Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Stanwix Park Holiday Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Silloth > Stanwix Park Holiday Centre Reviews

Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Greenrow
Silloth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 4HH
Tel: 016973 32666
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 101 Reviews
                8/10 from 101 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Red ruby 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 3 nights over the May Day bank holiday in our Motorhome and had a great time. It was our first time in (very windy!) Silloth (take your windbreak and warm clothes!) and the site really did exceed our expectations.

A 10 minute walk across the golf course gets you to a sandy beach which was great for dog walking and it is an easy flat walk into Silloth.

The kids loved the pool and the arcades and we had a couple of nights in the Sun Inn at the family entertainment and disco which they also enjoyed.

There is a well stocked shop and the food served in the food in the cafe was fine, which also offered a takeaway service.

My only complaint is the showers - absolutely scalding hot and I certainly wouldn't like to put a child under the shower I used. My children used the showers at the swimming pool instead. On the plus side there are a number of baths in the shower block which will no doubt be handy for those with younger kids.

As our unit is 28ft long, it is too big for a tourer pitch so we were booked onto an old static pitch. This worked out fine for us as we got a lot more room - a good sized concrete pitch surrounded by grass with water and electric. The only drawback was it was quite a long walk to the shower block.

Overall, Stanwix Park was better than we expected and if we decide to return to Silloth, we would have no hesitation in staying on this site again. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alspark660 2 reviews from this member

 Been to this site lots of times and love it. The staff are great, the pool is always clean and the entertainment is brilliant both upstairs and down. Shop is well stocked and not over priced. The showers are always clean and are free. The cafe is fairly expensive but is cooked to order so is hot when it comes. The gym area is good and the games room, bowling and soft play are all very clean and tidy. Overall this site is excellent value for money and will be returning again soon. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motorhomefun 22 reviews from this member

 We normally as a couple avoid 'Haven style' campsites at all costs but when we have this children with us, it caters for their needs perfectly however this site I would come with out without the children. A really lovely site with the pool, snack bar, bar in fact everything was so lovely and clean. A jacuzzi, steam room and sauna that was just as it should be and the pool was open 9am till 9pm so perfect. My only complaint and this would stop me coming back is the toilet block is freezing. The toilets have the potential to be great, individual rooms with bath, showered, toilet and sink but so cold I couldn't put my feet on the floor without getting pains in them. I didn't mention this at reception but the next day it was the same. Far too cold to bathe children. Also the bathrooms have no mirrors in the cubicles so not great for males shaving or getting dressed and putting make up on and no hand washing soap to be found in the loos at all. As many campers know, toilet blocks can make or break a stay and with a few simple tweaks this site would be perfect 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Petertowbar 33 reviews from this member

 This is the second visit to this site. Its all singing /dancing and is usually buzzing with seaside atmosphere Everything you could need. What lets this site down is the surrounding area which is very drab Silloth is an old fashioned seaside and would benefit from an upgrade in certain areas, that said people are friendly and the beach is great. The campsite itself has a shop for every day needs but at a price The co-op is cheaper in town a mile away. Overall the facilities are clean and well kept and with lots to do for all ages caravan pitches are all services and of a generous size but for what you get it is expensive 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thompsonfamily 4 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 5 night stay and would return to this site.

Toilet/bath blocks are very clean. Shop was well stocked and provided emergency groceries that we had ran out of but in future will use the spar store in silloth which is 5 min drive away.

Swimming pool was used daily and also have use of steam room, sauna and hot tub. Kids loved the slide in the pool and also the water sprays when they were allowed to put them on. Sadly didn't manage to get to use the bowling alley or soft play area.

Staff friendly and helpful although a night warden would be a good idea as there was a disruption in the area we were in on our last night and had no-one to call.

Visited the sunn inn on one night which the kids loved and drinks weren't massively expensive.

Would definitely recommend this site to families. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SKILINDYLOU 2 reviews from this member

 Had a 4 night break here just before the Jubilee Celebrations with family (who were in the vans & apartments rented here). Only a few tourers & just us the only campers but quite a few in the rented caravans & apartments.

Very clean site. You must remember the access code to use bathrooms, camp kitchen & laundry room! Had no problems with showers/loos at all other than a longer walk than we really wanted fro our pitch. Plenty of free hot water. Only minus is having to keep hitting the button for a shower(worse if you want a bath). Use a bath/shower/loo/basin cubicle if you don't want to get everything wet when you shower! The free campers kitchen is very useful too. There were electric hobs, microwaves & sinks for washing up. Didnt cook there but did wash up every time.

The pitches are VERY hard & you do need the heavy duty steel pegs as they are gravel hardstanding. If you have a very small 1/2 person tent you might get away with the steel pegs if you can fit tent on the grass patch between pitches. The pitches do seem to be a bit tight on space - could be a problem in high season. We had a great big concrete slab in the middle of our pitch. We felt we needed to add extra layer of groundsheet between footprint & tent. No problems from this though. Our pitch had water, drain & electric hookup included. Campers & tourers are all mixed in together.

With a Montana 6 fully pegged out & front extention erected we filled our pitch side to side but had space front to back. Wanted to put our side extention up but would have taken up more than the pitch allowance. As a Monty is almost a standard family tent I feel the pitch sizes should extended to allow for the modern family tent. PS Large pod-style tents are not accepted at all.

The children loved the entertainment with Foxy Fox & karaoke. The swimming pool is smashing - very useful for a cloudy/wet day. The play area is OK but a little wear-worn. Adult entertainment was good too. They also have special themed w/ends etc. Can see most of the site from the windows of clubhouse - was easy to see our tent from there too.

Not masses to do or see in the town & the local beach is shingle. Had to hunt for the ATM; fish & chips very good at the Siloth cafe on the corner in town - excellent prices too - good vfm; beach at nearby Allenby goes on for miles but again shingle & not pretty looking. Further afield days out are obviously all of the Lakes attractions, but some roads would be bottle necks in the summer.

Brill time had by all - 1 night heavy rain - but don't think quite such a good base for a longer holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Val0712 33 reviews from this member

 This is our 4th time to this site in 2yrs and we love it! site itself has everything and more you could ever wish for, pool, sauna, steam room gym, shop, cafe, 3 bars, tennis court. Silloth town yeah it is a bit run down but hey what town isint in this country!

It has pubs resturants hotels small shops and cafes and a lovely promonarde that runs 3 miles to skinburness.

Close to all lakes what a lovely place to holiday 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JTNILES 8 reviews from this member

 We visited the sister Hylton caravan park for the Jubilee,

It is a lovely park,

toilet/shower blocks are very clean at all times.

It was only a field and for the entertainment we got passes to use on the stanwix park which was approx 10 minutes drive in the car or half hour walk,

I would go here again in the future, well worth the visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: FlintLock 15 reviews from this member

 Well, it seems you either love or hate this site.

I can't say I hate or love it, just suffered it for 2 weeks almost. We arrived on the 30th July with our two grand children for a two week stay with our daughter having the second week with us. We where on the Criffel site where you are at the back of a row of houses in part and the pegs are just at the official HSE distance which makes it very cramped on some pegs.

We must have picked the worst weather for years to have our stay. Some of the pegs where water logged but some quite dry. The area has nothing to offer if the weather is bad and its quite a journey into the Lakes proper if that's what you want. The beaches are more gravel and murky sand than clean. The best we found was at St Bees Head some 30 miles from the site when we had one of three days of sun.

The nearest descent supermarkets are at Carlisle or Workington, Aldi, ASDA, Morrisons and Tesco, the local Co-op is expensive and limited. The site shop is reasonable for small items that you need quickly, with newspapers etc.

The entertainment for the children is OK but not exceptional and tends to repeat itself week after week and caters for 5yrs up. Our 8yr old liked the Magic show. We didn't use the adult bars etc due to having the grand children but I can imagine they are a good refuge from all the kids! The indoor swimming pool is good and free, didn't have chance to use the outdoor due to the weather.

A small play area isn't good enough IMO for the size of the site and the numbers of children on it. If your child is one who will get involved then there are a number of activities, day and night for their entertainment. The one bug bear I hated was all the amusements for children, designed to strip you of cash and sanity trying to put up with it. Our 3yr old soon got fed up of Foxy Fox when she discovered the above with her 8yr old brother! Some amusements are only 2p while others are 1 but it soon strips your pockets when two or more are at it. The little dears loved it!

Lots of campers in tents, who I felt sorry for, left early due to the bad weather and the site, which also has lots and lots of static caravans, far more than the Tents or Tourers looked empty for peak weeks. That's a bonus because if the site was full, it would be unbearable.

The showers and toilets where acceptable and cleaned every day but there is no soap dispensers to wash your hands! The hand basin water is next to useless, very slow and switching off, they sure know how to save water. Drinks in the bars are expensive and lots of people look to have their own supplies outside and just buy the odd one when with the kids for the entertainment.

My daughter and children left two days early and us the next day, hoping to get a dry spell to get the awning down, no luck there!

Would I go again, No Thanks, I would sooner spend a few more hours driving and go south for the weather than go to this area again. Having said that, the locals and staff are really friendly and pleasant people and the weekend 30th 31st July had a kite festival on the town green which is a annual thing.

The best Fish and Chips we found where near the green on the corner in Silloth and at Allonby nr the bridge and play ground, both reasonably priced and plentiful.

All in all, we where happy to leave but the kids would love to play in the baths and run round the arcade all night if you had the cash, Foxy Fox didn't have a look in! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boxertwin69 13 reviews from this member

 Slightly disappointed with this site, despite being luckier with the weather than previous reviewers.

Swimming pools & bowling alley great, but playground could be better. Staff not particularly friendly. Childrens entertainment really didn't live up to expectations. Very little to do for under fives (softplay area woefully inadequate). Eating facilities poor for this type of establishment. Local area very down at heel, with very little to do.

No arrivals area when you get there & this causes confusion. Site roads very narrow & windy for large caravans. Pitches close together & difficult to access with larger vehicles. Parked cars everywhere. Noisy until very late. Tents & caravans all mixed together. No night warden to keep the peace.

Will we be returning? No. 


Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Stanwix Park Holiday Centre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stanwix Park Holiday Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silloth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4784 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements