Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stanwix Park Holiday Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Silloth > Stanwix Park Holiday Centre Reviews

Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Greenrow
Silloth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 4HH
Tel: 016973 32666
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 101 Reviews
                8/10 from 101 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adms007 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 5 nights at Stanwix, 3 families in 3 tents, with 4 children (age 10-12) and 4 adults. Had a great time helped by the glorious weather. Staff helpful and friendly. Pitches on the small side, not much room for sitting out, with all the cars parked. Shower blocks brilliant, clean, tidy, warm and lots of baths too. The disabled bath/shower room excellent and well used by us, as my grown up daughter broke her ankle while we were there (no fault of the site). Only downside is placement of toilet roll in disabled bathroom (can't be reached when on the loo). Kids loved the park area and played tennis. Crazy golf a bit naff. Outdoor swimming pool fantastic, especially as you can take dogs poolside. Indoor pool good, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi great. Didn't do entertainment other than the bowling which was reasonably priced. Cafe basic but good, shop ok, if a little expensive. Didn't leave the site much (due to my daughter's injury, but lots to do on site. Visited Dunes cafe/bistro, excellent, let us borrow wheelchair for the remainder of holiday! Can't praise them highly enough.

All the kids want to go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: RBSB 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a mid week half term break. On arrival, the site looked very welcoming and reception staff very polite. Our welcome pack had not been prepared though and the receptionist very apologetic.

We were then directed to our pitch. This is when the holiday started to go down hill. A third of the pitch, no 17, was taken up by two large trees, a third tree had obviously been blown down at some point and a huge uprooted rootball and stump remained, which children from surrounding pitches constantly climbed on. I got so sick of telling them to move off our pitch I eventually gave up.

Even though we only had a smallish awning this left us with very little space to put out table and chairs and considering this pitch had cost the same as the other pitches I felt ripped off.

The first day we used the indoor pool as the weather wasn't too good and my daughter thoroughly enjoyed herself.

That evening we had a walk down to the bar. Not really our scene as we don't play bingo And our daughter found the entertainment more suited for young children. We left around 9pm.

That evening we were woke up by noisy drunks staying on pitches 51 to 53 effing and jeffing.

The following day the weather was much better so we walked down to the beach and into the town. Can't really say there was much there except a spar and co-op.

Spent the afternoon around the outdoor pool. IMO the pool is quite dangerous as there are no proper indicators of the whereabouts of the pools deep parts. On that afternoon I saw two children being fished out of the pool after venturing into the middle and encountering the sudden drop.

We didn't use the bar that night as the sun stayed out late into the evening and after most of the families went there the site was lovely and peaceful. Until the people from across the way returned home drunk and swearing again.

Glad to have left the following morning as people seemed to be arriving for the weekend and I though the site was busy enough for us already? 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LR2007 23 reviews from this member

 The site itself is very well maintained and very tidy. The clubhouse in my opinion is very unnactractive as it looks like an airport lounge and the pitch we were offered overlooked this view and the caged tennis courts. We were then offered a pitch on the quieter side of the touring pitches which was far better. That said it is also in the vicinity of the camping pods which appeared to be booked by families on the weekend. Some of these families unfortunately spoilt this site as the children ran riot, played ball games next to caravans etc and had total disregard for other campers. The toilet facilities etc were cleaned daily to a very high standard, however over the weekend period were trashed by children not being supervised. We only booked this site as my husband was there to play golf at the local club. Wouldn't return to this site as perhaps for the touring side some rules and boundaries need to be put into place and then monitored? 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elysiumuk 2 reviews from this member

 A very good site for families with children. Really good facilities. The kids loved the indoor swimming pool and it was great to be able to go bowling one night without leaving the site. The entertainment in the evening is good for the children although don't expect theatre standard shows! The kids loved the disco though.

The tent pitch we had was quite close to the toilet block which got a little bit smelly, so it would be good if it was cleaned a little more regularly.

It is quite far from the traditional lakes and I wouldn't like to pitch here in high winds.

Overall, I would recommend. We would go back here again in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Cheffy81 2 reviews from this member

 Great park, lovely modern facilities the toilet block was kept clean and has plenty of toilets showers and baths the campers kitchen is a great idea it has four electric stoves four microwaves and two sinks all clean and tidy the pitches have plenty of room with electric hook up and water at each pitch,

My daughter loved the pools especially the outdoor one and I loved the sauna and steam room the play park was good but would reccomend it for 8 and under, the evening entertainment was good but there is only so many times you can watch magic and I have a fobia of clowns and on our last night there was a clown in doing magic.

All in all it was a good week and we will return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wildernesseddie 1 review from this member

 We have been going there for the last 10 years off and on, and have booked for aug bank holiday 2015. We love it here, the journey here is fantastic, we come off the m6 at penrith and follow the a66 to maryport and come up the coast road through Allonby, the scenery through the lakes is stunning. When we get here the sites facilities are great the entertainment is as good as Blackpool. The sister site is over the bridge and is good for the town if you are visiting one of the festivals the shower block on this site is always spotless and they have baths as well. Siloth is a nice old town wide streets a great chippy, chinese take away co-op bank knick knack shops and filling station, on Sundays the old aerodrome is the site for the Sunday Market and Boot sale on the whole a very good place to go to for your holidays we love it thanks for reading. 


Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris and Eric 6 reviews from this member

 We will not be using this site again. Shower block temperature 40F was colder than outside, no soap dispensers so no way of washing hands unless you carry your own, no hooks for clothes in men's family bathrooms. Dog mess on our pitch and many others told reception, nothing done. Pool was good but feel let down that we paid for facilities that were just not up to the mark. A definite no no for summer season as you would be hard pressed to use a decent sized awning and BBQ without being too close to neighbour. Not a good experience our advice give it a miss. 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mellow yellow 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from an overnight stay at the end of November. We chose this site because it was open all year. We were the only tourers staying and we were directed to a pitch on the Criffel site at the back of some houses and near to the toilet block which is quite a long walk away from the Leisure Centre. The toilet block was very cold and no one would like to strip off in there for a lukewarm shower. As a previous reviewer has mentioned this is a pity because the toilet block has potential to be very comfortable with bath, shower, toilet and wash basin in each cubicle. Maybe not such an issue in summer but as the site is open all year the facilities should be usable for all seasons. The indoor pool is warm and so is the changing area. The pool, sauna and steam room were all spotlessly clean and are included in the price for the pitch which for two adults in a motorhome was 2l. 50. In the pool area there is a private changing room with a controllable hot shower with plenty of hot water but there is a notice to say it is for the use of the disabled. We quite like Silloth and knew what to expect but can imagine it is not everyones cup of tea which of course could be said about anywhere. This was the end of November and both Silloth and Stanwix Park would be a different place in the season. It is therefore difficult to give a score out of ten. The leisure facilities would score 9 out of 10 but the location of the pitch and poor conditions for the shower block out of season would only score 5 out of 10. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Henda 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in September. You don't have to leave the park. The price even includes the swimming pool and free entertainment. Has electric hook up, freshwater and waste water on your pitch. Is flat and has easy access to the beach. The shop is well equipped and the cafe has a good range of well priced meals. There is a large function room which houses the kids entertainment and an upstairs lounge for the big kids. Great place 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TITELINES 3 reviews from this member

 First impression as you pull it looks really nice, reception staff very helpful, we were on skiddow really nice if not a little tight to get to our pitch due to windbreaks in front of tents/caravans ect, all hard standing fully serviced pitches, toilets and showers were spot on although the key pad on the mens was a little temperamental, never saw a cleaner there but always clean, swimming pool was nice (indoor) and entertainment was really good beer not badly priced at 3 a pint john smiths, the local area is a bit run down with not a great deal to do (that didn't bother us).

The only thing that lets this site down is there does not seem to be any staff walking round checking on things. Quite a few dogs wandering (we found dog poo outside our awning one morning the man next door did offer to clean it but we already did) one dog attacked three other dogs in 24 hours. And some of the units were quite large and when wind breaks were put up it was very tight to get your car to the caravan this is the only reason I don't give it 10/10 but it would not stop me from going back 


Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Stanwix Park Holiday Centre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stanwix Park Holiday Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silloth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3621 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement