big problem(This is camping) and close to the tent field not pushed further away by all caravans.

The site is in a lovely area with a short walk to morrisons and about half an hour from the town.

There is also a dog walk along the river through fields.

Wardens made us feel very welcome and always ready to assist.We will definitely be using this site again as weekend was not long enough for us here in this location.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Neil and lena 50 reviews from this member

Good site for visiting Kendal as it is only 15 minutes walk to the Town Centre and as mentioned in other reviews there is a Morrison's very close by for all your shopping needs. The site wardens were friendly and helpful considering we arrived without a booking and we were given a hard standing pitch with nice views of the surrounding hills.

The Toilet Block is what I would describe as rather tired and a bit worn out although clean but not what were used to and certainly not up to Caravan Club site standards and the Ladies showers were tiny with no room for changing let alone showering and washing your hair. I doubt if we will use this site again unless the site facility's are upgraded

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Linda25 1 review from this member

Small site, Wardens seemed to keep to themselves, rarely seen them and when I did, they seemed reluctant to speak, found this strange as other sites we have been to wardens were most friendly. The site itself is nice and well kept, very quiet in the evening which I like. Biggest complaint I have is the toilet blocks. Spotlessly clean but only two showers which are tiny ! Big struggle when my little boy was in with me absolutely no room. The sinks are opposite the toilets four of each, so if someone is doing a no.2 and your are right opposite washing, its rather smelly! The sinks are not in separate cubicles all open which I don't like either no privacy. The toilets also closed from 11 to 12 as normal but there is no other toilets at all for use at this time. Normally disabled toilets are used but there are none so you have had it. The grass also was quite long as not cut the whole ten days we were there. Lovely area lots of things to do but don't think would return to this site simply due to the toilet facilities which is a shame. Perhaps I am too fussy !

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aleslie31 1 review from this member

It was a lovely site the staff were nice and friendly with a well kept site it had nice views of the hills it was very peaceful and quiet I would recommend this site.

My wife and I will defo be going again sometime.

Location wise it was wonderful especially if you liked going for long walks Kendal town centre was about 20-30 mins walk from the site

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyhinch 2 reviews from this member

Nice site and great location, we must have caught the wardens on a bad day as quite a few people where complaining about the way they were spoken to and a few errors were made by the staff,but hey worse things happen at sea !

Shower block is small but clean and tidy and lots of hot water, just get up early and no problems. The site is ideally placed for either touring or just kicking back and relaxing.We will be back for sure.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: York54 2 reviews from this member

We were very disappointed in this site Normally C&CC sites are brilliant. We had booked a hardstand but were put on a bit of gravel that we were told had been flooded the week before! They had to cut the grass next to us whilst we were setting up.

Directly in front of us about 12 feet we had a motorhome - so brilliant view! Then the assistant warden parked his Navarro between us and the motorhome! Glad we had our own shower as there weren't enough for the amount of people.

The warden told us to write and complain to the club as they never get any modernisations done. It is a very busy site so don't know why this would be.

Shan't be going back - the windermere site is loads better!

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3022 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019