Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Stanwix Park Holiday Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Silloth > Stanwix Park Holiday Centre Reviews

Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Greenrow
Silloth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 4HH
Tel: 016973 32666
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 101 Reviews
                8/10 from 101 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BJB+BFB 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 1 week and had an amazing pitch, as there was 12 of us we requested for 3 pitches together which was granted. The toilets were always clean and as well as the rest of the park. The weather was lovely although rather windy. We spent most of our time using the facilities on the park, these were excellent for teenagers making it very easy to make friends. The night time entertainment was also very good for all ages, children entertainment started early on in the night then usually a performer followed by a late night disco going on into early hours in the morning. There was also an adults room which had bingo and cabaret on. The indoor pool was large with a slide and there was also an outdoor pool. The only problem was there was no where to walk apart from silloth. Overall this is a very good site and would recommend it to anyone! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Youngsters 3 reviews from this member

 This has been the best campsite we have used so far.
Toilets spotlessly clean both gents and ladies. Campers kitchen a great asset and well used. Childrens area great. Water and electric hook up at each pitch great idea. Pools indoor and outdoor fantastic. Pitch sizes great, suggestion would be to use heavy duty tent pegs as pea gravel during dry weather is hard which bends normal tent pegs. Leisure and Entertainment brilliant (we had a 10yr old and 15 yr old with us) plenty to do.

Surrounding area nice and beach at Allonby goes for miles. Would like to have seen hairdryers in ladies (I forgot my own hairdryer, but plenty of power points in ladies to take you own. All staff fantastic and friendly, Andy the compere in Sunset Inn very friendly. Bring your own tennis rackets and balls, although these can be hired. Park well laid out. Good being able to pick your pitch allows you to link with friends. Definitely coming back to use this site and will be bringing friends with us. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Gandl 4 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from our second visit to Stanwix, and would like to thank the staff and owners at the park for another fabulous holiday. We have stayed at quite a few caravan parks all over the UK but Stanwix is the best we have stayed at.
The park is clean and tidy, the staff are very helpful, there is always something to do for the children. The pool is great and how nice to have an adult only bar to get a bit of peace! Its facilities are very good, with great bars and venues, plus a very good cafe and shop. The only thing we would like to see there is an indoor soft play funworld, but other than that its perfect. Thanks again. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zoe124 2 reviews from this member

 This is a Brilliant site

It is a favourite of ours due to its location & facilities.

If you are wanting to relax & stay on site this has everything you need. Pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gym, bars, shop, entertainment & much more what else do you need?

Silloth is about a 10 min walk away & is a seaside Town.

The pitches we have stayed on on the Criffel site have all been Super Pitches you can be quite close to your neighbour if you have an awning up but we found this great when going with friends.

The toilet blocks & showers are really clean although can get very busy at times.

The Staff are really helpful & friendly.

The kids love this site we never see them as there is plenty of other children at all times for them to make friends with.

Only downside we find of this site is the entertainment is so good you just can't help but spend money. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevmcke 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this campsite during the end of May Bank Holiday. We had a speedy check in and quickly located our pitch. The toilet block itself was reasonably new and well maintained.

There were several sinks available for washing dishes, and there was never too much of a queue. With this site being one of the larger entertainment type sites it was really quite busy during our stay.

The only negatives of this site were that we were situated next to a 'noisy' tent, which can be an occupational hazard with this type of site. The other issue was that it was very windy, and one end of our 8 man tunnel tent was permanently blown in for the duration of our stay. An issue we have never faced prior or since this trip.

However all in all one of the best sites that we have visited as a family. So a good choice for families, but not so good if you are trying to get away from it all. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a very windy weekend at Stanwix Park. We drove in the worst weather conditions, the winds were gale force and the rain was horrendous so it took longer to get there.
When we arrived we went to our pitch, they are harstanding on gravel with grass at the side and front, because of the wet weather the pitches were very muddy.
Needless to say we got very stuck! It was pitch black and we had been on the road for 3 hrs (130 mls) so we were very tired, however, we were met by headlights of a car and a willing help to get us out of the mud and onto the pitch, I was surprised that someone had taken the time to come and help us, the weather was awful, turned out to be the site owner! What a star? He was so friendly and we were concerned about the churned up mud, he wasnt at all bothered, just wanted to get us on our pitch.

All I can say is what a fantastic site, one of cleanest and best pools, facilities top class, very friendly staff, will definitely come back in the summer, the site is a credit to the owners. Good shower blocks and pitches are nicely done. They have spent time & money on this park and it shows. The ten pin bolwing was great and cheap @ £3.50 a game. We had a great time, the weather didnt spoil it. Wish it was nearer to us as a bit too far for a weekend. Only criticism is the time you have to leave (11am) is too early, maybe 12pm would be better?? 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pears 1 review from this member

 Been to Stanwix Park many times over the last four years and what can I say. It's brilliant.

I only live about 20 miles away and I have been to many caravan parks up and down the country. Its simly the best, there is something for everyone and has a real atmosphere. The entertainment is the highlight of the holiday with a choice of the new Sunset family room which was refurbished in 2006. Theres Foxy Fox every night for the little ones, talent competitions, Fancy dress and Heartline Stanwix Parks very own duo. Upstairs there is the Dunes carabet bar and the Sky bar also refurbished in 2005 (adults only March to November).

The swimming complex is really good and has something for every one from sauna, steam room, small pool for children, slide, fountains and there is also a gym. This is all free of charge.

The restuarant is situated on the ground floor which serves food from 8am to about 10pm was refurbished this year along with reception area and arcade.

On the park, all touring pitches are now pea gravel which is better for drainage and is warmer for those in tents. There are two toilet blocks both with showers and baths and are spacious and cleaned daily. The park is full of trees and hedges. There are over 150 touring pitches and over 100 statics to be rented of which 20% are renewed each year. There is also apartment to rent overlooking the outdoor pool. And about 100 privately owned caravans.

All the staff are very friendley and helpful.

Stanwix park is a family run buisness.

Its luxury.

Cant wait till easter! 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lizitait2 5 reviews from this member

 We are just back from Stanwix it was briliant very friendly very clean swiming pool was really good my son who is 3 loved the slide in the pool!

The toilet block was always spotless and gives you the choice of a bath or a shower which is briliant if you have young children.

The entertainment was really good and they are great with children would go as far to say this is better than any haven site I have ever been at very family orreantatied and the staff are frendily and helpful and always have time to talk to you.

I will definetly be back there is hundreds to do round about to keep you busy and the pool is open to 9pm so you can go out during the day and have a wee swim at night I would recomend this site to anyone. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ammettam 1 review from this member

 This is the best allround site I have ever been to. And very friendly and helpful staff. Can't say a bad word about the site and am going again october. The only things I can say is its not the easyest site to tow a caravan to and could not find any grocery shops for milles away. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jen21 7 reviews from this member

 Arrived bank holiday Saturday. Very busy site as you would expect for the time of year. Not much space around your pitch , crammed in like sardines with a vast majority being caravans.

Toilet facilities are very clean with hot water at all times. One strange thing the taps are mixer ones so there is no cold water to clean your teeth, only hot! (we used the toilet facilities in the main complex, again very clean)

In the main complex everything is kept clean . Garden cafe serves a reasonable breakfast, swimming pool excellent. Our son loved it. We used to go in the pool first thing nice & quiet but does get busy later on . Shop has basics & a freezer pack service. The children's entertainment with foxy fox was very good. Don't know about the adult bars & entertainment didn't use them.

Out & about. Not a lot in Silloth. The fish and chip next to the park is good & they have seating at the back of the shop if you wish to eat in. Maryport has a lovely harbour to walk around & a good playground for the children.

We were booked at Stanwix for 7 nights but only stayed for 3 nights.

1st night we were awoken by the masses of people staggering & shouting back to their pitches from 12 - 2am. Then at 3am we were again woken by 8 grown men in a huge argument threatening all sorts. The security was threatening to call the police but this was having no effect until my husband got up. As the security didn't know where they were staying, next day when we complained they couldn't do anything about it.

2nd night again awoken by the masses staggering signing & shouting back to the pitches. Again complained & again nothing could be done about it.

3rd night 2 young teenagers left at their caravan to amuse themselves until their parents arrived back from the bar. Hooray they would sort their children out¬ leave it to other people to Parent their children. Sadly not, they joined in shouting & laughing until 1.30am.

In summary it was like camping in the middle of a town centre at chucking out time of the bars & clubs with people boozed up & no consideration for others. 


Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Stanwix Park Holiday Centre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stanwix Park Holiday Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silloth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4099 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements