Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stanwix Park Holiday Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Silloth > Stanwix Park Holiday Centre Reviews

Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Greenrow
Silloth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 4HH
Tel: 016973 32666
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 101 Reviews
                8/10 from 101 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Claire1075 1 review from this member

 The best way to describe this site is to say its similar to a a HAVEN camp site but better as its very clean, well maintained, not as expensive and very well run.

It is ideal if you have small children to entertain as it has plenty on offer for them - pools, amusements, bowling and evening entertainment for both children and adults.

There is a beach within walking distance,not the best beach iv seen but the kids liked it all the same. There is a small fun fair and co op too.

It looks like the family room has been done up recently as it was attractive and very clean.

Staff are young like they are at haven but run it all very well.

The shop is well stocked, although on the expensive side.

There is no £6 charge for facilities like I had read in a previous review,it is all included in the price you pay to stay,apart from the bowling which is quite cheap anyway.

Over all an ideal site for a young family looking for long weekend away. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davsmith 5 reviews from this member

 Just spent excellent 10 days on this site, facilities are fantastic. Kids spent most of their holiday in the indoor pool which also has a hot tub, sauna etc. There is also an outdoor pool but due to the weather it was only open once and was freezing !

Toilet facilities were great as each cubicle had a bath with shower over which is great if you have kids. Only criticism is that there is no soap in the loos.

We ate twice in the cafe and the food was good and not too expensive, shop was well stocked with papers, bread etc. Kids entertainment was a huge hit at night, we couldn't get ours out of it, a bit cheesy but kids loved it, our eldest even won a talent contest which gave a her free admission to the 10 pin bowling.

Only drawback with this site is that there isn't much to do in the surrounding area you need to travel. Silloth is also a very run down looking town but the site more than makes up for this. We would not hesitate in recommending this site especially if you have kids. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Swiftowner 13 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely family park. Good facilities to keep the kids entertained. My sons loved the pool which had a slide for them, and a lovely hot bubbly spa for me! There's also a nice wee kids playground on site with the usual slides, climbing frames, swings etc. All with safe bark surfacing. Also a fitness suite, sauna, cafe, tennis, 10 pin bowling.

Site grounds are immaculately clean and tidy. No litter, dog excrement, graffiti as can be said of some large commercial parks (Haven, anyone?).

Entertainment at night has bars and nightlife for all - separate bars available for adults only, families, etc On site shop very good value and well stocked.

Toilet block was well equipped plenty of loos, showers and baths.

Pitches are hard gravel so bring your hard ground awning pegs! Decent sized pitches.

Very pleasantly surprised with this park. Have stayed at Haven parks previously, but this is head and shoulders above them. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrissiegib 1 review from this member

 This was our first time at this site but would gladly visit again.

We were allowed to pitch the tent from 9.00am on the day of arrival which we thought was good, especially as our stay was just for one night.

The staff was very helpful when we enquired about extending our departure time on the Sunday; we were allowed to extend our stay until 12.30 because the pitch was not booked after.

Our pitch was on was on grass, with electric hook-up, and with its own water tap.

There was a kitchen for campers with sinks, microwaves and hobs.

The Toilets/showers were good and well sized, and it was great having electrical sockets at each sink

The Swimming pool fantastic indoor and out.

Bar/club was good.

Only down side was some noise quite late at night.

Overall the site was great Very clean site and well maintained.

The local town was quite, but lovely.

The site is about 20 miles from Keswick which is a a beautiful place to visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Das545701 11 reviews from this member

 This is one of the best parks I have visited in 30 years caravanning, Some of the so called bigger parks should take a look to see how it should be done.

The site is spotless and the toilets / showers / bathrooms are clean and modern.

The pitches are big with all the requirements water etc.

The complex was again all you require swimming pool and sauna / gym / steam room.

The entertainment bars again were brill, some thing for every one. Adult bar,family room, sports bar, amusements,

Shop on site for all those little things you need.

The staff are very helpful and make your stay great.

This to me aught to be the best in England and a five star park, do yourself a favour and book it and see. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Time2 2 reviews from this member

 Firstly found all of the staff very helpful. Indoor and outdoor pools great. Well stocked shop, prices not bad

Now for the down side, like other campers have mentioned you pitch your tent on gravel, I bent most of my pegs, this is not a good idea and yes you don't have much space or privacy you really are crammed in.

Last the noise, there was music playing till 4 am, I got no sleep at all and for those reasons I wont be returning 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Petergt5 8 reviews from this member

 Site was fully booked and people who had not booked were getting turned away (so tip of the day book early!)

Upon 1st arrival at the site I was taken back by the way the site was so well kept, pitches all immaculate fairly level gravel with grass around your pitch, pitches are fairly small but not to the point were it is a concern, each pitch has its own water and drainage ,my freeview box when it scanned picked up every digital channel and digital reception was great.

Its around a half hour drive to the lakes but there is plenty to do in and about siloth.

The shower blocks were a bit of a let down a bit grubby and did not looked cleaned whilst I was there although that might be more down to the clientèle using them.

Contrary to some reviews on here I found the on site shop good value for money £1.62 for 2litres of milk and £1.65 for packet of unbranded bacon, fresh buns etc. all decently priced for a campsite in my opinion.

Now the entertainment on a night is just great for kids giving them sweets toys and balloons for free , yes free!

There is a adults only bar which had some decent live music on as well.

The indoor pool is a bit of hassle trying to find a changing cubicle free as there was a huge dis-organised que when we used the pool, it was to cold to use outdoor pool so can not comment on that.

There is no barrier control and you can literally drive round site with no one asking a single question,i think that and the toilets are my only negatives but they are not enough to put me off this wonderful site.

Would recommend this site to anyone with a family. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JTCamper 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a great weekend at Stanwix park with my wife and two small children.

I usually have something to moan about but not this time, when we checked in we were given a pack of information including a biodegradable refuse bag.

There are 2 touring areas, Criffel and Skiddaw when booking I chose the later as it is more casually laid out and there are more trees. The Skiddaw toilet block was excellent and very clean.

The entertainment was very professional and the club house was spotless, it must have just been refurbished. Upstairs they have a 4 lane bowling alley which is fantastic and good value at only £3 off peak.

My young children loved foxy fox and my wife won a bottle of wine for winning a hula hoop contest! Andy one of the DJ’s is excellent with children and even remembered all the children’s names night after night and there were quite a few to remember, a very personable man!

There is a café near the indoor swimming pool, it was ok we ate here twice.

It would be nice to go when it is a bit warmer as there is an outdoor pool.

In all a great weekend, we will return! 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 Just come back from Halloween weekend break. This is one of our favourite sites for the following reasons:-

Entertainment is brilliant, Trevor, Graham & Audrey know how to put on a good show and entertain the kids, they did Thriller Live on stage and it was brilliant. Foxy Fox is loved by my two children and the clubhouse is the best I have seen. The entertainment team make this site what it is, it is fantastic!

Pool and leisure facilities are all excellent and pitches are all service on gravel.

Only negative was one of our party had their bike stolen from the side of their van so make sure you lock your items up! luckily the Police found it, dumped in Silloth so they were lucky. We will definitely return to Stanwix next year, we have been four times this year and love it! All I can say is well done to the staff and owners you should be proud of your excellent site. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Iain.morrison3 15 reviews from this member

 Second visit this year. The site is well maintained and spotless. The children's entertainment is spot on and you are not ripped off (if you have ever been to a Haven site you will know what I mean) all the kids liked Trevor and loved Foxy Fox.

The showers and toilets were spotless with plenty hot water. The park is clean and tidy and most of the touring pitches are fully services. Don't think I ever want to fill an aqua roll or empty a waste master again. This is the way to do it.

We used the cafe on two occasions. There wasn't a big choice but on both nights what we had was very good and thought is was reasonably prices. Have paid a lot more for worse on other sites.

Now for the bad points. It was very hard to find any but I have 2 small niggles.

1st. In the men toilet/shower block there were no soap dispensers at the wash hand basins when rinsing your hand if you were just in to use the toilet.

2nd. I would have liked the timer setting on the showers to have ran a little longer.

So there you have it nothing really to complain about, even the weather was good. So as I park up the caravan for the winter all I have to do now is work out what dates we are going to come back. 5 star site. 


Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Stanwix Park Holiday Centre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stanwix Park Holiday Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silloth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3565 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement